DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 3-4 and 14 in the reply filed on 2 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that species I and II can be examined together as they are detailed embodiments under the broader invention as defined by generic claims 1-2 and 12-13. This is not found persuasive because the applicant presented a clear mapping of the similarities of the claims directed to species I and II.
Therefore, claims 1-7 and 12-17 will be examined on the merits. Claims 8-11 and 16-18 are directed to a non-elected species and will not be examined in the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 12, 13, 15, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0066547.
Regarding claim 1, US ‘547 teaches a mobile transport, 210, for moving a solar table, 311, the mobile transport comprising:
a transport component, 420, operable to move the solar table from a first location to a point of installation, see figure 2; and
a first and a second collapsible manipulators, each collapsible manipulator comprises a base frame, 630, coupled to the transport component and a solar table holder, 450, that couples to a torque tube, 680, of the solar table, the first and the second collapsible manipulators are collapsible to raise or lower the solar table holder, see figure 6 and paragraph 0039 and 0040.
Regarding claim 2, US ‘547 teaches the first and the second collapsible manipulators operate independently from each other or collaboratively, see paragraph 0039.
Regarding claim 6, US ‘647 teaches each collapsible manipulator is a direct lift comprising:
a lift frame, 650, having a first end pivotably coupled to the base frame, 630, the lift frame comprises a support beam, 725, placed on a second end of the lift frame and a horizontal beam, see second non-numbered horizontal beam shown in figure 7, placed between the first end and the support beam, the solar table holder is slidably attached to the support beam, 725, to support the solar table, see figures 4, 6, and 7; and
a lift control element, 640, coupled between the support beam of the lift frame and an underneath beam placed underneath the base frame, the lift control element is operable to unfold the lift frame to a lifted position or folded the lift frame to a collapsed position, see figures 4, 6, and 7 and paragraphs 0039 and 0040.
Regarding claim 7, US ‘647 teaches the lift control element is positioned vertically, see figures 6.
Regarding claim 12, US ‘647 teaches a method for moving a solar table, the method comprising:
loading the solar table on to a mobile transport at a first location, see paragraph 0026 and figure 2, the mobile transport comprises a transport component and a pair of collapsible manipulators, see paragraph 0039, 0040 and figure 6, each collapsible manipulator comprises a base frame, 630, coupled to the transport component and a solar table holder, 450, that couples to a torque tube, 680, of the solar table, the pair of collapsible manipulators are collapsible to raise or lower the solar table holder, see paragraphs 0033, 0039 and 0040;
operating the pair of collapsible manipulators for a collapsed or a partially expanded position for driving stability;
transporting, by the mobile transport, the solar table from the first location to a point of installation; and
aligning the solar table to an installation stance, see paragraphs 0028, which teaches that alignment of the solar table, which includes lifting by the collapsible manipulators happens after transport to the installation sight.
Regarding claim 13, US ‘647 teaches the pair of collapsible manipulators operates independently from each other or collaboratively, see paragraphs 0039.
Regarding claim 15, U S’647 teaches each collapsible manipulator is a direct lift comprising:
a lift frame, 650, having a first end pivotably coupled to the base frame, 630, the lift frame comprises a support beam, 725, placed on a second end of the lift frame and a horizontal beam, see second non-numbered horizontal beam shown in figure 7, placed between the first end and the support beam, the solar table holder is slidably attached to the support beam, 725, to support the solar table, see figures 4, 6, and 7; and
a lift control element, 640, coupled between the support beam of the lift frame and an underneath beam placed underneath the base frame, the lift control element is operable to unfold the lift frame to a lifted position or folded the lift frame to a collapsed position, see figures 4, 6, and 7 and paragraphs 0039 and 0040.
Regarding claim 19, US ‘647 teaches method wherein transporting, by the mobile transport, the solar table from the first location to the point of installation comprises:
transporting the solar table from the first location in proximity to the point of installation, the point of installation is between two piles;
lifting the solar table by unfolding the collapsible manipulators such that that solar table is able to cross the two piles from above;
maneuvering the mobile transport between the two piles to the point of installation, see paragraphs 0027 and 0028.
Regarding claim 20, US ‘647 teaches aligning the solar table to the installation stance comprises one or more of:
raising or lowering a height of the solar table;
moving the solar table horizontally;
moving the solar table laterally;
moving the solar table longitudinally;
adjusting a pitch angle of the solar table; and
adjusting a yaw angle of the solar table, see paragraph 0028.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0066547 in view US 2024/00081836 .
Regarding claim 3, US ‘647 teaches:
a lift frame having, 650, a first end pivotably coupled to the base frame, 630, and having a support beam, 725, placed on a second end of the lift frame, the solar table holder, 450, is attached to the support beam to support the solar table; and
a lift control element, 640, the lift control element is operable to unfold the lift frame to a lifted position or folded the lift frame to a collapsed position.
US ‘647 does not teach that each collapsible manipulator is a scissor lift comprising:
a pivot frame having a first end pivotably coupled to the lift frame at a position between the first end and the second end of the lift frame; and
a lift control element coupled between a second end of the pivot frame and the first end of the lift frame.
US ‘836 teaches a mobile transport for moving a solar table, the mobile transport comprising a collapsible manipulator that is a scissor lift, 6, comprising:
a lift frame having, 81, a first end pivotably coupled to the base frame, 8, and having a support beam, see beam sliding in rail 90, placed on a second end of the lift frame, the solar table holder, 150, is attached to the support beam to support the solar table; and
a pivot frame, 82, having a first end pivotably coupled to the lift frame at a position between the first end and the second end of the lift frame; and
a lift control element, 83, coupled between a second end of the pivot frame and the first end of the lift frame, the lift control element is operable to unfold the lift frame to a lifted position or folded the lift frame to a collapsed position.
Since both US ‘647 and US ‘836 teach lift mechanisms to stably lift a solar table being transported on a mobile transport, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the direct lift of US ‘647 with the scissor lift of US ‘836 in order to achieve the predictable result of stable lifting and lowering the solar table at the solar installation point.
Regarding claim 4, US ‘647 further teaches the solar table holder, 450, is slidable along the support beam, 725, such that the mobile transport is able to move the solar table horizontally or adjust a yaw angle of the solar table, see paragraph 0044.
Regarding claim 5, US ‘647 teaches the lift control element that is controllable for a desired motion speed and a traveling distance, see lift magnitude 617 and 622, figure 6 and paragraph 0039 and US ‘836 teaches the lift control element is a hydraulically or pneumatically operated cylinder, 83.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the speed and magnitude of the hydraulic lift element of US ‘836, as taught by US ‘647 in order to accurately control the movement of the solar table as it is lifted and lowered.
Regarding claim 14, US ‘647 teaches method comprising:
a lift frame having, 650, a first end pivotably coupled to the base frame, 630, and having a support beam, 725, placed on a second end of the lift frame, the solar table holder, 450, is attached to the support beam to support the solar table; and
a lift control element, 640, the lift control element is operable to unfold the lift frame to a lifted position or folded the lift frame to a collapsed position.
US ‘647 does not teach that each collapsible manipulator is a scissor lift comprising:
a pivot frame having a first end pivotably coupled to the lift frame at a position between the first end and the second end of the lift frame; and
a lift control element coupled between a second end of the pivot frame and the first end of the lift frame.
US ‘836 teaches a mobile transport for moving a solar table, the mobile transport comprising a collapsible manipulator that is a scissor lift, 6, comprising:
a lift frame having, 81, a first end pivotably coupled to the base frame, 8, and having a support beam, see beam sliding in rail 90, placed on a second end of the lift frame, the solar table holder, 150, is attached to the support beam to support the solar table; and
a pivot frame, 82, having a first end pivotably coupled to the lift frame at a position between the first end and the second end of the lift frame; and
a lift control element, 83, coupled between a second end of the pivot frame and the first end of the lift frame, the lift control element is operable to unfold the lift frame to a lifted position or folded the lift frame to a collapsed position.
Since both US ‘647 and US ‘836 teach lift mechanisms to stably lift a solar table being transported on a mobile transport, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the direct lift of US ‘647 with the scissor lift of US ‘836 in order to achieve the predictable result of stable lifting and lowering the solar table at the solar installation point.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited on the PTO-892 are included in the file to show other examples of mobile transports with lift frames. The prior art relied upon in the rejection is considered the best prior art.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
9 April 2026