Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9-13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12309332. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are broader than and fully anticipated by the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuoka (US 2017/0227904).
With respect to claim 1, Matsuoka discloses an image inspection system (as discussed at least in paragraph 88) comprising: a hardware processor that controls image formation by an image former based on a read image generated by reading, by a reader, a medium on which a patch is formed (as discussed at least in paragraphs 73 and/or 110-111, for example by image formation after calibration), wherein the hardware processor causes the image former to form, on the medium, a patch corresponding to the medium (as discussed at least in paragraphs 151 and/or 88).
With respect to claim 2, Matsuoka further discloses wherein the hardware processor causes the image former to form, on the medium, any one of the patch to which a base image is added, the patch whose design is changed, and a specific image included in user content as a patch corresponding to the medium (as discussed at least in paragraphs 114-115 and/or 141).
With respect to claim 3, Matsuoka further discloses further comprising: an identifier that acquires information about the medium based on the read image and identifies the medium (as discussed at least in paragraphs 133-134).
With respect to claim 6, Matsuoka further discloses wherein the hardware processor causes the image former to form a patch corresponding to the medium based on a result of reading the medium by the reader (as discussed at least in paragraph 139).
With respect to claim 19, Matsuoka further discloses wherein the hardware processor controls, based on using a specific image included in user content as a patch, formation of the patch on the medium according to validity of the specific image as the patch (as discussed at least in paragraph 151, for example where specific images are used for each type of patch).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka (US 2017/0227904) in view of Tombs et al. (US 2013/0162702).
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Matsuoka discloses the image inspection system according to claims 3 and 1 (as discussed above).
With further respect to claim 4, Matsuoka does not disclose wherein the information about the medium includes at least one piece of information about a type of the medium and information about a characteristic of the medium.
With further respect to claim 4, Tombs et al. teach wherein the information about the medium includes at least one piece of information about a type of the medium and information about a characteristic of the medium (as discussed at least in paragraphs 130, 132 and/or 170).
With further respect to claim 5, Matsuoka does not disclose further comprising: an acquisitor that acquires information about a type of the medium, wherein the hardware processor identifies the medium based on a result acquired by the acquisitor.
With further respect to claim 5, Tombs et al. teach an acquisitor that acquires information about a type of the medium, wherein the hardware processor identifies the medium based on a result acquired by the acquisitor (as discussed at least in paragraph 132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the teachings of Tombs et al. in the inspection system of Matsuoka at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in forming a desired image.
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka (US 2017/0227904) in view of Atsushi et al. (JP 2009029017 A).
With respect to claims 12-15, Matsuoka disclose the image inspection system according to claim 1 (as discussed above).
With further respect to claim 12, Matsuoka does not disclose wherein the hardware processor changes a design of the patch based on a characteristic of a contour of the patch based on a relationship between a background including the medium and the patch.
With further respect to claim 13, Matsuoka does not disclose wherein a change in the design includes a change in size of the patch.
With further respect to claims 12 and 13, Atsushi et al. teach changing a design of the patch based on a characteristic of a contour of the patch based on a relationship between a background including the medium and the patch (as discussed at least in paragraphs 2 and/or 75, wherein the size of the patch in association with the size of the paper is considered).
With respect to claim 14, Matsuoka does not disclose wherein the hardware processor changes the number of measurements of the patch or a size of the patch based on a degree of difficulty in reading the patch based on a relationship between a background including the medium and the patch.
With further respect to claim 14, Atsushi et al. teach wherein the hardware processor changes the number of measurements of the patch or a size of the patch based on a degree of difficulty in reading the patch based on a relationship between a background including the medium and the patch (as discussed at least in paragraphs 65-66).
With further respect to claim 15, Matsuoka does not disclose : a first notifier that makes a notification of correction accuracy of correction using the patch based on determination result of the degree of reading difficulty.
With further respect to claim 15, Atsushi et al. teach a first notifier that makes a notification of correction accuracy of correction using the patch based on determination result of the degree of reading difficulty (as discussed at least in paragraphs 11 and/or 45-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the teachings of Atsushi et al. in the image inspection system of Matsuoka at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in adjusting an image and/or avoiding wasteful image formation.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka (US 2017/0227904) in view of Kumada et al. (US 2007/0133026).
With respect to claims 16-18, Matsuoka disclose the image inspection system according to claim 1 (as discussed above).
With further respect to claim 16, Matsuoka does not disclose a user use history storage that stores the patch in association with a user.
With further respect to claim 16, Kumada et al. teach a user use history storage that stores the patch in association with a user (as discussed at least in paragraphs 57 and/or 185-187, for example the history information of the generated patches in association of a user).
With further respect to claim 17, Matsuoka does not disclose wherein the hardware processor controls formation of the patch on the medium according to a use history of the user.
With further respect to claim 17, Kumada et al. teach wherein the hardware processor controls formation of the patch on the medium according to a use history of the user (as discussed at least in paragraphs 147-148).
With further respect to claim 18, Matsuoka does not disclose a second notifier that makes a notification of formation of the patch according to a use history of the user.
With further respect to claim 18, Kumada et al. teach a second notifier that makes a notification of formation of the patch according to a use history of the user (as discussed at least in paragraphs 168-170, for example where the history triggers notification of patch formation to regenerate profile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the teachings of Kumada et al. in the image inspection system of Matsuoka at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in monitoring for abnormalities and/or forming a desired image.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW