DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20, filed October 18, 2023 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant's election of Group I without traverse, claims 1-18 directed to method of sorting sequencing reads by partitions of origin; and Applicant’s election of Species as follows:
Species (A): wherein the hybrid molecules are RNA/cDNA hybrid molecules (claim 2),
Species (B): wherein the first adaptor oligonucleotide comprises a UMI sequence (claim 6),
Species (C): wherein the first adaptor oligonucleotide and the second adaptor oligonucleotide further comprises a sample barcode sequence (claim 11),
Species (D): wherein the bead-specific barcoding oligonucleotides comprises a 3’ end comprising the first universal sequence (claim 18), and
Species (E): further comprises the steps of purification, fragmentation, pooling, and preparation (claim 22), in the reply filed September 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 17 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The claims will be examined insofar as they read on the elected species.
Therefore, claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11, 12, 15 and 16 are under consideration to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on February 12, 2024 and June 4, 2024 have been considered. Initialed copies of the IDSs accompany this Office Action.
Priority
The present application filed October 18, 2023 claims the benefit of US Provisional Patent Applications 63417897, filed October 20, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 are indefinite for the recitation of the term “the hybrid molecules” such as recited in claim 1, line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the hybrid molecules” in the claim because claim 1, line 3 recites the term “RNA/cDNA or DNA/cDNA hybrid molecules”. The Examiner suggests that Applicant amend the claim to recite, for example, “providing the RNA/cDNA or DNA/cDNA hybrid molecules”.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “the breaks” such as recited in claim 1, line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the breaks” in the claim because claim 1, line 6 recites the term “random breaks”.
Claims 1 and 16 are indefinite for the recitation of the term “the calls” such as recited in claim 1, lines 14 and 20-21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the cells” in the claim because claim 1, lines 3-4 recites the term “fixed and permeabilized cells”.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “a bead-specific barcoding oligonucleotide having an identical 3’ end comprising either the first universal sequence of the second universal sequence” such as recited in claim 1, lines 15-16 because is it unclear which end of the “bead-specific barcoding oligonucleotide” is bound to the bead and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the terms “the different beads” and “at least two different beads” such as recited in claim 1, lines 17 and 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the different beads” and “at least two different beads” in the claim because claim 1, line 14 recites the term “one or more bead”.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “at least some” such as recited in claim 1, lines 19 and 20 because a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad limitation of “at least some,” while also reciting “some,” which is a narrow range or limitation. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the terms “at least some partitions” and “different partitions” such as recited in claim 1, lines 19 and 41. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “at least some partitions” and “different partitions” in the claim because claim 1, line 14 recites the term “partitions”.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “thereby forming gap-filled hybrid molecule fragments” such as recited in claim 1, lines 26-27 because claim 1 does not recite that the hybrid molecule fragments comprise gaps and/or a step of “gap filling” and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “on the cDNA fragments” such as recited in claim 1, line 31. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the cDNA fragments” in the claim.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “and the UMI sequence” such as recited in claim 1, line 33 because claim 1, lines 10-11 recites that “the first adaptor, the second adaptor or both comprise a UMI sequence” such that it is unclear how all amplicons comprise a UMI sequence if only one of the first adaptor or the second adaptor comprise a UMI sequence and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “the first and second beads” such as recited in claim 1, line 35. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the first and second beads” in the claim because claim 1, line 34 recites the term “a first bead and a second bead”.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the terms “the same cDNA hybrid molecule fragment” and “the same partitions” such as recited in claim 1, lines 36 and 44. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the same cDNA hybrid molecule fragment” and “the same partitions” in the claim
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the terms “the first bead-specific barcode” and “the second bead-specific barcode” such as recited in claim 1, lines 37 and 38. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the first bead-specific barcode” and “the second bead-specific barcode” in the claim because claim 1, line 18 recites the term “a unique bead-specific barcode”. Moreover, it is unclear what barcodes the terms “first bead-specific barcode” and second bead-specific barcode” are referring to and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “nucleotide sequencing amplicons” such as recited in claim 1, line 39. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “nucleotide sequencing amplicons” in the claim because claim 1, line 31 recites the term “generate amplicons”.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “optionally” such as recited in claim 1, line 43 because it is unclear whether the beads comprise the optional component or not and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “a same fragment breakpoint” such as recited in claim 1, line 44. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “a same fragment breakpoint” in the claim.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the recitation of the terms “the hybrid molecules” and “RNA/cDNA hybrid molecules” such as recited in claim 2, lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the hybrid molecules” and “RNA/cDNA hybrid molecules” in the claim because claim 1, line 3 recites the term “RNA/cDNA or DNA/cDNA hybrid molecules”.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “RNA/cDNA hybrid molecules” such as recited in claim 2, lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the cDNA” in the claim because claim 1, line 3 recites the term “RNA/cDNA or DNA/cDNA hybrid molecules”.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “the cDNA” such as recited in claim 2, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the cDNA” in the claim.
Claim 3 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “the RNA/first strand cDNA hybrid molecules” such as recited in claim 2, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the RNA/first strand cDNA hybrid molecules” in the claim. Moreover, claim 3 depends from claims 1 and 2, wherein claims 1 and 2 do not recite reverse transcribing RNA and/or the presence of a polyA, random or gene-specific reverse transcription primer and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 9 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “a sample barcode sequence” such as recited in claim 9, line 2 because claim 9 depends from claim 1, wherein claim 1 does not the presence of a sample and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claims 6, 11, 12 and 15 are indefinite insofar as they ultimately depend from instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites (in part): “wherein the RNA/first strand cDNA hybrid molecules are formed by reverse transcribing RNA from the cell…reverse transcription primer” such as recited in claim 3, lines 1-3 because claim 3 depends from claims 1 and 2, wherein claims 1 and 2 do not recite reverse transcribing RNA and/or the presence of a polyA, random or gene-specific reverse transcription primer. Thus, claim 3 is an improper dependent claim for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 9 recites (in part): “wherein the first adaptor oligonucleotide, the second adaptor oligonucleotide, or both further comprise a sample barcode sequence” such as recited in claim 9, lines 1-3 because claim 9 depends from claim 1, wherein claim 1 does not recite the presence of a sample. Thus, claim 9 is an improper dependent claim for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for
the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (hereinafter “Wu”) (US Patent Application Publication 20210222163, published May July 22, 2021; effective filing date July 11, 2018) in view of Lance et. al. (hereinafter “Lance”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 20220403452, published December 22, 2022; effective filing date September 6, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches that the nucleic acid molecule is from a cell-based sample that is from a single cell, or from a formalin-fixed paraffin embedded (FFPE) sample (interpreted as a fixed and permeabilized cell, claim 1) (paragraph [0045], lines 6-9). Wu teaches that the tag that identifies a reaction batch comprises a UMI, and the oligonucleotide comprises a poly-T segment including a gene-specific segment (interpreted as an adaptor comprising a UMI, and an adaptor oligonucleotide, claim 1) (paragraph [0007], lines 31-35). Wu teaches the oligonucleotide comprises a sequence adapter comprises a cell barcode and a unique molecular identifier (UMI) and is bound to a bead (interpreted as barcodes; and bound to a bead, e.g., bead-specific barcode, claim 1) (paragraph [0007], lines 43-46). Wu teaches that the first transposon sequence and the second transposon sequence are not identical; and the transposase is a Tn transposase, an MuA transposase, a Vibhar transposase, wherein the Tn transposase is selected from Tn3, Tn5, Tn7, and Tn10; and, the individual amplification products further comprises a sequence adapter; the reverse transcriptase primer comprises a cell barcode and a unique molecular identifier (UMI), a poly-T segment and/or including a complementary segment to a gene of interest, and wherein the reverse transcriptase primer is bound to a bead (interpreted as a universal sequence; an adaptor; a cell-origin barcode; bounds to a bead; a reverse complementary sequence; and comprising a UMI, claim 1) (paragraph [0011], lines 31-46). Wu teaches that a chemical treatment can be employed for removing a transposase, wherein the chemical treatment includes treating the tagged fragment with a detergent solution such as SDS (interpreted as permeabilizing a cell, claim 1) (paragraph [0073], lines 24-28). Wu teaches reaction mixtures useful for performing any of the subject methods, wherein the reaction mixture comprises a reverse transcriptase primer having at least one of a poly-T segment, a complementary segment to a gene of interest, and a cell barcode and a unique molecular identifier (UMI); and/or the
a reverse transcriptase primer bound to a bead (interpreted as barcode-specific bead; and UMI, claim 1) (paragraph [0113]). Wu teaches in Figure 1, a bulk total mRNA molecule from a sample undergoes reverse transcription and tagmentation reaction in a single reaction chamber (interpreted a partition), wherein the mRNA molecule is contacted with a reverse transcriptase and a reverse transcriptase primer comprising a first tag (denoted as N1), a mosaic end (denoted as ME), and a polyT segment, such that often the first tag is a first transposon segment, wherein the reverse transcriptase primer as illustrated comprises the N1 at its 5' end, followed by ME, and polyT segment toward its 3' end, such that the reverse transcriptase primer can be N1ME-T20VN; and the reverse transcriptase primer hybridizes to the polyA tail at the 3' end of the mRNA molecule (interpreted as linked to adaptor oligonucleotides), and the reverse transcriptase synthesizes a cDNA molecule complementary to the mRNA molecule, extending from the reverse transcriptase primer in a '5 to 3' direction, wherein the synthesis of cDNA molecule is illustrated as dashed lines in Figure 1, such that the reverse transcriptase is SuperScript IV reverse transcriptase (interpreted as generating RNA/cDNA hybrid molecules; comprising 3’ and 5’ end-linked adaptor oligonucleotides comprising a universal sequences, claim 1) (paragraph [0098], lines 1-19; and Figure 1). Wu teaches that the mRNA-cDNA hybrid is contacted with a transposome to undergo a transposition or tagmentation reaction, wherein the transposome comprises a transposase and at least a first tag or a second tag, wherein the second tag (denoted as N2) comprises a second transposon segment, wherein sometimes, the transposome comprises a Tn5 and a first tag (N1) or a second tag (N2) or both, such that the first or the second tag can further comprise an ME segment linked to the tag; and in the tagmentation reaction, the transposome inserts the N1 or N2 tag at the cleaved 5' end of the mRNA-cDNA hybrid to generate a plurality of dual-end tagged mRNA cDNA hybrid fragments having overhang tags of N1, N2, or both (interpreted as RNA/cDNA hybrid molecules comprising UMI; and generating gaps, claim 1) (paragraph [0098], lines 21-32; and Figure 1). Wu teaches that the insertion of a transposon nucleic acid by a transposase can be at a random or substantially random site in the double-stranded nucleic acid molecule (interpreted as generating random breaks), wherein the transferred strand of a transposon nucleic acid can remain hybridized to the non-transferred strand following tagmentation, such that a gap between the non-transferred strand and one strand of the double-stranded target nucleic acid molecule is formed (interpreted as forming gaps); wherein the gap is filled by a polymerase and/or ligase (interpreted as extending with a polymerase; and forming gap-filled hybrid molecule fragments, claim 1) (paragraph [0069], lines 1-16). Wu teaches that after the reverse transcription and tagmentation reaction, the transposase is inactivated; by introduction of a protease to the reaction chamber and by heating to a temperature of at least 65° C, such that after the transposases have been inactivated (interpreted as creating gaps), the plurality of dual-end tagged mRNA-cDNA hybrid fragments having overhang tags are subject to a gap filling or an extension reaction to generate a plurality of blunt-ended, dual-end tagged mRNA-cDNA hybrid fragments (interpreted as extending the adaptors with a protease), where in the extension reaction, complementary segments to the 5' overhang tags from 3' recessed ends of the mRNA-cDNA hybrid fragments are synthesized to form blunt-ended mRNA-cDNA hybrid fragments (interpreted as linking to the reverse complements; and producing RNA/first strand cDNA, claims 1 and 2) (paragraph [0098], lines 46-60; and Figure 1). Wu teaches that the blunt ended, dual-end tagged mRNA-cDNA hybrid fragments comprises two individual strands comprising a tag at a 5' end of the fragment, an mRNA or cDNA fragment, and a reverse complement of another tag at a 3' end of the fragment, a first tag and a ME segment (N1ME) a 5' end, mRNA or cDNA fragment, and a reverse complement of a second tag and a ME segment (N2'ME) at a 3' end, which is represented by a series of a dotted line, a black line, and a gray line, respectively, in Figure 1, a second tag and a ME segment (N2ME) a 5' end, mRNA or cDNA fragment, and a reverse complement of a first tag and a ME segment (N1'ME) at a 3' end, which is represented by a series of a gray line, a black line, and a dotted line, respectively, in Figure 1, then a primer-directed extension reaction, or an amplification reaction, is performed to generate copies of a plurality of blunt-ended cDNA fragments (interpreted as amplifying the gap-filled hybrid molecule fragments to produce amplicons, claims 1 and 2) (paragraph [0098], lines 63-81; and Figure 1). Wu teaches that amplification products (also referred to as amplicons) produced according to methods herein can be analyzed by sequencing (interpreted as sequencing amplicons, claim 1) (paragraph [0094], lines 1-3). Wu teaches transposome enabled DNA-RNA sequencing from genomic DNA and mRNA molecules is illustrated in in Figure 2, an example that provides DNA-RNA sequencing with universal digital counting to generate multiplex gene panels from both genomic DNA and mRNA from a single FFPE sample, and the use of a gene specific primer for reverse transcription and of transposomes with UMI improves the quantitation precision (interpreted as comprising a UMI and a FFPE sample; and sequencing, claim 1) (paragraph [0102], lines1-9; and Figure 2). Wu teaches that the segment at the 5' end of an extension primer can lack sequence complementarity to a tagged fragment, wherein the 5' end of an extension primer comprises sequences that can be utilized in downstream sample processing steps, such as including one or more amplification primer annealing sequences or complements thereof; one or more sequencing primer annealing sequences or complements thereof; one or more barcode sequences; one or more common sequences shared among multiple different primers; one or more restriction enzyme recognition sites; one or more probe binding sites or sequencing adapters (e.g., for attachment to a sequencing platform, such as a flow cell for massive parallel sequencing), wherein the primer binding sequences (e.g., Read 1 and Read 2) comprise unique molecular identifiers or barcode sequences and/or flow cell binding sequences attached or appended to the 5’ and/or 3’ ends of the fragments such as by ligation, amplification, or a combination thereof (interpreted as primer binding sequences comprising unique barcodes, and unique UMIs; MPS; and sorting sequencing reads from different partitions, wherein (i) the amplicon comprises a first bead-specific barcode, and a first UMI, and (ii) the amplicon comprises the second bead-specific barcode, a second barcode, and a first UMI, claim 1) (paragraph [0081], lines 1-15; and [0085]). Wu teaches that the disclosure provides a method to process individual single cells to capture mRNA with distinct barcoded fragments (interpreted as each cell comprising a unique barcode, claim 1) (paragraph [0108], last 4 lines). Wu teaches that the sequence information of the resulting nucleic acid molecules can be used to identify sequence variants for diagnostic, therapeutic, forensic, and many other applications (interpreted as sorting sequencing reads from different libraries in different reaction chambers, claim 1) (paragraph [0028], lines 26-28). Wu teaches reaction mixtures useful for performing any of the subject methods, wherein reaction mixtures can comprise one or more elements disclosed herein in relation to of the various aspects or in any combination (interpreted as comprising one or more reaction chambers, claim any 1) (paragraph [0113], lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 2, Wu teaches that in the various methods, compositions, reaction mixtures, and kits provided herein, the reverse transcription and tagmentation can be performed in a single step in a single reaction chamber and provide a faster way to generate a cDNA library; and/or the cDNA library can be generated by reverse-transcribing an RNA sample in a sample; introducing complementary cleavage sites into the DNA/RNA hybrid molecule; attaching at cleavage site 5' ends a population of 5' overhang tags; and synthesizing complementary segments to the 5' overhang tags from 3' recessed ends of the DNA/RNA hybrid molecule to form blunt ended DNA/RNA hybrid molecules (interpreted as forming hybrid molecules and cDNA is first strand cDNA, claim 2) (paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches that the RT primer often comprises a poly T segment that can hybridize to a poly A tail found at a 3' end of an mRNA molecule, wherein the RT primer is a gene-specific primer having a complementary segment to a gene of interest, or the RT primer is an oligonucleotide having a random sequence (e.g., a random primer) (interpreted as RNA/first strand cDNA, reverse transcribing with polyA and a random or gene-specific primer, claim 3) (paragraph [0056] Wu teaches that the reverse transcriptase primer hybridizes to the polyA tail at the 3' end of the mRNA molecule (interpreted as linked to adaptor oligonucleotides), and the reverse transcriptase synthesizes a cDNA molecule complementary to the mRNA molecule, extending from the reverse transcriptase primer in a '5 to 3' direction, wherein the synthesis of cDNA molecule is illustrated as dashed lines in Figure 1, such that the reverse transcriptase is SuperScript IV reverse transcriptase (interpreted as generating RNA/cDNA hybrid molecules from a cell with polyA and gene-specific reverse transcription primer, claim 1) (paragraph [0098], lines 1-19; and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches that the method comprises adding an oligonucleotide comprising a sequence adapter to perform an amplification reaction and to generate a sequence library comprising amplification products, wherein the first tag and the second tag comprise distinct nucleic acid sequences; and/or the method comprises contacting the sample to a transposome having a transposase polypeptide and a nucleic acid comprising a mosaic end and a second tag; and/or the method comprises wherein the first tag and the second tag share a common nucleic acid sequence; or wherein the first tag and the second tag comprise distinct nucleic acid sequences; and/or wherein the nucleic acid comprising a mosaic end and a first tag further comprises a tag that identifies a reaction batch; and/or the method comprises a nucleic acid comprising a mosaic end and a second tag further comprises a tag that identifies a reaction batch, and tag that identifies a reaction batch comprises a UMI (interpreted as the second adaptor oligonucleotide comprises a UMI sequence, claim 6) (paragraph [0007]). Wu teaches that additional nucleic acid molecules can include a primer binding site, such as a sequencing primer site and/or an amplification primer site, a cleavage site, an anchor site, a reporter tag, a barcode, a cell barcode, a unique molecular identifier (UMI), or a mosaic end segment (interpreted as the second adaptor oligonucleotide comprises a UMI sequence, claim 6) (paragraph [0072], lines 9-15). Wu teaches that the mRNA molecules from a single cell are contacted with a reverse transcriptase and a reverse transcriptase primer comprising a second tag (denoted as N2), a mosaic end (denoted as ME), a cell bar code (CBC), a UMI segment, and a poly T segment, where the reverse transcriptase primer is bound at a 5' end to a bead, , wherein the UMI is used to barcode different single cells and transcripts (interpreted as the second adaptor comprises a UMI, claim 6) (paragraph [0105], lines 9-14 and 22-23; and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches that additional nucleic acid molecules can include a primer binding site, such as a sequencing primer site and/or an amplification primer site, a cleavage site, an anchor site, a reporter tag, a barcode, a cell barcode, a unique molecular identifier (UMI), or a mosaic end segment (interpreted as the first adaptor, the second adaptor, or both comprise a barcode, claim 9) (paragraph [0072], lines 9-15). Wu teaches that the mRNA molecules from a single cell are contacted with a reverse transcriptase and a reverse transcriptase primer comprising a second tag (denoted as N2), a mosaic end (denoted as ME), a cell bar code (CBC), a UMI segment, and a poly T segment, where the reverse transcriptase primer is bound at a 5' end to a bead, wherein the UMI is used to barcode different single cells and transcripts (interpreted as the first adaptor, the second adaptor, or both comprise a barcode, claim 9) (paragraph [0105], lines 9-14 and 22-23; and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches that mRNA molecules from single cells are contacted with reverse transcriptase and a reverse transcriptase primer comprising a second tag (N2), a mosaic end (ME), a cell barcode (cBC), a UMI segment, and a poly T segment, wherein the reverse transcriptase primer bound at the 5’ end to a bead comprise bead-N2ME-cBC-UMI-poly T segment, which can be amplified by dual primer PCR (dpPCR) using N1ME/N2/ME to amplify only the 3’ ends (interpreting the bead oligonucleotide to comprise a universal sequence, and PCR encompassing annealing and extending the barcode oligo to reverse complements of the universal sequence, claim 11) (paragraph [0105], lines 9-20).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches that the plurality of blunt-ended DNA fragments from the genomic DNA and mRNA molecules comprise individual strands comprising a tag at a 5' end of a DNA fragment, the DNA fragment, a reverse complement of another tag at a 3' end of the DNA fragment, and a sequence adapter at either 5' or 3' end, wherein the individual strand comprises a first tag (N1) at a 5' end of a cDNA fragment, the DNA fragment, a gene specific segment or its complement, and a reverse complement of a second tag at a 3' end (N2') of the cDNA fragment, such that the individual strand comprises a second tag (N2) at a 5' end of a cDNA fragment, a gene specific segment or its complement, the cDNA fragment, and a reverse complement of a first tag at a 3' end (N1') of the cDNA fragment (interpreted as amplifying comprising extending a reverse primer having a 3’ end with a reverse complement of the second universal sequence using the amplicons as templates, claim 12) (paragraph [0104]). Wu teaches primer extension and amplification reactions, such as generating extension products and amplifying extension products, wherein PCR involves cycling through multiple stages of denaturation, annealing of primer pairs to opposite strands, and primer extension to exponentially increase copy numbers of the target sequence, at least some of these stages generally occurring at different reaction temperatures, wherein non-limiting examples of PCR amplification techniques are quantitative PCR (qPCR or real-time PCR), reverse transcription PCR (RT-PCR), digital PCR (dPCR or dePCR), target-specific PCR, and quantitative reverse transcription PCR (qRT-PCR), dual primer PCR (dpPCR), and single primer PCR (spPCR) (interpreted as extending a reverse primer having a 3’ end comprising a reverse complement or a second universal sequence using the amplicons are used as templates, claim 12) (paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 15 (in part), Wu teaches that the reverse transcription and tagmentation can be performed in a single chamber, such as a well, spot on a surface, droplet alone or in an emulsion, or other compartment (interpreted as a single compartment) (paragraph [0028], lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches that a large range of nucleic acid molecules are compatible with various embodiments of the present disclosure, wherein nucleic acid molecules can be obtained from a subject, such as any animal or living organism, such that non-limiting examples of subjects are mammals, such as humans, non-human primates, rodents such as mice and rats, dogs, cats, pigs, sheep, rabbits and others (interpreted as obtaining cells from mammals, claim 16) (paragraph [0049], lines 1-8).
Wu does not specifically exemplify partitions that are microwells or droplets in an emulsion (claim 15, in part).
Regarding claim 15 (in part), Lance teaches partition-based single cell sequencing technologies retain cell-of-origin information about intracellular analytes by physically separating cells into different compartments then applying a cell-specific molecular barcode to the analytes of interest (interpreted as cell-specific barcodes) (paragraph [0005], lines 1-5). Lance teaches methods for iteratively barcoding the intracellular analytes of singe cells at high throughput by utilizing cell beads that can encapsulate cells and physically retain the intracellular analytes between serial partitioning and barcoding processes of these cell beads, and overloading the cell beads during each partitioning iteration, such that at each iteration, the cell beads can be split into different partitions, partition-specific barcodes delivered to the cell beads to barcode intracellular analytes encapsulated by the cell beads, and then pooled back together; and at each iteration of partitioning, cell beads can be overloaded to enable processing of multiple cells per partitioning at greater throughput then can be usefully achieved with normal sub-Poisson cell loading, wherein, in a partition, more than one cell-bead may be present, such that after n iterations, the intracellular analytes of each cell bead can comprise a unique combination of barcodes that uniquely identifies the cell of origin from a pool of source cells (interpreted as cell origin, claim 1) (paragraph [0009]). Lance teaches that the reagents comprise a splint molecule configured to couple to each of the nucleic acid barcode molecule and the nucleic acid molecule, wherein the plurality of partitions include: more than one cell, a plurality of droplets, a plurality of wells, such as a microwell or a nano-well, wherein the nano-well is from a nano-well array and the microwell is from a 96-well plate or a 384-well plate, and the nucleic acid barcode molecule is coupled to the surface of the cell via a cell coupling agent such as a peptide or polypeptide (interpreting the plurality of wells as nano-wells and microwells, claim 15) (paragraph [0030]). Lance teaches that the partitions can be any of a variety of different types of partitions, e.g., wells, microwells, tubes, vials, microcapsules, droplets (e.g., aqueous droplets) within an emulsion, such that during each partitioning cycle, a plurality of cells can be partitioned into a plurality of partitions (interpreted as a plurality of wells or emulsion droplets, claim 15) (paragraph [0148], lines 1-5).
“It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; the court held that, "…a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950)”. Therefore, in view the benefits partition-based single cell sequencing technologies in retaining cell-of-origin informatin as exemplified by Lance, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of preparing sequencing libraries from RNA/DNA hybrid cell-based samples including permeabilized and/or fixed sample in a single compartment using transposases and reverse transcription in a streamlined workflow as disclosed by Wu to include the preparation of RNA/DNA hybrid cells sample in multiple compartments including microwells, nano-wells, and/or emulsion droplets as taught by Lance with a reasonable expectation of success in carrying out split-pool iterative combinatorial indexing to profile cellular analytes of interest, and uniquely barcoding the partitions to maintain single cell-origin information while improving high-throughput multiplexing and sensitivity, and reducing waste.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Therefore, the claims are properly
rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as obvious over the art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected.
/AMY M BUNKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684