DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 and 22 have been cancelled.
Claims 21, 23-25 and 34-35 are rejected.
Claim 26-33 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23-25 and 34-35 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsegood (US 2003/0116493).
With respect to claims 21, 24-25 and 34, Elsegood discloses a filter 88, as shown in Fig. 1, having: a housing having a body and a top portion, forming a fluid-tight seal with the body, as shown in Fig. 2, and a magnetic adapter 64 (protrusion) integral with or connected to the housing top portion and extending in an axial direction, as shown in Fig. 3; said protrusion 64 comprising ingress and egress fluid ports 86, 71, as shown in Fig. 2; a filter media disposed within the housing body and in fluid communication with said protrusion ingress and egress fluid ports 86, 71, as shown in Fig. 2; and a magnetic ring/array 204 disposed within or connected to the housing top portion protrusion 64 and oriented along a same axis in said axial direction, said magnetic ring/array 204 having a face presenting in said axial direction with respect to the housing body, as shown in Fig. 2.
Elsegood lacks a coded polymagnet or array of coded polymagnets comprising a face including a plurality of magnetic field emission sources having positions and polarities relating to a predefined spatial force function that corresponds to a predetermined alignment of the plurality of magnetic field emission sources; wherein the predefined spatial force function is a magnetic repulsion force; and wherein the predefined spatial force function is a magnetic shear force. However, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to provide a desired magnetic attachment, since one of ordinary skill would recognize to choose a desired type of magnet according to a desired application.
With respect to claim 23, Elsegood discloses elements 400, 406, as shown in Fig. 4, and elements 82, 206, as shown in Fig. 5, which may be considered to be the claimed filter boss or lug extending radially outwards from the housing, as shown in Figs. 4-5. Elsegood lacks the filter boss or lug adapted for mechanically coupling with an alignment thread or channel of a removable locking cover or an alignment thread or channel of a sump of a mating filter manifold. However, this limitation is considered to be a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention which must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, Elsegood teaches that the elements 400, 406, can be part of a transmission fluid line or a hydraulic fluid line (see paragraph 0037) and elements 82 and 206 coupled to element 68, as shown in Fig. 5. Therefore, it would be obvious that the elements 400, 406, 82, 206, are capable of coupling with another element such as, with an alignment thread or channel of a removable locking cover or an alignment thread or channel of a sump of a mating filter manifold, as claimed by applicant, since Elsegood teaches the claimed structure and therefore, it is inherent and/or obvious that it is capable of performing the intended use.
With respect to claim 35, Elsegood discloses wherein said ingress and egress fluid ports present radially outward from said protrusion 404, as shown in Fig. 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21, 23-25, 34-35, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s argument that Chandra lacks the new limitations added to claim 21: Elsegood teaches the new limitations of claim 21, as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773