DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 11 recite the limitation of “the flow inlet of the upper lid”. Each of the claims does not define any inlet for the upper lid. Thus, it is not clear what this limitation is regarded. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Collins et al (PG-PUB US 2020/0308025).
Regarding claim 1, Collins et al disclose a UV disinfection system (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a chamber 34 having an inlet 28, an outlet 42, and an opening at the bottom of the chamber 34 to allow UV radiation passing therethrough (i.e., a box …, and a window…, Figures 2-5, paragraphs [0020] - [0021] & [0024]);
(2) a transparent quartz window 38 to fit and seal the opening at the bottom of the chamber 34 (i.e., a light-transmitting plate …, paragraph [0022]); and
(3) a UV light module 46 comprising at least one UV LED 48 coupled to the window 38 and a mounting structure 54 for the at least one UV LED 48, wherein the module 46 is threaded to the bottom of the chamber 34 (i.e., a lamp holder module …, wherein the lamp holder module is detachably …, and UV LED …, Figures 2-5, paragraphs [0025] & [0027]).
Collins teaches that a UV light ray 58 radiates water 32 flowing from the inlet 28 to the outlet 42 (Figures 2-5, paragraphs [0023] & [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Collins teaches that an angled input channel 36/76 within the chamber 34 is provided for guiding water into different passages, wherein the input channel 36 comprises a flow inlet coincident with the inlet 28/72 and a flow outlet in fluid communication with the outlet 42/82 (Figures 2 & 5, paragraphs [0022] & [0050]).
Regarding claim 3, Collins teaches that the channel 36/76 comprises an inner cylinder and an outer cylinder for causing spiral action to water to be treated (Figures 2 & 5, paragraphs [0022] & [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, Collins teaches that the outer cylinder having a hollow portion is coupled to a removably sealed module 60 at the top of the chamber which may function as an upper lid and the cavities of the inner cylinder and the outer cylinder are coupled to the module 60 and the inlet 28 (Figures 2 & 5, paragraphs [0022], [0032], & [0050]).
Regarding claim 5, Collins teaches that the chamber is UV reflective (paragraphs [0006] & [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Collins teaches that the at least one UV LED 48 is mounted on a circuit board 54 and coupled to the window 38 (Figure 3, paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Collins teaches that the window is coated with a reflective layer (paragraph [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins et al (PG-PUB US 2020/0308025) in view of Rozenberg et al (PG-PUB US 2014/0166590).
Regarding claim 8, Collins et al disclose a UV disinfection system (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a chamber 34 having an inlet 28, an outlet 42, and an opening at the bottom of the chamber 34 to allow UV radiation passing through (i.e., a box …, and a window…, Figures 2-5, paragraphs [0020] - [0021] & [0024]);
(2) a transparent quartz window 38 to fit and seal the opening at the bottom of the chamber 34 (i.e., a light-transmitting plate …, paragraph [0022]); and
(3) a UV light module 46 comprising one or more UV LED 48 coupled to the window 38 and mounted on a circuit board 54 (i.e., a lamp holder module …, a control board…, and a plurality of UV LEDs …, Figures 2-5, paragraphs [0025] & [0027]).
Collins teaches that a UV light ray 58 radiates water 32 flowing from the inlet 28 to the outlet 42 (Figures 2-5, paragraphs [0023] & [0029]).
Collins teaches one or more UV LEDs 48 and each UV LED 48 mounted on the respective circuit board 54 (Figure 2, paragraphs [0025] & [0027]), but does not specifically teach each UV LED coupled to the respective windows that is coincident to the opening at the bottom of the chamber. However, Rozenberg et al disclose a UV disinfection system (ABSTRACT). Rozenberg teaches that the apparatus comprises a chamber 110 having an inlet 114 and an outlet 116 and a plurality of UV LEDs 120, wherein the UV LEDs 120 may be provided outside of the conduit with a respective window in a respective opening at the bottom of the chamber 110 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0019] – [0021]).
The teaching of Rozenberg shows that utilizing a plurality of UV LEDs with the respective window at the respective bottom opening of the chamber is an equivalent configuration for light source arrangement within a UV disinfection system.
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilizing a plurality of UV LEDs with the respective window at the respective opening of the chamber because it is an art-recognized equivalent.
Moreover, Collins teaches one or more UV LEDs (paragraph [0025]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a plurality of UV LEDs with the respective circuit board and the respective windows that is coincident to the respective openings on the bottom of the chamber because it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine of skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis, 193 USPQ8.
Regarding claim 9, Collins teaches that an angled input channel 36/76 within the chamber 34 is provided for guiding water into different passages, wherein the input channel 36 comprises a flow inlet coincident with the inlet 28/72 and a flow outlet in fluid communication with the outlet 42/82 (Figures 2 & 5, paragraphs [0022] & [0050]).
Regarding claim 10, Collins teaches that the channel 36/76 comprises an inner cylinder and an outer cylinder for causing spiral action to water to be treated (Figures 2 & 5, paragraphs [0022] & [0050]).
Regarding claim 11, Collins teaches that the outer cylinder having a hollow portion is coupled to a removably sealed module 60 at the top of the chamber which may function as an upper lid and the cavities of the inner cylinder and the outer cylinder are coupled to the module 60 and the inlet 28 (Figures 2 & 5, paragraphs [0022], [0032], & [0050]).
Regarding claim 12, Collins teaches that the chamber is UV reflective (paragraphs [0006] & [0030]).
Regarding claim 13, Collins teaches that the window is coated with a reflective layer (paragraph [0028]).
Conclusion
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795