DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 14 January 2025 and 4 April 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 21 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the thermo-curable material has an adhesive force which is stable in a temperature higher than or equal to a glass transition temperature of the adhesive member.”
Claim 21 recites “the vibration layer comprises: a plurality of inorganic material portions having a piezoelectric characteristic; and an organic material portion between the plurality of inorganic material portion.”
Claim 40 recites “the passive vibration member comprises one or more of a display panel including a plurality of pixels configured to display an image, a screen panel on which an image is to be projected from a display apparatus, a light emitting diode lighting panel, an organic light emitting lighting panel, an inorganic light emitting lighting panel, a signage panel, an interior material of a transporting means, an exterior material of a transporting means, a glass window of a transporting means, a seat interior material of a transporting means, a ceiling material of a building, an interior material of a building, a glass window of a building, an interior material of an aircraft, a glass window of an aircraft, and a mirror.”
The underlined limitations have insufficient antecedent bases in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 15-17, 21 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20210304920).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG, 1, FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186], [0194]) discloses a vibration apparatus, comprising: a vibration part (210); a film member (11) including at least one signal line (230) connected with the vibration part (210); and an adhesive member (240, 260) adjacent to the film member (11) and the vibration part (210) with the at least one signal line (230) between the adhesive member (240, 260) and the vibration part (210).
Regarding claim 2, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses the adhesive member (240, 260) covers a lateral surface of the at least one signal line (230).
Regarding claim 3, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses the adhesive member (240, 260) covers a lateral surface of the at least one signal line (230) and adjoins the film member (11) and the vibration part (210).
Regarding claim 4, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses a contact area of the adhesive member (240, 260) adjoining the film member (11) or the vibration part (210) except the at least one signal line (230) corresponds to 25% or more of a total area of the adhesive member (240, 260).
Regarding claim 15, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses the film member (11) comprises: a first film member (11) covering a first surface of the at least one signal line (230); and a second film member (11) covering a second surface being opposite to the first surface of the at least one signal line (230).
Regarding claim 16, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses the adhesive member comprises: a first adhesive member (240, 260) between the first surface of the at least one signal line (13-1, 13-2) and the first film member (11); and a second adhesive member (260, 240) between the second surface of the at least one signal line (13-2, 13-1) and the second film member (15).
Regarding claim 17, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses the vibration part (210) comprises: a vibration layer (211) including a piezoelectric material; a first electrode layer (213) at a first surface of the vibration layer (211); and a second electrode layer (215) at a second surface being opposite to the first surface of the vibration layer (211), and wherein the film member (11) comprises: a first film member (11) where at least one first signal line (13-1), connected with the first electrode layer (213), of the at least one signal line (230) is disposed; and a second film member (15) where at least one second signal line (13-2), connected with the second electrode layer (215), of the at least one signal line (230) is disposed.
Regarding claim 21, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses the vibration layer (211) comprises: a plurality of inorganic material portions (211a) having a piezoelectric characteristic; and an organic material portion (211b) between the plurality of inorganic material portion (211a).
Regarding claim 36, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses the adhesive member (240, 260) covers all of lateral surfaces of the at least one signal line (230), and directly adjoins the vibration part (210) between adjacent signal lines (13-1, 13-2) among the at least one signal line (230).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20210304920) in view of Koyama et al. (JP 2011-077126 A).
Regarding claim 5, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16) discloses the adhesive member (240, 260) is disposed between the film member (11) and the at least one signal line (230).
Ko et al. is silent whether the adhesive member has a width which is less than or equal to a width of the film member in a plan view.
However, Koyama et al. (e. g. see FIGS. 1-4, [0051]) teaches the adhesive member (3, 8) has a width which is less than or equal to a width of the film member (2) in a plan view (FIG. 1 The first insulating resin adhesive layer 3 has a portion existing between the base material 2 and the wiring pattern 4 having the width appearing to be less than or equal to the width of the base material 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the flexible cable in the vibration device of Ko et al. to include “the adhesive member has a width which is less than or equal to a width of the film member in a plan view” as taught by Koyama et al. for the purpose of manufacturing the cable without pushing glue out in order to provide clean assembly.
Since Ko et al. and Koyama et al. are both from the same field of endeavor (flexible signal cable for vibration device), the purpose disclosed by Koyama et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Ko et al.
Regarding claim 6, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16) discloses the adhesive member (240, 260) covers the at least one signal line (230) and adjoins the vibration part (210).
Regarding claim 7, Ko et al. in view of Koyama et al. does not explicitly disclose the at least one signal line corresponds to 25% or more of a total area of the adhesive member.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application to include “the at least one signal line corresponds to 25% or more of a total area of the adhesive member” to the flexible cable in the vibration device of Ko et al. and Koyama et al. for the purpose of providing signal line area roughly 20% to 35% of the cross-sectional or layer footprint to ensure structural integrity and optimize the signal transmission as well known in the art. It also has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 8, Ko et al. (e. g. see [0082]) discloses the adhesive member comprises a thermo-plastic material ([0082] the adhesive may include a polymer resin) (it is well known in the art that polymer resin can be a thermoplastic material which melt when heated and harden when cooled).
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20210304920) in view of Watabe et al. (JP 2003-047092 A).
Regarding claim 9, Ko et al. discloses every aspect of the invention except for “the vibration apparatus further comprising a conductive adhesive member between the at least one signal line and the vibration part.”
However, Watabe et al. (e.g. see FIGS 1-2, [0006] and [0013]-[0019]) teaches the vibration apparatus (piezoelectric speaker) further comprising a conductive adhesive member (34A-C) between the at least one signal line (36) and the vibration part (14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, the flexible cable in the vibration device of Ko et al. to include “a conductive adhesive member between the at least one signal line and the vibration part” as taught by Watabe et al. for the purpose of reducing the overall thickness of the piezoelectric speaker ([0019] of Watabe et al.)
Since Ko et al. and Watabe et al. are both from the same field of endeavor (piezoelectric device), the purpose disclosed by Watabe et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Ko et al.
Regarding claim 10, Ko et al. in view of Watabe et al. discloses every aspect of the invention except for “the conductive adhesive member has a width which is greater than or equal to a width of the film member.”
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application to include “the conductive adhesive member has a width which is greater than or equal to a width of the film member” to the vibration device in the display apparatus of Ko et al. for the purpose of manufacturing the cable without pushing glue out in order to provide clean assembly. It also has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, Ko et al. discloses every aspect of the invention except for “the conductive adhesive member comprises a conductive material.”
However, it is obvious that the conductive adhesive member (34A-C) of Watabe et al. comprises a conductive material for the purpose of providing the conductive pattern to apply a voltage to the piezoelectric speaker.
Regarding claim 12, Ko et al. in view of Watabe et al. does not explicitly disclose “the conductive adhesive member comprises a thermo-curable material.”
However, it is well known in the art that a thermo-curable material is used in the conductive adhesive member of speakers to provide permanent, high-strength structural bonds that will not melt, soften, or creep under the extreme heat and intense physical vibrations generated during high-power audio playback.
Regarding claim 13, Ko et al. in view of Watabe et al. does not explicitly disclose “the thermo-curable material has an adhesive force which is stable in a temperature higher than or equal to a glass transition temperature of the adhesive member.”
However, it is well known in the art that the thermo-curable material has an adhesive force which is stable in a temperature higher than or equal to a glass transition temperature of the adhesive member. Using a thermo-curable (thermosetting) material ensures a stable adhesive force because heat creates a tightly cross-linked polymer network. Below the glass transition temperature (Tg), these locked molecular chains prevent shifting or deformation, maintaining high mechanical strength, rigidity, and load capacity under stress.
Regarding claim 14, Ko et al. in view of Watabe et al. discloses every aspect of the invention except for “a width of the conductive adhesive member is greater than or equal to a width of the adhesive member.”
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application to include “a width of the conductive adhesive member is greater than or equal to a width of the adhesive member” to the vibration device in the display apparatus of Ko et al. for the purpose of manufacturing the cable without pushing glue out in order to provide clean assembly. It also has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 37-39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20210304920) in view of Ji et al. (U. S. Patent No. 10667028).
Regarding independent claim 37, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses an apparatus, comprising: a vibration generating apparatus, wherein the vibration generating apparatus comprises: a vibration part (210); a film member (11) including at least one signal line (230) connected with the vibration part (210); and an adhesive member (240, 260) adjacent to the film member (11) and the vibration part (210) with the at least one signal line (230) between the adhesive member (240, 260) and the vibration part (210).
Ko et al. does not explicitly disclose “a passive vibration member; and a vibration generating apparatus connected with the passive vibration member to vibrate the passive vibration member.”
However, Ji et al. (e. g. see FIG. 13, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 14C, lines 40-55 of col. 3, lines 34-35, 45-60 of col. 7, lines 1-17 of col. 8, line 12 of col. 9 – line 4 of col. 10) teaches a passive vibration member (414); and a vibration generating apparatus (412) connected (connected via the enclosure 10c in FIG. 13) with the passive vibration member (414) to vibrate the passive vibration member (414) (Lines 28-38 of col. 7: First, the speaker module 400 is composed of a speaker part 412 mounted on one side surface (opening) of an enclosure 200a and supplied with an electric signal from the control module 470 to generate a sound pressure to generate vibration of the air, the enclosure 10c being formed in a three-dimensional shape, having an empty space therein and serving as a sound chamber, and a passive vibration part 414 mounted on the other side surface (opening) of the enclosure 10c to relieve the air stiffness in the enclosure 10c and vibrating without the application of the electric signal from the control module 470. Lines 14-17 of col. 8: The sound emission from the speaker part 412 is implemented to the great extent, and the vibration intensity of the passive vibration part 414 is identical or similar to that in the vibration mode.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the vibration device of Ko et al. to include “a passive vibration member; and a vibration generating apparatus connected with the passive vibration member to vibrate the passive vibration member” as taught by Ji et al. for the purpose of relieving the air stiffness in the enclosure and vibrating without the application of the electric signal from the control module.
Since Ko et al. and Ji et al. are both from the same field of endeavor (vibration device), the purpose disclosed by Ji et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Ko et al.
Regarding claim 38, Ko et al. discloses every aspect of the invention except for “an enclosure disposed at a rear surface of the passive vibration member to cover the vibration generating apparatus.”
However, Ji et al. (e. g. see FIG. 13) teaches an enclosure (10c) disposed at a rear surface of the passive vibration member (414) to cover the vibration generating apparatus (412) (The passive vibration part 414 has a certain mass and stiffness and vibrates without the supply of the electric signal from the control module 470. The passive vibration part 414 is mounted on the other side surface of the enclosure 10c to emit sound through the opening formed in the other side surface of the enclosure 10c. The passive vibration part 414 may be composed of a dome-shaped diaphragm, and a metal material such as iron, copper and tungsten with a high specific gravity may be stacked or coated on the diaphragm to increase a mass. In order to improve a vibration characteristic that is a sound pressure characteristic in a low frequency band, the passive vibration part 414 is manufactured to have a lower natural frequency than that of the speaker part 412.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the vibration device of Ko et al. to include “an enclosure disposed at a rear surface of the passive vibration member to cover the vibration generating apparatus” as taught by Ji et al. for the purpose of manufacturing the passive vibration part with a lower natural frequency than that of the speaker.
Regarding claim 39, Ko et al. discloses every aspect of the invention except for “the passive vibration member comprises one or more materials of metal, plastic, paper, fiber, cloth, leather, glass, rubber, carbon, and mirror.”
However, Ji et al. teaches the passive vibration member comprises one or more materials of metal (The passive vibration part 414 may be composed of a dome-shaped diaphragm, and a metal material such as iron, copper and tungsten with a high specific gravity may be stacked or coated on the diaphragm to increase a mass. In order to improve a vibration characteristic that is a sound pressure characteristic in a low frequency band, the passive vibration part 414 is manufactured to have a lower natural frequency than that of the speaker part 412.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the vibration device of Ko et al. to include “the passive vibration member comprises one or more materials of metal” as taught by Ji et al. for the purpose of increasing a mass of the passive vibration part in order to improve a vibration characteristic in a low frequency band.
Regarding claim 41, Ko et al. (e. g. see FIG. 15, FIG. 16, FIG. 17, [0156]-[0186]) discloses a vibration driving circuit ([0077] the second line 13b of each of the plurality of conductive lines 13-1 to 13-4 may be electrically connected to an external driver (or a driving device) and may transfer a driving power (or a driving signal), supplied through the terminal portion 11a of the base member 11, to the driver) configured to supply a vibration driving signal to the at least one signal line (13-1, 13-2), wherein the vibration driving circuit (an external driver (or a driving device)) is electrically connected to the at least one signal line (13-1, 13-2) via another signal cable ([0088] a second driving signal).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 and 22-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bae et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20200400992) discloses a display panel including a plurality of connecting signal wires which supply different control voltages to control the display panel.
Park et al. (U. S. Patent No. 11044804) discloses a connector assembly and a flexible flat cable for a display device.
Contact Information
17 August 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837