Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 48 and 55, Applicant argues (pgs. 11 and 14 and of the Remarks respectively) that Berger fails to teach “downloading and storing only a subset of the media segments of the live media stream and generating a manifest that references only the downloaded subset.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Every set is considered a subset of itself, which is known as an improper subset, in other words a subset that contains every single element of the original set. Berger teaches (¶0099-¶0103 and Fig. 4) a manifest file 110 used to get fragments (i.e., an original set) of media content on CDN; (¶0105 and Fig. 4) and a local version of the manifest 120 used to point at the stored media fragments (i.e., a subset, containing every single element/fragment of the original set) on the device.
Applicant further argues, regarding claims 48 and 55, (pgs. 11 and 14 and of the Remarks respectively) that Berger does not teach rendering a live media stream offline using only a subset of segments. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Berger teaches (¶0087) used to downloaded a live event; (¶0099-¶0105) downloading a subset that includes every fragment of the original set; (¶0005) To allow a mobile device to play out a media object when the device does not have an Internet connection, the mobile device can download the media object before playout; (¶0047-¶0048) playout without internet connection (i.e., without reconnecting to a network/while offline.)
Applicant further argues, regarding claim 48 (pg. 12 of the Remarks) that Berger’s new manifest file is not a “local stream manifest.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Berger teaches (¶0005) Media objects are often packaged as many small files expressed in a streaming format. The small files are often called "fragments”; (¶0017) the fragments of the content item are played out in sequence in a streaming mode by using manifest file information to point to the location of each of the fragments either locally, if the fragment has been stored locally, or remotely if the fragment is not been stored locally; (¶0018) play out at a user device, of streaming-formatted fragments that are stored on the device and that represent at least portions of a content item.
Regarding claim 52, Applicant further argues (pg. 13 of the Remarks) that Berger does not teach “a software-based GUI that enables selection of media content based on (i) a subscriber-generated content descriptor or (ii) a default content descriptor.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Berger teaches (Fig. 11) a GUI to enable selection of downloaded media content with the media’s title (i.e., a default content descriptor); (¶0074) user may play any of the downloaded videos with this interface. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “does not use descriptors derived from the local stream manifest”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claim 50, Applicant argues (pg. 15 of the Remarks) that Kang does not teach “without contacting the service provider.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kang (Fig. 10) teaches that only if DRM system is not provided (“NO” step 508 on flowchart) will the user terminal download and install the DRM system. Otherwise, the user terminal decrypts the content using an installed DRM system without contacting the service provider.
Regarding claim 51, Applicant argues (pg. 16 of the Remarks) “Riedl's "segments" are semantic units (paragraph [0022]), editorially defined scenes or shots (paragraph [0023]), and of variable and irregular length (paragraph [0022]). They are used to assemble customized media presentations (paragraphs [0013] and [0016]), not for streaming playback or manifest-controlled sequencing, and Riedl contains no teaching or suggestion of streaming fragments, manifests, playlists, or time-based slice segmentation.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited paragraphs by Applicant appear to correspond to another document. Riedl teaches (¶0195) content segmentation refers to the process where a content stream, or portions thereof, is segmented into smaller components. Packetization of content streams is one form of segmentation; however, at a more macro level, groups of packets correlating to segmentation boundaries may be formed so as to provide inter alia convenient boundaries for insertion of other content. For example, one form of segmentation comprises segmenting a program stream at various locations within the stream corresponding to e.g., the beginning or end of a program, scene changes (such as where advertisements might be spliced in), or other logical boundaries. Alternatively, segmentation may occur based on a temporal scheme (e.g., a boundary or segmentation at every 5.0 minutes of content). Other approaches may be used as well; (¶0201) segments may comprise short segments of arbitrary or irregular length, such as sports "highlight" clips lasting 10 seconds or so, or clips from live events such concerts, wherein a segment might comprise the live performance of a song, which can obviously vary in length from one song to another, or even one performance of the same song to another.
Regarding claim 53, Applicant argues (pg. 16 of the Remarks) that Berger in view of Athias fails to teach or suggest search-based, local-manifest-driven content selection and that there is no teaching or suggestion to combine/modify. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Athias teaches (¶0043-¶0044 and ¶0055) users are able to save playlist locally; (¶0053, claims 4 and 5) users are able to search for and obtain playlists using a search engine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the client that stores local manifests/playlist of content and uses said manifest/playlist for playback as taught by Berger with the search playlist function as taught by Athias for the benefit of allowing users the ability to quickly find the playlist/content that they desire.
Regarding claim 54, Applicant argues (pg. 17 of the Remarks) that Berger in view of Knepper fails to teach or suggest the features of claim 54 and that there is no teaching or suggestion to combine/modify. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Knepper teaches (¶0035, ¶0049) client uses a playlist/instruction file for playback; (¶0052) new (HTML) tags, not standard to HTML programming, have been developed as a feature of the invention (or as an independent invention) and are utilized to control the addition of advertisement files; (¶0053-¶0055) <ADInsert> html tag to insert advertisement Playlist=http://dl.sitename/folder1/folder2/adclip.zip; (¶0078-¶0079) other ways to load advertisements using HTML tags. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method that uses a local manifest for media playback as taught by Berger to include HTML tags as taught by Knepper for the benefit of dynamically targeting advertisement to users/monetization (¶0077/¶0003.)
Regarding claim 57, Applicant argues (pg. 18 of the Remarks) that Berger, Knepper, or Swaminathan teaches (individually or in combination) timestamp-based retrieval, dynamic advertisement replacement during playback, or reporting of replacement advertisement viewings. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Knepper teaches (¶0035, ¶0049) client uses a playlist/instruction file for playback; (¶0052) new (HTML) tags, not standard to HTML programming, have been developed as a feature of the invention (or as an independent invention) and are utilized to control the addition of advertisement files; (¶0053-¶0055) <ADInsert> html tag to insert advertisement Playlist=http://dl.sitename/folder1/folder2/adclip.zip; (¶0078-¶0079) other ways to load advertisements using HTML tags; dynamically targeting advertisement to users (¶0077.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method that uses a manifest as taught by Berger to include dynamic HTML tags as taught by Knepper for the benefit of providing advertising that users find relevant/interesting. Furthermore, Swaminathan teaches (¶0034) having information about how many advertisement markers have been replaced as well as information regarding advertisement playback history information (played by the media playback module.) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify apparatus of Berger and Knepper with the providing of the advertisement playback history as taught by Swaminathan in order to determine the effectiveness of ads and whether advertising targets have been met.
Regarding claim 58 (pg. 19 of the Remarks), the respective rejections are maintained as Applicant argued that claim 58 is allowable by virtue of depending from an allowable claim, however it is the Examiner’s contention that the Independent claims are presently not allowable. Applicant also argues that the secondary references do not cure the deficiencies of Berger, nevertheless it is the Examiner's contention that Berger does not contain any deficiencies.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 21-36 and 48-58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-41 of U.S. Patent No. 11800171. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and thus is anticipated by the patent. For example, note the following relationship between the instant application claim 21 and patented claims 14 and 15 (examiner note: similarities to the patented claims have been underlined.).
Instant 18381483
Patent 11800171
Claim 21: A computerized method for recording a live digitally rendered media stream, the computerized method comprising: receiving, at a computerized client device in data communication with a managed network, at least one network data structure associated with the live digitally rendered media stream, the at least one network data structure (i) comprising a plurality of uniform resource locators (URLs), the plurality of URLs indicative of a plurality of respective first network locations of the managed network where a plurality of respective digitally rendered media segments may be accessed,
and (ii) establishing a device-based security boundary around at least the computerized client device, the device-based security boundary enabling an operator of the managed network to maintain one or more content protection mechanisms over the plurality of respective digitally rendered media segments outside of the managed network;
based at least on the at least one network data structure, accessing at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments from respective ones of the plurality of first network locations;
storing the accessed at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments in one or more second locations accessible to the computerized client device; producing a local data structure with data relating to the one or more second locations, the local data structure comprising a version of the at least one network data structure modified based on one or more parameters associated with a non-managed internetwork,
the version of the at least one network data structure configured to maintain the device-based security boundary;
and utilizing the local data structure to access, without data communication to the managed network and according to the one or more parameters, the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments stored in the one or more second locations.
Claim 14: A computerized method for recording a live digitally rendered media stream, the computerized method comprising: receiving, at a computerized client device in data communication with a managed network, at least one network data structure associated with the live digitally rendered media stream, the at least one network data structure comprising a plurality of uniform resource locators (URLs), the plurality of URLs indicative of a plurality of respective first network locations of the managed network where a plurality of respective digitally rendered media segments may be accessed,
Claim 15: The computerized method of claim 14, wherein: the at least one network data structure establishes a device-based security boundary around at least the computerized client device, the device-based security boundary enabling the operator of the managed network to maintain one or more content protection mechanisms over the plurality of respective digitally rendered media segments outside of the managed network;
Claim 14 continued: based at least on the at least one network data structure, accessing at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments from respective ones of the plurality of first network locations, the accessing of the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments comprising accessing of the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments consistent with one or more network content delivery quality of service (QoS) guarantees configured by an operator of the managed network;
storing the accessed at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments in one or more second locations accessible to the computerized client device; producing a local data structure with data relating to the one or more second locations, the local data structure comprising a version of the at least one network data structure modified based on one or more parameters associated with a non-managed internetwork;
Claim 15 continued: the version of the at least one network data structure modified based on the one or more parameters associated with the non-managed internetwork is configured to maintain the device-based security boundary; and the access, without the data communication to the managed network, of the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments comprises access of the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments while the one or more content protection mechanisms are maintained.
Claim 14 continued: and utilizing the local data structure to access, without data communication to the managed network and according to the one or more parameters, the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments stored in the one or more second locations, the access of the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments according to the one or more parameters comprising accessing the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered media segments to render the live digitally rendered media stream without the one or more network content delivery QoS guarantees.
Claim 22 is similar to
Claim 17
Claim 23 is similar to
Claim 18
Claim 24 is similar to
Claim 19
Claim 25 is similar to
Claim 20
Claim 26 is similar to
Claim 26
Claim 27 is similar to
Claim 12
Claim 28 is similar to
Claim 27
Claim 29 is similar to
Claim 28
Claim 30 is similar to
Claim 21
Claim 31 is similar to
Claim 22
Claim 32 is similar to
Claim 23
Claim 33 is similar to
Claim 14
Claim 34 is similar to
Claim 24
Claim 35 is similar to
Claim 25
Claim 36 is similar to
Claim 15
Claim 48-49 are similar to
Claims 14-15
Using a similar analysis as above claims 48-58, of the instant application can be found to recite similar subject matter to claims 1-41 of patent 11800171. Thus, claims 21-36 and 48-58 of the instant application are respectively anticipated by claims 1-41 of patent 11800171.
Therefore, instant application 18381483 and Patent 11800171 are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite similar subject matter which is obvious over one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 48, 52, 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Berger et al. (US 20150095460, hereinafter Berger.)
Regarding claim 48, “A computerized client device configured for local playback of a live media stream, comprising: processor apparatus; and storage apparatus in data communication with the processor apparatus, the storage apparatus comprising at least one computer program configured to, when executed on the processor apparatus, cause the computerized client device to” Berger teaches (Fig. 3 and ¶0105) a device that uses a local manifest for play out from local store; (¶0030) device is computer implemented (e.g., computer, laptop, notebook, tablet. i.e., digital device with processor, memory, and software).
As to “receive, from a service provider, a network stream manifest comprising identifiers which identify respective network locations of media segments of the live media stream; utilize the network stream manifest to download a subset of the media segments” Berger teaches (¶0094 and ¶0099) that the app that plays out the video, on an device, fetches and reads a manifest (i.e., network data structure) from a server; (see Fig.4) that original manifest includes URL of fragments on the CDN; (¶0100) using the manifest URLs (i.e., metadata elements) to obtain the fragments; (¶0022, ¶0003, and Fig. 2) fragment are downloaded from a server that is part of a CDN; (¶0103) URL is a pointer to the network address of the fragment on the CDN.
As to “store the subset of media segments in local memory of the computerized client device; generate a local stream manifest referencing the stored subset of media segments” Berger teaches (¶0102) generating a new manifest file that points to the downloaded fragments in their locations on the device (i.e., one or more parameters); (¶0105) local/updated manifest is used to stream/play out the video; (¶0017) manifest file points to location of each of the fragments either locally, if the fragment has been stored locally or remotely if the fragment is not stored locally; (¶0070 and claim 63) content is associated with a network DVR; Berger teaches (¶0105) local/updated manifest is used to stream/play out the video.
As to “and utilize the local stream manifest to render a portion of the live media stream for playback on the computerized client device without reconnecting to a network and without complete download of all of the segments of the live stream.” Berger teaches (¶0105) local/updated manifest is used to stream/play out the video; (¶0017) in an aspect, at a device to which streaming-formatted fragments that represent at least some portions of a content item have been delivered, the fragments of the content item are played out in sequence in a streaming mode by using manifest file information to point to the location of each of the fragments either locally, if the fragment has been stored locally, or remotely if the fragment is not been stored locally; (¶0095 and ¶0048) once video is recorded the user can watch video without network connection. Examiner notes that Berger’s system plays the fragments stored locally without reconnecting to the network while playing out those fragments.
Regarding claim 52, “The computerized client device of claim 48, further comprising a software-based graphical user interface (GUI), the GUI configured to enable a user of the computerized client device to select media content based on at least one of (i) a subscriber- generated content descriptor, or (ii) a default content descriptor; wherein the at least one of the subscriber-generated content descriptor or the default content descriptor is descriptive of the local stream manifest.” Berger teaches (Fig. 11 and ¶0074) GUI with downloaded content name (e.g., Shrek.)
Regarding claim 55, “Computer readable apparatus comprising a non-transitory storage medium, the non-transitory storage medium comprising at least one computer program having a plurality of instructions, the plurality of instructions configured to, when executed on a processing apparatus, cause a computerized client device to” Berger teaches (Fig. 3 and ¶0105) a device that uses a local manifest for play out from local store; (¶0030) device is computer implemented (e.g., computer, laptop, notebook, tablet. i.e., digital device with processor, memory, and software).
As to “obtain, at the computerized client device, first data, at least a portion of the first data relating to a network stream manifest, the network stream manifest indicative of a plurality of respective digitally rendered content elements of a media stream may be retrieved; based at least in part on the network stream manifest, retrieve and store a subset of the media stream comprising at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered content elements” Berger teaches (¶0094 and ¶0099) that the app that plays out the video, on an device, fetches and reads a manifest (i.e., network data structure) from a server; (see Fig.4) that original manifest includes URL of fragments on the CDN; (¶0100) using the manifest URLs (i.e., metadata elements) to obtain the fragments; (¶0022, ¶0003, and Fig. 2) fragment are downloaded from a server that is part of a CDN; (¶0103) URL is a pointer to the network address of the fragment on the CDN.
As to “cause at least one of (i) a generation, or (ii) an update of an internal stream manifest that comprises references only to the stored subset of the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered content elements, the internal stream manifest disposed within the computerized client device” Berger teaches (¶0102) generating a new manifest file that points to the downloaded fragments in their locations on the device (i.e., one or more parameters); (¶0105) local/updated manifest is used to stream/play out the video; (¶0105 and Fig. 4) and a local version of the manifest 120 used to point at the stored media fragments (i.e., a subset, containing every single element/fragment of the original set) on the device; (¶0070 and claim 63) content is associated with a network DVR; Berger teaches (¶0105) local/updated manifest is used to stream/play out the video.
As to “and utilize the internal stream manifest to render the at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered content elements, without further network communication.” Berger teaches (¶0105) local/updated manifest is used to stream/play out the video; (¶0095 and ¶0048) once video is recorded the user can watch video without network connection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 50, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger in view of Kang et al. (US 20120090036, hereinafter Kang.)
Regarding claim 50, Berger does not teach “The computerized client device of claim 48, wherein: the local stream manifest comprises device-specific entitlement restrictions; the at least one computer program is further configured to, when executed on the processor apparatus, cause the computerized client device to: determine, without contacting the service provider, whether the local playback is authorized based on the device-specific entitlement restrictions in the local stream manifest; and the utilization of the at least portion of the local stream manifest to render the media stream for the playback is based on the determination indicating that the local playback is authorized.” However, Kang teaches (Fig. 10 and ¶0096) the user terminal 100 receives MPD information provided by adaptive streaming service through the transceiver 190 in step 502. The MPD information includes group information of representations corresponding to the content and content protection information corresponding to the representation group information; (¶0097-¶0098) determining the DRM system required for each representation group; (¶0099) After determining the required DRM system, the user terminal 100 determines in step 508 whether the required DRM system is a DRM system provided (supported) in the user terminal 100. If the required DRM system is a provided DRM system, the user terminal 100 selects an optimal DRM system among the provided DRM systems in step 510; (¶0100) decrypt and play content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method that downloads media content from a remote source/media provider as taught by Berger with the entitlement/DRM protection as taught by Kang in order to prevent unauthorized distribution of content thus protecting income streams.
Claim(s) 51, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger in view of Riedl et al. (US 20090100459, hereinafter Riedl.)
Regarding claim 51, Berger does not teach “The computerized client device of claim 48, wherein the media segments comprise non-time-based media segments of irregular length.” However, Riedl teaches (¶0201) segments may comprise short segments of arbitrary or irregular length, such as sports "highlight" clips lasting 10 seconds or so, or clips from live events such concerts, wherein a segment might comprise the live performance of a song, which can obviously vary in length from one song to another, or even one performance of the same song to another; (¶0195) content segmentation refers to the process where a content stream, or portions thereof, is segmented into smaller components. Packetization of content streams is one form of segmentation; however, at a more macro level, groups of packets correlating to segmentation boundaries may be formed so as to provide inter alia convenient boundaries for insertion of other content. For example, one form of segmentation comprises segmenting a program stream at various locations within the stream corresponding to e.g., the beginning or end of a program, scene changes (such as where advertisements might be spliced in), or other logical boundaries. Alternatively, segmentation may occur based on a temporal scheme (e.g., a boundary or segmentation at every 5.0 minutes of content). Other approaches may be used as well. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method that downloads media content from a remote source/media provider as taught by Berger with the segmentation as taught by Riedl to provide boundaries for insertion of other content/customize ads (¶0195.)
Claim(s) 53, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger in view of Athias (US 20100125882.)
Regarding claim 53, Berger does not teach “The computerized client device of claim 48, wherein: the at least one computer program is further configured to, when executed on the processor apparatus: receive input relating to a search term; utilize the input to cause performance of a search, the search based on the search term; display of a listing of playlists, the listing of playlists resulting from the performed search; and receive input relating to a selection of a particular playlist from the displayed listing of playlists; and the retrieval of the local stream manifest comprises retrieval of a stream manifest for the selected particular playlist.” However, Athias teaches (¶0043-¶0044 and ¶0055) users are able to save playlist locally; (¶0053, claims 4 and 5) users are able to search for and obtain playlists using a search engine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the client that stores local manifests/playlist of content and uses said manifest/playlist for playback as taught by Berger with the search playlist function as taught by Athias for the benefit of allowing users the ability to quickly find the playlist/content that they desire.
Claim(s) 54, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger in view of Knepper et al. (US 20010042249, hereinafter Knepper.)
Regarding claim 54, Berger does not teach “The computerized client device of claim 48, wherein: the local stream manifest comprises a plurality of uniform resource locators (URLs), the plurality of URLs indicative of the respective network locations where the media segments may be accessed; and at least a portion of the plurality of URLs comprise one or more URLs punctuated with at least one of (i) HTML (HyperText Markup Language) tags or (ii) Javascript, configured to enable dynamic advertisement insertion.” However, Knepper teaches (¶0035, ¶0049) client uses a playlist/instruction file for playback; (¶0052) new (HTML) tags, not standard to HTML programming, have been developed as a feature of the invention (or as an independent invention) and are utilized to control the addition of advertisement files; (¶0053-¶0055) <ADInsert> html tag to insert advertisement Playlist=http://dl.sitename/folder1/folder2/adclip.zip; (¶0078-¶0079) other ways to load advertisements using HTML tags. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method that uses a local manifest for media playback as taught by Berger to include HTML tags as taught by Knepper for the benefit of dynamically targeting advertisement to users/monetization (¶0077/¶0003.)
Claim(s) 57, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger in view of Knepper and Swaminathan et al. (US 20140040026, hereinafter Swaminathan)
Regarding claim 57, Berger does not teach “The computer readable apparatus of claim 55, wherein: the obtainment of the first data comprises retrieval of at least one indication of an advertisement insertion time stamp associated with a digital media stream; and the plurality of instructions are further configured to, when executed on the processing apparatus, cause the computerized client device to: select one or more advertisement content elements of the digital media stream for replacement according to one or more preferences, the one or more preferences associated with the computerized client device or a user thereof, during each playback instance of the one or more advertisement content elements, dynamically replace, via at least the computerized client device, the one or more advertisement content elements with one or more replacement advertisement content elements at the advertisement insertion time stamp.” However, Knepper teaches (¶0035, ¶0049) client uses a playlist/instruction file for playback; (¶0052) new (HTML) tags, not standard to HTML programming, have been developed as a feature of the invention (or as an independent invention) and are utilized to control the addition of advertisement files; (¶0053-¶0055) <ADInsert> html tag to insert advertisement Playlist=http://dl.sitename/folder1/folder2/adclip.zip; (¶0078-¶0079) other ways to load advertisements using HTML tags; dynamically targeting advertisement to users (¶0077.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method that uses a manifest as taught by Berger to include dynamic HTML tags as taught by Knepper for the benefit of providing advertising that users find relevant/interesting.
Berger and Knepper do not teach “and report, to a service provider and via transmission of a data message, when the one or more replacement advertisement content elements have been played such that the service provider can account for each view of one or more advertisements respectively associated with the one or more replacement advertisement content elements.” However, Swaminathan teaches (¶0034) having information about how many advertisement markers have been replaced as well as information regarding advertisement playback history information (played by the media playback module.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify apparatus of Berger and Knepper with the providing of the advertisement playback history as taught by Swaminathan in order to determine the effectiveness of ads and whether advertising targets have been met.
Claim(s) 58, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger in view of Luong (US 20110283311) and Watanabe (US 20130282876.)
Regarding claim 58, “The computer readable apparatus of claim 55, wherein: the plurality of instructions are further configured to, when executed on the processing apparatus, cause the computerized client device to: based on receipt of second data, retrieve the generated or updated internal stream manifest, the second data representative of a request for playback of a digital media stream” Berger teaches (¶0105) local/updated manifest is used to stream/play out the video.
Berger does not teach “determine whether playback of the digital media stream is authorized; and based on a determination that playback of the digital media stream is authorized, cause display, at the computerized client device, of the digital media stream” However, Luong teaches (¶0132, ¶0133, and Fig. 12) determining if access control restrictions are applicable and that if access is restricted content is identified, replacing (i.e., omitting) the access restricted content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the local manifest of Berger to apply access restriction as taught by Luong in order to give parents control over what content their children watch.
Berger and Luong do not teach “and the playback comprises reconstruction of the digital media stream, the reconstruction comprising (i) utilization of at least the stored at least two of the plurality of digitally rendered content elements, and (ii) omission of at least one digitally rendered content element that is incompatible with one or more capabilities of the computerized client device.” However, Watanabe teaches (¶0003-¶00014) the use of an MPD to select and stream the desired representation of content; (¶0010) a plurality of representation are described whose codec, bit rate, frame rate, resolution and other information are different, the client then selects a Representation having a codec, bit rate, a frame rate, a resolution, and other information which correspond to those reproducible on the client’s machine; (¶0160-¶0161) that based on the properties of a reproducing device certain devices (e.g., a television with high resolution) can display both image content and time-text content, while other devices (e.g., mobile terminal) can display the low resolution image content but not the time-text content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Berger and Luong do not teach with the group attributes as taught by Watanabe in order for the client to understand which content can and cannot be reproduced whilst permitting users to enjoy sub video contents alongside the video.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 49 and 56 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Frank Johnson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425