DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitation “the first speed of the golf club”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “the fourth distance”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 24, recites, "raw launch data," "processed launch," and "processed launch data," however, raw launch data and processed launch data have already been introduced, therefore, it is unclear whether the second recited "raw launch data," and "processed launch data," is meant to introduce new raw launch data and new processed launch data. for the purpose of the written opinion proposed, the claim has been analyzed as "the raw launch data," the processed launch data," and "the processed launch data," as best interpreted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hendrix et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0398138).
Hendrix discloses a system for monitoring a trajectory of a golf ball struck by a golf club (Referring initially to FIG. 1, a hybrid golf launch monitor 100 is utilized by a golfer 102 (or other person) to analyze flight characteristics of a golf ball 104 that was struck by a golf club 106, para 0019), the system comprising: a first camera configured to capture a first image of the golf ball after the golf ball is struck by the golf club (The golfer 102 then swings the golf club 106, enabling one or more trigger devices of the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 to detect the swing, para 0020; the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes...a first camera 352, para 0028; The cameras 352,354 are each configured to capture image data of the golf ball 104 at or after the club head 108 strikes the golf ball 104. Two exemplary captured images are shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B. The second camera 354 is configured to capture a second image after the first camera 352 captures a first image, para 0033, Fig. 6A; The time T1 may be calculated to be at or slightly after the time of the strike, based at least in part on the trigger signal from the trigger device, para 0067); a second camera configured to capture a second image of the golf ball after the first image is captured (the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes...a second camera 354, para 0028; The cameras 352,354 are each configured to capture image data of the golf ball 104 at or after the club head 108 strikes the golf ball 104. Two exemplary captured images are shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B. The second camera 354 is configured to capture a second image after the first camera 352 captures a first image, [para 0033, Fig. 6B); a radar having a detection field, wherein the radar is configured to detect flight characteristics of the golf club or golf ball within the detection field (the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes...a radar 356, para 0028; The radar 356 is configured to provide one or more indications of a swing of the golf club 106. The radar 356 may use the Doppler effect to measure the speed and/or position of the club head 108 and/or the golf ball 104. In embodiments, the radar 356 is configured to capture a single-channel doppler radar 356 observation...The radiation source may be positioned in or otherwise associated with one of the openings 308, 310, 312 in the housing 300 so the electronic hybrid golf launch monitor 100 may be placed on the ground in proximity of the golfer 102 and the golf ball 104, para 0038; In embodiments in which the trigger device is the radar 356, the processing element 350 will analyze an output from the radar 356 to detect the swing and determine when the swing will strike the golf ball 104, para 0063, [the radar detecting the swing of the golf club shows that the golf club is within the detection field of the radar]); and a processor in communication with the first camera, the second camera, and the radar (The various components described herein are shown connected in FIG. 3B but need not be physically connected to one another since wireless communication among the various depicted components is permissible and intended to fall within the scope of the present invention...the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes a processing element 350, a first camera 352, a second camera 354, a radar 356...a communications element 362, an input/output interface 364, para 0028), wherein the processor is configured to: trigger the first camera to capture the first image of the golf ball based on the radar detecting a flight characteristic of the golf club or golf ball (The hybrid golf launch monitor 100 may thus utilize one or more triggering devices to accurately time the capture of the first image and the second image. The trigger device provides an estimation or determination of the time of the strike, para 0037; the trigger device is the radar 356. The radar 356 is configured to provide one or more indications of a swing of the golf club 106. The radar 356 may use the Doppler effect to measure the speed and/or position of the club head 108 and/or the golf ball 104, para 0038; The radar 356 may be utilized to provide swing analytics and an indication of when the swing has begun. Additionally, or alternatively, the radar 356 may provide an indication of impact time or other swing events, para 0040; the processing element 350 sends an instruction to the first camera 352 which includes the time T1 such that the first camera 352 will capture the first image when the time T1 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the first camera 352 at the time T1, such that the first
camera 352 captures the first image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350, para 0066; In Step 406, the processing element 350 instructs the first camera 352 to capture a first image at the time T1, par 0072), trigger the second camera to capture the second image of the golf ball after the first camera captures the first image (the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes...a second camera 354, para 0028; The cameras 352,354 are each configured to capture image data of the golf ball 104 at or after the club head 108 strikes the golf ball 104. Two exemplary captured images are shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B. The second camera 354 is configured to capture a second image after the first camera 352 captures a first image, para 0033, Fig. 6B; Similarly, the processing element 350 instruction to the second camera 354 which includes the time T2 such that the second camera 354 will capture the second image when the time T2 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the second camera 354 at the time T2, such that the second camera 354 captures the second image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350, para 0066; In Step 408, the processing element 350 instructs the second camera 354 to capture a second image at the time T2, para 0072), and present the trajectory of the golf ball to an interface or a display, wherein the trajectory is based on the first image, the second image, and the flight characteristic of the golf club or golf ball ( if the flight characteristic resembles the F resultant trajectory 208, the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 may infer that the golfer 102 performed a straight, slicing swing as shown in diagram F. The hybrid golf launch monitor 100 may therefore present information to the golfer 102 that the swing was straight and slicing and may additionally provide information to the golfer 102 to suggest steps the golfer 102 can take to reduce or eliminate the slicing, para 0021; Golf launch monitors may be used to measure and predict the path of a golf ball based on various characteristics of the ball (and/or club head) measured concurrently with striking of the golf ball, para 0022, [path of a golf ball constitutes trajectory of the golf ball]; the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes a display 316 disposed in the angled top wall 304 or elsewhere on the housing. The display 316 presents a user interface (discussed below) that provides resultant feedback to the golfer 102, para 0027; Generally, the processing element 350 may determine when the swing is beginning, determine an appropriate time to capture the images, acquire and compare the images, and then determine one or more flight characteristics based upon the comparison. Once the analysis is complete, the processing element 350 may control the display 316...the processing element 350 may present on the display 316 various information about the flight characteristics. In still other embodiments, the processing element 350 may determine an estimated landing position (and/or resting position after roll) for the golf ball 104, for use in a simulated game for example, para 0060).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendrix.
Regarding Claim 4, Hendrix discloses the system as discussed above in claim 1.
Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose wherein: the first camera captures the first image when the golf ball is centrally located within a field of view of the first camera; and the second camera captures the second image when the golf ball is centrally located within a field of view of the second camera. However, Hendrix teaches wherein: the first camera captures the first image when the golf ball is within a field of view of the first camera; and the second camera captures the second image when the golf ball is within a field of view of the second camera (In Step 404, the processing element 350 determines a time T1 and a time T2. The time T1 is the time at which the first camera 352 takes the first image. The time T2 is the time at which the second camera 354 takes the second image. Examples of a first image and a second image are shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, para 0065). Furthermore, defining a specific orientation of an object within a field of view of a camera, such as centrally located, would involve routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrix with the image captures for the purpose of ensuring the golf ball is not outside the field of view during the second image (see Hendrix, para 0070).
Regarding Claim 7, Hendrix discloses the system as discussed in claim 4 above, wherein: the golf ball travels a lateral distance between the first and second images; the lateral distance is based on (i) a difference in an area of the golf ball in the first and second images (The time interval may be set to maximize the amount of travel of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, without causing the golf ball 104 to be outside the field of view during the second image, para 0070; The second image shows the golf ball 104 progressed through the flight relative to the first image, para 0073; An amount of the progression of the golf ball 104 in the second image, relative to the first image, is indicative of a speed of the golf ball 104 as imparted by the swing, para 0075) and (ii) a difference in a number of pixels of the golf ball in the first and second images (A relative size of the golf ball 104 in the second image relative to the first image is indicative of an azimuth direction of the strike, para 0075, [the golf ball being different sizes relative to each other in the first and second image shows a difference in the number of pixels of the golf ball]); and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the lateral distance of the golf ball (The ball flight data may be calculated based on the approximate start position and the approximate rest position of the golf ball 104 and may include, for example, a driving distance or other distance of the golf ball 104, para 0084, [ball flight constitutes trajectory]).
Regarding Claim 8, Hendrix discloses the system as discussed in claim 4 above, wherein: a spin rate of the golf ball is based on a first orientation of the golf ball in the first image and a second orientation of the golf ball in the second image (The golfer 102 may orient an indicium (shown in FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 7 and discussed below) on the golf ball 104 toward the hybrid golf launch monitor 100, such that the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 may detect spin on the golf ball 104 by monitoring rotation of the indicium, para 0020; An indicium 604 on the golf ball 104 is visible in both the exemplary first image 600 and the exemplary second image 602. The indicium 604 has rotated in the exemplary second image 602 relative to the exemplary first image 600. The rotation of the indicium 604 is indicative of an amount and a direction of spin imparted on the golf ball 104 by the swing. The indicium 604 may be any easily discernable mark on the golf ball 104, para 0074; The ball spin may include a spin rate and/or a spin direction. The spin rate is a measure of the amount or rate of spin imparted on the golf ball 104 by the strike. Spin is imparted by the striking of a non-perpendicular club face. The spin direction is a measure of a spin axis about which the golf ball 104 is spinning. The spin axis may have components of back/topspin and sidespin. This is because back/topspin will affect the flight characteristics independently of the sidespin. The ball spin is determined by analyzing one or more indicium 604 on the golf ball 104. Typically, the golfer 102 will face the indicium 604 toward the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 before striking the golf ball 104, such that the first camera 352 and the second camera 354 can capture two consecutive images showing the indicium 604, para 0081); and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the spin rate of the golf ball (The ball spin affects the future flight characteristics of the ball flight (e.g., hooking or slicing), para 0081, [hooking or slicing constitutes trajectory]).
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendrix in view of Kim Jun et al. (KR 2015098585).
Regarding Claim 2, Hendrix discloses the system as discussed in claim above, wherein: the flight characteristic of the golf club comprises a speed of the golf club at a position where the golf club strikes the golf ball (In embodiments in which the trigger device is the radar 356, the processing element 350 will analyze an output from the radar 356 to detect the swing and determine when the swing will strike the golf ball 104, para 0062; the radar or other external trigger provides an indication of a swing in progress. Based upon the speed and position of the club head 108, a time of the strike may be calculated, para 0067); a speed of the golf ball is based on the speed of the golf club (the time interval is dynamically variable. In these embodiments, the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact. As such, the speed of the swing may dictate or otherwise influence the time interval for that particular swing, para 0070); the processor is configured to trigger the second camera to capture the second image an amount of time after the first camera captures the first image (The time interval may be set to maximize the amount of travel of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, without causing the golf ball 104 to be outside the field of view during the second image, para 0070); the amount of time is based on the speed of the golf ball (The processing element 350 may, by analyzing the prior radar readings 504, estimate the time of the impact 510 of the golf club 106, which may dictate when the first camera 352 and the second camera 354 take their respective images, para 0063; the twine interval is dynamically variable. In these embodiments, the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact. As such, the speed of the swing may dictate or otherwise influence the time interval for that particular swing. The time interval may be set to maximize the amount of travel of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, without causing the golf ball 104 to be outside the field of view during the second image, para 0070).
Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose a speed of the golf ball is based on a factor of the speed of the golf club; and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the speed of the golf ball. Kim is in the field of golf swing analysis (abstract) and teaches a speed of the golf ball is based on a factor of the speed of the golf club (the swing analysis information calculation unit may further include an accuracy calculation unit configured to calculate a smash factor based on a ratio of a speed of the golf club and a speed of the golf ball, para 0020); and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the speed of the golf ball (the carriage distance calculation unit 134 may calculate a carry distance of the golf ball based on the golf ball speed calculated by the ball speed calculation unit 131 and the type of golf club set by receiving input from the user, para 0087, [carry distance of the golf ball constitutes trajectory of the golf ball]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrix with the golf swing analysis apparatus of Kim for the purpose of calculating a speed of a golf club based on a zero crossing frequency generated in the time domain from an output signal. The golf swing analyzing apparatus may calculate a speed of the golf ball based on a frequency component obtained by converting the output signal into the frequency domain. Accordingly, the golf swing analysis device may have a fast calculation speed because it calculates the speed of the golf club without converting the output signal into the frequency domain (see para 0117 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 3, Hendrix in view of Kim fail to explicitly disclose wherein the factor is between about 1.2 and about 1.5 times the speed of the golf club. Kim teaches wherein the factor is between about 1.2 and about 1.5 times the speed of the golf club (the carriage distance calculation unit 134 may calculate the carry distance of 80 m using a pre-stored value when the golf ball speed is 40m/s, the golf club No. 6 iron, and the Smash factor is 1.3, para 0090). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrix n with the golf swing analysis apparatus of Kim for the purpose of calculating a speed of a golf club based on a zero crossing frequency generated in the time domain from an output signal. The golf swing analyzing apparatus may calculate a speed of the golf ball based on a frequency component obtained by converting the output signal into the frequency domain. Accordingly, the golf swing analysis device may have a fast calculation speed because it calculates the speed of the golf club without converting the output signal into the frequency domain (see para 0117 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 5, Hendrix in view of Kim disclose the system as discussed in claim 4 above, wherein: the flight characteristic of the golf club corresponds to a speed of the golf club at a position where the golf ball is initially placed (In embodiments in which the trigger device is the radar 356, the processing element 350 will analyze an output from the radar 356 to detect the swing and determine when the swing will strike the golf ball 104, para 0062; the radar or other external trigger provides an indication of a swing in progress. Based upon the speed and position of the club head 108, a time of the strike may be calculated, para 0067, [the position of the golf ball when it is struck is the position it's initially placed]); the processor is configured to trigger the second camera to capture the second image an amount of time after the first camera captures the first image (the processing element 350 sends an instruction to the first camera 352 which includes the time T1 such that the first camera 352 will capture the first image when the time T1 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the first camera 352 at the time T1, such that the first camera 352 captures the first image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350. Similarly, the processing element 350 instruction to the second camera 354 which includes the time T2 such that the second camera 354 will capture the second image when the time T2 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the second camera 354 at the time T2, such that the second camera 354 captures the second image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350, para 0066); a speed of the golf ball is calculated based on a distance the golf ball travels between the first and second images and the amount of lime between the first and second images (The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact. As such, the speed of the swing may dictate or otherwise influence the time interval for that particular swing. The time interval may be set to maximize the amount of travel of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, without causing the golf ball 104 to be outside the field of view during the second image, para 0070; An amount of the progression of the golf ball 104 in the second image, relative to the first image, is indicative of a speed of the golf ball 104 as Imparted by the swing, para 0075; The speed may be measured based upon a linear distance between the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, in relation to the interval time, para 0080). Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the speed of the golf ball. Kim teaches the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the speed of the golf ball (the carriage distance calculation unit 134 may calculate a carry distance of the golf ball based on the golf ball speed calculated by the ball speed calculation unit 131 and the type
of golf club set by receiving input from the user, para 0087, [carry distance of the golf ball constitutes trajectory of the golf ball]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrix with the golf swing analysis apparatus of Kim for the purpose of calculating a speed of a golf club based on a zero crossing frequency generated in the time domain from an output signal. The golf swing analyzing apparatus may calculate a speed of the golf ball based on a frequency component obtained by converting the output signal into the frequency domain, Accordingly, the golf swing analysis device may have a fast calculation speed because it calculates the speed of the golf club without converting the output signal into the frequency domain (see para 0117 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 6, Hendrix in view of Kim discloses the system as discussed in 5 above, wherein: a launch angle and speed of the golf ball are based on a latitudinal distance and a longitudinal distance the golf ball travels between the first and second images (An amount or the progression or the golf ball 104 in the second image, relative to the first image, is indicative of a speed of the golf ball 104 as imparted by the swing... A relative vertical location of the golf ball 104 in the second image relative to the first image is indicative of an elevation direction of the strike; para 0075; The ball launch speed is the amount of speed imparted on the golf ball 104 by the strike. The speed may be measured based upon a linear distance between the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, in relation to the interval time. The ball launch speed, in combination with one or both of the ball launch angles, may be referred to as ball launch velocity, para 0080); and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the launch angle of the golf ball (Ball launch angles describe the initial flight path of the golf ball 104 after the strike. The azimuth is the lateral direction of the ball launch. The azimuth may be measured relative to the Earth (e.g., a heading, as measured via the magnetic compass 368) or relative to the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 (e.g., with straight being perpendicular to the field of view of the first camera 352 and second camera 354). The azimuth may be measured, at least in part, upon a change in apparent size of the golf ball 104 between the first image and the second image, being indicative of whether the golf ball 104 is moving toward or away from the hybrid golf launch monitor 100. The elevation is the vertical direction of the ball launch. The elevation may be measured as an upward angle relative to horizontal or some other reference. The elevation may be measured, at least in part upon the relative positions of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image. The vertical and horizontal change in position is indicative or the amount of elevation imparted on the golf ball 104 by the strike, para 0079, (flight path constitutes trajectory]). Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose the amount of time is between about 1 millisecond and about 10 milliseconds. However, Hendrix teaches that the time interval is faster than the frame rate of the cameras and the frame rate of the cameras is anywhere between 40 frames per second to under 1000 frames per second (Examples of low-speed cameras include cameras capable of fewer than one thousand frames per second, fewer than five hundred frames per second, fewer than two hundred frames per second, fewer than one-hundred fifty frames per second, fewer than seventy frames per second, fewer than sixty frames per second, in a range of thirty to one hundred frames per second, in a range of thirty to two hundred frames per second, in a range of forty to sixty frames per second, or in some other range, para 0031; A lime interval between the first image and the second image may be static, variable, or input by the user (as discussed below). Typically, the time interval between the first image and the second image will be faster than a frame rate of the cameras 352,354. The allows the two low- speed cameras 352,354 to mimic a high-speed camera, but at a significantly reduced cost, para 0033). Furthermore, specifying a specific time interval would involve routine skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrix with the low speed cameras for the purpose of utilizing two or more low-speed cameras timed to take pictures at a rapid interval, the two or more low-speed cameras can provide the benefits of a high-speed camera for a substantially reduced cost (see para 0031 of Hendrix).
Regarding Claim 14, Hendrix discloses a computing device for determining a trajectory of a golf ball struck by a golf club (Referring initially to FIG. 1, a hybrid golf launch monitor 100 is utilized by a golfer 102 (or other person) lo analyze flight characteristics of a golf ball 104 that was struck by a golf club 106, para 0019), the computing device comprising: one or more memories for storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the one or more processors to (the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes a processing element 350, a first camera 352, a second camera 354, a radar 356...a communications element 362, an input/output interface 364, para 0028; The processing element 350 may include one or more processors, microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors (DSPs), field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), analog and/or digital application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs), or the like, or combinations thereof. The processing element 350 may generally execute, process, or run instructions, code, code segments, software, firmware, programs, applications, apps, processes, services, daemons, or the like, or may step through states of a finite-state machine, or combinations of these actions, para 0029; The processing element 350 may be configured to retrieve, process and/or analyze data stored in memory device 360, to store data in the memory device 360, to replace data stored in the memory device 360, to analyze data or signals, capture video and/or image data, generate data, receive commands, control various functions of the systems, etc., para 0030; The memory device 360 may store the instructions, code, code segments, software, firmware, programs, applications, apps, services, daemons, or the like that are executed by the processing element 350, para 0041): receive information associated with flight characteristics of the golf club or golf ball (The hybrid golf launch monitor 100 calculates various flight characteristics of the golf ball 104 and/or the golf club 106 after the swing, para 0020; The statistical data may include, for example, the flight characteristics of numerous swings, para 0042; the radar or other external trigger provides an indication of a swing in progress. Based upon the speed and position of the club head 108, a time of the strike may be calculated, para 0067); determine a speed of the golf club based on the flight characteristics of the golf club or golf ball (the radar or other external trigger provides an indication of a swing in progress. Based upon the speed and position of the club head 108, a time of the strike may be calculated. This calculation of the time of the strike may be performed by the processing element 350 and/or the trigger device, para 0067; the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact, para 0070); determine a speed of the golf ball after being struck by the golf club (the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact, para 0070); transmit a first command to a first camera to capture a first image of the golf ball after being struck by the golf club (The golfer 102 then swings the golf club 106, enabling one or more trigger devices of the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 to detect the swing, para 0020; the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes...a first camera 352, para 0028; The cameras 352,354 are each configured to capture image data of the golf ball 104 at or after the club head 108 strikes the golf ball 104. Two exemplary captured images are shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B. The second camera 354 is configured to capture a second image after the first camera 352 captures a first image, para 0033, Fig. 6A; the processing element 350 sends an instruction to the first camera 352 which includes the time T1 such that the first camera 352 will capture the first image when the time T1 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the first camera 352 at the time T1, such that the first camera 352 captures the first image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350, para 0066; In Step 406, the processing element 350 instructs the first camera 352 to capture a first image at the lime T1, par 0072); transmit a second command to a second camera to capture a second image of the golf ball {the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes...a second camera 354, para 0028; The cameras 352,354 are each configured to capture image data of the golf ball 104 at or after the club head 108 strikes the golf ball 104. Two exemplary captured images are shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B. The second camera 354 is configured to capture a second image after the first camera 352 captures a first image, (para 0033, Fig. 6B; Similarly, the processing element 350 instruction to the second camera 354 which includes the time T2 such that the second camera 354 will capture the second image when the time T2 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction lo the second camera 354 al the lime T2, such that the second camera 354 captures the second image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350, para 0066; In Step 408, the processing element 350 instructs the second camera 354 to capture a second image at the time T2, para 0072); receive the first image and the second image (The first camera 352 and the second camera 354 each generate images of a field of view (the "image data"). The cameras 352,354 are each configured to capture image data of the golf ball 104 al or after the club head 108 strikes the golf ball 104. Two exemplary captured images are shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, para 0033; the cameras 352,362 each capture in each frame the objects present in the field of view (such as the club head 108, the golf ball 104, and/or the golfer 102, as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B). The camera 312 may store the image data to any suitable portion of memory device 360, para 0034; The processing element 350 may also store in the memory device 360 the first image and the second image. In other embodiments, the first camera 352 may store the first image in the memory device 360, and the second camera 354 may store the second image in the memory device 360. The processing element 350 may then retrieve the first image and the second image to perform the below-discussed analysis, para 0043; In Step 410, the processing element 350 acquires the first image from the first camera 352...ln Step 412, the processing element 350 acquires the second image from the second camera 354, para 0073); determine the trajectory of the golf ball based on the first image, the second image, the flight characteristics of the golf club (Golf launch monitors may be used to measure and predict the path of a golf ball based on various characteristics of the ball (and/or club head) measured concurrently with striking of the golf ball, para 0022; Generally, the processing element 350 may determine when the swing is beginning, determine an appropriate time to capture the images, acquire and compare the images, and then determine one or more flight characteristics based upon the comparison. Once the analysis is complete, the processing element 350 may control the display 316...the processing element 350 may present on the display 316 various information about the flight characteristics. In still other embodiments, the processing element 350 may determine an estimated landing position (and/or resting position after roll) for the golf ball 104, for use in a simulated game for example, para 0060); and present the trajectory of the golf ball to an interface or display {the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes a display 316 disposed in the angled top wall 304 or elsewhere on the housing.
The display 316 presents a user interface (discussed below) that provides resultant feedback to the golfer 102, para 0027; the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact, para 0070; Once the analysis is complete, the processing element 350 may control the display 316...the processing element 350 may present on the display 316 various information about the flight characteristics. In still other embodiments, the processing element 350 may determine an estimated landing position (and/or resting position after roll) for the golf ball 104, for use in a simulated game for example, para 0060).
Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose determining the trajectory of the golf ball based on the speed of the golf ball. Kim is in the field of golf swing analysis (abstract) and teaches determining the trajectory of the golf ball based on the speed of the golf ball (the carriage distance calculation unit 134 may calculate a carry distance of the golf ball based on the golf ball speed calculated by the ball speed calculation unit 131 and the type of golf club set by receiving input from the user, see para 0087 of Kim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrick with the golf swing analysis apparatus of Kim for the purpose of calculating a speed of a golf club based on a zero crossing frequency generated in the time domain from an output signal. The golf swing analyzing apparatus may calculate a speed of the golf ball based on a frequency component obtained by converting the output signal into the frequency domain. Accordingly, the golf swing analysis device may have a fast calculation speed because it calculates the speed of the golf club without converting the output signal into the frequency domain (see para 0117 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 15, Hendrick in view of Kim disclose the computing device of as discussed in claim 14 above, wherein Hendrick: the flight characteristics of the golf club comprise radar readings (In embodiments in which the trigger device is the radar 356, the processing element 350 will analyze an output from the radar 356 to detect the swing and determine when the swing will strike the golf ball 104...A radar graph 500 is shown with a baseline 502 thereon. A radar reading 504 is plotted on the radar graph 500 relative to the baseline 502...The processing element 350 may, by analyzing the prior radar readings 504, estimate the time of the impact 510 of the golf club 106, which may dictate when the first camera 352 and the second camera 354 take their respective images, para 0063, Fig. 5); the speed of the golf club is determined based on the radar readings of the golf club (the radar or other external trigger provides an indication of a swing in progress. Based upon the speed and position of the club head 108, a time of the strike may be calculated. This calculation of the time of the strike may be performed by the processing element 350 and/or the trigger device. The time T1 may be calculated to be at or slightly after the time of the strike, based at least in part on the trigger signal from the trigger device, para 0067); and transmitting the first command is based on the speed of the golf club when the golf club strikes the golf ball (The time T1 is the time at which the first camera 352 takes the first image, para 0065; the processing element 350 sends an instruction to the first camera 352 which includes the time T1 such that
the first camera 352 will capture the first image when the lime T1 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the first camera 352 at the time T1, such that the first camera 352 captures the first image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350, para 0066; The time T1 may be calculated to be at or slightly after the time of the strike, based at least in part on the trigger signal from the trigger device, para 0067).
Regarding Claim 16, Hendrick in view of Kim disclose the computing device as discussed in claim 15 above, wherein Kendrick discloses: the one or more memories stores additional instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to receive information associated with flight characteristics of the golf ball (the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact, para 0070); the flight characteristics of the golf ball comprise radar readings (The radar 356 may use the Doppler effect to measure the speed and/or position of the club head 108 and/or the golf ball 104, para 0038); the speed of the golf ball is determined based on the radar readings of the golf ball (The radar 356 may use the Doppler effect to measure the speed and/or position of the club head 108 and/or the golf ball 104, para 0038); and transmitting the second command is based on the speed of the golf ball after the golf club strikes the golf ball (the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact. As such, the speed of the swing may dictate or otherwise influence the time interval for that particular swing. The time interval may be set to maximize the amount of travel of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, without causing the golf ball 104 to be outside the field of view during the second image, para 0070; In Step 408, the processing element 350 instructs· the second camera 354 to capture a second image at the time T2, para 0072).
Regarding Claim 17, Hendrick in view of Kim disclose the computing device as disclosed in claim 14 above, wherein: Kendrick discloses the one or more memories stores additional instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to determine a launch angle of the golf ball based on the first image and the second image; and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the launch angle of the golf ball (Ball launch angles describe the initial flight path of the golf ball 104 after the strike. The azimuth is the lateral direction of the ball launch. The azimuth may be measured relative to the Earth (e.g., a heading, as measured via the magnetic compass 368) or relative to the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 (e.g., with straight being perpendicular to the field of view of the first camera 352 and second camera 354). The azimuth may be measured, at least in part, upon a change in apparent size of the golf ball 104 between the first image and the second image, being indicative of whether the golf ball 104 is moving toward or away from the hybrid golf launch monitor 100. The elevation is the vertical direction of the ball launch. The elevation may be measured as an upward angle relative to horizontal or some other reference. The elevation may be measured, at least in part upon the relative positions of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image. The vertical and horizontal change in position is indicative of the amount of elevation imparted on the golf ball 104 by the strike, para 0079, [flight path constitutes trajectory]).
Regarding Claim 18, Hendrick in view of Kim disclose the computing device of claim 17, wherein: Henrick discloses he one or more memories stores additional instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to determine a spin rate of the golf ball based on the first image and the second image (As can be seen, the golf ball 104 is in a different position in the exemplary first image 600 and the exemplary second image 602. An indicium 604 on the golf ball 104 is visible in both the exemplary first image 600 and the exemplary second image 602. The indicium 604 has rotated in the exemplary second image 602 relative to the exemplary first image 600. The rotation of the indicium 604 is indicative of an amount and a direction of spin imparted on the golf ball 104 by the swing, para 0074; The ball spin may include a spin rate and/or a spin direction. The spin rate is a measure of the amount or rate of spin imparted on the golf ball 104 by the strike. Spin is imparted by the striking of a non-perpendicular club face. The spin direction is a measure of a spin axis about which the golf ball 104 is spinning. The spin axis may have components of back/topspin and sidespin. This is because back/topspin will affect the flight characteristics independently of the sidespin. The ball spin is determined by analyzing one or more indicium 604 on the golf ball 104. Typically, the golfer 102 will face the indicium 604 toward the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 before striking the golf ball 104, such that the first camera 352 and the second camera 354 can capture two consecutive images showing the indicium 604, para 0081): and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the spin rate of the golf ball (The ball spin affects the future flight characteristics of the ball flight (e.g., hooking or slicing), para 0081, [hooking or slicing constitutes trajectory]).
Regarding Claim 19, Hendrick in view Kim discloses the recited features as discussed in claim 18 above, wherein: Hendrick discloses the one or more memories stores additional instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to determine a lateral distance the golf ball travels based on the first image and the second image (An amount of the progression of the golf ball .104 in the second image, relative to the first image, is indicative of a speed of the golf ball 104 as imparted by the swing, para 0075; A first example flight characteristic is ball launch angles (azimuth and elevation). Ball launch angles describe the initial flight path of the golf ball 104 after the strike. The azimuth is the lateral direction of the ball launch. The azimuth may be measured relative to the Earth (e.g., a heading, as measured via the magnetic compass 368) or relative to the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 (e.g., with straight being perpendicular to the field of view of the first camera 352 and second camera 354). The azimuth may be measured, at least in part, upon a change in apparent size of the golf ball 104 between the first image and the second image, being indicative of whether the golf ball 104 is moving toward or away from the hybrid golf launch monitor 100, para 0079); and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the lateral distance (Ball launch angles describe the initial flight path of the golf ball 104 after the strike...The vertical and horizontal change in position is indicative of the amount of elevation imparted on the golf ball 104 by the strike, para 0079, [flight path constitutes trajectory]).
Regarding Claim 20, Hendrick in view of Kim discloses the computing device of claim 15 as discussed above, wherein: Hendrick the speed of the golf ball is determined based on the speed of the golf club when the golf club strikes the golf ball (the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is Indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact, para 0070): and transmitting the second command is based on the speed of the golf ball after the golf club strikes the golf ball (Similarly, the processing element 350 instruction to the second camera 354 which includes the time T2 such that the second camera 354 will capture the second image when the time T2 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the second camera 354 at the lime T2, such that the second camera 354 captures the second image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350, para 0066; The processing element 350 may, by analyzing the prior radar readings 504, estimate the time of the impact 510 of the golf club 106, which may dictate when the first camera 352 and the second camera 354 take their respective images, para 0063; the time interval is dynamically variable. In these embodiments, the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact. As such, the speed of the swing may dictate or otherwise influence the time interval for that particular swing. The time interval may be set to maximize the amount of travel of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, without causing the golf ball 104 to be outside the field of view during the second image, para 0070).
Hendrick fails to explicitly disclose the speed of the golf ball is determined based on a factor of the speed of the golf club. Kim teaches the speed of the golf ball is determined based on a factor of the speed of the golf club (the swing analysis information calculation unit may further include an accuracy calculation unit configured to calculate a smash factor based on a ratio of a speed of the golf club and a speed of the golf ball, para 0020). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrick with the golf swing analysis apparatus of Kim for the purpose of calculating a speed of a golf club based on a zero crossing frequency generated in the time domain from an output signal. The golf swing analyzing apparatus may calculate a speed of the golf ball based on a frequency component obtained by converting the output signal into the frequency domain. Accordingly, the golf swing analysis device may have a fast calculation speed because it calculates the speed of the golf club without converting the output signal into the frequency domain (see para 0117 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 21, Hendrick in view of Kim disclose the computing device as discussed in claim 19 above, wherein: Hendrick discloses the launch angle is determined based on a latitudinal distance the golf ball travels between the first and second images and a longitudinal distance the golf ball travels between the first and second images (A first example flight characteristic is ball launch angles (azimuth and elevation). Ball launch angles describe the initial flight path of the golf ball 104 after the strike. The azimuth is the lateral direction of the ball launch. The azimuth may be measured relative to the Earth (e.g., a heading, as measured via the magnetic compass 368) or relative to the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 (e.g., with straight being perpendicular to the field of view of the first camera 352 and second camera 354). The azimuth may be measured, at least in part, upon a change in apparent size of the golf ball 104 between the first image and the second Image, being indicative of whether the golf ball 104 is moving toward or away from the hybrid golf launch monitor 100. The elevation is the vertical direction of the ball launch. The elevation may be measured as an upward angle relative to horizontal or some other reference. The elevation may be measured, at least in part upon the relative positions of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image. The vertical and horizontal change in position is indicative of the amount of elevation imparted on the golf ball 104 by the strike, para 0079); the spin rate is based on a first orientation of the golf ball in the first image and a second orientation of the golf ball in the second image (As can be seen, the golf
ball 104 is in a different position in the exemplary first image 600 and the exemplary second image 602. An indicium 604 on the golf ball 104 is visible in both the exemplary first image 600 and the exemplary second image 602. The indicium 604 has rotated in the exemplary second image 602 relative to the exemplary first image 600. The rotation of the indicium 604 is indicative of an amount and a direction of spin imparted on the golf ball 104 by the swing, para 0074; The ball spin may include a spin rate and/or a spin direction. The spin rate is a measure of the amount or rate of spin imparted on the golf ball 104 by the strike. Spin is imparted by the striking of a non-perpendicular club face. The spin direction is a measure of a spin axis about which the golf ball 104 is spinning. The spin axis may have components of back/topspin and sidespin. This is because back/topspin will affect the flight characteristics independently of the sidespin. The ball spin is determined by analyzing one or more indicium 604 on the golf ball 104. Typically, the golfer 102 will face the indicium 604 toward the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 before striking the golf ball 104, such that the first camera 352 and the second camera 354 can capture two consecutive images showing the indicium 604, para 0081): the lateral distance is based on at least one of (i) a difference in an area of the golf ball in the first and second images (The time interval may be set to maximize the amount of travel of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, without causing the golf ball 104 to be outside the field of view during the second Image, para 0070; The second image shows the golf ball 104 progressed through the flight relative to the first image, para 0073), and (ii) a difference in a number of pixels of the golf ball in the first and second images.
Regarding Claim 22, Hendrick in view of Kim disclose the computing device as disclosed in claim 15 above, wherein: Hendrick discloses the speed of the golf ball is determined based on the radar readings of the golf ball (The radar 356 may use the Doppler effect to measure the speed and/or position of the club head 108 and/or the golf ball 104, para 0038); the second command is transmitted to the second camera an amount of time after the first camera captures the first image (In Step 406, the processing element 350 instructs the first camera 352 to capture a first image at the lime T1. The time T1 may be immediately upon instruction of the processing element 350, upon a specific and precise time relayed in the instruction, or at some other time. In Step 408, the processing element 350 instructs the second camera 354 to capture a second image !JI the lime T2, para 0072); and the amount of time is based on the speed of the golf ball ( the processing element 350 sends an instruction to the first camera 352 which includes the lime T1 such that the first camera 352 will capture the first image when the time T1 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the first camera 352 at the time T1, such that the first camera 352 captures the first image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350. Similarly, the processing element 350 instruction to the second camera 354 which includes the time T2 such that the second camera 354 will capture the second image when the time T2 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the second camera 354 at the time T2, such that the second camera 354 captures the second image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350, para 0066).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendrick in view of Yin (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0051982) and Johansson et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0275873).
Hendrix discloses the system as disclosed in claim 1 above, including wherein: the flight characteristic of the golf club comprises a speed of the golf club at a position where the golf club strikes the golf ball (In embodiments in which the trigger device is the radar 356, the processing element 350 will analyze an output from the radar 356 to detect the swing and determine when the swing will strike the golf ball 104, para 0062; the radar or other external trigger provides an indication of a swing in progress. Based upon the speed and position of the club head 108, a time of the strike may be calculated, para 0067); the processor is configured to trigger the first camera based on the speed of the golf club ( the processing element 350 sends an instruction to the first camera 352 which includes the time T1 such that the first camera 352 will capture the first image when the time T1 arrives. In other embodiments, the processing element 350 may provide the instruction to the first camera 352 at the time T1, such that the first
camera 352 captures the first image immediately upon receiving the instruction from the processing element 350, para 0066; the time T1 is calculated as a future time. In these embodiments, the radar or other external trigger provides an indication of a swing in progress. Based upon the speed and position of the club head 108, a time of the strike may be calculated, para 0067); the radar is further configured to detect flight characteristics of the golf ball within the detection field (The radar 356 is configured to provide one or more indications of a swing of the golf club 106. The radar 356 may use the Doppler effect to measure the speed and/or position of the club head 108 and/or
the golf ball 104...the electronic hybrid golf launch monitor 100 may be placed on the ground in proximity of the golfer 102 and the golf ball 104, para 0038, [the radar being able to measure the speed of the golf club or golf ball shows that the golf club and the golf ball are within the detection field of the radar]); the processor is configured to trigger the second camera based on the speed of the golf ball (the processing element 350 (and/or the trigger device) calculates a speed of the swing (directly or indirectly). The speed of the swing is indicative of the speed of the golf ball 104 after impact. As such, the speed of the swing may dictate or otherwise influence the lime interval for that particular swing. The time interval may be set to maximize the amount of travel of the golf ball 104 in the first image and the second image, without causing the golf ball 104 to be outside the field of view during the second image, para 0070; In Step 408,
the processing element 350 instructs the second camera 354 to capture a second image at the time T2, para 0072).
Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first camera and the second camera have identical lenses, thereby producing identical fields of view for the first camera and the second camera; whereby the radar detects a plurality of speeds of the golf ball at a plurality of positions within the detection field after the golf ball is struck by the golf club; the processor is configured to trigger the second camera based on the plurality of speeds of the golf ball; and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the plurality of speeds of the golf ball. Yin is in the field of measuring object points on a three-dimensional object (abstract) and teaches wherein the first camera and the second camera have identical lenses, thereby producing identical fields of view for the first camera and the second camera (The four cameras A, B, C and D are preferably of identical models and have identical lenses...The operator should ensure that all cameras within the array are within the field of view so as to be able to take an image of the measured object, at the same time, and being capable of meeting requirements of measurement accuracy to resolutions of the images, para 0075; Let a measured object be a cuboid, and two measured points at the top of the cuboid be P1 and P2. It is seen from FIG. 9 (a top view) that the measured object cannot be placed within a view field smaller than L1, otherwise it cannot be ensured that the measured object is imaged within an intersecting area of view fields of at least two cameras in the horizontal direction, para 0161). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Garmin with the multi-camera group of Yin for the purpose of calculating the three-dimensional stereoscopic data of the object point of the measured object just through algebraic calculations between the object point image coordinates. The calculation accuracy of the coordinates of the same point of the measured object is only related to the camera accuracy and resolution, mutual positional accuracy and distance of the cameras. Compared with the existing optical screenshot algorithm and other algorithms which need calibration in advance, it is not needed to use complex calibration formulas, simplifying the calculation of the spatial dimensions, at the same time, preventing errors of a calibrator and a calibration process from being put into measurement results (see Yin, para 0156).
Johansson is in the field of three dimensional object tracking (title) and teaches whereby the radar detects a plurality of speeds of the golf ball at a plurality of positions within the detection field after the golf ball is struck by the golf club (the camera and the radar device are integrated together into a common sensor unit 110 that is associated with an additional camera 130, and both the sensor unit 110 and the additional camera 130 are oriented toward a golfer 140 who has hit a golf ball 155 from a starting position 150 into a flight path in the direction of a hole or other target. , para 0031: FIG. 1C is a diagram representing a Doppler radar device 180 (e.g., a single antenna Continuous Wave (CW) or chirped Doppler radar device) that produces radar data 185 of the golf ball 155 in flight, where the radar data 185 is used to supplement the 2D image data 165 to provide a complete 3D tracking system, which can do full flight 3D tracking of golf balls, para 0038; This allows the radar device 180 to be a much simpler device, including potentially a radar device that provides only speed information (note that a speed only radar device is typically less complex and less expensive than a radar device that provides distance information), para 0043; The radar device 180 detects the flight of the ball by providing measurements 182, 184, 186, 188 of the ball as it flies through the space 190 in front of the radar device 180. As noted above, these measurements 182, 184, 186, 188 can include speed measurements, para 0046, Fig. 1C, [as seen in Fig. 1C, speed measurements 182, 184, 186, and 188, are each taken when the ball is in a different position, which constitutes a plurality of positions, and since the radar can take measurements of ball speed at 182, 184, 186, and 188, this constitutes the detection field of the radar]: The obtained data is analyzed (e.g., by data processing apparatus 200) to identify 304 a golf shot. In some implementations, the radar data is compared with one or more criteria to identify a golf shot, such as a ball speed criterion that indicates a radar time series can only start in a certain speed range, which corresponds to the range of speeds that are likely for a golf ball that has just been hit (e.g., 22-112 meters per second), para 0060); the processor is configured to trigger the combination of camera and radar data based on the plurality of speeds of the golf ball (since the data points 194, 196 match up with the camera observations 164, 166, the time 198 between these data points 194, 196 is equal to the inverse of the predetermined frame rate of the camera 160, which facilitates the combining process for the two data streams 165, 185. In some implementations, curve fitting techniques are used to extrapolate the radar data 185 to a continuous function 192 of time for the object (e.g., the golf ball), para 0047; When the radar device 180 and the camera 160 are not in the same location, their data can be combined as follows. The radar data is used to keep track of the distance R between the radar device 180 and the ball at each point in time. This information can be seen as a sphere in 3D with radius R, and the radar indicates that the ball is located somewhere on the surface of that sphere. Meanwhile, the camera 160 tracks the same ball and knows the angles (beta and gamma) for a straight line between the camera 160 and the ball for each point in time. If the locations in 3D space of both radar device 180 and the camera 160 are known, and the angle the camera 160 is directed is known, the 3D position of the ball can be found by using appropriate mathematical calculations
See paragraph 0058; To connect these two models in time, it is helpful to have a common timestamp for both the 2D observations and the radar readings. To get such a timestamp, an accurate difference between the duration required by the camera to produce a frame and the radar device to produce a radar reading is needed. This difference can be derived for a specific combination of a camera and a radar device through experimentation. In general, the timing between the radar readings and the 2D observations by the camera should be synchronized so the optical model and the radar model can operate in a shared time dimension, para 0071): and the trajectory of the golf ball is further based on the plurality of speeds of the golf ball (in addition to building a model of the ball's speed from the radar data 185, a model of the ball's 2D path is built from the 2D image data 165, para 0047; Two dimensional image data (e.g., from camera 160) and radar speed data (e.g., from radar device 180) is obtained 302 (e.g., by data processing apparatus 200) of a golf ball in flight. In some implementations,
the radar speed data is received directly from the radar device (e.g., when the radar device is a single antenna Doppler radar device that outputs speed data), para 0059; The obtained data is analyzed (e.g., by data processing apparatus 200) to identify 304 a golf shot. In some implementations, the radar data is compared with one or more criteria to identify a golf shot, such as a ball speed criterion that indicates a radar time series can only start in a certain speed range, which corresponds to the range of speeds that are likely for a golf ball that has just been hit (e.g., 22-112 meters per second), para 0060). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrick with the 3D tracking of Johansson for the purpose of obtaining a more accurate model of the radar speed data, from the perspective of the radar device, enables improved radar data modelling and thus an improved hybrid tracking of an object in flight using both radar data and 2D image data. The accuracy of ball launch detection and the accuracy of in-flight ball tracking can be improved. Moreover, a more accurate model of the radar speed data provides a better understanding of the ball flight overall, which can improve the acquired and presented data for each ball flight, e.g., launch ball speed and launch angle (see para 0016 of Johansson).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendrix in view of Vollbracht et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0136336).
Regarding Claim 10, Hendrix discloses the system as disclosed in claim 1 above, wherein: Hendrix discloses the second camera is positioned laterally downrange from the first camera (The first camera 352 may be laterally spaced from the second camera such that the field of view of the first camera 352 is slightly different from the field of view of the second camera 354, para 0032; The second camera 354 is configured to capture a second image after the first camera 352 captures a first image, para 0033); the radar is positioned behind the golf ball (the electronic hybrid golf launch monitor 100 may be placed on the ground in proximity of the golfer 102 and the golf ball 104, para 0038, [behind is a relative term]). Hendrick fails to explicitly disclose the detection field comprises an area extending a first distance in front of the golf ball, a second distance lo the left of the golf ball, and a third distance to the right of the golf ball. Vollbrecht is in the field of tracking the flight of a golf ball (abstract) and teaches the detection field comprises an area extending a first distance in front of the golf ball, a second distance to the left of the golf ball, and a third distance to the right of the golf ball (each sensor type also has a field of detection. The field of detection is the general area in front of the sensor from which the sensor can detect parameters...For example, FIG. 2 depicts a sensor 410 positioned in the back of a hitting station 100, with a field of detection 411, para 0023; A first-type sensor 41O is positioned at the back of each of the hilling stations 100. In this embodiment, first-type sensor 41O uses radar to detect club path, club face angle, launch angle, side spin, vertical spin and initial velocity, para 0025, Figs. 1-2, [as can be seen in Fig. 2, the radar sensor 410 has a detection field 411, which, based on Fig. 1, shows a distance in front of, to the left of, and to the right of the ball 1101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrix with the tracking system of Vollbrecht for the purpose of the placement of other sensors in the plurality of sensors such that their respective fields of detection 411, 421, and 431 are not similarly obstructed. It will be therefore understood that such placements can thereby ensure a high probability that the combined fields of detection 411, 421, and 431 provide for an uninterrupted view of the total travel path (150) (see Origin, para 0024).
Regarding Claim 11, see rejection of claim 10 as discussed above. Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first distance is between about one and six inches, the second distance is between about zero and about six inches, the third distance is between about three and about six inches, and a fourth distance is between about three and about six inches. Vollbrecht teaches a detection field of a radar that includes four distances, a first distance between the radar and a golf ball, a second distance
in front of the golf ball, a third distance to the left of the golf ball, and fourth distance to the right of the golf ball (each sensor type also has a field of detection. The field of detection is the general area in front of the sensor from which the sensor can detect parameters...FIG. 2 depicts a sensor 41O positioned in the back of a hitting station 100, with a field of detection 411, para 0023; A first-type sensor 41O is positioned at the back of each of the hitting stations 100. In this embodiment, first-type sensor 410 uses radar to detect club path, club face angle, launch angle, side spin, vertical spin and initial velocity, para 0025, Figs. 1-2, [Fig. 2 shows detection field 411 of radar sensor 410, which shows a distance between the sensor and the golf ball, and detection field 411 shows a distance to the right and left of the golf ball travel path 150, and a distance in front of the golf ball that follows the golf ball travel path]). Furthermore, setting specific distances of a detection field would involve routine skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrix with the tracking system of Vollbrecht for the purpose of the placement of other sensors in the plurality of sensors such that their respective fields of detection 411, 421, and 431 are not similarly obstructed. It will be therefore understood that such placements can thereby ensure a high probability that the combined fields of detection 411, 421, and 431 provide for an uninterrupted view of the total travel path (150) (see Origin, para 0024).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendrix in view of Han (KR 200377371).
Regarding Claim 12, Hendrix discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1 above.
Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose a control bar, wherein the control bar comprises: a strip comprising a plurality of lights arranged along a length of the strip, wherein the lights are configured to illuminate as an indication of a position of the golf club head above the strip; at least one proximity sensor configured to determine the position of the golf club head above the strip. Han is in the field of a golf putting exerciser and teaches a control bar (Fig. 1 is a perspective view of a golf putting exerciser, para 0029, (the exerciser constitutes a control bar]), wherein the control bar comprises: a strip comprising a plurality of lights arranged along a length of the strip (A pair of main bodies (10) of a certain length provided in parallel so that respective side surfaces (10 a) opposed to each other are kept at a predetermined interval; and a plurality of light emitting elements (24) arranged in a row...and a light emitting display window
(27) formed on an upper surface thereof, para 0030, Figs. 1-2), wherein the lights are configured to illuminate as an indication of a position of the golf club head above the strip (And the head 50 of the putter 50 is disposed in the vicinity of the sensor 22 in a state where the user turns on the power switch 25 and operates the setting button 26 to input the setting condition, When positioned on an extension line of an intermediate portion of a plurality of light emitting elements 24 arranged in the line, This is sensed and the sensed signal is transmitted to the microscopic (21) so that the microscopic (21) reads the sensed signal and transmits an output signal to the speaker (23) and
the light emitting element (24) so that a user can hear a signal sound from the speaker (23) and start swing practice of the putter (50) according to flashing of the light emitting element (24). That is, the sensing signal sensed by the sensor 22 plays a role of a starting signal for operating the speaker 23 and the light emitting device 24, para 0034, Figs. 1-2); at least one proximity sensor configured to determine the position of the golf club head above the strip (The sensor 22 is a proximity sensor for sensing a metallic object such as a golf club when approaching...And the head 50 a of the putter 50 is disposed in the vicinity of the sensor 22 in a state where the user turns on the power switch 25 and operates the setting button 26 to input the setting condition, When positioned on an extension line of an intermediate portion of a plurality of light emitting elements 24 arranged in the line, This is sensed and the sensed signal is transmitted to the microcomputer (21), para 0034, Figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrix with the golf putting exerciser of Han for the purpose of improving the user 's putting by allowing the user to take the rhythm feeling and swing posture of the tempo and correct putter for correct putting conveniently correct putting within a short period of time. In addition, there is an incidental effect of not only putting practice, but also swinging sensation using iron or driver depending on cases (see Han, para 0051).
Regarding Claim 13, see rejection of claim 12 as discussed above. Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose wherein the position of the golf club head above the strip is used as an input for controlling a golf simulation or golf video game. Han teaches wherein the position of the golf club head above the strip is used as an input for controlling a golf simulation or golf video game (This is sensed and the sensed signal is transmitted to the microscopic (21) so that the microscopic (21) reads the sensed signal and transmits an output signal to the speaker (23) and the light emitting element (24) so that a user can hear a signal sound from the speaker (23) and start swing practice of the putter (50) according to flashing of the light emitting element (24). That is, the sensing signal sensed by the sensor 22 plays a role of a starting signal for operating the speaker 23 and the light emitting device 24, para 0034, Figs. 1-2, [the gold putting practice apparatus constitutes a golf simulation]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Garmin with the golf putting exerciser of Han for the purpose of improving the user 's putting by allowing the user to lake the rhythm feeling and swing posture of the tempo and correct putter for correct putting conveniently correct putting within a short period of time. In addition, there is an incidental effect of not only putting practice, but also swinging sensation using iron or driver depending on cases (see para 0051 of Han).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 200377371Y1) in view of Hendrix (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0398138).
Han discloses a system for providing a golf simulator (golf putting exerciser, para 0029) comprising: a control bar comprising a strip comprising a plurality of lights arranged along a length of the strip (Fig. 1 is a perspective view of a golf putting exerciser, para 0029, (A pair of main bodies (10) of a certain length provided in parallel so that respective side surfaces (10 a) opposed to each other are kept at a predetermined interval; and a plurality of light emitting elements (24) arranged in a row...and a light emitting display window (27) formed on an upper surface thereof, para 0030, Figs. 1-2), wherein the lights are configured to illuminate as an indication of a position of the golf club head above the strip (And the head 50 of the putter 50 is disposed in the vicinity of the sensor 22 in a state where the user turns on the power switch 25 and operates the setting button 26 to input the setting condition, When positioned on an extension line of an intermediate portion of a plurality of light emitting elements 24 arranged in the line, This is sensed and the sensed signal is transmitted to the microscopic (21) so that the microscopic (21) reads the sensed signal and transmits an output signal to the speaker (23) and the light emitting element (24) so that a user can hear a signal sound from the speaker (23) and start swing practice of the putter (50) according to flashing of the light emitting element (24). That is, the sensing signal sensed by the sensor 22 plays a role of a starting signal for operating the speaker 23 and the light emitting device 24, para 0034, Figs. 1-2) and at least one proximity sensor configured to determine the position of the golf club head above the strip (The sensor 22 is a proximity sensor for sensing a metallic object such as a golf club when approaching...And the head 50 as of the putter 50 is disposed in the vicinity of the sensor 22 in a slate where the user turns on the power switch 25 and operates the setting button 26 to input the selling condition, When positioned on an extension line of an intermediate portion of a plurality of light emitting elements 24 arranged in the line, This is sensed and the sensed signal is transmitted lo the microcomputer, (21), para 0034, Figs. 1-2), wherein the system uses the position of the golf club head above the strip as an input into the golf simulator or golf video game (This is sensed and the sensed signal is transmitted to the microscopic (21) so that the microscopic (21) reads the sensed signal and transmits an output signal to the speaker (23) and the light emitting element (24) so that a user can hear a signal sound from the speaker (23) and start swing practice of the putter (50) according to flashing of the light emitting element (24). That is, the sensing signal sensed by the sensor 22 plays a role of a starting signal for operating the speaker 23 and the light emitting device 24, para 0034, Figs. 1-2, [the gold putting practice apparatus constitutes a golf simulation]).
Han fails to explicitly disclose a virtual golf simulator or golf video game comprising: a golf ball launch detector comprising a first camera, a second camera, and a radar.
Garmin is in the field of a golf launch monitor and teaches a virtual golf simulator or golf video game (Golf launch monitors may be used to measure and predict the path of a golf ball based on various characteristics of the ball (and/or club head) measured concurrently with striking of the golf ball. Launch monitors can be utilized indoors (for play simulation or training), para 0022) comprising: a golf ball launch detector (Referring initially to FIG. 1, a hybrid golf launch monitor 100 is utilized by a golfer 102 (or other person) to analyze flight characteristics of a golf ball 104 that was struck by a golf club 106, para 0019) comprising a first camera, a second camera, and a radar (the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes a processing element 350, a first camera 352, a second camera 354, a radar 356, para 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Han with the golf launch monitor of Hendrix for the purpose of calculating various flight characteristics of the golf ball 104 and/or the golf club 106 after the swing where the calculated flight characteristics may be utilized to diagnose and correct swings by the golfer 102 so as to improve subsequent swings (see Hendrix, para 0020).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendrix in view of Witchey et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0252407).
Hendrix discloses a system for providing a virtual golf simulator or golf video game (The calculated flight characteristics may then be utilized for any of various purposes. As one example, in an indoor simulated game, the calculated flight characteristics may be utilized to calculate a theoretical resting place for the golf ball 104 within the simulated game, para 0020; the processing element 350 may determine an estimated landing position (and/or resting position after roll) for the golf ball 104, for use in a simulated game for example, para 0060) comprising: a game device comprising: a golf ball launch detector comprising a first camera, a second camera, and a radar (the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 includes a processing element 350, a first camera 352, a second
camera 354, a radar 356, para 0028); and a processor that receives raw launch data from the first camera, the second camera, and the radar to generate processed launch data (the processing element 350 may be configured to perform image data analysis techniques (using a suitable processing algorithm) on image data that may be stored in the memory device 360, para 0036; The radar 356 may use the Doppler effect to measure the speed and/or position of the club head 108 and/or the golf ball 104. In embodiments, the radar 356 is configured to capture a single-channel doppler radar 356 observation, para 0038; the processing element 350 will analyze an output from the radar 356 to detect the swing and determine when the swing will strike the golf ball 104. An example of the output of the radar 356 is shown in FIG. 5 as a radar signature diagram, para 0063); a platform comprising computing resources that receive the raw launch data or the processed launch data from the game device via a network (The communications element 362 generally enables communication between the hybrid golf launch monitor 100 and external systems or devices...The communications element 362 may establish communication wirelessly by utilizing radio frequency (RF) signals and/or data that comply with communication standards such as cellular 2G, 3G, or 4G, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 standard such as Wi-Fi, IEEE 802.16 standard such as WiMAX, Bluetooth™, or combinations thereof. In addition, the communications element 362 may utilize communication standards such as ANT, ANT+, Bluetooth™, low energy (BLE), the industrial, scientific, and medical (ISM) band at 2.4 gigahertz (GHz), or the like, para 0044; hybrid golf launch monitor 100 may use input/output interface 364 to transmit image data (unprocessed, semi-processed or fully
processed) to enable a secondary electronic device to provide user interface and/or visual or audible output functionality (using a display or speaker associated with the secondary device), processing functionality (using a processing element associated with the secondary device) or data storage functionality (using a memory element associated with the secondary device), para 0045, [unprocessed image data constitutes raw launch data]), further wherein the platform processes the raw launch data or the processed launch data to generate game data, and transmits the game data to a user device (The hybrid golf launch monitor 1OD may include an input/output interface 364 that may enable interaction between hybrid golf launch monitor 100 and an external camera 374; an external trigger 376; an external display 378; and/or a processing element, memory device, and/or user interface associated with a secondary electronic device 380 (e.g., associated with a smartphone, tablet, or personal computer). Hybrid golf launch monitor 1DO may supplement the functionality of the display 316 and user interface (discussed below) included in hybrid golf launch monitor 1OD with an external display, external processing element, and/or external memory associated with the secondary electronic device. For example, hybrid golf launch monitor 100 may use input/output interface 364 to transmit image data (unprocessed, semi-processed or fully processed) to enable a secondary electronic device to provide user interface and/or visual or audible output functionality (using a display or speaker associated with the secondary device), processing functionality (using a processing element associated with the secondary device) or data storage functionality (using a memory element associated with the secondary device). In some embodiments, external components may be operable to perform any of the functionality associated with the various internal components described herein, para 0045; Furthermore, in some embodiments, the input/output interface 364 may communicate with a wireless dongle that connects to the USB port of a desktop, laptop, notebook, or tablet computer, or other electronic device, para 0046; the input/output interface 364 interfaces with an external display 378. The external display may allow for the display of output information on another screen...a simplified user interface may be shown on a smartwatch worn by the golfer 102 to include the below-discussed resultant feedback, para 0050, [resultant feedback data constitutes game data]). Hendrix fails to explicitly disclose wherein the raw launch data or the processed launch data is verified by a chain of trust that excludes any user device.
Nani is in the field of computer-based gaming (abstract) and teaches wherein the raw launch data or the processed launch data is verified by a chain of trust that excludes any user device (One or more peer computer(s) or device(s) 402 implement a distributed ledger data structure in establishing a data set 404 chronicling a time duration of a gaming event, para 0074; Such ledger data structures implement data set 404 and can be stored in one or more distributed computers or computing nodes. As depicted in FIG. 4, for example, a blockchain 405 (which can, alternatively, be some other chain or other ledger-based structure), includes a genesis block 406 and
a terminal block 407 in a ledger data structure, para 0075; In establishing the blockchain 405, each block can be validated against one or more previously established blocks. The validation may be performed by, for example, comparing the data stored in a block (e.g. mouse resolution, mouse clicking speed, etc.) with specifications of hardware and software used in the particular game (e.g., the maximum mouse resolution of the mouse). If the comparison results indicate that the data stored in the block do not satisfy the specification, the validation may fail. For instance, if the data indicates that a particular action or movement is so fast that it exceeds the maximum mouse clicking speed in the specification, the validation fails. A failed validation in turn may flag or indicate that an abnormal behavior (e.g., cheating or tampering) may have occurred during the game, para 0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Hendrix with the blockchain of Nani for the purpose of triggering validation of the data if one or more predefined criteria are met (e.g., new data is being added, some portion of the data is outside of normal range, etc.). Triggering or performing validation based on predefined criteria can more efficiently use limited computing resources and enhance the speed of validation (see Nani, para 0076).
Conclusion
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711