DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/19/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-9 have been amended; and no claims have been cancelled nor added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The following limitations are as detailed hereafter:
“communication interface”: “the communication interface 120 includes circuitry, and it is a component that can communicate with an external apparatus or a server. The communication interface 120 may perform communication with an external apparatus or a server based on a wired or wireless communication method. The communication interface 120 may include a Bluetooth module, a Wi-Fi module, an infrared (IR) module, a local area network (LAN) module, an Ethernet module, etc. Here, each communication module may be implemented as at least one hardware chip. A wireless communication module may include at least one communication chip that performs communication according to various wireless communication protocols such as Zigbee, a Universal Serial Bus (USB), a Mobile Industry Processor Interface Camera Serial Interface (MIPI CSI), 3rd Generation (3G), 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), Long Term Evolution (LTE), LTE Advanced (LTE-A), 4th Generation (4G), 5th Generation (5G), etc. other than the aforementioned communication methods.”, para. [0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “based on the information on the liquid level indicating that the liquid level is greater than or equal to a predetermined value” whereas claim 1 (from which the instant claim depends) recites “based on the information on the liquid level of the subject for cooking determine whether the liquid level of the subject for cooking exceeds a threshold”, it is submitted that the aforementioned limitation(s) of the instant claim are contradictory to the aforementioned limitation of claim 1 (from which the instant claim depends). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites “based on the information on the liquid level indicating that the liquid level is lower than the predetermined value” whereas claim 1 (from which the instant claim depends) recites “based on the information on the liquid level of the subject for cooking determine whether the liquid level of the subject for cooking exceeds a threshold”, it is submitted that the aforementioned limitation(s) of the instant claim are contradictory to the aforementioned limitation of claim 1 (from which the instant claim depends). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yang (KR 20160096289) in view of Yan (CN 110384398).
With regard to claim 1, Yang teaches an electronic apparatus (10) comprising: a heater (16, FIG. 1) configured to heat a subject for cooking; a communication interface (inherent feature of control unit 20) configured to communicate with an external sensor (14); at least one memory (implicit feature of control unit 20) storing at least one instruction; and at least one processor (inherent feature of control unit 20) that is connected with the at least one memory and is configured to execute the at least one instruction to wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic apparatus to: acquire information on a temperature of the subject for cooking from the external sensor (“And the heating unit 16 is controlled based on the sensed temperature TS from the temperature sensor 14 so as to be heated The control unit 20 .”, pg, 3, ln. 1-2), identify a heating temperature corresponding to a pattern of change of the temperature of the subject for cooking (“In step S25, the control unit 20 calculates a temperature change rate VT for a reference time (for example, five seconds).”, pg. 3, ln. 31, and control the heater to heat the subject for cooking at the heating temperature (“In step S27, the control unit 20 determines whether the calculated temperature change rate VT is equal to or greater than the first reference change rate R1. If the temperature change rate VT is equal to or larger than the first reference change rate R1, the process proceeds to step S29, and if not, the process proceeds to step S31. Since the temperature change rate VT is equal to or greater than the first reference change rate R1 in step S29, the control unit 20 determines that the temperature rises significantly and the minimum heating amount of the heating unit 16 Lt; / RTI > That is, the control unit 20 minimizes the output of the heating unit 16 in step S29, thereby preventing the temperature of the cooking vessel from rising sharply”, pg. 3, ln. 32-36).
Notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that the cited prior art does not teach the functional limitations claimed and as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is respectfully submitted that in the alternative a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
Yang does not teach acquiring information on a liquid level and based on the information on the liquid level of the subject for cooking, determine whether the liquid level of the subject for cooking exceeds a threshold, based on determining that the liquid level of the subject for cooking exceeds the threshold perform a control of the heater; however, Yan from the same field of endeavor directed toward a cooking appliance and overflow control method and control device thereof teaches the aforementioned limitation: “Specifically, the cooking apparatus to cook food heating, when the temperature difference T is greater than or equal to the preset temperature threshold, controlling the cooking appliance with high power heating, until the temperature difference T is less than the preset temperature threshold, controlling the cooking apparatus to low power heating. in the process of cooking apparatus cooking food heating at low power, further real-time judging the liquid food to be cooked in the cooking appliance of whether overflow occurs, for example, by the liquid level sensor for real-time detecting the liquid level of the cooking appliance. If the liquid level within the cooking appliance exceeds a certain value (e.g., the highest level value of the cooking appliance), then the liquid will overflow occurs, then control the heating power of the cooking appliance is reduced (e.g., lower a level), or control the cooking appliance stops heating the food to be cooked. Therefore, by judging the cooking appliance to be liquid for cooking food whether overflow occurs, and when overflow is imminent, take the corresponding effective measures, can further prevent liquid overflow occurs for food to be cooked in the cooking appliance, greatly improving the user experience. Of course, in practical application, may also be by other means to judge to be liquid in the cooking appliance for cooking food whether overflow occurs, specifically not limited herein.” (emphasis added).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Yang reference, to include acquiring information on a liquid level and based on the information on the liquid level of the subject for cooking, determine whether the liquid level of the subject for cooking exceeds a threshold, based on determining that the liquid level of the subject for cooking exceeds the threshold perform a control of the heater, as suggested and taught by Yan, for the purpose of providing an enhanced user experience by avoiding overflow of a liquid during a cooking operation.
With regard to claim 2, Yang describes the at least one processor (inherent feature of control unit 20) is further configured to: based on identifying that the pattern of change of the temperature of the subject for cooking corresponds to the temperature of the subject for cooking rising, identify a first value (“change rate VT”) indicating a degree that the temperature of the subject for cooking changes, and identify the heating temperature (“sensed temperature is equal to or higher than the high temperature determination temperature” / “sensed temperature is lower than the target temperature”) based on the first value (“wherein the controller calculates the temperature change rate when the sensed temperature is equal to or higher than the high temperature determination temperature. The method according to claim 1, Wherein the controller calculates the rate of temperature change when the sensed temperature is lower than the target temperature according to the cooking process. The method according to claim 1, Wherein the controller performs heating at a minimum heating amount if the calculated temperature change rate is equal to or higher than a first reference change rate. 5. The method of claim 4, Wherein the controller performs heating at an intermediate heating amount or an initial heating amount or a maximum heating amount in the cooking process if the estimated temperature change rate is less than the first reference change rate. The method according to claim 1, Wherein the control unit stops the heating by controlling the heating unit if the calculated temperature change rate is equal to or greater than the first reference change rate….”, cl. 2-6).
Notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that the cited prior art does not teach the functional limitations claimed and as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is respectfully submitted that in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
With regard to claim 6, Yang describes the at least one processor is further configured to: based on identifying that the temperature of the subject for cooking decreases by greater than or equal to a predetermined value (“TO”) from a first time point to a second time point (“The control unit 20 acquires the sensed temperature TS from the temperature sensor 14 and determines the target temperature TO of the currently performed cooking process and the sensed temperature TS from the temperature sensor 14 in step S11, If the sensed temperature TS is lower than the target temperature TO, the process proceeds to step S13, and if not, the process proceeds to step S15. In step S13, the control unit 20 performs the heating process because the sensing temperature TS, which is the temperature of the cooking container, is lower than the target temperature TO. The control unit 20 repeatedly performs steps S11 and S13 so as to start the heating process until the detected temperature TS reaches or exceeds the target temperature TO. A more detailed heating process is described in Figures 3a and 3b”, pg. 3, ln. 12-17)., identify a second heating temperature corresponding to the pattern of change of the temperature of the subject for cooking from the second time point (“second reference change rate R2”) (“In step S31, the control unit 20 determines whether the calculated temperature change rate VT is equal to or greater than a second reference change rate R2 that is smaller than the first reference change rate R1. If the temperature change rate VT is equal to or greater than the second reference change rate R2, the process proceeds to step S33, otherwise the process proceeds to step S35.”, pg. 3, ln. 39-41.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that the cited prior art does not teach the functional limitations claimed and as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is respectfully submitted that in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
With regard to claim 3, regarding the limitation of the at least one processor is further configured to: based on the first value being smaller than or equal to a predetermined value, identify a first temperature as the heating temperature, and based on the first value exceeding the predetermined value, identify a second temperature lower than the first temperature as the heating temperature, it is submitted that although the aforementioned limitations are not explicitly taught, it is submitted that such an adaptation of the control unit 20 of Yang would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of routine experimentation as the citation explicitly teaches that: “The control unit may calculate the temperature change rate when the sensed temperature is equal to or higher than the high temperature determination temperature. Preferably, the controller calculates the rate of temperature change when the sensed temperature is lower than the target temperature according to the cooking process. Preferably, the controller performs heating at a minimum heating amount if the calculated temperature change rate is equal to or higher than a first reference change rate. Preferably, the controller performs heating at an intermediate heating amount or an initial heating amount or a maximum heating amount in the cooking process if the calculated temperature change rate is less than the first reference change rate. Preferably, the controller stops the heating by controlling the heating unit if the calculated temperature change rate is greater than or equal to the first reference change rate.”, pg. 2, ln. 30-37.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that the cited prior art does not teach the functional limitations claimed and as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is respectfully submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (KR 20160096289) in view of Yan (CN 110384398) as detailed above, and further in view of Werner (DE 102011009750).
With regard to claim 4, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above; however, Yang does not teach the at least one processor is further configured to: acquire a mean absolute error (MAE) value between a line and a temperature data set, wherein the line is defined by a first point indicating a temperature value of the subject for cooking at a first time point and a second point indicating a temperature value of the subject for cooking at a second time point, and wherein the temperature data set comprises data reflecting changes to the temperature of the subject for cooking from the first time point to the second time point, and identify the heating temperature based on the MAE value. However, Werner from the same field of endeavor directed toward a method for operating a heater for a heating room involves operating or switching off a burner when the temperature gradient is greater than a threshold value where the gradient resulting with different powers is compared with different threshold values teaches the aforementioned limitations, namely the uneven line in FIG. 2 illustrates the actually measured temperature and the straight line is the corresponding mean value of the temperature rise: “There is the one with a temperature sensor 2 detected temperature after a start of the burner 1 applied over a period of 140 seconds. The temperature sensor 2 is there, like out 1 can be seen, preferably at the outlet end of the heat exchanger 3 , thus arranged on the so-called flow connection of the heater. The uneven line (in 2 ) shows the actually measured temperature, the straight line the corresponding mean value of the temperature rise. In the period of said 140 seconds is the burner 1 operated with a certain power. This power is the regulation 4 of the heater, either as a percentage or as an absolute value. It is also provided that for each adjustable power of the burner, a separate limit in the scheme 4 is deposited. Since the gradient of the temperature changes continuously over the period of 140 s (see 2 ) is further provided that the relevant temperature gradient is determined as an average of a number of individual temperature gradients in a given period of time (here 140 seconds). Related to 2 represents the slope of the straight line this temperature gradient. Is this greater than one for this power in the scheme 4 stored limit, will be the performance of the burner 1 at least reduces or becomes the burner 1 possibly even switched off directly. To do this at all power levels of the burner 1 to find an optimal reaction time (for power reduction or shutdown) is, as explained, essential that for all approachable power levels of the burner 1 a corresponding limit is defined.”, pg. 2, ln. 32-41.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Yang reference, to include acquire a mean absolute error (MAE) value between a line and a temperature data set, wherein the line is defined by a first point indicating a temperature value of the subject for cooking at a first time point and a second point indicating a temperature value of the subject for cooking at a second time point, and wherein the temperature data set comprises data reflecting changes to the temperature of the subject for cooking from the first time point to the second time point, and identify the heating temperature based on the MAE value, as suggested and taught by Werner, for the purpose of providing a predetermined power value in view of a corresponding mean value of the temperature rise (Werner: pg. 2, ln. 32-41).
Notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that the cited prior art does not teach the functional limitations claimed and as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is respectfully submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
With regard to claim 5, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above; however, Yang does not teach; however, Yang does not teach the at least one processor is further configured to: acquire a mean absolute error (MAE) value between a line and a temperature data set, wherein the temperature data set comprises data reflecting changes to the temperature of the subject for cooking over a period of time, and wherein the line is acquired by performing a regression analysis of the temperature data set, and identify the heating temperature based on the MAE value.
However, Werner from the same field of endeavor directed toward a method for operating a heater for a heating room involves operating or switching off a burner when the temperature gradient is greater than a threshold value where the gradient resulting with different powers is compared with different threshold values teaches the aforementioned limitations, namely the uneven line in FIG. 2 illustrates the actually measured temperature and the straight line is the corresponding mean value of the temperature rise (regression analysis of the temperature data set): “There is the one with a temperature sensor 2 detected temperature after a start of the burner 1 applied over a period of 140 seconds. The temperature sensor 2 is there, like out 1 can be seen, preferably at the outlet end of the heat exchanger 3 , thus arranged on the so-called flow connection of the heater. The uneven line (in 2 ) shows the actually measured temperature, the straight line the corresponding mean value of the temperature rise. In the period of said 140 seconds is the burner 1 operated with a certain power. This power is the regulation 4 of the heater, either as a percentage or as an absolute value. It is also provided that for each adjustable power of the burner, a separate limit in the scheme 4 is deposited. Since the gradient of the temperature changes continuously over the period of 140 s (see 2 ) is further provided that the relevant temperature gradient is determined as an average of a number of individual temperature gradients in a given period of time (here 140 seconds). Related to 2 represents the slope of the straight line this temperature gradient. Is this greater than one for this power in the scheme 4 stored limit, will be the performance of the burner 1 at least reduces or becomes the burner 1 possibly even switched off directly. To do this at all power levels of the burner 1 to find an optimal reaction time (for power reduction or shutdown) is, as explained, essential that for all approachable power levels of the burner 1 a corresponding limit is defined.”, pg. 2, ln. 32-41.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Yang reference, to include at least one processor is further configured to: acquire a mean absolute error (MAE) value between a line and a temperature data set, wherein the temperature data set comprises data reflecting changes to the temperature of the subject for cooking over a period of time, and wherein the line is acquired by performing a regression analysis of the temperature data set, and identify the heating temperature based on the MAE value, as suggested and taught by Werner, for the purpose of providing a predetermined power value in view of a corresponding mean value of the temperature rise (Werner: pg. 2, ln. 32-41).
Notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that the cited prior art does not teach the functional limitations claimed and as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is respectfully submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (KR 20160096289) in view of Yan (CN 110384398) as detailed above, and further in view of Burkhardt et al. (US 20170086258).
With regard to claim 7, Yang teaches the invention as claimed however does not teach the at least one processor is further configured to: acquire, from the external sensor, information on a water level of the subject for cooking, and based on the information on the water level indicating that the water level is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, identify the heating temperature based on the water level. However, Burkhard from the same field of endeavor directed toward a method of conducting a liquid based cooking process, controller and cooking hob assembly teaches the aforementioned limitation: “According to the invention, the controller may in one optional operational phase determine, calculate or estimate an amount of liquid contained in the cooking vessel and to use the amount of liquid thus determined in one of subsequent operational phases as one of the parameters for calculating or setting the heating power level of the heating element. The determination of the amount of liquid contained in the cooking vessel may be an initial step and/or may be conducted as an intermediate step within a cooking program. The proposed method, in particular by using a temperature sensor directly immersed, at least partially, in the liquid inside the vessel placed on a heating element of a cooking zone or hob allows improved and simplified cooking, in particular Sous Vide type cooking. An automatic calculation or estimation of the amount of liquid, in particular water, contained within the cooking vessel, simplifies cooking and allows improved cooking results. Beyond that using the amount of liquid in controlling cooking procedures may result in more efficient liquid-based cooking, boiling, simmering, poaching and/or deep-frying, and cooking and the like at least can be, as compared to known solutions, greatly enhanced.”, para. [0026]-[0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Yang reference, to include the at least one processor is further configured to: acquire, from the external sensor, information on a water level of the subject for cooking, and based on the information on the water level indicating that the water level is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, identify the heating temperature based on the water level, as suggested and taught by Burkhardt, for the purpose of determining a predetermined temperature to provide a heating unit (Burkhardt: para. [0026]-[0027])
Notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that the cited prior art does not teach the functional limitations claimed and as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is respectfully submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
With regard to claim 8, Yang teaches the invention as claimed however does not teach the teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: based on the information on the water level indicating that the water level is lower than the predetermined value, control the heater to heat the subject for cooking at a predetermined heating temperature.
However, Burkhard from the same field of endeavor directed toward a method of conducting a liquid based cooking process, controller and cooking hob assembly teaches the aforementioned limitation: “According to the invention, the controller may in one optional operational phase determine, calculate or estimate an amount of liquid contained in the cooking vessel and to use the amount of liquid thus determined in one of subsequent operational phases as one of the parameters for calculating or setting the heating power level of the heating element. The determination of the amount of liquid contained in the cooking vessel may be an initial step and/or may be conducted as an intermediate step within a cooking program. The proposed method, in particular by using a temperature sensor directly immersed, at least partially, in the liquid inside the vessel placed on a heating element of a cooking zone or hob allows improved and simplified cooking, in particular Sous Vide type cooking. An automatic calculation or estimation of the amount of liquid, in particular water, contained within the cooking vessel, simplifies cooking and allows improved cooking results. Beyond that using the amount of liquid in controlling cooking procedures may result in more efficient liquid-based cooking, boiling, simmering, poaching and/or deep-frying, and cooking and the like at least can be, as compared to known solutions, greatly enhanced.”, para. [0026]-[0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Yang reference, to include at least one processor is further configured to: based on the information on the water level indicating that the water level is lower than the predetermined value, control the heater to heat the subject for cooking at a predetermined heating temperature, as suggested and taught by Burkhardt, for the purpose of determining a predetermined temperature to provide a heating unit (Burkhardt: para. [0026]-[0027])
Notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that the cited prior art does not teach the functional limitations claimed and as the claim is directed toward an apparatus, it is respectfully submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is newly presented in view of the newly presented claim amendments included in the most recent claim amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761