DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Claim amendments filed 22 July 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski does not teach the newly added limitation “the pair of support arms are configured to be detached from and coupled to the sidewall of the chamber together”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. While the applicant’s response notes a structural difference between the current invention and the detachable shoe hanger taught by Lozenski (see pages 7-9 of the applicant’s response), the amended claim only introduces functional language allowing the user to remove/attach the pair of support arms simultaneously. As seen in Figure 2 of Shimizu, the connecting body “3” supporting the tube bodies “2” simultaneously. Similarly, Figures 1 and 2 of Lozenski shows the simultaneous attachment and removal of the lower “16” and upper “18” tubes and shoe support “26”. Therefore, a combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski would satisfy the newly added limitation of “the pair of support arms are configured to be detached from and coupled to the sidewall of the chamber together, and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-12 with respect to Ga in view of Shimizu and Lozenski are maintained. Similarly, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 13-15 with respect to Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski in view of Kim are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ga (KR 102240998 B1) in view of Shimizu (JPH1156979A) and Lozenski (US 7430816 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Ga teaches a shoe care apparatus (shoe dryer, paragraph [0001]) comprising: a cabinet (housing with a storage space, paragraph [0017]); a chamber disposed in the cabinet, the chamber being configured to accommodate shoes (module separation wall may separate the air injection structures into independent space, paragraph [0020] and shoe holder as part of the air injection modules, paragraph [0019]);a machine room configured to accommodate a heat pump for heating air supplied to the chamber and dehumidifying air discharged from the chamber (Figure 5 horizontal separator “165” creates a space between air heater “130” and air inlet “120”); an air supply duct configured to connect the chamber and the machine room (Figure 5 air inlet “120” connects air heater “130” and shoe holder “110”); an air supply port formed on a sidewall of the chamber such that air flowing along the air supply duct is supplied into the chamber through the air supply port (Figure 6 air flow path “111” from air inlet “120” into the shoe holder “110”); a support member disposed on the side wall of the chamber, the support member being disposed adjacent to the air supply port (shoe holder is a structure integrally mounted from the side of the air injection unit, paragraph [0018]); and a shoe hanger comprising a pair of support arms accommodated in the chamber, that are configured to be inserted into shoes (Figure 5 pairs of shoe holders “110” and Figure 4 shoe holders “110” inserted into shoes), the shoe hanger being detachably mounted to the support member (shoe holder mounted in a detachable structure, paragraph [0019]) and having a hollow formed therein to allow air supplied from the air supply port to flow therethrough (air injection unit mounted at one end of the shoe holder and providing heated air to the air flow path of the shoe holder, paragraph [0017]), wherein the shoe hanger is provided with a sterilization device (sterilizing and disinfecting unit installed at one end of the shoe holder, paragraph [0043]), but does not teach wherein the sterilization device is disposed inside the hollow of the shoe hanger, and the support member is provided with a power supply part for applying power to the sterilization device, and wherein the shoe hanger is configured to be detachably coupled to the sidewall of the chamber via the support member. However, Shimizu teaches wherein the sterilization device is disposed inside the hollow of the shoe hanger (ultraviolet lamp inside the filter that irradiates ultraviolet light to the outside from the air holes, paragraph [0013]); and the support member is provided with a power supply part for applying power to the sterilization device (Figure 1 high voltage power supply “6” in connecting body “3”), but does not teach wherein the shoe hanger is configured to be detachably coupled to the sidewall of the chamber via the support member. However, Lozenski teaches wherein the shoe hanger is configured to be detachably coupled to the sidewall of the chamber via the support member (male thread of lower tube is removably fitted within the female thread of the bottom collar, column 3 lines 23-26, and collar is disposed in the top of the base, column 3 lines 19-20) such that the pair of support arms are configured to be detached from and coupled to the sidewall of the chamber together (Figures 1 and 2 simultaneous attachment and removal of the lower “16” and upper “18” tubes and shoe support “26”).
Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of shoe care apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the shoe care apparatus taught by Ga with the internal ultraviolet light and power supply taught by Shimizu because Shimizu teaches that placing the ultraviolet light inside of the hollow allows for combination with a photocatalytic filter that deodorizes and sterilizes the inside of the shoe and the power supply advantageously provides the voltage that drives the ultraviolet lamp (paragraph [0013]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the shoe care apparatus taught by Ga with the detachable coupling with the support member as taught by Lozenski because Lozenski teaches the removable capability provides ease of cleaning and component replacement (column 2 lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein the shoe hanger further comprises: a shoe hanger body comprising the pair of support arms configured to protrude to support the shoes (Figure 4 shoe holders “110” inserted into shoes, Ga); a passage formed inside the shoe hanger body while communicating with the air supply duct such that air moves to the pair of support arms (Figure 6 air flow path “111” communicating air between air inlet “120” and shoe holder “110”, Ga); and a plurality of holes connected to the passage and formed on outer surfaces of the pair of support arms to supply air into the chamber (Figure 6 plurality of inner air injection holes “140”, Ga).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein the sterilization device is disposed in the passage (ultraviolet lamp inside the filter that irradiates ultraviolet light to the outside from the air holes, paragraph [0013], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein the sterilization device comprises at least one of an ultraviolet lamp or an ion generator (ultraviolet lamp inside the filter that irradiates ultraviolet light to the outside from the air holes, paragraph [0013], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein the UV lamp or the ion generator is disposed inside the pair of support arms (ultraviolet lamp inside the filter that irradiates ultraviolet light to the outside from the air holes, paragraph [0013], and Figure 2 ultraviolet lamp “5” inside of cylindrical body “2”, Shimizu).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein the pair of support arms comprises an installation bracket fixed to an inner upper surface of the pair of support arms such that the UV lamp or the ion generator is positioned in the passage (ultraviolet lamp fixed at one point into the cylindrical portion with screw portions, paragraph [0058], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein the power supply part is configured to supply the sterilization device with power (power supply provides the voltage that drives the ultraviolet lamp, paragraph [0013], Shimizu), and is disposed on at least one of an inner walls of a lateral side, an upper side, or a lower side of the support member ) Figure 1 high voltage power supply “6” in connecting body “3”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein the shoe hanger further comprises a power connection that corresponds to the power supply part (Figure 8 ultraviolet lamp “5” plugs into insulator “5b” which connects to switching power supply “8”, Shimizu).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein based on the shoe hanger being in a first position P1 of being coupled to the support member, the power connection part and the power supply are in contact with each other and the sterilization device is turned on (ultraviolet lamp inserted into the insulator starts to light up and irradiate ultraviolet light, paragraph [0050], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein based on the shoe hanger being in a second position P2 of being separated from the support member, the power connection part and the power supply part are separated from each other and the sterilization device is turned off (ultraviolet lamp can be disconnected from body and power supply to be replaced, paragraph [0051], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches wherein the power supply part comprises a contact terminal on the at least one of the inner walls of the lateral side, the upper side, or the lower side of the support member, wherein the contact terminal is configured to be in contact with the power connection part (Figure 8 power circuit between insulator “5b” and power supply “6” and switching power supply “8”, Shimizu).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski does not teach wherein the power supply part further comprises an elastic body configured to elastically support the contact terminal. However, Shimizu further teaches teach wherein the power supply part further comprises an elastic body configured to elastically support the contact terminal (cylindrical bodies are connected by connecting rods and the power supply are housed in the connecting body, paragraph [0053], and configured to open and close and may be integrally formed as a curved structure, paragraph [0058]).
Ga and Shimizu are considered analogous to the current invention as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the shoe care apparatus taught by Ga and Shimizu with the connecting structure taught by Shimizu because Shimizu teaches the attachment position prevents the connecting body from interfering with the shoe during insertion (paragraph [0054]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski in view of Kim (KR 20210016968 A).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski teaches all aspects of the current invention including a heat exchanger configured to heat air introduced from the chamber (heating unit to heat air drawn in by air flow fan, paragraph [0025], Ga), but does not teach a heat exchanger comprising a compressor; and a control part configured to alternatively turn on the compressor and the sterilization device. However, Kim teaches heat exchanger comprising a compressor (compressor compressed air and air can be heated by heater, paragraph [0028]); and a control part configured to alternatively turn on the compressor and the sterilization device (the control unit operators the compressor, paragraph [0094] and the ultraviolet lamp is operated under the control of the control unit, paragraph [0110], and Figure 6 drying step “S140” is followed by irradiating step “S150”).
Ga, Shimizu, Lozenski, and Kim are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of shoe care apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the shoe care apparatus taught by Ga, Shimizu, and Lozenski with the compressor and control unit taught by Kim because Kim teaches the compressor allows air to be delivered to multiple injection nozzles (paragraph [0093]) and the control unit advantageously adjusts parameters of the apparatus to deliver appropriate drying of the shoes (paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, Lozenski, and Kim teaches all aspects of the current invention including wherein the control part is configured to: based on the compressor being turned off, turn on the sterilization device; and based on the sterilization device being turned off, turn on the compressor (Figure 6 drying step “S140” is followed by irradiating step “S150”, Kim).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, Lozenski, and Kim teaches all aspects of the current invention including an output part comprising at least one of a display or a speaker (display window, paragraph [0088], Kim); and a control part configured to control the output part to output a visual notification or audible notification notifying that the shoe hanger has been separated from the support member because power is not being applied to the sterilization device through the power supply part (display window displays the operating status of the care unit, paragraph [0088], Kim).
Conclusion
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799