DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: “2200”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ga (KR 102240998 B1) in view of Shimizu (JPH1156979A).
Regarding claim 1, Ga teaches a shoe care apparatus (shoe dryer, paragraph [0001]) comprising: a cabinet (housing with a storage space, paragraph [0017]); a chamber disposed in the cabinet, the chamber being configured to accommodate shoes (module separation wall may separate the air injection structures into independent space, paragraph [0020] and shoe holder as part of the air injection modules, paragraph [0019]);a machine room configured to accommodate a heat pump for heating air supplied to the chamber and dehumidifying air discharged from the chamber (Figure 5 horizontal separator “165” creates a space between air heater “130” and air inlet “120”); an air supply duct configured to connect the chamber and the machine room (Figure 5 air inlet “120” connects air heater “130” and shoe holder “110”); an air supply port formed on a sidewall of the chamber such that air flowing along the air supply duct is supplied into the chamber through the air supply port (Figure 6 air flow path “111” from air inlet “120” into the shoe holder “110”); a support member disposed on the side wall of the chamber (shoe holder is integral, the support member being disposed adjacent to the air supply port (shoe holder is integrally mounted from the side of the air injection unit, paragraph [0018]); and a shoe hanger comprising a pair of support arms accommodated in the chamber, that are configured to be inserted into shoes (Figure 5 pairs of shoe holders “110” and Figure 4 shoe holders “110” inserted into shoes), the shoe hanger being detachably mounted to the support member (shoe holder mounted in a detachable structure, paragraph [0019]) and having a hollow formed therein to allow air supplied from the air supply port to flow therethrough (air injection unit mounted at one end of the shoe holder and providing heated air to the air flow path of the shoe holder, paragraph [0017]), wherein the shoe hanger is provided with a sterilization device (sterilizing and disinfecting unit installed at one end of the shoe holder, paragraph [0043]), but does not teach wherein the sterilization device is disposed inside the hollow of the shoe hanger, and the support member is provided with a power supply part for applying power to the sterilization device. However, Shimizu teaches wherein the sterilization device is disposed inside the hollow of the shoe hanger (ultraviolet lamp inside the filter that irradiates ultraviolet light to the outside from the air holes, paragraph [0013]); and the support member is provided with a power supply part for applying power to the sterilization device (Figure 1 high voltage power supply “6” in connecting body “3”).
Ga and Shimizu are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of shoe care apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the shoe care apparatus taught by Ga with the internal ultraviolet light and power supply taught by Shimizu because Shimizu teaches that placing the ultraviolet light inside of the hollow allows for combination with a photocatalytic filter that deodorizes and sterilizes the inside of the shoe and the power supply advantageously provides the voltage that drives the ultraviolet lamp (paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein the shoe hanger further comprises: a shoe hanger body comprising the pair of support arms configured to protrude to support the shoes (Figure 4 shoe holders “110” inserted into shoes, Ga); a passage formed inside the shoe hanger body while communicating with the air supply duct such that air moves to the pair of support arms (Figure 6 air flow path “111” communicating air between air inlet “120” and shoe holder “110”, Ga); and a plurality of holes connected to the passage and formed on outer surfaces of the pair of support arms to supply air into the chamber (Figure 6 plurality of inner air injection holes “140”, Ga).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein the sterilization device is disposed in the passage (ultraviolet lamp inside the filter that irradiates ultraviolet light to the outside from the air holes, paragraph [0013], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein the sterilization device comprises at least one of an ultraviolet lamp or an ion generator (ultraviolet lamp inside the filter that irradiates ultraviolet light to the outside from the air holes, paragraph [0013], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein the UV lamp or the ion generator is disposed inside the pair of support arms (ultraviolet lamp inside the filter that irradiates ultraviolet light to the outside from the air holes, paragraph [0013], and Figure 2 ultraviolet lamp “5” inside of cylindrical body “2”, Shimizu).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein the pair of support arms comprises an installation bracket fixed to an inner upper surface of the pair of support arms such that the UV lamp or the ion generator is positioned in the passage (ultraviolet lamp fixed at one point into the cylindrical portion with screw portions, paragraph [0058], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein the power supply part is configured to supply the sterilization device with power (power supply provides the voltage that drives the ultraviolet lamp, paragraph [0013], Shimizu), and is disposed on at least one of an inner walls of a lateral side, an upper side, or a lower side of the support member ) Figure 1 high voltage power supply “6” in connecting body “3”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein the shoe hanger further comprises a power connection that corresponds to the power supply part (Figure 8 ultraviolet lamp “5” plugs into insulator “5b” which connects to switching power supply “8”, Shimizu).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein based on the shoe hanger being in a first position P1 of being coupled to the support member, the power connection part and the power supply are in contact with each other and the sterilization device is turned on (ultraviolet lamp inserted into the insulator starts to light up and irradiate ultraviolet light, paragraph [0050], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein based on the shoe hanger being in a second position P2 of being separated from the support member, the power connection part and the power supply part are separated from each other and the sterilization device is turned off (ultraviolet lamp can be disconnected from body and power supply to be replaced, paragraph [0051], Shimizu).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches wherein the power supply part comprises a contact terminal on the at least one of the inner walls of the lateral side, the upper side, or the lower side of the support member, wherein the contact terminal is configured to be in contact with the power connection part (Figure 8 power circuit between insulator “5b” and power supply “6” and switching power supply “8”, Shimizu).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ga and Shimizu does not teach wherein the power supply part further comprises an elastic body configured to elastically support the contact terminal. However, Shimizu further teaches teach wherein the power supply part further comprises an elastic body configured to elastically support the contact terminal (cylindrical bodies are connected by connecting rods and the power supply are housed in the connecting body, paragraph [0053], and configured to open and close and may be integrally formed as a curved structure, paragraph [0058]).
Ga and Shimizu are considered analogous to the current invention as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the shoe care apparatus taught by Ga and Shimizu with the connecting structure taught by Shimizu because Shimizu teaches the attachment position prevents the connecting body from interfering with the shoe during insertion (paragraph [0054]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ga and Shimizu in view of Kim (KR 20210016968 A).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ga and Shimizu teaches all aspects of the current invention including a heat exchanger configured to heat air introduced from the chamber (heating unit to heat air drawn in by air flow fan, paragraph [0025], Ga), but does not teach a heat exchanger comprising a compressor; and a control part configured to alternatively turn on the compressor and the sterilization device. However, Kim teaches heat exchanger comprising a compressor (compressor compressed air and air can be heated by heater, paragraph [0028]); and a control part configured to alternatively turn on the compressor and the sterilization device (the control unit operators the compressor, paragraph [0094] and the ultraviolet lamp is operated under the control of the control unit, paragraph [0110], and Figure 6 drying step “S140” is followed by irradiating step “S150”).
Ga, Shimizu, and Kim are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of shoe care apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the shoe care apparatus taught by Ga and Shimizu with the compressor and control unit taught by Kim because Kim teaches the compressor allows air to be delivered to multiple injection nozzles (paragraph [0093]) and the control unit advantageously adjusts parameters of the apparatus to deliver appropriate drying of the shoes (paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Kim teaches all aspects of the current invention including wherein the control part is configured to: based on the compressor being turned off, turn on the sterilization device; and based on the sterilization device being turned off, turn on the compressor (Figure 6 drying step “S140” is followed by irradiating step “S150”, Kim).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ga, Shimizu, and Kim teaches all aspects of the current invention including an output part comprising at least one of a display or a speaker (display window, paragraph [0088], Kim); and a control part configured to control the output part to output a visual notification or audible notification notifying that the shoe hanger has been separated from the support member because power is not being applied to the sterilization device through the power supply part (display window displays the operating status of the care unit, paragraph [0088], Kim).
Conclusion
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799