DETAILED ACTION
Note: The rejection is based on claims in the second preliminary amendment filed 11/08/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 7-14, 19-24, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "acquisition distribution layer" in lines 21 and 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note: the term “acquisition distribution system” is used throughout claim 1. Claims 19, 20, and 27 also recite “the acquisition distribution layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9-14, 19-24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bianchi et al. EP 3238676 in view of McDowell USPN 5700254.
As to claim 1, Bianchi teaches an absorbent article 20 (Bianchi Fig. 9) comprising an absorbent core 28 sandwiched between a liquid permeable topsheet 24 and a liquid impermeable backsheet 25 (Bianchi para. 0082), and an acquisition distribution system 54 positioned between the topsheet 24 and the absorbent core 28 (Bianchi Figs. 9 and 10; para. 0081),
wherein the absorbent core 28 comprises absorbent material 60 selected from the group consisting of cellulose fibers, superabsorbent polymers and combinations thereof (Bianchi Fig. 2; para. 0008, 0046, 0048),
wherein the absorbent material 60 is contained within at least one core wrap substrate 16 enclosing the absorbent material 60 (para. 0040-0042), and
wherein a top layer 16 of the core wrap is adhered to a bottom layer 16’ of the core wrap to form one or more channels 26a, 26b substantially free of the absorbent material (Bianchi Fig. 2; para. 0043, 0057-0059),
wherein the channels 26 have a length extending along a longitudinal axis 80 and the absorbent core 28 has a length extending along the longitudinal axis 80 and
wherein the length of the channels 26 is from 10% to 95% of the length of the absorbent core (Bianchi para. 0060) and,
wherein the channels 26 each follow a substantially continuous path (Bianchi para. 0057-058; Figs. 1, 5, 7, and 9),
characterized in that the acquisition distribution system 54 comprises at least one spunbond layer and/or at least one carded nonwoven layer (Bianchi para. 0098-0099), and
wherein the acquisition distribution system 54 is positioned between the absorbent core 28 and the topsheet 24 such that at least a substantial portion of the spunbond and/or carded nonwoven layer is in direct contact with the absorbent core 28 and the topsheet 24 – where Bianchi teaches the core wrap 16 is part of the absorbent core 28 (Bianchi para. 0008, 0040), and the acquisition distribution system 54 is positioned at a body-facing side of the absorbent core 28 (Bianchi para. 0095), therefore, the acquisition distribution system 54 is in direct contact with the absorbent core, and
Bianchi teaches the acquisition distribution system 54 comprises synthetic fibers (Bianchi para. 0098)0098). However, Bianchi does not specifically teach the synthetic fibers are comprised at a level of greater than 80%wt by weight of the acquisition distribution layer. In paragraph 0095, Bianchi cites McDowall US 5,700,254 as prior art disclosing an acquisition distribution system. McDowall teaches acquisition layers fabricated from synthetic polymers (100%) (McDowall col. 10, lines 6-7; col. 11, lines 55-56). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide Bianchi with the synthetic polymers of McDowall since both are from the same field of endeavor and provide the same solution of providing an acquisition layer in an absorbent article.
Bianchi/McDowall teach the acquisition distribution layer 54 has a basis weight of from to 15 to 40 g/m² (Bianchi para. 0099).
As to claim 2, Bianchi/McDowall teaches the acquisition distribution system 54 is a nonwoven selected from the group consisting of: SM, SMS, SMMS, and combinations thereof (Bianchi para. 0098).
As to claim 7, Bianchi/McDowall does not specifically teach at least one of the channels 26 extends both along the longitudinal axis 80’ and along an axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis 90’ (Bianchi Fig. 9) such that a shape is formed that is substantially U-shaped. However, Bianchi does teach channels 26 and 26' may be joined together, for example at their front or back extremities (Bianchi para. 0062), which would form a general U-shape as broadly as claimed.
As to claim 9, Bianchi/McDowall do not teach the mean flow pore size of the acquisition distribution system. However, McDowall teaches smaller interfiber pores and an interfiber pore gradient for faster capacity for z-directional liquid transfer to direct incoming fluids to underlying absorbent material (McDowall col. 9, lines 18-57). McDowall teaches the general concept of pore size affecting the liquid distribution function. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to determine through routine experimentation the mean flow pore size needed for a desired flow rate.
As to claim 10, Bianchi/McDowall do not teach the relative porosity of acquisition distribution system. However, Bianchi/McDowall teaches the acquisition distribution layer constructed from the claimed materials as discussed in claims 1 and 2 above. Therefore, since the prior art has met the structural requirements of the claim, Bianchi/McDowall obviously includes an acquisition distribution layer capable of achieving the claimed relative porosity.
As to claim 11, Bianchi/McDowell teaches the second end of at least one channel 26,26a is at a distance from the first end of at least one other channel 26,26b' taken along the longitudinal axis 80,80’ (Bianchi Figures 1 and 9), such that at least two spaced apart channels 26,26,26a,26b' are formed along the longitudinal axis 80,80’ that are offset from a transverse line 90,90’ running perpendicular from the longitudinal axis 80,80’ (Bianchi Figures 1 and 9). Bianchi teaches the channels are spaced apart (Bianchi Figures 1, 5, 7, and 9; paragraph 00062). Bianchi does not specifically teach the channels 26, 26' have a distance taken along the longitudinal axis 80 that is less than 18 mm. Bianchi teaches the smallest spacing distance may be at least 5mm, or at least 10mm, or at least 16 mm, for example (Bianchi paragraph 0062). Bianchi also teaches the channels may be parallel to the longitudinal axis; lateral axis, or curved (Bianchi paragraph 0061). At least in the instance of longitudinally oriented parallel channels, the spaced apart distance has values in the claimed range of less than 18 mm.
As to claim 12, Bianchi/McDowell teach the top layer 16 of the core wrap is adhered to a bottom layer 16' of the core wrap along the channels 26 (Bianchi Figures 10 and 11; para. 0057-0058), at a plurality of discrete joining areas 27 (Bianchi para. 0015), wherein the joining areas form a pattern consisting of elongated oblique members 26,26',26a,26b (Bianchi Figures 1, 7, and 9) having an angle a from the longitudinal axis 80 wherein the angle α is greater than 0° and less than 90° (Bianchi paragraph 0061).
As to claim 13, Bianchi/McDowall teach the acquisition distribution system 54 is adhered to the absorbent core 28 at one or more joining zones that are positioned outboard and/or inboard of the channels 26 such that the joining zones do not substantially overlap the channels 26 - where Bianchi teaches the acquisition distribution system 54 may comprise channel areas free of acquisition/distribution materials (para. 0017) and since the part of the acquisition distribution system 54 is superposed over the channel do not contain acquisition material, the remaining portions of the acquisition distribution system would not substantially overlap the channels 26, 26’.
As to claim 14, Bianchi/McDowall teach the acquisition distribution system 54 has a thickness of less than 0.5mm – where McDowall teaches the acquisition distribution system has a thickness of from about .001 inches to about 0.5 inches (.0254 mm -12.7 mm) (McDowall col. 3, lines 61-67).
As to claim 19, Bianchi/McDowall teach the acquisition distribution system 54 has a basis weight of from 18 to 35 g/m² - where Bianchi teaches the carded web has a basis weight from about 15 gsm to about 120 gsm (Bianchi para. 0099), which has values in the claimed range.
As to claim 20, Bianchi/McDowall teach the acquisition distribution system 54 has a basis weight of from 20 to 30 g/m² - where Bianchi teaches the carded web has a basis weight from about 15 gsm to about 120 gsm (Bianchi para. 0099), which has values in the claimed range.
As to claim 21, Bianchi/McDowall teach the acquisition distribution system 54 is multi-layered and comprises at least one meltblown layer (Bianchi para. 0098).
As to claim 22, Bianchi/McDowall teach the acquisition distribution system 54 comprises at least one spunbond layer (Bianchi para. 0098).
As to claim 23, Bianchi/McDowall teach the acquisition distribution system 54 comprises at least one carded nonwoven layer (Bianchi para. 098-0099).
As to claim 24, Bianchi/McDowall teach the core 28 comprises at least four channels (Bianchi para. 0059). Bianchi teaches shorter channel-forming areas substantially free of absorbent material may for example be present in the back region or the front region of the core as illustrated for example in the Figures of [Rosati et al.] WO 2012/170778 (Bianchi para. 0059). Rosati teaches at least four channels as shown in Fig. 3B; and wherein the distance between second and first ends of a first pair of longitudinally displaced channels is different from the distance between second and first ends of a second pair of longitudinally displaced channels wherein the first pair of channels run substantially parallel to the second pair of channels (Rosati Fig. 3B).
As to claim 28, Bianchi/McDowall teach An absorbent article according to Claim 1 wherein the acquisition distribution system 54 is the top layer of the core wrap – where Bianchi teaches the core wrap 16 is part of the absorbent core 28 (Bianchi para. 0008, 0040), and the acquisition distribution system 54 is positioned directly under the topsheet and an acquisition layer disposed between the distribution layer and the absorbent core (Bianchi para. 0095), therefore, the acquisition distribution system 54 is in direct contact with the absorbent core 28.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bianchi et al. EP 3238676 in view of McDowell USPN 5700254 and further in view of Schneider USPN 7786341.
Bianchi/McDowall teach the present invention substantially as claimed. Bianchi/McDowall do not teach the acquisition distribution system 54 has a specific volume of less than 11.4 cm³/g. Bianchi teaches in paragraph 0098, Schneider et al. USPN 7786341 discloses exemplary upper acquisition layers. Schneider teaches a liquid acquisition member having a void volume of 7-11 cm3/g having values in the claimed range of less than 11.4 cm3/g, for the benefit of providing enough void volume for efficient liquid acquisition and transport (Schneider col. 8, line 58 through col. 9, line 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to provide the acquisition distribution system of Bianchi/McDowall with the void volume taught in Schneider for the benefits Schneider teaches.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bianchi et al. EP 3238676 in view of McDowall USPN 5700254 and further in view of Fahrenkrug et al. USPN 5376198. Bianchi/McDowall teach the present invention substantially as claimed. Bianchi/McDowall do not teach the acquisition distribution system 54 has a wetness retention factor of less than 11 as measured according to the Wetness retention factor test method herein. than 11. Bianchi teaches an absorbent article having an acquisition distribution system that functions to quickly acquire fluids and distribute (transfer) it to the absorbent core (Bianchi para. 0095). Fahrenkrug teaches a transfer layer comprising synthetic fibers similar to the Bianchi acquisition/distribution system 54 (Fahrenkrug col. 8, line 9-27). Fahrenkrug further teaches the transfer layer preferably has low rewet properties and improved wet resiliency (col. 7, line 65-67). Fahrenkrug teaches a method of decreasing rewet properties is by distancing the liner (topsheet) from the absorbent, and a method of increasing wet resiliency is the use of synthetic fibers (col. 7, line 65 through col. 8, line 2). Although Fahrenkrug does not teach the claimed wetness retention faction, Fahrenkrug does teach the acquisition (transfer) layer does have low rewet, which correlates with a low wetness retention factor. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to provide the acquisition distribution system of Bianchi/McDowall with a wet retention factor in the claimed range since Bianchi/McDowall/Fahrenkrug comprise acquisition systems with primarily synthetic fibers and are used in the same environment to solve the same problem of low rewet.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bianchi et al. EP 3238676 in view of Fahrenkrug et al. USPN 5376198 and further in view of McDowall USPN 5700254.
As to claim 29, Bianchi teaches an absorbent article 20 (Bianchi Fig. 9) comprising an absorbent core 28 sandwiched between a liquid permeable topsheet 24 and a liquid impermeable backsheet 25 (Bianchi para. 0082), and an acquisition distribution system 54 positioned between the topsheet 24 and the absorbent core 28 (Bianchi Figs. 9 and 10; para. 0081),
wherein the absorbent core 28 comprises absorbent material 60 selected from the group consisting of cellulose fibers, superabsorbent polymers and combinations thereof (Bianchi Fig. 2; para. 0008, 0046, 0048),
wherein the absorbent material 60 is contained within at least one core wrap substrate 16 enclosing the absorbent material 60 (para. 0040-0042), and
wherein a top layer 16 of the core wrap is adhered to a bottom layer 16’ of the core wrap to form one or more channels 26a, 26b substantially free of the absorbent material (Bianchi Fig. 2; para. 0043, 0057-0059), wherein the channels 26 have a length extending along a longitudinal axis 80 and the absorbent core 28 has a length extending along the longitudinal axis 80 and wherein the length of the channels 26 is from 10% to 95% of the length of the absorbent core (Bianchi para. 0060) and,
wherein the channels 26 each follow a substantially continuous path (Bianchi para. 0057-058; Figs. 1, 5, 7, and 9),
characterized in that the acquisition distribution system 54 comprises at least one spunbond layer and/or at least one carded nonwoven layer (Bianchi para. 0098-0099), and
wherein the acquisition distribution system 54 is the top layer of the core wrap and is positioned between the absorbent core 28 and the topsheet 24 such that at least a substantial portion of the spunbond and/or carded nonwoven layer is in direct contact with the absorbent core 28 and the topsheet 24 – where Bianchi teaches the core wrap 16 is part of the absorbent core 28 (Bianchi para. 0008, 0040), and the acquisition distribution system 54 is positioned directly under the topsheet and an acquisition layer disposed between the distribution layer and the absorbent core (Bianchi para. 0095), therefore, the acquisition distribution system 54 is in direct contact with the absorbent core 28 and the topsheet.
Bianchi does not teach the acquisition distribution system 54 has a wetness retention factor of less than 11 as measured according to the Wetness retention factor test method herein. than 11. Bianchi teaches an absorbent article having an acquisition distribution system that functions to quickly acquire fluids and distribute (transfer) it to the absorbent core (Bianchi para. 0095). Fahrenkrug teaches a transfer layer comprising synthetic fibers similar to the Bianchi acquisition/distribution system 54 (Fahrenkrug col. 8, line 9-27). Fahrenkrug further teaches the transfer layer preferably has low rewet properties and improved wet resiliency (col. 7, line 65-67). Fahrenkrug teaches a method of decreasing rewet properties is by distancing the liner (topsheet) from the absorbent, and a method of increasing wet resiliency is the use of synthetic fibers (col. 7, line 65 through col. 8, line 2). Although Fahrenkrug does not teach the claimed wetness retention faction, Fahrenkrug does teach the acquisition (transfer) layer does have low rewet, which correlates with a low wetness retention factor. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to provide the acquisition distribution system of Bianchi with a wet retention factor in the claimed range since Bianchi and Fahrenkrug both comprise acquisition systems with primarily synthetic fibers and are used in the same environment to solve the same problem of low rewet.
Bianchi/Fahrenkrug teach the acquisition distribution system 54 comprises synthetic fibers (Bianchi para. 0098). However, Bianchi/Fahrenkrug does not specifically teach the synthetic fibers are comprised at a level of greater than 80%wt by weight of the acquisition distribution layer. In paragraph 0095, Bianchi cites McDowall US 5,700,254 as prior art disclosing an acquisition distribution system. McDowall teaches acquisition layers fabricated from synthetic polymers (100%) (McDowall col. 10, lines 6-7; col. 11, lines 55-56). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide Bianchi with the synthetic polymers of McDowall since both are from the same field of endeavor and provide the same solution of providing an acquisition layer in an absorbent article.
Bianchi/Fahrenkrug/McDowall teach the acquisition distribution layer 54 has a basis weight of from to 15 to 40 g/m² (Bianchi para. 0099).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 7-14, 19-22, 24, and 27-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-12, 15, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,097 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are a broader recitation of the claims of the patent in that it does not set forth a specific type specific first and second identifiers. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,097 contain each and every limitation of claim a of the instant application as well as additional features. The claims of the US Patent are narrower than the claims of the instant application, and effectively anticipate the instant claims. Thus the invention of the patent claim 1 is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the instant claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species". See ln re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, the subject matter of the present application substantially overlaps the subject matter of the aforementioned patent claims.
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781