DETAILED ACTION
HANDHELD SURFACE CLEANING APPARATUS
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 11-25-2025has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5-10,12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20110289720A1) in view of Crouch (US20120030898A1), Yamada (JP2013230302A) and Antaki (CN85201464U).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches (a) an air flow path (para 0037-0040) extending from the dirty air inlet (63, figure 6) to a clean air outlet (58, figure 5), the air flow path comprising an inlet conduit (para 0038-0040, figures 5-6) that is positioned at the upper end of the hand vacuum cleaner (figure 5)
(b) a cyclone assembly (100, figure 2) positioned in the air flow path, the cyclone assembly comprising a cyclone (para 0046-0050) having a front end (110, figure 3) and a rear end (end of 108, figure 3) and a cyclone axis of rotation (para 0046,0050,0059, line through 108) that extends through the front and rear ends of the cyclone,
wherein the inlet conduit extends from the dirty air inlet to the cyclone (para 0038-0040, 0046-0059, figures 5-6);
(c) a suction motor (M; para 0037,0040,0059) positioned in the air flow path rearward of the cyclone, the suction motor has an axis of rotation ( line extending through center of M; para 0037,0040,0059) and the suction motor axis of rotation is substantially parallel to the cyclone axis of rotation (figure 6);
(d) a pistol grip handle (62, figures 4- 5) located at the rear end of the hand vacuum cleaner (figure 5),
wherein a finger gap area (see area surrounding 65 and below 65) is positioned forward of the pistol grip handle and rearward of the suction motor (figures 5-6), wherein there is an absence of a post-motor filter between the finger gap area and the suction motor (M, figure 5-6);;
(e) the pistol grip handle has a hand grip portion (see body of 62, figure 4) having a first end (front of 62, figures 4-5), a second end (rear of 62, figures 4-5) and a hand grip portion axis (line through front of 62, and rear of 62, figures 4-5) that extends centrally through the hand grip portion from the first end of the hand grip portion to the second end of the hand grip portion, wherein both the first end of the hand grip portion and the second end of the hand grip portion are positioned rearward of the suction motor (M, figures 5-6).
Han fails to teach wherein the inlet conduit is provided with an electrical connector; and an energy storage unit is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle and wherein the pistol grip handle is substantially linear.
Crouch teaches a handheld vacuum cleaner that has inlet conduit (46, figure 1)where the inlet conduit includes an electrical connector (see 45, figure 1 and 6; para 0030-0031) that allows handheld vacuum cleaner to be connected to a cleaning attachment and have control of the agitator (106, figure 6) within the cleaning attachment (100, para 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to include the teachings of Crouch’s electrical connector on an inlet conduit. This modification would allow a user to connect a cleaning accessory have more control over the components of the cleaning accessory (see para 0030-0031 of Crouch).
Yamada teaches a handheld vacuum cleaner (2, figures 1-3) that includes an energy storage unit (20, figure 2) is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle (8, figure 2),a lid (9, figure 2) that protects the energy storage unit ,and wherein a portion of the energy storage unit 20, figure 2) immediately underlies the suction motor (16, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to have an energy storage unit is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle that underlies the suction motor based on the teachings of Yamada. This modification would ensure the cleaner is a user-friendly handheld cleaner that allows for the energy storage unit to be easily removed and be protected from external impacts when stored on the cleaner (see Yamada pages 2-8).
Antaki teaches a portable cleaner (abstract) that wherein the pistol grip handle is substantially linear (see figure 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to wherein the pistol grip handle is substantially linear based on the teachings of Antaki, since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would make operating the handheld vacuum cleaner easier to handle during operation. (see pages 1-6 of npl)
Regarding claim 5, modified Han teaches a pre-motor filter (see Han 70, figure 2) located between the cyclone (see Han para 0046-0050, figure 6) and the suction motor (see Han M, figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, modified Han taches an axis (see Han line extending area surrounding 65, figure 5-6)that is transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation extends through the finger grip area and the energy storage unit (see Yamada 20, figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, modified Han teaches wherein a portion of the energy storage unit (see Yamada 20, figure 2) immediately underlies the suction motor (see Han M, figure 6 and see Yamada 16, figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Han teaches wherein a portion of the energy storage unit (see Yamada 20, figure 2) immediately underlies the suction motor (see Han M, figure 6 and see Yamada 16, figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, modified Han wherein the cyclone assembly (see Han 100, figure 3; para 0045-050) and a pre-motor filter (see Han 70, figure 2,6) comprise a removable air treatment unit (see Han para 0014,0042,0061).
Regarding claim 10, modified Han teaches wherein the pre-motor filter (see Han 70, figures 2-6) is located between the cyclone (see Han para 0046-0050) and the suction motor (see Han M; para 0037,0040,0059, figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, modified Han teaches wherein the cyclone assembly is removably mounted (see Han para 0044).
Regarding claim 13, modified Han teaches wherein the inlet conduit has a conduit axis (see Han line that extends through 63, figure 6) and the conduit axis intersects the pistol grip handle (see Han line that extends through 63, figure 6 to rear of 62, figure 5-6).
Regarding claim 14, modified Han teaches wherein, when the hand vacuum cleaner is oriented with the cyclone axis of rotation (see Han line extends through 108, figure 6) extending horizontally and the dirty air inlet (see Han 63, figure 6)above the cyclone (see Han para 0046-0050), the suction motor (see Han figure 6, portions of M positioned below 63, figure 6) is positioned below the conduit axis.
Regarding claim 15, modified Han teaches further comprising a pre-motor filter (see Ha 70, figure 6) located between the cyclone (see Han para 0046-0050, figures 3-6) and the suction motor (see Han m, figure 5).
Regarding claim 16,modified Han teaches when the hand vacuum cleaner is oriented with the cyclone axis of rotation (see Han , figure 6, line extending through 108, figure 6)extending horizontally and the dirty air inlet (see Han 63 is above cyclone area S1, figure 6) above the cyclone, the pre-motor filter (see Han 70, figure 6 portions of 70 is below 63) is positioned below the conduit axis.
Regarding claim 17, modified Han teaches wherein the cyclone assembly (see Han 100, figure 3; para 0045-0050) and the pre-motor filter (see Han 70, figure 2) comprise a removable air treatment unit. (see Han para 0014,0042,0061).
Regarding claim 18, modified Han teaches a pre-motor filter (see Han 70, figures 2,6) located between the cyclone (see Han para 0046-0050, figure 6) and the suction motor (see Han M , figure 6), the inlet conduit has a conduit axis (see Han line that extends through 63, figure 6) and, when the hand vacuum cleaner is oriented with the cyclone axis of rotation (see Han line extends through 108, figure 6) extending horizontally and the dirty air inlet (see Han 63, figure 6) above the cyclone (see S1 area, figure 6), the pre- motor filter (portions of 70, figure 6) is positioned below the conduit axis.
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20110289720A1) in view of Conrad (US20110314630A1) and Yamada (JP2013230302A).
Regarding claim 19, Han teaches
(a) an air flow path (para 0037-0040) extending from the dirty air inlet (63, figure 6) to a clean air outlet (58, figure 5), the air flow path comprising an inlet conduit (para 0038-0040, figures 5-6) that is positioned at the upper end of the hand vacuum cleaner (figure 5), wherein the inlet conduit has a conduit axis (line extending through 63, figure 6);
(b) a cyclone assembly (100, figure 2) positioned in the air flow path, the cyclone assembly comprising a cyclone (para 0046-0050) having a front end (110, figure 3) and a rear end (end of 108, figure 3) and a cyclone axis of rotation (para 0046,0050,0059, line through 108 ) that extends through the front and rear ends of the cyclone,
wherein the inlet conduit extends from the dirty air inlet to the cyclone (para 0038-0040, 0046-0059, figures 5-6);
(c) a suction motor (M; para 0037,0040,0059) positioned in the air flow path rearward of the cyclone, the suction motor has an axis of rotation (line extending through center of M; para 0037,0040,0059) and the suction motor axis of rotation is substantially parallel to the cyclone axis of rotation (see figure 6);
(d) a pre-motor filter (70, figure 6) located between the cyclone (para 0046-0050, figure 6 see S1) and the suction motor (M, figure 6); and,
(e) a pistol grip handle (62, figures 4-5) located at the rear end of the hand vacuum cleaner,
wherein a finger grip area (see area surrounding 65 and below 65, figure 5-6) is positioned forward of the pistol grip handle and rearward of the suction motor (figures 5-6),
(f) when the hand vacuum cleaner is oriented with the cyclone axis of rotation extending horizontally and the dirty air inlet above the cyclone, the pre- motor filter (portions of 70, figure 6 is below 63, figure 6) is positioned below the conduit axis, and
wherein the pistol grip handle has a hand grip portion (see body of 62, figures 4-5) having a first end (front of 62, figures 4-5), a second end (rear of 62, figures 4-5) and a hand grip portion axis (line through front of 62, and rear of 62, figures 4-5) that extends centrally through the hand grip portion from the first end of the hand grip portion to the second end of the hand grip portion, wherein both the first end of the hand grip portion and the second end of the hand grip portion (figures 4-6) are positioned rearward of the suction motor (M, figure 6),
Han fails to teach an energy storage unit located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle, and wherein a portion of the energy storage unit immediately underlies the suction motor; wherein the cyclone assembly has a front openable door.
However Han does disclose the cyclone assembly has a openable door (see Han 76, figure 2).
Conrad teaches portable vacuum cleaner with a cyclone assembly that has a front openable door (para 0076)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to the cyclone assembly has a front openable door based on the teachings of Conrad since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would make emptying the contents of cyclone easier. (para 0076 of Conrad)
Yamada teaches a handheld vacuum cleaner (2, figures 1-3) that includes an energy storage unit (20, figure 2) is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle (8, figure 2),a lid (9, figure 2) that protects the energy storage unit ,and wherein a portion of the energy storage unit 20, figure 2) immediately underlies the suction motor (16, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to have an energy storage unit is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle that underlies the suction motor based on the teachings of Yamada. This modification would ensure the cleaner is a user-friendly handheld cleaner that allows for the energy storage unit to be easily removed and be protected from external impacts when stored on the cleaner (see Yamada pages 2-8).
Regarding claim 20, modified Han teaches wherein the cyclone assembly (see Han 100, figure 3; para 0045-0050) and the pre-motor filter (see Han 70, figure 6) comprise a removable air treatment unit (see Han para 0014,0042,0061).
Claim(s) 2-4,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20110289720A1) in view of Crouch (US20120030898A1) ,Yamada (JP2013230302A) , Antaki (CN85201464U) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Conrad (US20110314630A1)
Regarding claim 2, Han as modified in claim 1 fails to teach a plurality of second stage cyclones downstream from the cyclone and wherein the plurality of second stage cyclone is located between the cyclone and the suction motor.
Conrad teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes a plurality of second stage cyclones (para 0095) downstream from a cyclone (814, figure 8) and wherein the plurality of second stage cyclone (para 0095) is located between the cyclone and a suction motor (864, figure 8), wherein the plurality of second stage cyclones (see Conrad 851, figure 8) are located between the cyclone and the suction motor (see Conrad; 864, figure 8), a pre-motor filter (862, figure 8; para 0095) located between the second stage cyclones and the suction motor (864, figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Han to include second stage cyclone based on the teachings of Conrad. This modification would help increase the cleaning efficiency of the cleaning apparatus ,and help further filter and remove debris from the air. (see Conrad’s para 0054-0055,0095)
Regarding claim 3, Han as modified in claim 2 teaches wherein the plurality of second stage cyclones (see Conard; 851, figure 8; para 0095) are located between the cyclone and the suction motor (see Han M, figure 6;see Conrad 864, figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, modified Han teaches a pre-motor filter (see Conrad 862; para 0095, figure 8 and see Han 70, figure 6) located between the second stage cyclones (see Conard; 851, figure 8; para 0095) and the suction motor (see Han M, figure 6;see Conrad 864, figure 8).
Regarding claim 11, modified Han teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach the cyclone assembly has a front openable door.
However Han does disclose the cyclone assembly has a openable door (see Han 76, figure 2).
Conrad teaches portable vacuum cleaner with a cyclone assembly that has a front openable door (para 0076)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han to the cyclone assembly has a front openable door based on the teachings of Conrad since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. This modification would make emptying the contents of cyclone easier. (para 0076 of Conrad)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages filed 11-25-2025, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 19 their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.102 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by
amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the
prior rejection of record to teach the amendments.
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723