DETAILED ACTION
HANDHELD SURFACE CLEANING APPARATUS
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06-22-2026 has been entered. Claims 1-21 are currently pending and have been examined. Claim 21 is newly added. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,6-8,12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura (JP2008206613A) in view of Ohara (JP2002085297A) and Yamada (JP2013230302A).
Regarding claim 1, Kamimura teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) having (see annotated figure below) an upper end, a lower end, a front end having a dirty air inlet (11, figure 1) and a rear end, the hand vacuum cleaner comprising:
an air flow path (“when the user operates the switch 20, the electric blower 8 is activated by the electric power from the rechargeable battery 9, and the fan 7 is rotated. A suction airflow is generated which is sucked through the pipe-shaped member 15, passes through the dust collection unit 5 and the electric blower 8, and is discharged out of the machine casing 4 through the exhaust path (not shown). Thus, the electric vacuum cleaner 8 is moved so that the first suction port 11 is brought close to the surface to be cleaned G”) extending from the dirty air inlet (11, figure 1) to at least one clean air outlet (“discharged out of the machine casing 4 through the exhaust path”), the air flow path comprising an inlet conduit (15, figure 1) that is positioned at the upper end of the hand vacuum cleaner,
a cyclone assembly (5, figure 1) positioned in the air flow path, the cyclone assembly comprising a cyclone (“Further, eddy current generating means 13 is detachably attached in the container 5A of the dust collecting part 5, and the eddy current generating means 13 makes the dust collecting part 5 a cyclone separator”) having a front end (see front of 5, figure 1) and a rear end (see rear of 5, figure 1) and a cyclone axis of rotation (see Y, figure 1) that extends through the front and rear ends of the cyclone, wherein the inlet conduit extends from the dirty air inlet to the cyclone (see 12, figure 1)
a suction motor (6, figure 1) positioned in the air flow path rearward of the cyclone, the suction motor has an axis of rotation (see Y, figure 1) and the suction motor axis of rotation is substantially parallel to the cyclone axis of rotation (see figure 1);
(d) a pistol grip handle (18, figure 1) located at the rear end of the hand vacuum cleaner, wherein a finger gap area (see annotated figure below) is positioned forward of the pistol grip handle and rearward of the suction motor, wherein there is an absence of a post-motor filter between the finger gap area and the suction motor, and wherein the pistol grip handle (18, figure 1) is substantially linear (figure 1); and,
an energy storage unit (9, figure 1) wherein the pistol grip handle has a hand grip portion (10, figure 1) having a first end, a second end and a hand grip portion axis (see annotated figure below) that extends centrally through the hand grip portion from the first end of the hand grip portion to the second end of the hand grip portion, wherein both the first end of the hand grip portion and the second end of the hand grip portion are positioned rearward of the suction motor (6, figure 1), and
wherein, when the upper end is above the lower end, the inlet conduit (15, figure 1) at least partially overlies the cyclone assembly (5, figure 1), and
Kamimura fails to teach wherein the inlet conduit is provided with an electrical connector, and wherein the hand vacuum cleaner further comprises a removable portion that is removable from a stationary portion, the removable portion comprises at least the cyclone assembly and the stationary portion comprises at least the inlet conduit.
Ohara teaches a hand vacuum that includes a wherein the inlet conduit (25, figure 1) is provided with an electrical connector (29, figure 1) and wherein the hand vacuum cleaner further comprises a removable portion (see annotated figure; “ dust collecting case 32 to which a filter body 31 is attached is engaged with a locking portion 34 of the main body 20 at an engaging portion 33”) that is removable from a stationary portion (20, figure 1) the removable portion comprises at least a cyclone assembly (“It is a so-called cyclone system that descends, so that the adhesion of dust to the filter body 31 can be reduced.”)and the stationary portion comprises at least the inlet conduit (25, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to include an inlet conduit is provided with an electrical connector, and wherein the hand vacuum cleaner further comprises a removable portion that is removable from a stationary portion, the removable portion comprises at least the cyclone assembly and the stationary portion comprises at least the inlet conduit based on the teachings of Ohara. This modification would help allow a user to easily control an accessory’s electrical system that is attached to the hand vacuum cleaner, and easily empty contents collected and provide maintenance to the cyclone assembly. (see abstract, pages 1-6 of Ohara)
Kamimura in view of Ohara fails to teach the energy storage unit is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle.
Yamada teaches a handheld vacuum cleaner (2, figures 1-3) that includes an energy storage unit (20, figure 2) is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle (8, figure 2),a lid (9, figure 2) that protects the energy storage unit ,and wherein a portion of the energy storage unit (20, figure 2) immediately underlies the suction motor (16, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to have an energy storage unit is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle that underlies the suction motor based on the teachings of Yamada. This modification would ensure the cleaner is a user-friendly handheld cleaner that allows for the energy storage unit to be easily removed and be protected from external impacts when stored on the cleaner (see Yamada pages 2-8).
Regarding claim 6, Kamimura as modified above teaches wherein an axis (see annotated figure below) that is transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation (see annotated figure below) extends through the finger grip area (see annotated figure below) and the energy storage unit. (see Yamada 20, figure 2)
Regarding claim 7, Kamimura as modified above teaches wherein a portion of the energy storage unit (see Yamada 20, figure 2) immediately underlies the suction motor (see Kamimura 6, figure 1; Yamada 16, figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kamimura as modified above teaches (see Yamada 20, figure 2) wherein a portion of the energy storage unit immediately underlies the suction motor (see Kamimura 6, figure 1; Yamada 16, figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Kamimura as modified above teaches wherein the cyclone assembly is removably mounted (see Ohara “As shown in FIG. 1, the electric vacuum cleaner main body 1 includes a machine casing 4 and a dust collecting section 5 that is detachably attached to one end of the machine casing 4. An electric blower 8 and a rechargeable battery 9 having a motor 6 and a fan 7 are built in the machine casing 4, and at the other end (upper part in FIG. 1). The 1st holding part 10 is formed. In addition, a first suction port 11 is formed at a front portion of one end portion (lower portion in FIG. 1) of the dust collection unit 5, and the first suction port 11 is connected to the dust collection unit 5. An intake passage 12 is formed integrally with the dust collecting portion 5. Further, eddy current generating means 13 is detachably”) .
Regarding claim 13, Kamimura as modified above teaches wherein the inlet conduit has a conduit axis (see Kamimura A, figure 1) and the conduit axis intersects the pistol grip handle (see Kamimura 18, figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Kamimura as modified above teaches wherein, when the hand vacuum cleaner is oriented with the cyclone axis of rotation (see annotated above) extending horizontally and the dirty air inlet (see Kamimura 11, figure 1) above the cyclone, the suction motor (see Kamimura 6, figure 1) is positioned below the conduit axis (see Kamimura A, figure 1).
Claim(s) 2-5,9-11,15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura (JP2008206613A) in view of Ohara (JP2002085297A) and Yamada (JP2013230302A) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Conrad (US20110314630A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kamimura as modified above teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach a plurality of second stage cyclones downstream from the cyclone and wherein the plurality of second stage cyclone is located between the cyclone and the suction motor.
Conrad teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes a plurality of second stage cyclones (para 0095) downstream from a cyclone (814, figure 8) and wherein the plurality of second stage cyclone (para 0095) is located between the cyclone and a suction motor (864, figure 8), wherein the plurality of second stage cyclones (see Conrad 851, figure 8) are located between the cyclone and the suction motor (see Conrad; 864, figure 8), a pre-motor filter (862, figure 8; para 0095) located between the second stage cyclones and the suction motor (864, figure 8), a pre motor (862, figure 8; para 0095) filter located between cyclone (814, figure 8) and suction motor (864, figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to include second stage cyclone, pre-motor filter located between the second stage cyclones and suction motor, a pre motor filter located between cyclone and suction motor based on the teachings of Conrad. This modification would help increase the cleaning efficiency of the cleaning apparatus, and help further filter and remove debris from the air. (see Conrad’s para 0054-0055,0095)
Regarding claim 3, Kamimura as modified in claim 2 teaches wherein the plurality of second stage cyclones (see Conard; 851, figure 8; para 0095) are located between the cyclone and the suction motor (see Kamimura 6, figure 1;see Conrad 864, figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kamimura teaches a pre-motor filter (see Conrad 862; para 0095, figure 86) located between the second stage cyclones (see Conard; 851, figure 8; para 0095) and the suction motor (see Kamimura 6, figure 6;see Conrad 864, figure 8).
Regarding claim 5, Kamimura as modified in claim 1 teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach a pre-motor filter located between the cyclone and the suction motor.
Conrad teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes a plurality of second stage cyclones (para 0095) downstream from a cyclone (814, figure 8) and wherein the plurality of second stage cyclone (para 0095) is located between the cyclone and a suction motor (864, figure 8), wherein the plurality of second stage cyclones (see Conrad 851, figure 8) are located between the cyclone and the suction motor (see Conrad; 864, figure 8), a pre-motor filter (862, figure 8; para 0095) located between the second stage cyclones and the suction motor (864, figure 8), a pre motor (862, figure 8; para 0095) filter located between cyclone (814, figure 8) and suction motor (864, figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to include a pre motor filter located between cyclone and suction motor based on the teachings of Conrad. This modification would help increase the cleaning efficiency of the cleaning apparatus and help further filter and remove debris from the air. (see Conrad’s para 0054-0055,0079-0080,0095)
Regarding claim 9, Kamimura as modified above teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the cyclone assembly and a pre-motor filter comprise a removable air treatment unit.
Conrad teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes a cyclone (814, figure 8) and a pre-motor (862, figure 8; para 0079-0080,0095) filter comprise a removable air treatment unit (see Conrad para 0015,0019,0088,0095), a pre motor (862, figure 8; para 0095) filter located between cyclone (814, figure 8) and suction motor (864, figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to include wherein the cyclone assembly and a pre-motor filter comprise a removable air treatment unit, a pre motor filter located between cyclone and suction motor based on the teachings of Conrad. This modification would help increase the cleaning efficiency of the cleaning apparatus and help further filter and remove debris from the air and allow for simple maintenance to be performed. (see Conrad’s para 0019, 0054-0055,0079-0080,00888 0095)
Regarding claim 10, Kamimura as modified above teaches wherein a pre motor (see Conrad 862, figure 8; para 0095) filter is located between cyclone (see Conrad 814, figure 8) and suction motor (see Conrad 864, figure 8).
Regarding claim 11, Kamimura as modified above in claim 1 teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein the cyclone assembly has a front openable door.
Conrad teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes a cyclone (814, figure 8) and a pre-motor (862, figure 8; para 0079-0080,0095) filter comprise a removable air treatment unit (see Conrad para 0015,0019,0088,0095), a pre motor (862, figure 8; para 0095) filter located between cyclone (814, figure 8) and suction motor (864, figure 8), cyclone assembly has front openable door (see Conrad; para 076,0094-0095)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to include wherein cyclone assembly has front openable door based on the teachings of Conrad. This modification would help allow a user to empty debris easily from the cyclone unit. (see Conrad para 0076)
Regarding claim 15, Conrad as modified in claim 14 teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach a pre-motor filter located between the cyclone and the suction motor.
Conrad teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes a cyclone (814, figure 8) and a pre-motor (862, figure 8; para 0079-0080,0095) filter comprise a removable air treatment unit (see Conrad para 0015,0019,0088,0095), a pre motor (862, figure 8; para 0095) filter located between cyclone (814, figure 8) and suction motor (864, figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to include wherein the cyclone assembly and a pre-motor filter comprise a removable air treatment unit, a pre motor filter located between cyclone and suction motor based on the teachings of Conrad. This modification would help increase the cleaning efficiency of the cleaning apparatus and help further filter and remove debris from the air and allow for simple maintenance to be performed. (see Conrad’s para 0019, 0054-0055,0079-0080,00888 0095)
Regarding claim 16, Kamimura as modified in claim 15 teaches when the hand (see Kamimura figure 1) vacuum cleaner is oriented with the cyclone axis of rotation extending horizontally and the dirty air inlet above the cyclone (see Kamimura figure 1, annotated figures above), the pre-motor filter (see Conrad 862, figure 8) is positioned below the conduit axis.
Regarding claim 17, Kamimura as modified in claim 17 teaches wherein the cyclone assembly and the pre-motor filter comprise a removable air treatment unit see )Conrad 862, figure 8; para 0015,0019 0079-0080,0088 0095).
Regarding claim 18, Kamimura teaches all limitations stated above, the inlet conduit has a conduit axis and, when the hand vacuum cleaner is oriented with the cyclone axis of rotation (see annotated figure above) extending horizontally and the dirty air inlet (see Kamimura 11, figure 1) above the cyclone, (see Kamimura figure 1) but fails to teach a pre-motor filter located between the cyclone and the suction motor, the inlet conduit has a conduit axis and, the pre- motor filter is positioned below the conduit axis.
Conrad teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes a cyclone (814, figure 8) and a pre-motor (862, figure 8; para 0079-0080,0095) filter comprise a removable air treatment unit (see Conrad para 0015,0019,0088,0095), a pre motor (862, figure 8; para 0095) filter located between cyclone (814, figure 8) and suction motor (864, figure 8),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to include wherein a pre motor filter located between cyclone and suction motor based on the teachings of Conrad. This modification would help increase the cleaning efficiency of the cleaning apparatus and help further filter and remove debris from the air and allow for simple maintenance to be performed. (see Conrad’s para 0019, 0054-0055,0079-0080,00888 0095)
Kamimura as modified in claim 1 further in view of Conrad would disclose the pre- motor filter (see Conrad 862, figure 8) is positioned below the conduit axis (see Kamimura A, figure 1).
Regarding claim 21, Kamimura as modified in claim 1 teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein the hand vacuum cleaner comprises two clean air outlets positioned on opposed lateral sides of the hand vacuum cleaner.
Conrad teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) that comprises clean air outlets positioned around hand vacuum cleaner (see para 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura wherein the hand vacuum cleaner comprises two clean air outlets positioned on opposed lateral sides of the hand vacuum cleaner based on teachings of Conrad. This modification would allow for clean air to be exhausted even when there is a clog in one clean air outlet. (see para 0054, 0081,0083 of Conrad).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura (JP2008206613A) in view of Conrad (US20110314630A1), Yamada (JP2013230302A) and Ohara (JP2002085297A),
Regarding claim 19, Kamimura teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) having (see annotated figure below) an upper end, a lower end, a front end having a dirty air inlet (11, figure 1) and a rear end, the hand vacuum cleaner comprising:
(a) an air flow path (“when the user operates the switch 20, the electric blower 8 is activated by the electric power from the rechargeable battery 9, and the fan 7 is rotated. A suction airflow is generated which is sucked through the pipe-shaped member 15, passes through the dust collection unit 5 and the electric blower 8, and is discharged out of the machine casing 4 through the exhaust path (not shown). Thus, the electric vacuum cleaner 8 is moved so that the first suction port 11 is brought close to the surface to be cleaned G”) extending from the dirty air inlet (11, figure 1) to a clean air outlet (“discharged out of the machine casing 4 through the exhaust path”), the air flow path comprising an inlet conduit (15, figure 1) that is positioned at the upper end of the hand vacuum cleaner, wherein the inlet conduit has a conduit axis;
(b) a cyclone assembly (5, figure 1) positioned in the air flow path, the cyclone assembly comprising a cyclone (“Further, eddy current generating means 13 is detachably attached in the container 5A of the dust collecting part 5, and the eddy current generating means 13 makes the dust collecting part 5 a cyclone separator”) having a front end (see front of 5, figure 1) and a rear end (see rear of 5, figure 1) and a cyclone axis of rotation (see Y, figure 1) that extends through the front and rear ends of the cyclone,
wherein the inlet conduit extends from the dirty air inlet to the cyclone (see 12, figure 1);
(c) a suction motor (6, figure 1) positioned in the air flow path rearward of the cyclone, the suction motor has an axis of rotation (see Y, figure 1) and the suction motor axis of rotation is substantially parallel to the cyclone axis of rotation (see figure 1);
and,
(e) a pistol grip handle (18, figure 1) located at the rear end of the hand vacuum cleaner,
wherein a finger gap area (see annotated figure below) is positioned forward of the pistol grip handle (18, figure 1) and rearward of the suction motor,
(f) an energy storage unit (9, figure 1)
wherein, when the hand vacuum cleaner is oriented with the cyclone axis of rotation extending horizontally and the dirty air inlet above the cyclone and
wherein the pistol grip handle has a hand grip portion (10, figure 1) having a first end, a second end and a hand grip portion axis (see annotated figure below) that extends centrally through the hand grip portion from the first end of the hand grip portion to the second end of the hand grip portion, wherein both the first end of the hand grip portion and the second end of the hand grip portion are positioned rearward of the suction motor (6, figure 1), and
wherein, when the upper end is above the lower end, the inlet conduit (15, figure 1) at least partially overlies the cyclone assembly.
Kamimura fails to teach a pre-motor filter located between the cyclone and the suction motor, the pre- motor filter is positioned below the conduit axis.
Conrad teaches a hand vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes a cyclone (814, figure 8) and a pre-motor (862, figure 8; para 0079-0080,0095) filter comprise a removable air treatment unit (see Conrad para 0015,0019,0088,0095), a pre motor (862, figure 8; para 0095) filter located between cyclone (814, figure 8) and suction motor (864, figure 8), and a removable air treatment unit (see Conrad para 0015,0019,0088,0095)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kamimura to include wherein a pre motor filter located between cyclone and suction motor, a removable air treatment unit based on the teachings of Conrad. This modification would help increase the cleaning efficiency of the cleaning apparatus and help further filter and remove debris from the air and allow for simple maintenance to be performed. (see Conrad’s para 0019, 0054-0055,0079-0080,00888 0095)
Kamimura as modified in claim 19 further in view of Conrad would disclose the pre- motor filter (see Conrad 862, figure 8) is positioned below the conduit axis (see Kamimura A, figure 1).
Kamimura in view of Conrad fails to teach wherein a portion of the energy storage unit immediately underlies the suction motor and located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle.
Yamada teaches a handheld vacuum cleaner (2, figures 1-3) that includes an energy storage unit (20, figure 2) is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle (8, figure 2),a lid (9, figure 2) that protects the energy storage unit ,and wherein a portion of the energy storage unit (20, figure 2) immediately underlies the suction motor (16, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to have an energy storage unit is located at the lower end of the pistol grip handle that underlies the suction motor based on the teachings of Yamada. This modification would ensure the cleaner is a user-friendly handheld cleaner that allows for the energy storage unit to be easily removed and be protected from external impacts when stored on the cleaner (see Yamada pages 2-8).
Kamimura in view of Conrad and Yamada fails to teach wherein the hand vacuum cleaner further comprises a removable portion that is removable from a stationary portion, the removable portion comprises at least the cyclone assembly and the stationary portion comprises at least the inlet conduit.
Ohara teaches a hand vacuum that includes a wherein the inlet conduit (25, figure 1) is provided with an electrical connector (29, figure 1) and wherein the hand vacuum cleaner further comprises a removable portion (see annotated figure; “ dust collecting case 32 to which a filter body 31 is attached is engaged with a locking portion 34 of the main body 20 at an engaging portion 33”) that is removable from a stationary portion (20, figure 1) the removable portion comprises at least a cyclone assembly (“It is a so-called cyclone system that descends, so that the adhesion of dust to the filter body 31 can be reduced.”) and the stationary portion comprises at least the inlet conduit (25, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kamimura to include wherein the hand vacuum cleaner further comprises a removable portion that is removable from a stationary portion, the removable portion comprises at least the cyclone assembly and the stationary portion comprises at least the inlet conduit based on the teachings of Ohara. This modification would help allow easily empty contents collected and provide maintenance to the cyclone assembly. (see abstract, pages 1-6 of Ohara).
Regarding claim 20, Kamimura as modified in claim 19 wherein the cyclone assembly (see Ohara “detachable” and Conrad para 0088,0095), and the pre-motor filter comprise a removable air treatment unit. (see Conrad para 0015,0019,0088,0095).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see filed 06-22-2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 19 their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by
amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the
prior rejection of record to teach the new limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723