DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
“transmitter module”
9
A transmitter with a driving circuit, a switch circuit, a transmitter coil, a first capacitor and a second capacitor
“receiver module”
9
a receiver coil, a rectifier circuit, a buck circuit, a communication circuit, a third capacitor, and a fourth capacitor
“first transmitter control unit”
11
A controller [0030]
“second transmitter control unit”
11
A controller [0030]
“first receiver control unit”
12
No structure
“second receiver control unit”
13
No structure
“buck control unit”
13
No structure
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “first receiver control unit”; “second receiver control unit and “buck control unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 9-12 have been found indefinite for reciting the 112(f) limitations “first receiver control unit”; “second receiver control unit and “buck control unit” for which there is not adequate structure disclosed for performing the corresponding functions; therefore there is a lack of written description since an indefinite unbounded functional limitation would cover all ways of performing a function, known and unknown, and would indicate that the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada US PGPUB 2014/0292096.
Regarding claim 1, Yamada discloses a wireless charging control method of a wireless charging system [figs. 2-3 & 6-7; pars. 105 & 161] comprising a transmitter module [fig. 2, 120] and a receiver module [fig. 3, 230], the wireless charging control method comprising steps of:
(a) by the transmitter module, when an input power [fig. 7, 303] is higher than a threshold power [fig. 7, 303] or a component temperature is higher than a threshold temperature, determining a target output power according to the input power or the component temperature [par. 153; fig. 7, 305; flag 2 is determined and determines a target output power of zero (figs. 13-14, step 803)];
(b) by the transmitter module, modulating information of the target output power into an input electric energy [pars. 133 & 171-173; fig. 7, 309, f.8, 401;
(c) by the receiver module, receiving and sampling the input electric energy to demodulate the information of the target output power [pars. 55, 57; fig. 2, rx circuit 133 receives, samples and demodulated data]; and
(d) by the receiver module, converting the input electric energy into the target output power according to the information of the target output power [based on flag 2, no power is converted, thus the appropriate amount of power is converted based on the information].
Regarding claim 9, Yamada discloses a wireless charging system [figs. 2-3 & 6-7; pars. 105 & 161], comprising:
a transmitter module [fig. 2, 120] configured to convert an input power into an input electric energy and transmit the input electric energy [pars. 50, 52 & 54]; and
a receiver module [fig. 3, 230] configured to receive the input electric energy, convert the input electric energy into an output electric energy [fig. 3, 231; pars. 74-76], and provide the output electric energy to a load [fig. 3, battery 237], wherein the transmitter module and the receiver module are configured to perform the wireless charging control method as claimed in claim 1 [see claim 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US PGPUB 2014/0292096.
Regarding claim 10, Yamada discloses wherein the transmitter module comprises:
a transmitter controller configured to sample an input power and generate a driving signal [fig. 2, pars. 40 & 48; control unit 110, packet analysis unit 118];
a driving circuit electrically connected to the transmitter controller [fig. 2, par. 52, 122];
a switch circuit electrically connected to the driving circuit, wherein the driving circuit and the switch circuit are configured to convert the input power into the input electric energy according to the driving signal [fig. 2, pars. 53-55 & 57; diplexer 123 switches between circuits 121 and 122];
a transmitter coil coupled to the switch circuit, and configured to transmit the input electric energy [fig. 2, 124].
Yamada does not explicitly disclose a first capacitor connected between the switch circuit and the transmitter coil, and configured to match with the transmitter coil; and a second capacitor, connected between the switch circuit and the transmitter coil, and configured to match with the transmitter coil.
Yamada does not explicitly disclose the controller detects a component temperature.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the wireless vehicle charging arts to match coils using capacitors and/or inductors to achieve resonance and to detect component temperature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanno to further include a first capacitor connected between the switch circuit and the transmitter coil, and configured to match with the transmitter coil; and a second capacitor, connected between the switch circuit and the transmitter coil, and configured to match with the transmitter coil and the controller detects a component temperature for the purpose of achieving greater efficiency and avoiding overheating, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada discloses wherein the transmitter controller comprises: a first transmitter control unit electrically connected to the driving circuit, and configured to generate the driving signal for the driving circuit; and a second transmitter control unit electrically connected to the driving circuit, and configured to generate an enable signal for the driving circuit according to the input power and the component temperature, wherein the enable signal is utilized to interrupt the driving signal [fig. 2, 110; logic/modules in the control unit 110 control both the driving of the driving circuit and enabling/disabling of the driving of the coil according to 122; pars. 53-55, 57, 110, & 172].
Regarding claim 12, Yamada discloses wherein the receiver module comprises:
a receiver coil configured to receive the input electric energy [fig. 3, 231];
a rectifier circuit coupled to the receiver coil [fig. 3, 235];
a stabilization circuit electrically connected to the rectifier circuit [fig. 3, 236], wherein the rectifier circuit and the stabilization circuit are configured to convert the input electric energy into the output electric energy [fig. 3, 233 & 236];
a first receiver control unit electrically connected to the stabilization circuit and the receiver coil, and configured to the sample the input electric energy [fig. 3; 234 connected to 235 and 231; pars. 78 & 134-135].
Yamada does not explicitly disclose the stabilization circuit is a buck circuit
the controller detects a component temperature.
Yamada does not explicitly disclose a third capacitor electrically connected between the receiver coil and the rectifier circuit, and configured to match with the receiver coil; and a fourth capacitor electrically connected between the receiver coil and the rectifier circuit, and configured to match with the receiver coil.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the wireless vehicle charging arts to match coils using capacitors and/or inductors to achieve resonance and to reduce a high voltage to a voltage suitable for battery charging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanno to further include a third capacitor electrically connected between the receiver coil and the rectifier circuit, and configured to match with the receiver coil; and a fourth capacitor electrically connected between the receiver coil and the rectifier circuit, and configured to match with the receiver coil and the stabilization circuit is a buck circuit for the purpose of achieving greater efficiency and avoiding damage to a battery, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 13, Yamada discloses wherein the receiver module further comprises:
a communication circuit electrically connected to the receiver coil, and configured to reflect an operating status of the receiver module to the transmitter module [fig. 3; 220 connected to 231 via 240, communicates via 222; pars. 71-73];
a second receiver control unit electrically connected to the rectifier circuit and the communication circuit, and configured to control operation of the rectifier circuit and the communication circuit [fig. 3, 210 has logic for controlling 233/235; par. 79-80 & 134].
Yamada does not explicitly disclose a buck control unit electrically connected to the buck circuit and the first receiver control unit, and configured to control operation of the buck circuit.
However, Official Notice as applied in claim 12 discloses a buck control unit electrically connected to the buck circuit and the first receiver control unit, and configured to control operation of the buck circuit (since a control circuit for the buck circuit is also well known and would be obvious to include for the same reasons as the buck circuit).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 2, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “(b1) determining a number of interruptions according to the input power or the component temperature; and (b2) interrupting a driving signal of the transmitter module once during a (i*a)-th switching cycle to modulate the information of the target output power into the input electric energy, wherein "a" represents a number of switching cycles between two interruptions, 0 < i < (n-1), i*a is less than or equal to a charging cycle, "n" is the number of interruptions, and "a", "i" and "n" are positive integers” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 2.
Claims 3-5, being dependent on claim 2, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 2.
With respect to claim 6, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “(e) by the transmitter module, when at least one of a first condition that the input power is not lower than a restoration power and a second condition that the component temperature is not lower than a restoration temperature is satisfied, generating the input electric energy according to a target output power; and (f) by the receiver module, receiving and converting the input electric 20 energy into the target output power” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 6.
Claims 7-8, being dependent on claim 6, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 6.
With respect to claim 12, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “(e) by the transmitter module, when at least one of a first condition that the input power is not lower than a restoration power and a second condition that the component temperature is not lower than a restoration temperature is satisfied, generating the input electric energy according to a target output power; and (f) by the receiver module, receiving and converting the input electric 20 energy into the target output power” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 6.
Claims 7-8, being dependent on claim 6, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Onishi et al. US PGPUB 2009/0175060 discloses a wireless transmission device using load modulating and controlling the output power.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859