DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 12, 21-23, and 25-26 are pending and have been examined in this application. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 04/26/2024 has/have been taken into account.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 06/11/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 12, and 21 have been amended; No claims have been canceled; Claims 25-26 have been added. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that: "Bailey et al. does not teach that the drive shaft is flexible along its length to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading. Of the 108 references to "flexible" in Bailey et al., 102 refer to flexible couplings, one to a "flexible coupler", one to a "flexible member" that is part of a stop member, one to a "flexible joint" and one to a coupling described as a "flexible (bellows-like) segment". The only reference to the drive tube being flexible is found at the end of paragraph [0124[ of Bailey et al., which teaches that "the drive tube itself can be flexible enough to account for angular misalignment."...It is respectfully submitted that a drive tube that is merely "flexible enough to account for angular misalignment" would not be flexible enough to follow changes in grading. Thus, to the extent that Bailey et al. teach a flexible drive shaft, Bailey et al. fails to teach that the drive shaft is flexible along its length to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading." - When there is a difference in grading, support posts become angularly misaligned and as the flexibility of bailey can account for this it is configured to follow changes in grading, therefore it reads on the claim. The examiner would also like to note that the motivation and citation from Bailey provided in the previous action states:
[0120]... For example, in one non-limiting embodiment, each table 1110′ is supported by any suitable number of uprights 1112 (e.g., two uprights) such that drive tube 1113 for that table can remain substantially straight between the uprights 1112 without bending. In some embodiments, sections of drive tube 1113 optionally can be connected with flexible couplings 1114 that can act to transmit torque (and potentially longitudinal forces to compensate for thermal expansion/contraction or seismic effects) but also can allow for angular misalignment, e.g., such as can arise from irregular terrain at the installation site. Illustratively, placing one or more flexible couplings, e.g., two flexible couplings, between uprights 1112 can allow for one or both of angular misalignment and lateral and/or vertical offsets." and Bailey also states:
"[0115] Additionally, or alternatively, any suitable embodiments provided herein can be adapted so as to follow irregular terrain, e.g., uneven ground, at an installation site. The ground can be uneven to begin with, or can become uneven due to settling, erosion, or seismic activity, for example. In one example, a system for rotating photovoltaic modules arranged in a row can include a drive tube extending along and parallel to the row. The system can include the drive tube including a plurality of discrete sections coupled together with flexible couplings"
Furthermore, Fig. 11B clearly shows a grading change. As such it is clear that the disclosed flexibility of the shaft in Bailey is configured to follow changes in grading due to its inherent ability to adapt to angular misalignments and additionally Baily explicitly states that following changes in grading is what this flexibility intended to be used for.
Double Patenting
Claims 3 and 21-23 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,855,581. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope (i.e. every recited feature) of the claims of the instant application is encompassed by the claims of the patent.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,855,581 in view of Sharan (US 5,632,823).
The scope of the claims is encompassed by the claims of the patent with the exception of a drive shaft support. However, Sharan teaches a drive shaft support (Sharan: Fig. 1; 11) configured to inhibit sag of a drive shaft (Sharan: Fig. 1; 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus with the drive shaft support from Sharan, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of engaging and rotatably supporting a center portion of a drive shaft to prevent sagging (Sharan: Col. 5, Ln. 41-45).
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,855,581 in view of Bailey et al. (US 2016/0365830).
The scope of the claims is encompassed by the claims of the patent with the exception of a drive unit and multiple drive shaft sections connected through a coupling. However, Bailey teaches a drive unit (Bailey; Fig, 1C; 123 configured to rotate the drive shaft; and a drive shaft comprising a first flexible drive shaft section (Bailey: Fig. 14E; 1404) and a second flexible drive shaft section (Bailey: Fig. 14E; 1404), the first drive shaft section being operatively coupled to the linear actuator and the second drive shaft section being coupled by a coupling (Bailey: Fig. 14E; 1409) at an end of the first drive shaft section, such that rotation of one of the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section imparts a rotation of the other one of the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section through the coupling; wherein each of the first flexible drive shaft section and the second flexible drive shaft section is flexible along its respective length outside of the coupling to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading (Bailey: [0115], [0120], [0124]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify apparatus with the drive unit and segmented connections and flexibility taught by Bailey, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a specific means of driving multiple modules in a row (Bailey: [0046]) and a drive shaft that can compensate for angular, vertical, and or/ lateral misalignment that can arise from irregular terrain at an installation site, thereby improving the adaptability of the apparatus (Bailey: [0120]).
Claim 25 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,855,581 in view of Almogy et al. (US 8,669,462).
The scope of the claims is encompassed by the claims of the patent with the exception of a secondary support post and linear actuator, and a motor mounted on a drive shaft. However, Almogy teaches first and second support posts (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 355) and associated linear actuators (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 405) and a motor (Almogy: Fig. 15A; 425) mounted on the drive shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus with the additional support post and actuators, as well as motor from Almogy, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a system that has the capability to orient multiple solar panels simultaneously using the energy generated by said panels, ensuring more optimal efficiency of the system (Almogy: Col. 24, Ln. 27-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Almogy et al. (US 8,669,462).
Regarding Claim 25, Almogy discloses a solar panel support apparatus comprising: a support frame (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 110, 155, 160, 250, 410) for holding a solar panel; a first support post (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 355) pivotally connected to the support frame at a first post pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 13-14B; 140) and anchored to an adjacent supporting surface, the first support post for positioning the support frame above the adjacent supporting surface; a second support post (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 355) pivotally connected to the support frame at a second post pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 13-14B; 140) and anchored to an adjacent supporting surface, the second support post for positioning the support frame above the adjacent supporting surface; a first linear actuator (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 405) coupled at a first proximal end to the first support post by a first support pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 16C-17; 480b, 495) and at a first distal end by a first frame pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 17; 410) with the support frame, the first post pivot connection and the first frame pivot connection spaced apart from one another on the support frame; a second linear actuator (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 405) coupled at a second proximal end to the second support post by a second support pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 16C-17; 480b, 495) and at a second distal end by a second frame pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 17; 410) with the support frame, the second post pivot connection and the second frame pivot connection spaced apart from one another on the support frame; a drive shaft (Almogy: Fig. 13, 15A; 420) coupled to the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator, such that rotation of the drive shaft drives the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator; and a motor (Almogy: Fig. 15A; 425) mounted on the drive shaft for proving said rotation, such that the motor is configured to drive both the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator; wherein driving the first linear actuator and the second linear actuator results in pivoting of the support frame about the first post pivot connection and the second post pivot connection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almogy et al. (US 8,669,462) in view of Bailey et al. (US 2016/0365830) and Sharan (US 5,632,823).
Regarding Claim 1, Almogy discloses a solar panel support apparatus comprising: a support frame (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 110, 155, 160, 250, 410) for holding a solar panel; a support post (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 355) pivotally connected to the support frame at a post pivot connection and anchored to an adjacent supporting surface, the support post for positioning the support frame above the adjacent supporting surface; a linear actuator (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 405) coupled at a proximal end to the support post by a support pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 16C-17; 480b, 495) and at a distal end by a frame pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 17; 410) with the support frame, the post pivot connection and the frame pivot connection spaced apart from one another on the support frame; and a drive shaft (Almogy: Fig. 13, 15A; 420) coupled to the linear actuator, such that rotation of the drive shaft drives the linear actuator resulting in pivoting of the support frame about the post pivot connection.
Almogy fails to disclose such that the drive shaft is flexible along its length to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading of the adjacent supporting surface on either side of the support post. However, Bailey teaches a drive shaft (Bailey: Fig. 14C, 14G, 14H; 1406-1408 or 1413-1415 or 1416-1417) such that the drive shaft is flexible along its length to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading of the adjacent supporting surface on either side of the support post (Bailey: [0124]).
Almogy and Bailey are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. adjustable support frames. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive shaft in Almogy with the connections and flexibility taught by Bailey, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a drive shaft that can compensate for angular, vertical, and or/ lateral misalignment that can arise from irregular terrain at an installation site, thereby improving the adaptability of the apparatus (Bailey: [0120]).
Additionally, Almogy fails to disclose a drive shaft support configured to inhibit sag of the drive shaft. However, Sharan teaches a drive shaft support (Sharan: Fig. 1; 11) configured to inhibit sag of a drive shaft (Sharan: Fig. 1; 16).
Almogy and Sharan are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. adjustable support frames. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Almogy with the drive shaft support from Sharan, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of engaging and rotatably supporting a center portion of a drive shaft to prevent sagging (Sharan: Col. 5, Ln. 41-45).
Regarding Claim 7, Almogy, as modified, teaches the solar panel support apparatus of claim 1 further comprising the linear actuator having an extension member (Almogy: Fig. 13; 405b) configured for extension and retraction.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almogy et al. (US 8,669,462) in view of Roberts (US 4,541,160) and Bailey et al. (US 2016/0365830).
Regarding Claim 3, Almogy discloses a solar panel support apparatus comprising: a support frame (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 110, 155, 160, 250, 410) for holding a solar panel; a support post (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 355) pivotally connected to the support frame at a post pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 13-14B; 140) and anchored to an adjacent supporting surface, the support post for positioning the support frame above the adjacent supporting surface; a linear actuator (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 405) coupled at a proximal end to the support post by a support pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 16C-17; 480b, 495) and at a distal end by a frame pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 17; 410) with the support frame, the post pivot connection and the frame pivot connection spaced apart from one another on the support frame; and a first gear (Almogy: Fig. 16A-16C; 470) coupled to a drive shaft (Almogy: Fig. 13, 15A; 420) and a second gear (Almogy: Fig. 16A-16C; 475) coupled to the linear actuator, the first gear and the second gear being operatively coupled to one another, such that co-rotation of the first gear and the second gear drive the linear actuator, the first gear being coupled to the drive shaft; a coupling (Almogy: Fig. 16-16C; 465) connected at an end of the drive shaft such that the coupling provides a rigid coupling for connecting the end to an adjacent drive shaft (Almogy: Fig. 16A-16C; 420), wherein said driving the linear actuator results in pivoting of the support frame about the post pivot connection.
Almogy fails to explicitly disclose the first gear being slidably coupled to the drive shaft to allow the drive shaft to translate relative to the first gear along a longitudinal axis of the drive shaft. However, teaches a driven member being slidably coupled to the drive shaft (Roberts: Fig. 1; 10) to allow the drive shaft to translate relative to the driven member along a longitudinal axis of the drive shaft.
Almogy and Roberts are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area, e.g. driving a plurality of elements with a drive shaft and compensating for differences in the positioning of driven members. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the drive shaft and first gear in Almogy with the slidable connection from , with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a connection between the shaft and gear that allows for compensation of expansion or contraction of the shaft due to temperature changes or slight relative movement of either driving or driven members (Roberts: Col. 2, Ln. 17-30).
Furthermore, Almogy fails to disclose a drive shaft that is flexible along its length outside of a coupling to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading of the adjacent supporting surface on either side of the support post. However, Bailey teaches a drive shaft (Bailey: Fig. 14C, 14G, 14H; 1406-1408 or 1413-1415 or 1416-1417) that is flexible along its length outside of the coupling to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading of the adjacent supporting surface on either side of the support post. [Note: See the rejection of claim 1 for motivation and/or rationale.]
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almogy et al. (US 8,669,462) in view of Bailey et al. (US 2016/0365830).
Regarding Claim 9, Almogy discloses a solar panel support apparatus comprising: a support frame (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 110, 155, 160, 250, 410) for holding a solar panel; a support post (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 355) pivotally connected to the support frame at a post pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 13-14B; 140) and anchored to an adjacent supporting surface, the support post for positioning the support frame above the adjacent supporting surface; a linear actuator (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 405) coupled at a proximal end to the support post by a support pivot connection and at a distal end by a frame pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 17; 410) with the support frame, the post pivot connection and the frame pivot connection spaced apart from one another on the support frame; a drive shaft (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A, 16A-16C; 420) coupled to a drive unit configured to rotate the drive shaft and to the linear actuator (Almogy: Col. 3, Ln. 31-39), such that rotation of the drive shaft drives the linear actuator; wherein driving the linear actuator results in pivoting of the support frame about the post pivot connection.
Almogy fails to disclose a drive shaft comprising a first flexible drive shaft section and a second flexible drive shaft section, the first drive shaft section being operatively coupled to the linear actuator and the second drive shaft section being coupled by a coupling at an end of the first drive shaft section, such that rotation of one of the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section imparts a rotation of the other one of the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section through the coupling; wherein each of the first flexible drive shaft section and the second flexible drive shaft section is flexible along its respective length outside of the coupling to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading. However, Bailey teaches a drive shaft comprising a first flexible drive shaft section (Bailey: Fig. 14E; 1404) and a second flexible drive shaft section (Bailey: Fig. 14E; 1404), the first drive shaft section being operatively coupled to the linear actuator and the second drive shaft section being coupled by a coupling (Bailey: Fig. 14E; 1409) at an end of the first drive shaft section, such that rotation of one of the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section imparts a rotation of the other one of the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section through the coupling; wherein each of the first flexible drive shaft section and the second flexible drive shaft section is flexible along its respective length outside of the coupling to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading (Bailey: [0115], [0120], [0124]). [Note: See the rejection of claim 1 for motivation.]
Regarding Claim 12, Almogy, as modified, teaches the solar panel support apparatus of claim 9, wherein the end of the first drive shaft section (Bailey: Fig. 14E; 1404) is slidably coupled to the coupling (Bailey: Fig. 14E; 1409).
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almogy et al. (US 8,669,462) in view of Werner (WO 2015/051267) and Bailey et al. (US 2016/0365830).
Regarding Claim 21, Almogy discloses a solar panel apparatus comprising: a support frame (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 110, 155, 160, 250, 410) for supporting a solar panel and for positioning the solar panel adjacent to a post pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 13-14B; 140) on a longitudinal pivot axis of the support frame; a support post (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 355) pivotally coupled to the support frame at the post pivot connection and anchored to an adjacent supporting surface, the support post for positioning the support frame above the adjacent supporting surface, the support post defining a support axis transverse to the longitudinal pivot axis; a bracket (Almogy: Fig. 13-14B; bracket that forms 140) mounted on the support post and extending from the support post, such that the post pivot connection is positioned on the bracket; a linear actuator (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A; 405) including a housing (Almogy: Fig. 16A; 480), the linear actuator coupled at a proximal end to the support post by a support pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 16C-17; 480b, 495) with the housing, and coupled at a distal end by a frame pivot connection (Almogy: Fig. 17; 410) to the support frame, a drive shaft (Almogy: Fig. 13-15A, 16A-16C; 420) coupled to the linear actuator such that rotation of the drive shaft provides drives the linear actuator; a coupling (Almogy: Fig. 16-16C; 465) connected at an end of the drive shaft such that the coupling for connecting the end to an adjacent drive shaft (Almogy: Fig. 16A-16C; 420); wherein driving the linear actuator results in pivoting of the support frame about the post pivot connection.
Almogy fails to disclose a post pivot connection including an angular adjustment mechanism having multiple degrees of freedom to facilitate adjustment of an angle between the support frame and a second support frame positioned adjacent to the support frame, the support frame and the second support frame being on opposite sides of the support post. However, Werner teaches a post pivot connection (Werner: Fig. 3-6; 34) including an angular adjustment mechanism (Werner: Fig. 3-6; 42, 44, 50) having multiple degrees of freedom to facilitate adjustment of an angle between the support frame and a second support frame positioned adjacent to the support frame, the support frame and the second support frame being on opposite sides of the support post.
Almogy and Werner are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area, e.g. adjustable support frames. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the post pivot connection in Almogy with the post pivot connection from Werner, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide pivot connections between the post and frame that compensate for some degree in the rotational variations of the support posts and also reducing stress at the bearings from wind loading by providing for additional compliance in the joint (Werner: [0025]).
Additionally, Almogy fails to disclose a drive shaft that is flexible along its length outside of a coupling to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading of the adjacent supporting surface on either side of the support post. However, Bailey teaches a drive shaft (Bailey: Fig. 14C, 14G, 14H; 1406-1408 or 1413-1415 or 1416-1417) that is flexible along its length outside of the coupling to facilitate the drive shaft itself to follow changes in grading of the adjacent supporting surface on either side of the support post. [Note: See the rejection of claim 1 for motivation and/or rationale.]
Regarding Claim 22, Almogy, as modified, teaches the solar panel apparatus of claim 21, wherein the angular adjustment mechanism (Werner: Fig. 3-6; 42, 44, 50) is a pivot support coupling having a ball and socket connection.
Regarding Claim 23, Almogy, as modified, teaches the solar panel apparatus of claim 21, wherein drive shaft (Bailey: Fig. 14C, 14G, 14H; 1406-1408 or 1413-1415 or 1416-1417) is rotatably coupled within the linear actuator, the drive shaft having a first drive shaft section and a second drive shaft section, the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section being on opposite sides of the support post, such that a second angle other than 180 degrees is present between the first drive shaft section and the second drive shaft section (Bailey: 11B; [0124])).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almogy et al. (US 8,669,462) in view of Sharan (US 5,632,823).
Regarding Claim 26, Almogy discloses the solar panel support apparatus of claim 25, but fails to disclose a drive shaft support configured to inhibit sag of the drive shaft.
However, Sharan teaches a drive shaft support (Sharan: Fig. 1; 11) configured to inhibit sag of a drive shaft (Sharan: Fig. 1; 16). [Note: See the rejection of claim 1 for motivation and/or rationale.]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631