DETAILED ACTION
Response to amendments of 8/26/2026
The applicant has included the limitation
“the database system produces a score according to the real-time environmental status by an AI-based model determining method or a rule-based model determining method and determines an emergency level according to the score of the real-time environmental status and provides the emergency level to the cloud platform”
The examiner notes that Rodriguez et al. (US 2014/0160280) teaches (para 0021 and 0033) that there is an alarm mechanism that can judge if there is suspicious activity around the vehicle and then send an alarm including to the user through their app.
This broadly is an emergency level. In order to do this, the system must have a threshold for indicating whether to trigger the alarm or not. That threshold or determination system is at least a rule-based model for judging a threat, broadly construed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al. (US 2014/0160280) in view of Slutzky et al. (US 2023/0115083).
Re claims 1 and 10:
Rodriguez et al. teaches (para 0033 with emboldening by examiner):
“[0033] As seen in FIG. 5, the controller 40 can transmit the camera signals to the dedicated, standalone mobile software application 92 operating on the user's mobile computing device 92 such that the images of the surrounding area of the EVCS 10 can be viewed by the user on the mobile computing device 90. Other outputs can include the mobile app 92 receiving from the controller 40 the status of vehicle charging, and displaying the status of vehicle charging to the user in a progress field/button 96 (e.g., 80% complete in FIG. 5). As another option, the mobile app 92 can receive from the controller 40 and provide to the user a notification indicating completion of vehicle charging. Notification of completion of vehicle charging can be made, for example, by way of a push notification, email, text message, or any other logically applicable form of electronic communication, and can optionally be displayed within the progress field 96. The controller 40 may also be operable to output to the user via the app 92 a notification indicating that the EVCS 10 has been damaged or vandalized. In this regard, the controller 40 can be configured to automatically output to a police department or an independent security company a notification of such vandalism/damage to the EVCS 10. To protect the digital cameras 36A-D from vandalism, optional configurations of the EVCS monitoring system 30 can automatically activate the alarm mechanism 42, for example, when a person is detected near the EVCS 10 and one of the cameras 36A-D unexpectedly stops capturing image signals.”
Rodriguez further teaches (para 0005):
“[0005] Aspects of the present disclosure are directed to systems, methods and devices for monitoring an EVCS, its surrounding areas, and/or the vehicle being charged by the EVCS. Some implementations allow the owner of the vehicle and/or the operator of the charging facility to control an EVCS remotely. A potential benefit to vehicle owners is the ability to remotely monitor the status of their vehicle and its charge, for example, using a dedicated software application on his/her smartphone, tablet, or computer. A software application can enable the owner to: (a) view the electric vehicle and its surrounding areas; (b) change the field of view of one or more local security cameras (e.g., change the camera's direction and/or the focal length to zoom in or out); (c) monitor the status of vehicle charging; (d) receive alarms/notifications indicating completion of vehicle charging; and/or (e) enable/disable the charging process remotely. A potential benefit to facility operators is the ability to remotely monitor their filling station, an individual EVCS and its surrounding areas, as well as people and vehicles at the filling station. The facility owner/operator can be provided with a software application which allows them to: (a) detect a vehicle as it is parking at and/or using an EVCS (e.g., a picture of the license plate may be taken and stored for security purposes); (b) detect if someone is approaching/at an EVCS and record their actions; (c) receive alarms/notifications indicating vandalism or damage to the EVCS; (d) notify the police or independent security company; (e) change the field of view of one or more of the security cameras; (f) enable/disable the charging process remotely; and/or (g) identify stolen vehicles.”
Thus, a charging system provides power to a vehicle at the same time that a monitoring system monitors the area around a vehicle.
Crucially as claimed, the results of the monitoring are transmitted through a charge-point protocol (i.e. through the user’s charging app) to their device.
Lacking in Rodriguez et al. is a teaching that the charging device is a smart pole.
Slutzky et al. teaches smart pole that performs both charging and surveillance. See for instance para 0016.
In view of the teachings of Slutzky et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use Rodriguez et al.’s monitoring and charging system that uses a user’s charging app in the context of a smart pole for the sake of enabling smart monitoring in different charging configurations.
The examiner notes that Rodriguez et al.’s system generally meets the claimed invention except for the shape and structure of a pole. However, a smart pole that does both charging and surveillance was known at the time of the invention. Performing notifications and displaying the vehicle surrounds through the app is obvious so that a user who has stepped away from their vehicle can be updated.
The applicant has included the limitation
“the database system produces a score according to the real-time environmental status by an AI-based model determining method or a rule-based model determining method and determines an emergency level according to the score of the real-time environmental status and provides the emergency level to the cloud platform”
The examiner notes that Rodriguez et al. (US 2014/0160280) teaches (para 0021 and 0033) that there is an alarm mechanism that can judge if there is suspicious activity around the vehicle and then send an alarm including to the user through their app.
This broadly is an emergency level. In order to do this, the system must have a threshold for indicating whether to trigger the alarm or not. That threshold or determination system is at least a rule-based model for judging a threat, broadly construed.
Re claims 2-6, 8, 9 and 11:
Most of these limitations follow from the above.
The specific communication protocols and emergency levels are a matter of obvious design variation. What matters is not the protocol so much as the function and Rodriguez clearly has some threshold that would trigger the warnings the system provides.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL A HESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876