Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,4,6-7,11-13,19 and 21-32 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4,6-7,11-13,19,21-22 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO (US 2024/0179795 A1), in view of ZHOU et al. (US 2021/0050950 A1; hereinafter “ZHOU”).
Regarding claim 1, ZHAO teaches a transmission control method (FIG. 3), comprising: performing, by a terminal (FIG. 3 UE1) based on a first status (FIG. 3 step 101) or based on the first status and a second status (FIG. 3 step 103), a first operation (FIG. 3 step 102) related to Discontinuous Reception (DRX) ([0142] a sidelink communication terminal performs a DRX-related operation by updating and maintaining a DRX and/or DTX active time of a sidelink communication interface),
wherein the first status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises that a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0077] trigger condition) ([0077] discloses that sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby evidencing the reporting resource as satisfying a condition),
the second status (FIG. 3 step 103) comprises at least one of the following: a status of an SL feedback resource (FIG. 2 discloses configuration of a physical sidelink feedback control channel (PSFCH) for transmitting sidelink feedback, which evidences the existence and operational state of a sidelink feedback resource).
However, ZHAO does not teach wherein the first status comprises that a reporting resource is configured, or that no reporting resource is obtained, wherein the reporting resource is a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource for sending SideLink (SL)-related Hybrid Automatic Repeat request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK).
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches wherein the first status comprises that a reporting resource is configured ([0038] discloses obtaining a configuration of a PUCCH candidate resource set for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information, thereby evidencing that a reporting resource is configured) and satisfies a first condition ([0038] discloses use of a PUCCH candidate resource set corresponding to a sidelink HARQ-ACK report, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource satisfies a condition for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information), or that no reporting resource is obtained,
wherein the reporting resource is a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource for sending SideLink (SL)-related Hybrid Automatic Repeat request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) ([0038] and [0242] disclose obtaining a configuration of a PUCCH candidate resource set for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource is a PUCCH resource used for transmitting SL-related HARQ-ACK).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a HARQ feedback as taught by ZHOU within the system of ZHAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the path loss of radio waves and increase a transmission distance of radio waves for 5G communication systems (ZHOU [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of ZHAO and ZHOU, specifically ZHAO teaches wherein the performing ([0142]), by a terminal (FIG. 3 UE1), a first operation (FIG. 3 step 102) based on the first status (FIG. 3 step 101) and a second status (FIG. 3 step 103) comprises:
performing, by the terminal, the first operation when the first status is a first sub-status ([0059] transmission of an SR or BSR for the sidelink interface) and the second status is a second sub-status ([0079] presence of sidelink signaling or indication information for sidelink communication),
wherein the first operation (FIG. 3 step 102) comprises one of the following: a first sub-operation ([0142] updating DRX and/or DTX active time of the sidelink communication interface, [0085] discloses starting a timer to maintain the active state, thereby defining a specific sub-operation of the DRX-related operation),
wherein the first sub-operation comprises at least one of the following: starting a first timer ([0085] starting a first timer after the terminal sends an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface);
wherein the first sub-status ([0059]) comprises at least one of the following: a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0077] discloses that sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby defining the reporting resource as satisfying a condition);
wherein the second sub-status ([0079]) comprises at least one of the following: feedback is disabled ([0060] when a sidelink resource falls within a DRX or DTX inactive time period, the resource cannot be used, thereby disabling sidelink feedback).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of ZHAO and ZHOU, specifically ZHAO teaches wherein the performing, by a terminal, a first operation based on the first status and a second status ([0142]) comprises:
performing, by the terminal, the first operation when the first status is a first sub-status ([0077] transmission of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink interface) and the second status is a third sub-status ([0133] transmission of indication information),
wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: a sixth sub-operation ([0142] the terminal performs DRX-related operations including updating and maintaining DRX or DTX active time), wherein the sixth sub-operation comprises at least one of the following: entering an active time ([0133] discloses that the terminal is in DRX or DTX active time during running of the second timer),
wherein the first sub-status ([0077]) comprises at least one of the following: a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0077] sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby defining the reporting resource as satisfying a condition), and
wherein the third sub-status ([0133]) comprises at least one of the following: the SL feedback resource satisfies a second condition ([0060] discloses that a sidelink resource may fall within a DRX or DTX inactive time period such that the resource cannot be used, thereby indicating that the feedback resource satisfies a condition affecting its usability);
wherein the first condition ([0077] trigger condition) comprises at least one of the following: no reporting resource is scheduled ([0077] discloses that transmission of an SR or BSR occurs only when a trigger condition is satisfied, such that in absence of the trigger condition no reporting resource is scheduled)
wherein the second condition ([0060] inactive) comprises at least one of the following: the SL feedback resource is invalid ([0060] discloses that when a sidelink resource falls within a DRX or DTX inactive time period, the resource cannot be used).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of ZHAO and ZHOU, specifically ZHAO teaches wherein the performing, by a terminal, a first operation ([0142]) comprises: performing the first operation within a second time ([0097] a time relationship between SR or BSR transmission and indication transmission, [0142] performing the DRX-related operation during that time),
wherein the second time comprises one of the following: a first target time ([0097] the SR or BSR transmission time or the indication transmission time as a reference time),
wherein the first target time comprises at least one of the following: a time corresponding to a preset reporting resource ([0097] discloses the SR or BSR transmission time).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of ZHAO and ZHOU, specifically ZHAO teaches wherein the terminal does not monitor control signaling during running of the first timer ([0060] discloses that when the sidelink interface is in a DRX or DTX inactive time period, allocated resources cannot be used).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of ZHAO and ZHOU, specifically ZHAO teaches wherein the terminal monitors control data during running of the second timer ([0133] discloses that the terminal remains in DRX or DTX active time during running of the second timer).
Regarding claim 13, ZHAO teaches a transmission control method (FIG. 3), comprising:
performing, by a network-side device (FIG. 3 network device) based on a third status (FIG. 3 step 101) and a fourth status (FIG. 3 step 105), a second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) related to Discontinuous Reception (DRX) ([0142] discloses that after the terminal transmits a scheduling request (SR) or buffer status report (BSR), the sidelink interface enters and maintains a DRX and/or DTX active time within a preset time period, [0144] discloses that reception of scheduling signaling from the network device defines the end of that preset time period),
wherein the third status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises that a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0077] trigger condition) ([0077] discloses that sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby evidencing the reporting resource as satisfying a condition),
the fourth status (FIG. 3 step 105) comprises at least one of the following: a status of an SL feedback resource ([0144] discloses scheduling signaling transmitted by the network device determines sidelink control information to be used for sidelink transmission, thereby evidencing that the network controls and defines the sidelink resource condition corresponding to feedback signaling).
However, ZHAO does not teach wherein the third status that a reporting resource is configured, or that a reporting resource has not been configured, and wherein the reporting resource is a resource for sending SideLink (SL)-related Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK).
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches wherein the third status that a reporting resource is configured ([0038] discloses obtaining a configuration of a PUCCH candidate resource set for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information, thereby evidencing that a reporting resource is configured) and satisfies a first condition ([0038] discloses use of a PUCCH candidate resource set corresponding to a sidelink HARQ-ACK report, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource satisfies a condition for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information), or that a reporting resource has not been configured,
wherein the reporting resource is a resource for sending SideLink (SL)-related Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK) ([0038] and [0242] disclose obtaining a configuration of a PUCCH candidate resource set for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource is a PUCCH resource used for transmitting SL-related HARQ-ACK).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a HARQ feedback as taught by ZHOU within the system of ZHAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the path loss of radio waves and increase a transmission distance of radio waves for 5G communication systems (ZHOU [0005]).
Regarding claim 19, ZHAO teaches a terminal (FIG. 8), comprising: a memory storing computer-readable instructions (FIG. 8 memory 820); and
a processor (FIG. 8 processor 810) coupled to the memory and configured execute the computer-readable instructions, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor ([0173]), cause the processor to perform operations ([0141]) comprising:
performing, by a terminal (FIG. 3 UE1) based on a first status (FIG. 3 step 101) or based on the first status and a second status (FIG. 3 step 103), a first operation related to Discontinuous Reception (DRX) ([0142] a sidelink communication terminal performs a DRX-related operation by updating and maintaining a DRX and/or DTX active time of a sidelink communication interface),
wherein the first status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises that a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0077] trigger condition) ([0077] discloses that sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby evidencing the reporting resource as satisfying a condition), and
the second status (FIG. 3 step 103) comprises at least one of the following: a status of an SL feedback resource or a feedback enablement status ([0068] discloses that the transmitting terminal sends indication information to the sidelink receiving terminal, [0114] discloses that scheduling signaling received from the network determines SCI transmitted over the sidelink interface, thereby evidencing a sidelink control resource condition corresponding to feedback signaling).
However, ZHAO does not teach wherein the first status comprises that a reporting resource is configured, or that no reporting resource is obtained, wherein the reporting resource is a resource for sending SideLink (SL)-related Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK).
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches wherein the first status comprises that a reporting resource is configured ([0038] discloses obtaining a configuration of a PUCCH candidate resource set for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information, thereby evidencing that a reporting resource is configured) and satisfies a first condition ([0038] discloses use of a PUCCH candidate resource set corresponding to a sidelink HARQ-ACK report, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource satisfies a condition for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information), or that no reporting resource is obtained,
wherein the reporting resource is a resource for sending SideLink (SL)-related Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK) ([0038] and [0242] disclose obtaining a configuration of a PUCCH candidate resource set for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource is a PUCCH resource used for transmitting SL-related HARQ-ACK).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a HARQ feedback as taught by ZHOU within the system of ZHAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the path loss of radio waves and increase a transmission distance of radio waves for 5G communication systems (ZHOU [0005]).
Regarding claim 21, ZHAO teaches wherein the first status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises that the reported resource satisfies the first condition ([0077] trigger condition) ([0077] discloses that sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby evidencing the reporting resource as satisfying a condition);
wherein performing, by the terminal, based on the first status, the first operation related to DRX ([0142]) comprises: performing ([0142]), by the terminal (FIG. 3 UE1), the first operation (FIG. 3 step 102), wherein the first operation comprises starting a first timer ([0085] starting a first timer after the terminal sends an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface); and
wherein the first condition ([0077] trigger condition) comprises at least one of the following: no reporting resource is scheduled ([0060] discloses that a sidelink resource allocated by the base station may fall within a DRX or DTX inactive time period and cannot be used, corresponding to absence of an effective reporting resource).
However, ZHAO does not teach wherein the first status comprises that the reporting resource is configured.
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches wherein the first status comprises that a reporting resource is configured ([0038] discloses obtaining a configuration of a PUCCH candidate resource set for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information, thereby evidencing that a reporting resource is configured) and satisfies a first condition ([0038] discloses use of a PUCCH candidate resource set corresponding to a sidelink HARQ-ACK report, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource satisfies a condition for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a HARQ feedback as taught by ZHOU within the system of ZHAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the path loss of radio waves and increase a transmission distance of radio waves for 5G communication systems (ZHOU [0005]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of ZHAO and ZHOU, specifically ZHAO teaches wherein performing ([0142]), by the terminal (FIG. 3 UE1), the first operation (FIG. 3 step 102) comprises:
performing the first operation at a third time ([0110] and [0184] disclose that the terminal starts a third timer at the time of receiving indication information and maintains the DRX/DTX active state during the timer, which corresponds to performing the DRX-related operation during that time period),
wherein the third time comprises a sum of a second target time and a fifth offset ([0110] and [0187] disclose that the DRX/DTX active time is defined based on the time of receiving indication information and the time of receiving scheduling signaling, thereby evidencing a specific target used to determine the DRX/DTX active period), and
the second target time comprises a time corresponding to a preset reporting resource ([0059] discloses transmission of a scheduling request corresponding to the sidelink communication interface, [0097] discloses a time of transmission the SR or BSR, thereby evidencing a timing corresponding to use of a reporting resource).
Regarding claim 27, ZHAO teaches wherein the third status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises that the reporting resource satisfies the first condition ([0077]);
wherein performing, by the network-side device (FIG. 3 network device), based on the third status, the second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) related to DRX comprises: performing, by the network-side device, the second operation ([0142], [0144]), wherein the second operation comprises determining to start a first timer ([0111] a DRX/DTX inactivation timer for the sidelink communication interface, [0113] discloses DRX operation associated with scheduling signaling from the network device, thereby teaching determining to start a first timer).
However, ZHAO does not teach wherein the third status comprises that the reporting resource is configured; wherein the second operation comprises determining to start a first timer; and wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: no reporting resource is scheduled; transmission of the reporting resource is canceled; or transmission of the reporting resource is dropped.
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches wherein the third status comprises that a reporting resource is configured ([0038] discloses obtaining a configuration of a PUCCH candidate resource set for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information, thereby evidencing that a reporting resource is configured) and satisfies a first condition ([0038] discloses use of a PUCCH candidate resource set corresponding to a sidelink HARQ-ACK report, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource satisfies a condition for reporting sidelink HARQ-ACK information);
wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: transmission of the reporting resource is dropped ([0478] discloses dropping at least one of the collided transmissions to resolve a collision, [0481] further discloses that the sidelink UE drops the other transmissions, including transmission on a PUCCH resource corresponding to a sidelink transmission, thereby teaching that transmission of the reporting resource is dropped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a HARQ feedback as taught by ZHOU within the system of ZHAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the path loss of radio waves and increase a transmission distance of radio waves for 5G communication systems (ZHOU [0005]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of ZHAO and ZHOU, specifically ZHAO teaches wherein performing, by the network-side device, the second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) ([0142], [0144]) comprises:
performing the second operation at a third time ([0110] and [0184] disclose that the terminal starts a third timer at the time of receiving indication information and maintains the DRX/DTX active state during the timer, which corresponds to performing the DRX-related operation during that time period),
wherein the third time comprises a sum of a second target time and a fifth offset ([0110] and [0187] disclose that the DRX/DTX active time is defined based on the time of receiving indication information and the time of receiving scheduling signaling, thereby evidencing a specific target used to determine the DRX/DTX active period), and
the second target time comprises a time corresponding to a preset reporting resource ([0059] discloses transmission of a scheduling request corresponding to the sidelink communication interface, [0097] discloses a time of transmission the SR or BSR, thereby evidencing a timing corresponding to use of a reporting resource).
Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO, in view of ZHOU, and further in view of PARK et al. (US 2022/0329389 A1; hereinafter “PARK”).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of ZHAO and ZHOU does not teach wherein the first status comprises that no reporting resource is obtained; wherein performing, by the terminal, based on the first status, the first operation related to DRX comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first operation, wherein the first operation comprises starting a first timer.
In an analogous art, PARK teaches wherein the first status comprises that no reporting resource is obtained ([0180] discloses that a UE does not expect to be provided with a PUCCH or PUSCH resource for reporting HARQ-ACK information, [0183] further discloses that if a PUCCH resource is not provided, the UE does not transmit HARQ-ACK on PUCCH, thereby teaching that no reporting resource is obtained); wherein performing, by the terminal, based on the first status, the first operation related to DRX comprises ([0205]-[0209] disclose SL DRX timers and corresponding DRX operation in active time and extension of the DRX active period by starting an SL DRX inactivity timer):
performing, by the terminal, the first operation, wherein the first operation comprises starting a first timer ([0208] discloses that when the UE receives a new packet, the UE may start an SL DRX inactivity timer, [0209] further discloses that when the RX UE receives a new packet, the RX UE may start the SL DRX inactivity timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SL DRX timer as taught by PARK within the system of ZHAO and ZHOU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce unnecessary signaling of a base station to a TX UE to efficiently perform sidelink communication (PARK [0234]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of ZHAO, ZHOU and PARK, specifically PARK teaches wherein performing, by the terminal, the first operation ([0208]-[0209]) comprises: performing the first operation within a second time ([0208] discloses that the UE starts an SL DRX inactivity timer to extend the SL DRX on-duration timer, [0209] further discloses that the UE operates during the extended SL DRX active period to receive PSCCH/PSSCH),
wherein the second time comprises a sum of a first target time and a third offset ([0188] discloses an SL DRX configuration including an SL DRX cycle, on-duration timer, and slot offset, [0192] further discloses operation based on the configured SL DRX active time within the SL DRX cycle), and
wherein the first target time comprises a time of a preset SL Downlink Control Information (DCI) ([0218] discloses that, while the Uu DRX Retransmission TimerSL is running, the UE monitors DCI (PDCCH) for SL Mode 1 operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SL DRX timer operation as taught by PARK within the system of ZHAO and ZHOU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent transmission failures caused by transmission resources outside the SL DRX active time (PARK [0190]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of ZHAO, ZHOU and PARK, specifically PARK teaches wherein the first status comprises that no reporting resource is obtained ([0180], [0183]); wherein the second status comprises at least one of the following: that feedback is enabled ([0149] discloses that SL HARQ feedback may be enabled for unicast);
wherein performing, by the terminal, based on the first status and the second status, the first operation related to DRX ([0188] discloses that an SL DRX configuration defines DRX timers and active/inactive operation, [0238] further discloses that SL HARQ feedback is used together with the SL DRX pattern and active time) comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first operation, wherein the first operation comprises at one of the following: starting a first timer ([0208] discloses that the UE starts an SL DRX inactivity timer, [0209] further discloses extending the SL DRX active period by starting the SL DRX inactivity timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SL DRX timer operation as taught by PARK within the system of ZHAO and ZHOU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent transmission failures caused by transmission resources outside the SL DRX active time (PARK [0190]).
Regarding claim 26, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 24.
Claims 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO, in view of ZHOU, in view of PARK, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2024/0073991 A1; hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of ZHAO, ZHOU and PARK, specifically PARK teaches wherein the third status comprises that the reporting resource has not been configured ([0183] discloses that, when a PUCCH resource is not provided, the UE does not transmit HARQ-ACK information on the PUCCH, thereby teaching that the reporting resource has not been configured); wherein performing, by the network-side device, based on the third status, the second operation related to DRX ([0231] discloses that the base station transmits an SL DRX configuration to the TX UE, [0232] further discloses that the base station schedules a Mode 1 resource for the TX UE according to the SL DRX operation) comprises: performing, by the network-side device, the second operation ([0231]-[0232]).
However, the combination of ZHAO, ZHOU and PARK does not teach wherein the second operation comprises determining to start a first timer.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the second operation comprises determining to start a first timer ([0119]-[0120] disclose that, if the PDCCH indicates a new transmission, the drx-InactivityTimer is started or restarted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX group as taught by PARK within the system of ZHAO and ZHOU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to save power consumption when traffic is low and latency may be improved when traffic is high (Wang [0190]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of ZHAO, ZHOU, PARK and Wang, specifically PARK teaches wherein performing, by the network-side device, the second operation ([0231]-[0232]) comprises:
performing the second operation within a second time ([0206] discloses that the SL DRX on-duration timer defines a period in which the UE operates in active time, [0208]-[0209] further disclose extending the active time by starting an SL DRX inactivity timer, thereby teaching performing the operation within the second time),
wherein the second time comprises a sum of a first target time and a third offset ([0188] discloses an SL DRX configuration including an SL DRX cycle, on-duration timer, and slot offset, [0192] further discloses operation based on the configured SL DRX active time within the SL DRX cycle), and
wherein the first target time comprises a time of a preset SL Downlink Control Information (DCI) ([0218] discloses that, while the Uu DRX Retransmission TimerSL is running, the UE monitors DCI (PDCCH) for SL Mode 1 operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SL DRX timer operation as taught by PARK within the system of ZHAO and ZHOU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent transmission failures caused by transmission resources outside the SL DRX active time (PARK [0190]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of ZHAO, ZHOU and PARK, specifically PARK teaches wherein the third status comprises that the reporting resource has not been configured ([0180], [0183]);
wherein the fourth status comprises at least one of the following: that feedback is enabled ([0149] discloses that SL HARQ feedback may be enabled for unicast); wherein performing, by the network-side device, based on the third status and the fourth status, the second operation related to DRX ([0188] discloses that an SL DRX configuration including DRX timers and active/off duration, [0231]-[0232] further disclose that the base station transmits the SL DRX configuration and schedules a Mode 1 resource according to the SL DRX operation) comprises: performing, by the network-side device, the second operation ([0231]-[0232]).
However, the combination of ZHAO, ZHOU and PARK does not teach wherein the second operation comprises at one of the following: determining to start a first timer.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the second operation comprises determining to start a first timer ([0119]-[0120] disclose that, if the PDCCH indicates a new transmission, the drx-InactivityTimer is started or restarted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DRX group as taught by PARK within the system of ZHAO and ZHOU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to save power consumption when traffic is low and latency may be improved when traffic is high (Wang [0190]).
Regarding claim 32, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 30.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0275474 (Chen) discloses methods and apparatuses for improving retransmission scheduling of sidelink communications.
US 2021/0105126 A1 (Yi et al.) discloses wireless devices may communicate with each other via sidelink communication.
US 2023/0309177 A1 (LUO et al.) discloses a method performed by user equipment, and user equipment.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413