Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2023 and 02/25/2025 have been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHAO (US 2024/0179795 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZHAO teaches a transmission control method (FIG. 3), comprising:
performing, by a terminal (FIG. 3 UE1) based on a first status (FIG. 3 step 101) or based on the first status and a second status (FIG. 3 step 103), a first operation (FIG. 3 step 102) related to Discontinuous Reception (DRX) ([0142] a sidelink communication terminal performs a DRX-related operation by updating and maintaining a DRX and/or DTX active time of a sidelink communication interface),
wherein the first status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises: a status of a reporting resource ([0059] discloses transmission of a scheduling request (SR) corresponding to a sidelink communication interface using reporting resources), and
the second status (FIG. 3 step 103) comprises at least one of the following: a status of a SideLink (SL) feedback resource (FIG. 2 discloses configuration of a physical sidelink feedback control channel (PSFCH) for transmitting sidelink feedback, which evidences the existence and operational state of a sidelink feedback resource).
Regarding claim 2, ZHAO teaches wherein the first status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises at least one of the following:
a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0077] trigger condition) ([0077] discloses that sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby defining the reporting resource as satisfying a condition);
a reporting resource is scheduled ([0059] the network performs resource scheduling for the sidelink interface, [0060] an SL resource is allocated by the base station),
wherein the first condition ([0077] trigger condition) comprises at least one of the following: no reporting resource is scheduled ([0060] discloses that a sidelink resource allocated by the base station may fall within a DRX or DTX inactive time period and cannot be used, corresponding to absence of an effective reporting resource).
Regarding claim 3, ZHAO teaches wherein the status of the SL feedback resource (FIG. 2 PSFCH) comprises at least one of the following:
the SL feedback resource satisfies a second condition ([0060] discloses that a sidelink resource allocated base station may fall within a DRX or DTX active time period, such that the sidelink resource cannot be used, indicating that the resource satisfies a condition affecting its usability),
wherein the second condition ([0060] DRX and/or DTX inactive time period) comprises at least one of the following: the SL feedback resource is invalid ([0060] discloses that when a sidelink resource falls within a DRX or DTX inactive time period, the resource cannot be used, which corresponds to the sidelink resource being invalid).
Regarding claim 4, ZHAO teaches wherein the performing ([0142]), by a terminal (FIG. 3 UE1), a first operation (FIG. 3 step 102) based on the first status (FIG. 3 step 101) and a second status (FIG. 3 step 103) comprises:
performing, by the terminal, the first operation when the first status is a first sub-status ([0059] transmission of an SR or BSR for the sidelink interface) and the second status is a second sub-status ([0079] presence of sidelink signaling or indication information for sidelink communication),
wherein the first operation (FIG. 3 step 102) comprises one of the following: a first sub-operation ([0142] updating DRX and/or DTX active time of the sidelink communication interface, [0085] discloses starting a timer to maintain the active state, thereby defining a specific sub-operation of the DRX-related operation),
wherein the first sub-operation comprises at least one of the following: starting a first timer ([0085] starting a first timer after the terminal sends an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface);
wherein the first sub-status ([0059]) comprises at least one of the following: a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0077] discloses that sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby defining the reporting resource as satisfying a condition);
wherein the second sub-status ([0079]) comprises at least one of the following: feedback is disabled ([0060] when a sidelink resource falls within a DRX or DTX inactive time period, the resource cannot be used, thereby disabling sidelink feedback).
Regarding claim 5, ZHAO teaches wherein the performing, by a terminal, a first operation ([0142]) comprises:
performing, by the terminal, the first operation at a first time ([0097] discloses that the indication transmission time occurs after the SR or BSR transmission time, [0142] discloses performing the DRX-related operation during the active period),
wherein the first time comprises at least one of the following:
a first target time ([0097] the SR BSR transmission time or the indication transmission time),
wherein the first target time ([0097]) comprises at least one of the following:
a time corresponding to a preset reporting resource ([0097] discloses the SR or BSR transmission time corresponding to use of a reporting resource for the sidelink communication interface).
Regarding claim 6, ZHAO teaches wherein the performing, by a terminal, a first operation based on the first status and a second status ([0142]) comprises:
performing, by the terminal, the first operation when the first status is a first sub-status ([0077] transmission of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink interface) and the second status is a third sub-status ([0133] transmission of indication information),
wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: a sixth sub-operation ([0142] the terminal performs DRX-related operations including updating and maintaining DRX or DTX active time), wherein the sixth sub-operation comprises at least one of the following: entering an active time ([0133] discloses that the terminal is in DRX or DTX active time during running of the second timer),
wherein the first sub-status ([0077]) comprises at least one of the following: a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0077] sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby defining the reporting resource as satisfying a condition), and
wherein the third sub-status ([0133]) comprises at least one of the following: the SL feedback resource satisfies a second condition ([0060] discloses that a sidelink resource may fall within a DRX or DTX inactive time period such that the resource cannot be used, thereby indicating that the feedback resource satisfies a condition affecting its usability);
wherein the first condition ([0077] trigger condition) comprises at least one of the following: no reporting resource is scheduled ([0077] discloses that transmission of an SR or BSR occurs only when a trigger condition is satisfied, such that in absence of the trigger condition no reporting resource is scheduled)
wherein the second condition ([0060] inactive) comprises at least one of the following: the SL feedback resource is invalid ([0060] discloses that when a sidelink resource falls within a DRX or DTX inactive time period, the resource cannot be used).
Regarding claim 7, ZHAO teaches wherein the performing, by a terminal, a first operation ([0142]) comprises:
performing the first operation within a second time ([0097] a time relationship between SR or BSR transmission and indication transmission, [0142] performing the DRX-related operation during that time),
wherein the second time comprises one of the following: a first target time ([0097] the SR or BSR transmission time or the indication transmission time as a reference time),
wherein the first target time comprises at least one of the following: a time corresponding to a preset reporting resource ([0097] discloses the SR or BSR transmission time).
Regarding claim 10, ZHAO teaches wherein a reporting resource being scheduled ([0059]-[0060]) comprises at least one of the following:
the reporting resource is scheduled ([0059] the network performs resource scheduling for the sidelink interface, [0060] an SL resource is allocated by the base station).
Regarding claim 11, ZHAO teaches wherein the terminal does not monitor control signaling during running of the first timer ([0060] discloses that when the sidelink interface is in a DRX or DTX inactive time period, allocated resources cannot be used).
Regarding claim 12, ZHAO teaches wherein the terminal monitors control data during running of the second timer ([0133] discloses that the terminal remains in DRX or DTX active time during running of the second timer).
Regarding claim 13, ZHAO teaches a transmission control method (FIG. 3), comprising:
performing, by a network-side device (FIG. 3 network device) based on a third status (FIG. 3 step 101) and a fourth status (FIG. 3 step 105), a second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) related to Discontinuous Reception (DRX) ([0142] discloses that after the terminal transmits a scheduling request (SR) or buffer status report (BSR), the sidelink interface enters and maintains a DRX and/or DTX active time within a preset time period, [0144] discloses that reception of scheduling signaling from the network device defines the end of that preset time period),
wherein the third status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises: a status of a reporting resource ([0059] discloses transmission of a scheduling request (SR) corresponding to a sidelink communication interface using reporting resources), and
the fourth status (FIG. 3 step 105) comprises at least one of the following: a status of a sidelink feedback resource ([0144] discloses scheduling signaling transmitted by the network device determines sidelink control information to be used for sidelink transmission, thereby evidencing that the network controls and defines the sidelink resource condition corresponding to feedback signaling).
Regarding claim 14, ZHAO teaches wherein the third status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises at least one of the following:
a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0077] trigger condition) ([0077] discloses that sending of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink communication interface occurs when a trigger condition is satisfied, thereby defining the reporting resource as satisfying a condition);
a reporting resource is scheduled ([0059] the network performs resource scheduling for the sidelink interface, [0060] an SL resource is allocated by the base station),
wherein the first condition ([0077] trigger condition) comprises at least one of the following: no reporting resource is scheduled ([0060] discloses that a sidelink resource allocated by the base station may fall within a DRX or DTX inactive time period and cannot be used, corresponding to absence of an effective reporting resource).
Regarding claim 15, ZHAO teaches wherein the status of the sidelink feedback resource ([0114]) comprises at least one of the following:
the sidelink feedback resource satisfies a second condition ([0060] discloses that a sidelink resource allocated base station may fall within a DRX or DTX active time period, such that the sidelink resource cannot be used, indicating that the resource satisfies a condition affecting its usability),
wherein the second condition ([0060] DRX and/or DTX inactive time period) comprises at least one of the following: the SL feedback resource is invalid ([0060] discloses that when a sidelink resource falls within a DRX or DTX inactive time period, the resource cannot be used, which corresponds to the sidelink resource being invalid).
Regarding claim 16, ZHAO teaches wherein the performing ([0142]), by a network-side device (FIG. 3 network device) based on the third status (FIG. 3 step 101) and a fourth status (FIG. 3 step 105), a second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) comprises:
performing, by the network-side device, the second operation when the third status is a fifth sub-status ([0059], [0066] SR/BSR transmission) and the fourth status is a sixth sub-status ([0070], [0144] scheduling signaling reception),
wherein the second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) comprises one of the following: an eleventh sub-operation ([0144] discloses that reception of scheduling signaling defines the end of the DRX/DTX active time period, thereby determining subsequent DRX state control at the terminal, evidencing that the scheduling signaling includes a DRX-related control sub-operation),
wherein the eleventh sub-operation comprises at least one of the following: determining to start the first timer ([0144] discloses that scheduling signaling determines the timing boundary of the DRX active period, [0085] discloses that the terminal starts a timer in response to sidelink signaling timing conditions, thereby evidencing determination to start the timer based on the scheduling signaling);
wherein the fifth sub-status comprises at least one of the following: a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0059] discloses transmission of a scheduling request corresponding to the sidelink interface using reporting resources, [0066] discloses sending the SR or BSR in step 101, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource exists under a defined triggering condition for use),
wherein the sixth sub-status comprises at least one of the following: the SL feedback resource is configured ([0070] discloses reception of scheduling signaling corresponding to the sidelink interface, [0114] discloses that the scheduling signaling determines SCI content for sidelink transmission, thereby evidencing configuration of sidelink control resources for feedback-related communication);
wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the reporting resource is invalid ([0060] discloses that a sidelink resource may fall within a DRX or DTX inactive time period such that the resource cannot to used, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource becomes invalid).
Regarding claim 17, ZHAO teaches wherein the performing ([0142], [0144]), by a network-side device (FIG. 3 network device) based on the third status (FIG. 3 step 101) and a fourth status (FIG. 3 step 105), a second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) comprises:
performing, by the network-side device, the second operation when the third status is a fifth sub-status ([0059], [0066] reporting resource usage state) and the fourth status is a seventh sub-status ([0070], [0144] sidelink scheduling state),
wherein the second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) comprises at least one of the following:
a sixteenth sub-operation ([0142], [0133] DRX active-time control), wherein the sixteenth sub-operation comprises at least one of the following:
determining to enter the active time ([0142] discloses that after transmission of the SR or BSR the sidelink interface enters and remains in a DRX and/or DTX active time, [0133] discloses that during running of the second timer the terminal remains in the DRX/DTX active time, thereby evidencing determination to enter the active time);
wherein the fifth sub-status ([0059], [0066] reporting resource usage state) comprises at least one of the following: a reporting resource satisfies a first condition ([0059], [0066] disclose transmission of an SR or BSR corresponding to the sidelink interface, indicating that the reporting resource is in a usable reporting state), and
wherein the seventh sub-status ([0070], [0144] sidelink scheduling state) comprises at least one of the following:
feedback is enabled ([0070], [0144] disclose reception of scheduling signaling from the network device and generation of SCI for sidelink transmission, thereby indicating that sidelink feedback operation is enabled),
wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
no reporting resource is scheduled ([0060] discloses that a sidelink resource may fall within a DRX or DTX inactive time period and cannot be used, thereby indicating absence of an effective reporting resoruce).
Regarding claim 18, ZHAO teaches wherein the performing, by a network-side device (FIG. 3 network device) based on a third status (FIG. 3 step 101), a second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) comprises:
performing, by the network-side device, the second operation in a case that the third status is an eighth sub-status ([0070], [0144] disclose that the network device receives scheduling-related signaling associated with the sidelink communication interface and uses that information to issue scheduling signaling, thereby indicating a state in which reporting information from the terminal is available for network-side scheduling control),
wherein the second operation (FIG. 3 step 105 scheduling signaling) comprises at least one of the following:
determining to start a first timer ([0145], [0085] disclose that after transmission of an SR or BSR the terminal starts a timer to maintain the DRX/DTX active state. Thereby evidencing a timer-start determination associated with DTX control);
wherein the eighth sub-status comprises: a reporting resource is scheduled ([0059], [0070] disclose that the terminal transmits a scheduling request corresponding to the sidelink interface and the network performs resource scheduling in response, thereby evidencing that the reporting resource is scheduled).
Regarding claim 19, ZHAO teaches a terminal (FIG. 8), comprising: a memory storing computer-readable instructions (FIG. 8 memory 820); and
a processor (FIG. 8 processor 810) coupled to the memory and configured execute the computer-readable instructions, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor ([0173]), cause the processor to perform operations ([0141]) comprising:
performing, by a terminal (FIG. 3 UE1) based on a first status (FIG. 3 step 101) or based on the first status and a second status (FIG. 3 step 103), a first operation related to Discontinuous Reception (DRX) ([0142] a sidelink communication terminal performs a DRX-related operation by updating and maintaining a DRX and/or DTX active time of a sidelink communication interface),
wherein the first status (FIG. 3 step 101) comprises: a status of a reporting resource ([0059] discloses transmission of a scheduling request (SR) corresponding to a sidelink communication interface using reporting resources), and
the second status (FIG. 3 step 103) comprises at least one of the following: a status of a SideLink (SL) feedback resource or a feedback enablement status ([0068] discloses that the transmitting terminal sends indication information to the sidelink receiving terminal, [0114] discloses that scheduling signaling received from the network determines SCI transmitted over the sidelink interface, thereby evidencing a sidelink control resource condition corresponding to feedback signaling).
Regarding claim 20, ZHAO teaches a network-side device ([0220] computer device), comprising:
a memory storing computer-readable instructions ([0220] a read-only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM)); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured execute the computer-readable instructions ([0220] a processor-readable storage medium),
wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the steps of the transmission control method ([0220] a processor to execute all or part of the steps of the methods) according to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO, in view of LI et al. (US 2024/0008000 A1; hereinafter “LI”).
Regarding claim 8, ZHAO does not teach wherein the performing, by a terminal, a first operation based on a first status comprises: performing, by the terminal, the first operation in a case that the first status is a fourth sub-status, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: entering an inactive time, and wherein the fourth sub-status comprises: the reporting resource is scheduled.
In an analogous art, LI teaches wherein the performing, by a terminal ([0067] first terminal equipment), a first operation ([0061] starts an inactivity timer) based on a first status ([0061] sleep state within DRX operation) comprises:
performing, by the terminal, the first operation in a case that the first status is a fourth sub-status ([0061] the inactivity timer is running) ([0061] discloses that the terminal starts an inactivity timer and changes its reception behavior depending on DRX-related scheduling conditions, [0062] discloses that the terminal performs reception behavior within an SL DRX active time depending on DRX operation status),
wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: starting a first timer ([0061] discloses that the terminal starts an inactivity timer upon decoding SCI, [0063] discloses that a retransmission timer may be configured as part of the DRX operation); and
wherein the fourth sub-status comprises: the reporting resource is scheduled ([0061] discloses that SCI is monitored for scheduled transmissions within the DRX operation, [0084] discloses that SL DRX active time information includes timing of reporting-related resources such as CSI reporting, thereby indicating scheduled reporting resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a sidelink resource as taught by LI within the parameter of ZHAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to have a minimal power consumption in public safety (LI [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of ZHAO and LI, specifically ZHAO teaches wherein the performing ([0142]), by a terminal (FIG. 3 UE1), a first operation (FIG. 3 step 102) comprises:
performing the first operation at a third time ([0110] and [0184] disclose that the terminal starts a third timer at the time of receiving indication information and maintains the DRX/DTX active state during the timer, which corresponds to performing the DRX-related operation during that time period),
wherein the third time comprises one of the following: a second target time ([0110] and [0187] disclose that the DRX/DTX active time is defined based on the time of receiving indication information and the time of receiving scheduling signaling, thereby evidencing a specific target used to determine the DRX/DTX active period),
wherein the second target time comprises at least one of the following: a time corresponding to the preset reporting resource ([0059] discloses transmission of a scheduling request corresponding to the sidelink communication interface, [0097] discloses a time of transmission the SR or BSR, thereby evidencing a timing corresponding to use of a reporting resource).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0314940 A1 (PARK et al.) discloses a method of operating a sidelink Tx user equipment (UE) for transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) message related to radio link failure (RLF), after RRC resumption.
US 2022/0225290 A1 (Ganesan et al.) discloses methods, and systems for determining a resource for a channel state information report.
US 2023/0077779 A1 (Basu Mallick et al.) discloses methods, and systems for retransmitting a transport block with sidelink feedback not enabled.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413