DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the reference(s) given in the IDS is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-7 and 9-11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5-6 and 9-10 recite
“the controlling, by using a first control member of the electronic device when the target state meets a preset condition, a first magnetic member of the electronic device to switch from a first state to a second state comprises”
instead of
“the controlling, by using the first control member of the electronic device when the target state meets the preset condition, the first magnetic member of the electronic device to switch from the first state to the second state comprises”
Claims 7 and 11 recite
“controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to rotate a first target angle, so that the first magnetic member switches from the first state to the second state; and
a first magnetic portion of the first control member is in a first location and a second magnetic portion of the first control member is in a second location in the first state, and the first magnetic portion moves to the second location by rotating the first target angle and the second magnetic portion moves to the first location by rotating the first target angle in the second state.”
instead of
“controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to rotate by a first target angle, so that the first magnetic member switches from the first state to the second state; and
a first magnetic portion of the first control member is in a first location and a second magnetic portion of the first control member is in a second location in the first state, and the first magnetic portion moves to the second location by rotating to the first target angle and the second magnetic portion moves to the first location by rotating to the first target angle in the second state.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al. (CN 110994739 A, published 2020-04-10, citations given from Espacenet English translation, 220 pages).
Regarding independent claim 1, Su teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a first magnetic member comprising a first magnetic portion (¶[70-71]: first electromagnet 72) and a second magnetic portion (first magnetic component), wherein the first magnetic portion is different from the second magnetic portion; and
a first control member configured to control the first magnetic member to switch between a first state and a second state, wherein
when the first magnetic member is in the first state, the first magnetic member and a second magnetic member of a charger are attracted to each other (¶[70]: the first driving circuit 73 outputs current in the first direction to the first electromagnet 72, the first electromagnet 72 attracts the first magnetic component, so that the first connecting part 71 and the second connecting part are connected, so as to charge the battery in the electronic device through the charger), and
when the first magnetic member is in the second state, the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member are separated from each other (¶[71]: component is manually disconnected).
Regarding claim 2, Su teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein
when the first magnetic portion is a south magnetic pole, the second magnetic portion is a north magnetic pole (¶[70]: the first electromagnet 72 attracting the first magnetic component implies that each first electromagnet and first magnetic component have an opposite magnetic pole); or
when the first magnetic portion is in a magnetized state, the second magnetic portion is in a demagnetized state (alternative claim language).
Regarding claim 3, Su teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first charging coil (¶[54]: first coil 722), wherein the first magnetic portion (¶[54]: first iron core 721) and the second magnetic portion are disposed at intervals around the first charging coil (Fig. 1: first iron core 721 disposed at intervals around first coil 722. The first magnetic component that attracts to the first iron core 721 is assumed to have the same disposition when coupled to the first iron core 721).
Regarding independent claim 4, Su teaches a control method for an electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising:
obtaining a target state of the electronic device (¶[71] device fully charged); and
controlling, by using a first control member of the electronic device when the target state meets a preset condition, a first magnetic member of the electronic device to switch from a first state to a second state (¶[71] and Fig. 1: when device is fully charged first driving circuit 71 output current in the second direction to demagnetize the first electromagnet 72), wherein:
when the first magnetic member is in the first state, the first magnetic member and a second magnetic member of a charger are attracted to each other (¶[70]: the first driving circuit 73 outputs current in the first direction to the first electromagnet 72, the first electromagnet 72 attracts the first magnetic component, so that the first connecting part 71 and the second connecting part are connected, so as to charge the battery in the electronic device through the charger), and
when the first magnetic member is in the second state, the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member are separated from each other (¶[71]: examiner interprets demagnetized as separated).
Regarding claim 5, Su teaches the control method for the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein:
the target state comprises at least one of the following: a battery level state, a response state, a location state, or a running state; and
the controlling, by using a first control member of the electronic device when the target state meets a preset condition, a first magnetic member of the electronic device to switch from a first state to a second state comprises:
when a battery level indicated by the battery level state is greater than a threshold, controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to switch from the first state to the second state (¶[71] and Fig. 1: when device is fully charged first driving circuit 71 output current in the second direction to demagnetize the first electromagnet 72); or
when the response state indicates that a first input is received, controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to switch from the first state to the second state (alternative claim language); or
when the location state indicates being in a preset safe location, controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to switch from the first state to the second state (alternative claim language); or
when the running state indicates that a target application is running, controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to switch from the first state to the second state (alternative claim language).
Regarding claim 6, Su teaches the control method for the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the controlling, by using a first control member of the electronic device when the target state meets a preset condition, a first magnetic member of the electronic device to switch from a first state to a second state comprises:
controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to rotate, so that the first magnetic member switches from the first state to the second state; or
controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to flip, so that the first magnetic member switches from the first state to the second state; or
controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to demagnetize, so that the first magnetic member switches from the first state to the second state (¶[71] and Fig. 1: when device is fully charged first driving circuit 71 output current in the second direction to demagnetize the first electromagnet 72).
Regarding independent claim 8, Su teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising a processor; and a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon, wherein the computer program or the instruction (¶[4, 25-26, 46, 199, 253, 396, 414-415, 417]: computer with computer software product stored in a storage medium), when executed by the processor (¶[86, 25, 407, 411-412, 414-415]: first processor connected to first electromagnet 72), causes the processor to implement operations, comprising:
obtaining a target state of the electronic device (¶[71] device fully charged); and
controlling, by using a first control member of the electronic device when the target state meets a preset condition, a first magnetic member of the electronic device to switch from a first state to a second state (¶[71] and Fig. 1: when device is fully charged first driving circuit 71 output current in the second direction to demagnetize the first electromagnet 72), wherein:
when the first magnetic member is in the first state, the first magnetic member and a second magnetic member of a charger are attracted to each other (¶[70]: the first driving circuit 73 outputs current in the first direction to the first electromagnet 72, the first electromagnet 72 attracts the first magnetic component, so that the first connecting part 71 and the second connecting part are connected, so as to charge the battery in the electronic device through the charger), and when the first magnetic member is in the second state, the first magnetic member and the second magnetic member are separated from each other (¶[71]: examiner interprets demagnetized as separated).
Regarding claim 9, Su teaches the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein:
the target state comprises at least one of the following: a battery level state, a response state, a location state, or a running state; and
the controlling, by using a first control member of the electronic device when the target state meets a preset condition, a first magnetic member of the electronic device to switch from a first state to a second state comprises:
when a battery level indicated by the battery level state is greater than a threshold, controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to switch from the first state to the second state (¶[71] and Fig. 1: when device is fully charged first driving circuit 71 output current in the second direction to demagnetize the first electromagnet 72); or
when the response state indicates that a first input is received, controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to switch from the first state to the second state (alternative claim language); or
when the location state indicates being in a preset safe location, controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to switch from the first state to the second state (alternative claim language); or
when the running state indicates that a target application is running, controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to switch from the first state to the second state (alternative claim language).
Regarding claim 10, Su teaches the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the controlling, by using a first control member of the electronic device when the target state meets a preset condition, a first magnetic member of the electronic device to switch from a first state to a second state comprises:
controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to rotate, so that the first magnetic member switches from the first state to the second state (alternative claim language); or
controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to flip, so that the first magnetic member switches from the first state to the second state (alternative claim language); or
controlling, by using the first control member, the first magnetic member to demagnetize, so that the first magnetic member switches from the first state to the second state (¶[71] and Fig. 1: when device is fully charged first driving circuit 71 output current in the second direction to demagnetize the first electromagnet 72).
NOTE: Claims 7 and 11 depend on limitations in claims 6 and 10 respectively that are recited in the alternative. Therefore these claims are anticipated by Su.
Regarding claim 7, Su teaches the control method for the electronic device according to claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, Su teaches the electronic device according to claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cleghorn et al. (US 20200129822 A1) teaches locking using magnetic inserts and rotating (¶[171]).
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 September 28, 2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859