DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 21 April 2026.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 9-14, and 16 are canceled.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, and 15 are presently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 21 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 9-14, and 16, drawn to Species 2-8, are canceled.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Although element numbers may be presented in parenthesis, for consistency, applicant should maintain the element numbers throughout each of the claims and limitations, as well as include the element numbers for each claimed structure; Applicant may also delete all element numbers in the claims.
Claim 2 – “can be fixed as the position” – incorrect use of phrase “as”. Interpreted as –at--.
Claim 8 - “the injection module (11)” – incorrect part number.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the head portion and the handhold portion being at two ends of the main body, respectively” in lines 5-7 of the claim. This limitation is indefinite, as it is unclear if head portion is to be interpreted as being at both ends or at one end, and if the handhold portion is to be interpreted as being at both ends or at one end.
Claim 1 also recites “in installation state, the seat body covering the head portion and holding the injection needle; the buckle being integrally connected to the seat body at an end near the main body and around the seat body” in lines 9-12 of the claim. This limitation is grammatically inconsistent, using multiple tenses, which renders the limitation unclear as to what structure “the end” belongs to, or if it is meant to be one of the ends defined in line 6. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as –in an installation state, the seat body covers the head portion and holds the injection needle; the buckle is integrally connected around the seat body to an end of the seat body located near the main body
Claim 1 also recites the limitation “the first end portion and the second end portion being at two opposite ends of the sleeve body” in lines 15-17 of the claim. This limitation is indefinite, as it is unclear if first end portion is to be interpreted as being at both ends or at one end, and if the second end portion is to be interpreted as being at both ends or at one end.
Claim 1 also recites the limitation “with a larger cross section” in line 27-28 of the claim. This limitation is indefinite, as it is unclear what the tapered shape is larger in comparison to. For the purposes of examination, “with a larger cross section” is interpreted to mean –with a cross section near the main body--.
Claim 1 also recite the limitation “a tapered surfaces cut through the head portion” in line 28 of the claim. This limitation is indefinite, as it is unclear if there are a plurality of tapered surfaces or a singular tapered surface due to the incorrect use of grammar. Furthermore, it is unclear how the tapered surface(s) are arranged, as the phrase “cut through” is not clearly defined in the claim. For the purposes of examination, “a tapered surfaces cut through the head portion” is interpreted to mean –wherein the head portion comprises a tapered surface--.
Claim 1 also recites the limitation “an axis of the head portion has a tapered shape” in line 29 of the claim. This limitation is indefinite, as the term “axis of the head portion” does not impart sufficient structure to understand what “an axis” is meant to be in relation to the head portion. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted to refer to the limitation “the head portion has a tapered shape” in line 27 of the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the position” in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because both an installation position and a protection position have been claimed. For the purposes of examination, “the position” is interpreted a –a position--.
Claims 8 and 15 are dependent on now canceled claim 7. For the purposes of examination, claims 8 and 15 are interpreted to be dependent from claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the opening” in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, “the opening” is interpreted as –an opening--.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “reduce the resistance force in assembly” in line 6 of the claim. The limitation is indefinite, as it is unclear if the phrase “assembly” is meant to be interpreted as –an assembly--, --the injection needle device, or as –during assembly of the device--. For the purposes of examination, “assembly” is interpreted as –the injection needle device--.
All other claims are rejected as they depend from independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hung (US Patent Publication No. 20230138069 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hung teaches an injection needle device (Hung: Fig. 1, syringe 10) with safe-protection function (para. 0003), comprising:
an injection module (Fig. 1, comprising barrel 40 and push rod 45) including an injection cylinder (Fig. 1, barrel 40) and a pullable piston rod (Fig. 1, push rod 45) installed within the injection cylinder (40); the injection cylinder (40) including a main body (Fig. 1, barrel body 41), a head portion (Fig. 1, shaft portion 42) and a handhold portion (Fig. 1, support portion 43); the head portion (42) and the handhold portion (43) being at two ends of the main body (Fig. 2, shaft portion 42 is located at the top end of body 41, and support portion 43 is located at the bottom end of body 41), respectively;
a needle module (Fig. 1, comprising needle 12, needle seat 20, flange 24, and adapter 30) including a needle seat (Fig. 1, adapter 30) and an injection needle (Fig. 1, comprising needle 12, needle seat 20, and flange 24); the needle seat (30) having a seat body (Fig. 1, small annular portion 32) and a buckle (Fig. 1, comprising large annular portion 31, notches 34, and elastic wing 35); in an installation state (Fig. 1), the seat body (32) covers the head portion (42) and holds the injection needle (Fig. 1, 32 is shown covering portion 42 and holding 12, 20, and 24); the buckle (31, 34, and 35) is integrally connected around the seat body (32) to an end of the seat body located near the main body (Fig. 3 and 4, 31, 34, and 35 are shown integral with 32);
a safety sleeve (Fig. 2, outer sleeve 50) covering movably around the injection cylinder (Fig. 1 and 5, 50 is shown movably covering barrel 40) between an installation position (Fig. 1) and a protection position (Fig. 5); the safety sleeve (50) having a sleeve body (Fig. 2, 50 body), a first end portion (Fig. 2, top of 50), and a second end portion (Fig. 2, bottom of 50); the first end portion (top of 50) and the second end portion (bottom of 50) being at two opposite ends of the sleeve body (Fig. 2, top and bottom of 50); wherein in the installing position (Fig. 1), the first end portion (top of 50) is near the buckle (Fig. 1, top of 50 is shown near 31, 34, and 35) and the second end portion (bottom of 50) is near the handhold portion (Fig. 1, bottom of 50 is shown near 43); while in the protection position (Fig. 5), the first end portion (top of 50) is protruded from the injection cylinder (Fig. 5, top of 50 is shown protruding from barrel 40) for covering the injection needle (12, 20, and 24) and the second end portion (bottom of 50) is near the head portion (Fig. 5, bottom of 50 is shown near 42); and
an inner side of the sleeve body (Fig. 2, lumen of 50) near the second end portion (bottom of 50) being formed with a buckling portion (Fig. 5, comprising second annular rib 54 and third annular rib 55); the buckling portion (54 and 55) being used to buckle with the buckle (31, 34, and 35) so that the safety sleeve (50) and the needle seat (30) are fixed together (Fig. 5, sleeve 50 and adapter 30 are shown fixed together via buckling of 54 and 55 with 31, 34, and 35) for separating from the injection cylinder (40) and after separation (Fig. 6), the safety sleeve (50) covers the needle seat (Fig. 6, 50 is shown covering 30); wherein the head portion (42) has a tapered shape (Annotated Fig. 2, parallel dashed lines show the top of portion 42 is smaller than the bottom of portion 42, which one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret as tapered) with a cross section near the main body (41); and wherein the head portion (42) comprises a tapered surface (Annotated Fig. 2, tapered surface of 42).
Regarding claim 2, Hung teaches the device above, wherein a fixing structure (Fig. 2, ribs 44) is formed at a lower end of the injection cylinder (Fig. 2, ribs 44 formed at bottom of 40) near the handhold portion (43) and a rear end of the safety sleeve (50) so that when the safety sleeve (50) retracts backwards to be near the handhold portion (43) of the injection cylinder (40), the safety sleeve (50) can be fixed at a position (Fig. 1, sleeve 50 is fixed) to prevent the safety sleeve (50) from moving with the injection needle (Fig. 1, sleeve 50 is fixed in first position; para. 0026).
Regarding claim 5, Hung teaches the device above, wherein the buckling portion (54 and 55) includes a first annular flange (Fig. 5, second annular rib 54) and a second annular flange (Fig. 5, third annular rib 55); an annular groove (Fig. 5, groove shown between ribs 54 and 55) being formed between the first annular flange (54) and the annular second flange (55); the annular groove (groove between 54 and 55) being used to confine the buckle (Fig. 5, groove is shown to confine 31, 34, and 35).
Regarding claim 15, Hung teaches the device above, wherein an outer rim of the buckle (31, 34, and 35) is formed with at least one concave portion (Fig. 3, notches 34); the rim of the buckle (31, 34, and 35) without the concave portion (34) is formed with at least one thin portion (Fig. 3, elastic wings 35) so as to increase the elasticity of buckle (wings 35 are elastic; para. 0026) and reduce the resistance force in the injection needle device (wings 35 are deformed elastically for allowing rib 53 to pass through without being stopped; para. 0026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Stanners (US Patent No. 5593391 A).
Regarding claim 8, Hung teaches the device above, but does not expressly disclose an outer surface of the head portion of the injection module is formed with outer threads at a part near the main body, and an inner wall of an opening of the needle seat is formed with inner threads which is engageable with the outer threads on the head portion so that the injection module can be tightly engaged with the needle seat by engagement of the outer thread and the inner thread.
Stanners teaches an outer surface of a head portion (Stanners: Fig. 4, portion of hub-cap fitting 10 comprising threads 21) of an injection module (Fig. 3) is formed with outer threads (Fig. 4, male threads 21) at a part near a main body, and an inner wall of an opening (Fig. 4, interior of hub 16) of a needle seat (Fig. 4, hub 16) is formed with inner threads (Fig. 4, threads 22) which is engageable with the outer threads (Fig. 4 and 5, 22 and 23 configured to engage; col 8, ln 47-57) on a head portion (10) so that the injection module (Fig. 3) can be tightly engaged with the needle seat (16) by engagement of the outer thread (22) and the inner thread (23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Hung such that an outer surface of the head portion of the injection module is formed with outer threads at a part near the main body, and an inner wall of an opening of the needle seat is formed with inner threads which is engageable with the outer threads on the head portion so that the injection module can be tightly engaged with the needle seat by engagement of the outer thread and the inner thread as taught by Stanner in order to allow for secure engagement of a needle seat (Stanners: col 8, ln 47-57).
Conclusion
/LEI GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783