CTNF 18/381,651 CTNF 101670 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 2. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 9-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20240072924 A1) in view of Narendar et al. (J.P. Pub. No. 2017092942A; English translation is provided for claim mapping) . Note: Please refer to the uploaded Japanese translation (JP_translate.pdf) when identifying citations from Narendar. Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches interface circuitry ([0011]: the wireless transceiver) ; and processor circuitry coupled with the interface circuitry ([0048]: controller operably connected to the corresponding transceiver.) , wherein the processor circuitry is to: decode ([0053]: The RSTA 204 can perform data forwarding by decoding and forwarding.) a first-hop message received from a first node via the interface circuitry to obtain a message body ([0053]: The AP transmits a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) PPDU-1 212 to the RSTA 204.) ; generate, in response to the first-hop message, a first-hop response message for transmission to the first node ([0052]: With hop-by-hop UL BA, the UL BA transmitted by the RSTA may acknowledge the soliciting DL A-MPDU/BAR from the AP) ; generate a second-hop message including the message body for transmission to a second node ([0053]: The RSTA forwards PPDU-2 216 to the LSTA.). Chu does not teach multiplex the first-hop response message with the second-hop message in a same frame for transmission of the first-hop response message and the second-hop message ([0050]: Access point 11 generates aggregation frame 521 aggregating multiple data frames including data addressed to terminal 1, and including data addressed to terminal 3 and a trigger frame. The access point 11 transmits the aggregation frames 521 to 526 of each terminal by OFDMA. An identifier of a resource unit to be received may be specified for each terminal. This allows each terminal to identify the resource units that it should receive.) simultaneously ([0065]: It should be noted that frames addressed to any terminal may be transmitted simultaneously using resource units). However, Narendar does teach multiplex ([0011]: The access point 11 also has basically the same functions as the terminals 1 to 10, except that it has a relay function and the like. [0015]: The access point 11 is capable of multiplex communication, more specifically, multi-user (MU) communication, with a plurality of terminals selected from the terminals 1 to 10. MU communication includes MU-MIMO (Multi-User Multi-Input Multi-Output) and OFDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access) the first-hop response message with the second-hop message in a same frame for transmission of the first-hop response message and the second-hop message ([0050]: Access point 11 generates aggregation frame 521 aggregating multiple data frames including data addressed to terminal 1, and including data addressed to terminal 3 and a trigger frame. The access point 11 transmits the aggregation frames 521 to 526 of each terminal by OFDMA. An identifier of a resource unit to be received may be specified for each terminal. This allows each terminal to identify the resource units that it should receive.) simultaneously ([0065]: It should be noted that frames addressed to any terminal may be transmitted simultaneously using resource units) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 2, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Chu further teaches wherein the first-hop response message includes a first-hop acknowledgement ([0052]: With hop-by-hop UL BA, the UL BA transmitted by the RSTA may acknowledge the soliciting DL A-MPDU/BAR from the AP) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 3, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1 and claim 2. Narendar further teaches wherein the first-hop response message further includes a trigger frame (TF) for a next first-hop message ([0050]: Access point 11 generates aggregation frame 521 aggregating multiple data frames including data addressed to terminal 1, and including data addressed to terminal 3 and a trigger frame.) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 4, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claims 1, 2, and 3. Narendar further teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further to: decode the next first-hop message received from the first node via the interface circuitry ([0067]: Terminals 1 and 2, which have been instructed by the trigger frame in aggregation frames 541 and 542 to transmit a delivery confirmation response frame, generate BA frames 531 and 532, respectively, which include information on whether the multiple data frames included in aggregation frames 521 and 522 were successfully received.) ; and decode a second-hop response message in response to the second-hop message received from the second node via the interface circuitry, wherein the next first-hop message and the second-hop response message are received simultaneously ([0028]: UL-MU-MIMO aims to improve the efficiency of uplink transmission by having multiple terminals transmit frames to an access point at the same time using the same frequency band (spatial multiplexing transmission). Examiner note: Receiving spatially multiplexed signals necessarily involves decoding. [0029]: The access point 11 receives the frames of each terminal transmitted by UL-MU-MIMO as a simultaneously superimposed signal . ) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 5, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Narendar further teaches wherein the message body includes data, management information, control information, sounding information, or feedback information ([0041]: control frames include a BA (Block Ack) frame) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 9, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Chu further teaches wherein the first node or the second node includes a station (STA), an access point (AP), or a Relay node ([0053]: The AP transmits a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 10, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Chu further teaches wherein the apparatus is applicable to a Relay node ([0029]: a relay station (RSTA)) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 11, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Narendar further teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to operate in multiuser (MU) mode ([0028]: UL-MU-MIMO aims to improve the efficiency of uplink transmission by having multiple terminals transmit frames to an access point at the same time using the same frequency band. [0029]: The access point 11 receives the frames of each terminal transmitted by UL-MU -MIMO as a simultaneously superimposed signal.) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 12 , Chu teaches decoding ([0053]: The RSTA 204 can perform data forwarding by decoding and forwarding.) a first-hop message received from a first node to obtain a message body ([0053]: The AP transmits a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) PPDU-1 212 to the RSTA 204.) ; generating, in response to the first-hop message, a first-hop response message for transmission to the first node ([0052]: With hop-by-hop UL BA, the UL BA transmitted by the RSTA may acknowledge the soliciting DL A-MPDU/BAR from the AP) ; generating a second-hop message including the message body for transmission to a second node ([0053]: The RSTA forwards PPDU-2 216 to the LSTA.), but Chu does not teach multiplexing the first-hop response message with the second-hop message in a same frame for transmission of the first-hop response message and the second-hop message simultaneously. However, Narendar does teach multiplexing ([0011]: The access point 11 also has basically the same functions as the terminals 1 to 10, except that it has a relay function and the like. [0015]: The access point 11 is capable of multiplex communication, more specifically, multi-user (MU) communication, with a plurality of terminals selected from the terminals 1 to 10. MU communication includes MU-MIMO (Multi-User Multi-Input Multi-Output) and OFDMA (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access) the first-hop response message with the second-hop message in a same frame for transmission of the first-hop response message and the second-hop message ([0050]: Access point 11 generates aggregation frame 521 aggregating multiple data frames including data addressed to terminal 1, and including data addressed to terminal 3 and a trigger frame. The access point 11 transmits the aggregation frames 521 to 526 of each terminal by OFDMA. An identifier of a resource unit to be received may be specified for each terminal. This allows each terminal to identify the resource units that it should receive.) simultaneously ([0065]: It should be noted that frames addressed to any terminal may be transmitted simultaneously using resource units) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 13, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 12. Chu further teaches wherein the first-hop response message includes a first-hop acknowledgement ([0052]: With hop-by-hop UL BA, the UL BA transmitted by the RSTA may acknowledge the soliciting DL A-MPDU/BAR from the AP) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 14, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 12 and claim 13. Narendar further teaches wherein the first-hop response message further includes a trigger frame (TF) for a next first-hop message ([0050]: Access point 11 generates aggregation frame 521 aggregating multiple data frames including data addressed to terminal 1, and including data addressed to terminal 3 and a trigger frame.) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 15, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claims 12, 13, and 14. Narendar further teaches decoding the next first-hop message received from the first node; and decoding a second-hop response message in response to the second-hop message received from the second node ([0067]: Terminals 1 and 2, which have been instructed by the trigger frame in aggregation frames 541 and 542 to transmit a delivery confirmation response frame, generate BA frames 531 and 532, respectively, which include information on whether the multiple data frames included in aggregation frames 521 and 522 were successfully received.) , wherein the next first-hop message and the second-hop response message are received simultaneously ([0028]: UL-MU-MIMO aims to improve the efficiency of uplink transmission by having multiple terminals transmit frames to an access point at the same time using the same frequency band (spatial multiplexing transmission). Examiner note: Receiving spatially multiplexed signals necessarily involves decoding. [0029]: The access point 11 receives the frames of each terminal transmitted by UL-MU-MIMO as a simultaneously superimposed signal . ) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 16, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 12. Narendar further discloses wherein the message body includes data, management information, control information, sounding information, or feedback information ([0041]: control frames include a BA (Block Ack) frame) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]). Regarding claim 20, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 12. Chu further discloses wherein the first node or the second node includes a station (STA), an access point (AP), or a Relay node ([0053]: The AP transmits a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU).) . Chu teaches a relay-based range extension architecture for wireless networks. Narendar teaches a wireless communication access point that transmits frames, simultaneously, to multiple terminals and arranges their respective uplink frame transmissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu’s architecture of relay-based range extension architecture with Narendar’s wireless communication access point to improve the efficiency of frame transmission (Narendar: [0006]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-8, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20240072924 A1) in view of Narendar et al. (J.P. Pub. No. 2017092942A) and further in view of Alapuranen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20030214921 A1) . Regarding claim 6, Chu in view Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Chu further discloses decode the first-hop message to obtain a destination address for the message body ([0074]: Destination AID is used by the RSTA to fill the PHY head of a PPDU forwarded to the next hop, e.g., the AID of the LSTA if the next hop is the LSTA, the AID of another RSTA if the carried frame required another RSTA's relay), but Chu in view of Narendar fail to teach check a routing table to obtain a destination node corresponding to the destination address. However, Alapuranen does teach check a routing table to obtain a destination node corresponding to the destination address ([0006]: checks its routing table to determine whether the destination node is contained in its routing table.). Alapuranen teaches a system for performing network routing over wireless networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Chu and Narendar with Alapuranen’s method of routing wireless frames to enhance the efficiency of routing data packets (Alapuranen: [0011]). Regarding claim 7, Chu in view of Narendar and further in view of Alapuranenteach the subject matter disclosed in claims 1 and 6. Chu further teaches wherein the destination node includes the second node or a third node ([0074]: Destination AID is used by the RSTA to fill the PHY head of a PPDU forwarded to the next hop, e.g., the AID of the LSTA) . Alapuranen teaches a system for performing network routing over wireless networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Chu and Narendar with Alapuranen’s method of routing wireless frames to enhance the efficiency of routing data packets (Alapuranen: [0011]). Regarding claim 8, Chu in view of Narendar and further in view of Alapuranen teach the subject matter disclosed in claims 1 and 6. Chu further teaches wherein the destination address includes a physical layer (PHY) address or a medium access control layer (MAC) address ([0074]: the information in PHY header is used for the PPDU reception and forwarding. In PHY header of uplink (UL) PPDU, the BSS Color, Direction, End-to-end PPDU Indication, AID may be used.) . Alapuranen teaches a system for performing network routing over wireless networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Chu and Narendar with Alapuranen’s method of routing wireless frames to enhance the efficiency of routing data packets (Alapuranen: [0011]). Regarding claim 17, Chu in view of Narendar teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 12. Chu further teaches decoding the first-hop message to obtain a destination address for the message body ([0074]: Destination AID is used by the RSTA to fill the PHY head of a PPDU forwarded to the next hop, e.g., the AID of the LSTA if the next hop is the LSTA, the AID of another RSTA if the carried frame required another RSTA's relay), but Chu in view of Narendar does not teach checking a routing table to obtain a destination node corresponding to the destination address. However, Alapuranen does teach checking a routing table to obtain a destination node corresponding to the destination address ([0006]: checks its routing table to determine whether the destination node is contained in its routing table . ). Alapuranen teaches a system for performing network routing over wireless networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Chu and Narendar with Alapuranen’s method of routing wireless frames to enhance the efficiency of routing data packets (Alapuranen: [0011]). Regarding claim 18, Chu in view of Narendar and further in view of Alapuranen teach the subject matter disclosed in claims 12 and 17. Chu further teaches wherein the destination node includes the second node or a third node ([0053]: The AP transmits a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) . Alapuranen teaches a system for performing network routing over wireless networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Chu and Narendar with Alapuranen’s method of routing wireless frames to enhance the efficiency of routing data packets (Alapuranen: [0011]). Regarding claim 19, Chu in view of Narendar and further in view of Alapuranen teach the subject matter disclosed in claims 12 and 17. Chu further teaches wherein the destination address includes a physical layer (PHY) address or a medium access control layer (MAC) address ([0074]: the information in PHY header is used for the PPDU reception and forwarding. In PHY header of uplink (UL) PPDU, the BSS Color, Direction, End-to-end PPDU Indication, AID may be used.). Alapuranen teaches a system for performing network routing over wireless networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Chu and Narendar with Alapuranen’s method of routing wireless frames to enhance the efficiency of routing data packets (Alapuranen: [0011]). Conclusion 3. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VIJAY K MANNAVA whose telephone number is (571)272-9505. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30-5 M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jae Y. Lee can be reached at (571) 270-3936. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VIJAY K MANNAVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 2 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 3 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 4 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 5 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 6 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 7 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 8 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 9 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 10 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 11 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 12 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 13 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/381,651 Page 14 Art Unit: 2479