DETAILED ACTION
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the amendments made have presented a combination of elements directed towards newly added elements that have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the previous rejections, the amendments made to the claims fail to overcome the prior art and have necessitated new grounds of rejection as outlined below. While the new ground of rejection may rely on some of the previous reference applied in the prior rejection of record, new additional references have been added to the combination and introduced for Applicant’s consideration given the amended independent claims. The new grounds of rejection are outlined below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 1 and 13, the phrase “area by surrounded by” appears to contain a typographical error. Perhaps, Applicant intended to use – area surrounded by – instead. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrases “output first display, on a map displayed by the terminal
apparatus, in an area where the power supply vehicle can supply power …” and “output second display different from the first display … in a position where the power supply vehicle cannot supply power …”. These phrases are confusing because it is unclear as to what is considered to be the recited “first display” and “second display”. The claim does not clearly identify the respective displayed subject matter. In particular, it is unclear as to whether the first display displays the recited area, is displayed at a location in the recited area oar otherwise pertains to the recited area. It is also unclear whether the second display displays the recited position, is displayed at the recited position or otherwise pertains to the recited position. Further, the claim does not define the required distinction expressed by “different from the first display”. The specification does not define or mention “first display” or second display” to otherwise resolve these uncertainties. Therefore, the scope of the recited output operations cannot be reasonably determined.
Claim 13 recites the phrases “output first display, on a map displayed by the terminal
apparatus, in an area where the power supply vehicle can supply power …” and “output second display different from the first display … in an area where the power supply vehicle cannot supply power …”. These phrases are confusing because it is unclear as to what is considered to be the recited “first display” and “second display”. The claim does not clearly identify the respective displayed subject matter. In particular, it is unclear as to whether the first display displays the recited area, is displayed at a location in the recited area oar otherwise pertains to the recited area. It is also unclear whether the second display displays the recited position, is displayed at the recited position or otherwise pertains to the recited position. Further, the claim does not define the required distinction expressed by “different from the first display”. The specification does not define or mention “first display” or second display” to otherwise resolve these uncertainties. Therefore, the scope of the recited output operations cannot be reasonably determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goei (US 2019/0351783A1) in view of Margines (US 2020/0410419A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Goei discloses A management apparatus (see at
least para. [0049] of Goei which describes an apparatus that “The artificial intelligence (AI) controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“) comprising a controller (Fig. 5, 502 and see at least para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0047] of Goei which discloses “controllers will be used to manage the distribution of electricity drawn by multiple EVs 406 from the multiple chargers” and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”) configured to manage a power supply vehicle (Fig. 3, 202 and Fig. 1, 102 and see at least para. [0037] of Goei which discloses “a mobile EV charging station 202. Mobile stations (“mStations(s)”) 202 consist of vehicles or transportable platforms/containers that are equipped with chargers 302“, *Examiner considers mStation 202 to be the power supply vehicle. Also, see at least para. [0034] of Goei which discloses “the system described herein is a mobile EV charging system 102 (“MEC”) for the reservation of, and the deployment and use of chargers that are incorporated into a mobile charging platform 104 such as a truck or van, or a container module that can be transported” and see at least para. [0047] of Goei which discloses “an mStation carries multiple chargers 302”), wherein the controller is configured to acquire, via a terminal apparatus (Fig. 8, 808 and Fig. 4, 404a and see at least para. [0065] of Goei which discloses “The electric vehicle users are able to interact with the system 802 using a mobile device application 808 installed, for example, on their smartphone” and see at least para. [0050] of Goei which discloses “upon logging into his dApp 404 a, a driver may specify the start and end points of a trip he is planning with stops along the way to visit a place or places of interest. The dApp 404 a requires the driver to activate his GPS function 506 on his phone”, *Examiner interprets the dApp/mobile application 808 (404a) to correspond to the terminal apparatus used by the user (driver 406) since it is the user-facing device that transmits specified conditions to and receives notifications from the management apparatus/controller) used by a user (Fig. 4, 406 and see at least para. [0052] of Goei which discloses “the driver's EV 406”), specified conditions that include a position specified by the user (see at least para. [0050] of Goei which discloses “upon logging into his dApp 404 a, a driver may specify the start and end points of a trip he is planning with stops along the way to visit a place or places of interest. The dApp 404 a requires the driver to activate his GPS function 506 on his phone”, *Examiner interprets the driver’s specification of trip start/end points and stops, via the dApp, as the specified position) and a time specified by the user (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “a driver submits a routing plan via a driver mobile app (“dApp”) 108 a that is connected to MEC 102 via an Internet cloud (the “Cloud”) or other wireless communications network/environment, the MEC matches up and tags several mStations 202 a whose operating areas coincide with the driver's planned travel route and times (“Trip Plan”) as submitted by the driver”, *Examiner interprets the time submitted by the driver as part of the Trip Plan, via the dApp, as the time specified by the user). Goei does disclose a map (Fig. 5, 536 and see at least para. [0053] of Goei which describes “a real-time map 536”) of an area where the power supply vehicle can supply power to a vehicle of the user under the specified conditions (see at least para. [0053] of Goei which discloses “MEC 402 maintains a real-time map 536 of all EV charging locations along the route that can be readily accessed by the driver” and see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “the MEC matches up and tags several mStations 202 a whose operating areas coincide with the driver's planned travel route and times”, *Examiner interprets the operating areas of MSTations 202a matched to the driver’s Trip Plan (i.e., the driver’s specified route and times) as the claimed area where the power supply vehicle can supply power under the specified conditions). Goei also discloses information corresponding to being in a position where the power supply vehicle cannot supply power to the vehicle of the user under the specified conditions (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “the MEC matches up and tags several mStations 202 a whose operating areas coincide with the driver's planned travel route and times (“Trip Plan”) as submitted by the driver. Any mStation 202 b that is not within a defined range will be excluded from bidding to accept the requested reservation”, *Examiner interprets mStations excluded for falling outside the defined range relative to the driver’s specified Trip Plan as corresponding to a position where the power supply vehicle cannot supply power under the specified conditions), within the area where the power supply vehicle can supply power, a first area surrounded by the area where the power supply vehicle can supply power (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “the MEC matches up and tags several mStations 202 a whose operating areas coincide with the driver's planned travel route and times(‘Trip Plan’) as submitted by the driver. Any mStation 202 b that is not within a defined range will be excluded from bidding to accept the requested reservation”, *Examiner interprets mStations excluded for falling outside the defined range relative to the driver’s specified Trip Plan and the operating areas identified above, as corresponding to a position where the power supply vehicle cannot supply power under the specified conditions within a first area surrounded bay the broader area in which the power supply vehicle can otherwise supply power), accept a reservation (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which describes “accept the requested reservation … Various protocols may be set by the administrator of MEC 102 (the “Administrator”) which governs the reservation and fulfillment process”, *Examiner interprets governing the reservation to include the operation of accepting a reservation) for the power supply vehicle to supply power to the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0034] of Goei which discloses “a mobile EV charging system 102 (“MEC”) for the reservation of, and the deployment and use of chargers that are incorporated into a mobile charging platform 104 such as a truck or van, or a container module that can be transported, and which can then be dispatched on an “as-needed” basis to meet a requesting driver of an electric vehicle 106 (“EV”) at a pre-arranged location for a charging session” and see at least para. [0044] which discloses “A driver 406 initiates a request for a charge reservation session via his dApp 404 a which is connected to the MEC 402 via the cloud 416 ranging from a one-time charge near his current location to a series of charges at different locations according to a Trip Plan”), and control the power supply vehicle to autonomously drive, at the time specified of the specified condition, to the position specified of the specified condition (see at least para. [0034] of Goei which discloses “a mobile EV charging system 102 (“MEC”) for the reservation of, and the deployment and use of chargers that are incorporated into a mobile charging platform 104 such as a truck or van, or a container module that can be transported, and which can then be dispatched on an “as-needed” basis to meet a requesting driver of an electric vehicle 106 (“EV”) at a pre-arranged location for a charging session” and see at least para. [0039] of Goei which discloses “these options will be automatically assessed and initiated by MEC 102 and matched to the requesting driver's criteria and the appropriate mStation 202 will be dispatched at the appropriate time to rendezvous with the driver” and see at least para. [0058] of Goei which discloses “The Autonomous Vehicle Control (“AVC”) Controller Module 550 handles interactions and control of autonomous, self-driving mStations in the MEC system 402. As standards and protocols evolve, MEC 402 and AVC 550 will adapt. AVC 550 in conjunction with the AI 502 module and other modules will interact with autonomous mABStations to engage them in rendezvous with drivers”).
Goei may not explicitly disclose that this area information is output as a first display, on a
map displayed by the terminal apparatus.
However, Margines discloses an output as a first display, on a map displayed by the
terminal apparatus (see at least para. [0062] of Margines which discloses “The first portion of the map information may then be sent to the user's client computing device for display to the user. Returning to FIG. 7, at block 750, the first portion of the map information is provided to the client computing device for display to a user such that the first portion of the map information represents a currently available service area for the user”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the system of Goei to output a first display on a map displayed by the terminal apparatus, as taught in Margines with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently communicate to the requesting user where the power supply vehicle can service their request under the specified conditions. See para. [0062] of Margines for motivation.
Goei may not explicitly disclose that this area information is output as a second display
different from the first display.
However, Margines discloses an output as a second display different from the first display
(see at least para. [0019] of Margines which discloses “map information which may include various information including data for drawing an image-based map for display or presentation to a user. This data may include the shape and location of roads, areas where the vehicle cannot drive or is directed not to drive, points of interest, predetermined pick up and drop off locations, and any other details that may be useful for drawing a map for display”, *Examiner interprets the disclosed display of areas where the vehicle cannot drive or is directed not to drive, layered together with the service-area map display, as a second display different from the first display of the available service area output on the same map, as broadly as recited).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify Goei’s system to include area information that is output as a second display different from the first display, as taught by Margines with a reasonable expectation of success since both references address providing map-based information to a user of a dispatched vehicle service and Margines expressly teaches that map information provided for user display includes distinct data representing positions where the dispatched vehicle cannot operate, alongside data representing the area where it can operate while also displaying unavailable position information as part of the same map output providing the available service areas display. See para. [0019] of Margines for motivation.
Regarding claim 2, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 5,
502 and see at lest para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] of Goei discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to notify the user of at least one of a time at which power can be supplied at the position specified by the user (see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment”, *Examiner interprets that since the driver is notified, this is equivalent to notifying the user the time power can be supplied since their appointment is confirmed and this is when the charging units 806 are available) and a position at which power can be supplied at the time specified by the user (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses “An artificial intelligence controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location between the mobile charging platform and the electric vehicle responsive to first position data received from the mobile charging platform application”, *Examiner interprets this control data to be a notification of the position at which power can be supplied and see at least para. [0051] of Goei which discloses “When a Trip Plan has been scheduled by RTP 504, at appropriate times the Mobile Operator Dispatch (“MOD”) Controller Module 520 will dispatch the appropriate mOperator(s) with the appropriate mStation 408 to rendezvous at the same anticipated time, or close thereto with the driver through a dispatch function 522. MOD 520 will use the appropriate means of connecting with the respective driver and mOperator whether through radio communications and/or voice/text messages, etc. using a communications interface 524. In conjunction with the AI module 502 and RTP 514, as necessary”, *Examiner interprets this communication interface to provide notification of time and position at which power can be supplied).
Regarding claim 3, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (see above discussion of controller) is configured to determine the time (see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “The appointment database 1006 indicates a charging unit 806 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle. An appointment controller 1008 generates a listing of possible appointment times for a charging unit 806 to the mobile device application 808 responsive to a user request and receives and stores a user selection for a particular appointment time for a charging unit 806 that a driver has selected”, *Examiner interprets this as determining the time for supplying power) at which power can be supplied at the position specified by the user (see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment”, *Examiner interprets that since the driver is notified, this is equivalent to notifying the user the time power can be supplied since their appointment is confirmed and this is when the charging units 806 are available) from within a range of times (see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “database 1006 indicates a charging unit 806 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle. An appointment controller 1008 generates a listing of possible appointment times for a charging unit 806”, *Examiner interprets the times indicated by the database to be the range of times) by which the vehicle of the user can arrive at the position specified by the user (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “the MEC matches up and tags several mStations 202 a whose operating areas coincide with the driver's planned travel route and times (“Trip Plan”) as submitted by the driver” and see at least para. [0051] of Goei which discloses “When a Trip Plan has been scheduled by RTP 504, at appropriate times the Mobile Operator Dispatch (“MOD”) Controller Module 520 will dispatch the appropriate mOperator(s) with the appropriate mStation 408 to rendezvous at the same anticipated time, or close thereto with the driver through a dispatch function 522” and see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “The appointment database 1006 indicates a charging unit 806 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle. An appointment controller 1008 generates a listing of possible appointment times for a charging unit 806 to the mobile device application 808 responsive to a user request and receives and stores a user selection for a particular appointment time for a charging unit 806 that a driver has selected”), determine the position at which power can be supplied at the time specified by the user from within a range of positions at which the vehicle of the user can arrive by the time specified by the user (see at least para. [0053] of Goei which discloses “The MEC 402 tracks the positions of all the drivers, vendors and mOperators via their respective mobile apps 404, dApp, vApp and mApp, and AI 502 uses the position data to correlate and synchronize all the parties involved in any specific rendezvous” and see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “The charging control server 804 matches the vehicle to one or more appropriate vehicle chargers 806 at step 904 responsive to the position of the vehicle and the type of charger required to charge the vehicle”), and in a case in which there is no time at which power can be supplied at the position specified by the user, or in a case in which there is no position at which power can be supplied at the time specified by the user, notify the user of information identifying a reason why power cannot be supplied (see at least para. [0041] of Goei which discloses “the MEC 102 will alert the errant party and provide instructions to come back into compliance with the time window or risk having the rendezvous reservation cancelled”, *Examiner interprets the provided instructions as a reason of why power may no longer be supplied since MEC will send an alert that the risk of termination is present if the user remains out of compliance. And see Fig. 21 and see at least para. [0111] of Goei which discloses “Once the scheduled charging unit session is nearing termination, the user and vendor are alerted at step 2124. The user may be given an opportunity to extend the charging session at step 2126 provided that no other bookings for the charging unit 1614 have been scheduled. In the event that the specific charging unit 1614 has been pre-scheduled by another user, the system may offer the current user a different charging unit that is available on premise. The system or vendor also has the ability to re-assign a different charging unit 1614 to the next scheduled user whereby the current user of a charging unit may extend his charging time or use of the vendor's facilities for perhaps an additional fee”).
Regarding claim 4, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 5, 502 and see at lest para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] of Goei discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to calculate a range that includes a route traveled (see at least para. [0092] of Goei which discloses “Trip planning controller 1710 enables a user to interact with the central device charger controller 1612 through their mobile application 1616 to plan a trip between locations and locate charging units 1614 located in close proximity to the trip route”, *Examiner interprets the trip planning controller 1710 to be one of the control modules managed by the controller module 502 and Examiner interprets the trip between locations to be the range including the route traveled) by the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0053] of Goei which discloses “an EV 406 has to recharge its batteries several times along the way. MEC 402 with AI 502 and other modules can analyze the trip plan route and propose optimum recharge locations and times along the route”, *Examiner also interprets this to also be a route traveled by the vehicle) while a state of charge of a battery (see at least para. [0038] of Goei which discloses “service operations for the transportation of vehicles that may have stalled on the roadway, is inoperable due to a depleted battery, and/or have run out of fuel, and in the case of EVs 206, one that has a low battery charge”, *Examiner interprets this to be an indication of a state of charge of a battery. Also, see at least para. [0095] of Goei which discloses “Battery management controller 1808 makes calculations and determinations with respect to a user current battery charge”) in the vehicle of the user is below a charge threshold (see at least para. [0038] of Goei which discloses “a depleted battery … EVs 206, one that has a low battery charge”, *Examiner interprets this low battery charge to be below a charge threshold and see at least para. [0052] of Goei which discloses “EV 406 designs usually differ in make and model of EVs as each may be equipped with different battery technology, different charging mechanisms and battery management systems, capacity, etc. Thus, each EV 406 has a charging protocol that may differ from one another such as in the charging rate, ambient temperature, etc. The EVCS controller module 526 in conjunction with the AI module 502 controls these protocols”, *Examiner interprets this to mean the controller can manage/calculate a range including a traveled route while vehicle battery charge is below a certain threshold) as a recommended power supply range (see at least para. [0069] of Goei which discloses “the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power”), notify the user of the recommended power supply range and a time at which power can be supplied in the recommended power supply range (see at least para. [0069] of Goei which discloses “The database 1002 may also store information related to the registered electric vehicle such as the last time the electric vehicle was charged, the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power“, *Examiner interprets this a notifying the user of power supply range and time at which power can be supplied), and accept a position specified by the user (see at least para. [0034] of Goei which describes “a pre-arranged location for a charging session”, *Examiner interprets this to be the position specified by the user) from within the recommended power supply range and accept a time (see at least para. [0043] of Goei which discloses “The administrator can set parameters governing the rendezvous such as the allowable time for deviation from the reserved rendezvous time”) specified by the user (see at least para. [0064] of Goei which discloses “the user to make reservations and find information with respect to the variety of charging hubs 706 that are a part of the charging management system 702”, *Examiner interprets reservations and information to be the specified conditions including the time specified by user and also see at least para. [0034] of Goei which discloses “the deployment and use of chargers that are incorporated into a mobile charging platform 104 such as a truck or van, or a container module that can be transported, and which can then be dispatched on an “as-needed” basis to meet a requesting driver of an electric vehicle 106 (“EV”) at a pre-arranged location for a charging session”, *Examiner interprets the as-needed basis to be a time specified by user) from within the time at which power can be supplied in the recommended power supply range (see at least para. [0072] of Goei which discloses “The vehicle status controller 1016 can monitor the links of a charge and monitor for conditions indicating that ceasing of the battery charge is necessary due to completion of charging or problem issues requiring ceasing of battery charge”, *Examiner interprets these conditions to be the power supply range and see at least para. [0099] of Goei which discloses “The central control module 1910 provides a range of battery charging management and control protocols and functionalities for regulating the charging process”, *Examiner interprets this battery charging management to also be the power supply range).
Regarding claim 5, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 5, 502 and see at lest para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] of Goei discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to calculate a range that includes a route traveled (see at least para. [0092] of Goei which discloses “Trip planning controller 1710 enables a user to interact with the central device charger controller 1612 through their mobile application 1616 to plan a trip between locations and locate charging units 1614 located in close proximity to the trip route”, *Examiner interprets the trip planning controller 1710 to be one of the control modules managed by the controller module 502 and Examiner interprets the trip between locations to be the range including the route traveled) by the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0053] of Goei which discloses “an EV 406 has to recharge its batteries several times along the way. MEC 402 with AI 502 and other modules can analyze the trip plan route and propose optimum recharge locations and times along the route”, *Examiner also interprets this to also be a route traveled by the vehicle) while a state of charge of a battery (see at least para. [0038] of Goei which discloses “service operations for the transportation of vehicles that may have stalled on the roadway, is inoperable due to a depleted battery, and/or have run out of fuel, and in the case of EVs 206, one that has a low battery charge”, *Examiner interprets this to be an indication of a state of charge of a battery. Also, see at least para. [0095] of Goei which discloses “Battery management controller 1808 makes calculations and determinations with respect to a user current battery charge”) in the vehicle of the user is below a charge threshold (see at least para. [0038] of Goei which discloses “a depleted battery … EVs 206, one that has a low battery charge”, *Examiner interprets this low battery charge to be below a charge threshold and see at least para. [0052] of Goei which discloses “EV 406 designs usually differ in make and model of EVs as each may be equipped with different battery technology, different charging mechanisms and battery management systems, capacity, etc. Thus, each EV 406 has a charging protocol that may differ from one another such as in the charging rate, ambient temperature, etc. The EVCS controller module 526 in conjunction with the AI module 502 controls these protocols”, *Examiner interprets this to mean the controller can manage/calculate a range including a traveled route while vehicle battery charge is below a certain threshold) as a recommended power supply range (see at least para. [0069] of Goei which discloses “the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power”), notify the user of the recommended power supply range and a time at which power can be supplied in the recommended power supply range (see at least para. [0069] of Goei which discloses “The database 1002 may also store information related to the registered electric vehicle such as the last time the electric vehicle was charged, the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power“, *Examiner interprets this a notifying the user of power supply range and time at which power can be supplied), and accept a position specified by the user (see at least para. [0034] of Goei which describes “a pre-arranged location for a charging session”, *Examiner interprets this to be the position specified by the user) from within the recommended power supply range and accept a time (see at least para. [0043] of Goei which discloses “The administrator can set parameters governing the rendezvous such as the allowable time for deviation from the reserved rendezvous time”) specified by the user (see at least para. [0064] of Goei which discloses “the user to make reservations and find information with respect to the variety of charging hubs 706 that are a part of the charging management system 702”, *Examiner interprets reservations and information to be the specified conditions including the time specified by user and also see at least para. [0034] of Goei which discloses “the deployment and use of chargers that are incorporated into a mobile charging platform 104 such as a truck or van, or a container module that can be transported, and which can then be dispatched on an “as-needed” basis to meet a requesting driver of an electric vehicle 106 (“EV”) at a pre-arranged location for a charging session”, *Examiner interprets the as-needed basis to be a time specified by user) from within the time at which power can be supplied in the recommended power supply range (see at least para. [0072] of Goei which discloses “The vehicle status controller 1016 can monitor the links of a charge and monitor for conditions indicating that ceasing of the battery charge is necessary due to completion of charging or problem issues requiring ceasing of battery charge”, *Examiner interprets these conditions to be the power supply range and see at least para. [0099] of Goei which discloses “The central control module 1910 provides a range of battery charging management and control protocols and functionalities for regulating the charging process”, *Examiner interprets this battery charging management to also be the power supply range).
Regarding claim 6, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 5, 502 and see at lest para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] of Goei discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to calculate a range that includes a route traveled (see at least para. [0092] of Goei which discloses “Trip planning controller 1710 enables a user to interact with the central device charger controller 1612 through their mobile application 1616 to plan a trip between locations and locate charging units 1614 located in close proximity to the trip route”, *Examiner interprets the trip planning controller 1710 to be one of the control modules managed by the controller module 502 and Examiner interprets the trip between locations to be the range including the route traveled) by the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0053] of Goei which discloses “an EV 406 has to recharge its batteries several times along the way. MEC 402 with AI 502 and other modules can analyze the trip plan route and propose optimum recharge locations and times along the route”, *Examiner also interprets this to also be a route traveled by the vehicle) while a state of charge of a battery (see at least para. [0038] of Goei which discloses “service operations for the transportation of vehicles that may have stalled on the roadway, is inoperable due to a depleted battery, and/or have run out of fuel, and in the case of EVs 206, one that has a low battery charge”, *Examiner interprets this to be an indication of a state of charge of a battery. Also, see at least para. [0095] of Goei which discloses “Battery management controller 1808 makes calculations and determinations with respect to a user current battery charge”) in the vehicle of the user is below a charge threshold (see at least para. [0038] of Goei which discloses “a depleted battery … EVs 206, one that has a low battery charge”, *Examiner interprets this low battery charge to be below a charge threshold and see at least para. [0052] of Goei which discloses “EV 406 designs usually differ in make and model of EVs as each may be equipped with different battery technology, different charging mechanisms and battery management systems, capacity, etc. Thus, each EV 406 has a charging protocol that may differ from one another such as in the charging rate, ambient temperature, etc. The EVCS controller module 526 in conjunction with the AI module 502 controls these protocols”, *Examiner interprets this to mean the controller can manage/calculate a range including a traveled route while vehicle battery charge is below a certain threshold) as a recommended power supply range (see at least para. [0069] of Goei which discloses “the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power”), notify the user of the recommended power supply range and a time at which power can be supplied in the recommended power supply range (see at least para. [0069] of Goei which discloses “The database 1002 may also store information related to the registered electric vehicle such as the last time the electric vehicle was charged, the state of charge to enable the system to estimate the battery exhaustion time and recommended charging locations that an electric vehicle could reach before running out of power“, *Examiner interprets this a notifying the user of power supply range and time at which power can be supplied), and accept a position specified by the user (see at least para. [0034] of Goei which describes “a pre-arranged location for a charging session”, *Examiner interprets this to be the position specified by the user) from within the recommended power supply range and accept a time (see at least para. [0043] of Goei which discloses “The administrator can set parameters governing the rendezvous such as the allowable time for deviation from the reserved rendezvous time”) specified by the user (see at least para. [0064] which discloses “the user to make reservations and find information with respect to the variety of charging hubs 706 that are a part of the charging management system 702”, *Examiner interprets reservations and information to be the specified conditions including the time specified by user and also see at least para. [0034] of Goei which discloses “the deployment and use of chargers that are incorporated into a mobile charging platform 104 such as a truck or van, or a container module that can be transported, and which can then be dispatched on an “as-needed” basis to meet a requesting driver of an electric vehicle 106 (“EV”) at a pre-arranged location for a charging session”, *Examiner interprets the as-needed basis to be a time specified by user) from within the time at which power can be supplied in the recommended power supply range (see at least para. [0072] of Goei which discloses “The vehicle status controller 1016 can monitor the links of a charge and monitor for conditions indicating that ceasing of the battery charge is necessary due to completion of charging or problem issues requiring ceasing of battery charge”, *Examiner interprets these conditions to be the power supply range and see at least para. [0099] of Goei which discloses “The central control module 1910 provides a range of battery charging management and control protocols and functionalities for regulating the charging process”, *Examiner interprets this battery charging management to also be the power supply range).
Regarding claim 7, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 10, 804 of Goei discloses a “central controller” and see para. [0076] of Goei discloses “central controller 804 for storage within the various databases” and see Fig. 5, 502 and see at least para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to determine a position (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses a “controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location…position data received”, *Examiner interprets this meeting location and the received position data to be a position determined by the controller and see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “control server 804 matches the vehicle to one or more appropriate vehicle chargers 806 at step 904 responsive to the position of the vehicle“) or a time at which the power supply vehicle can supply power to the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses “A database stores mobile charging platform data and electric vehicle data. An artificial intelligence controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location between the mobile charging platform and the electric vehicle responsive to first position data received from the mobile charging platform application, second position data received from the electric vehicle, the mobile charging platform data and the electric vehicle data“ and see at least para. [0070] which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments“, *Examiner interprets the appointments to be a time at which power can be supplied) based on a database (Fig. 5, 512, Fig. 10, 1002 and 1006) that includes positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation (see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808and see at least para. [0069] which discloses “a charging apparatus database 1002 that includes all of the electrical vehicle charging units 806 that have registered with the system for providing charging locations for electric vehicles. The database 1002 includes information such as number of charging ports and the types of electric vehicles for which the charging units 806 may be used. Databases within the charging controller server 804 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 806 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 1004”), or positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation (see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments that are made by vehicle drivers with respect to particular charging units 806. The appointment database 1006 indicates a charging unit 806 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle. An appointment controller 1008 generates a listing of possible appointment times for a charging unit 806 to the mobile device application 808 responsive to a user request and receives and stores a user selection for a particular appointment time for a charging unit 806 that a driver has selected”, *Examiner interprets the times when the changing unit is not presently scheduled to be time when the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation. Additionally, see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required, i.e., positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation).
Regarding claim 8, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 10, 804 of Goei discloses a “central controller” and see para. [0076] of Goei discloses “central controller 804 for storage within the various databases” and see Fig. 5, 502 and see at least para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] of Goei discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to determine a position (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses a “controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location…position data received”, *Examiner interprets this meeting location and the received position data to be a position determined by the controller and see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “control server 804 matches the vehicle to one or more appropriate vehicle chargers 806 at step 904 responsive to the position of the vehicle“) or a time at which the power supply vehicle can supply power to the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses “A database stores mobile charging platform data and electric vehicle data. An artificial intelligence controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location between the mobile charging platform and the electric vehicle responsive to first position data received from the mobile charging platform application, second position data received from the electric vehicle, the mobile charging platform data and the electric vehicle data“ and see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments“, *Examiner interprets the appointments to be a time at which power can be supplied) based on a database (Fig. 5, 512, Fig. 10, 1002 and 1006) that includes positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation (see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808and see at least para. [0069] which discloses “a charging apparatus database 1002 that includes all of the electrical vehicle charging units 806 that have registered with the system for providing charging locations for electric vehicles. The database 1002 includes information such as number of charging ports and the types of electric vehicles for which the charging units 806 may be used. Databases within the charging controller server 804 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 806 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 1004”), or positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation (see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments that are made by vehicle drivers with respect to particular charging units 806. The appointment database 1006 indicates a charging unit 806 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle. An appointment controller 1008 generates a listing of possible appointment times for a charging unit 806 to the mobile device application 808 responsive to a user request and receives and stores a user selection for a particular appointment time for a charging unit 806 that a driver has selected”, *Examiner interprets the times when the changing unit is not presently scheduled to be time when the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation. Additionally, see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required, i.e., positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation).
Regarding claim 9, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 10, 804 of Goei discloses a “central controller” and see para. [0076] of Goei discloses “central controller 804 for storage within the various databases” and see Fig. 5, 502 and see at least para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] of Goei discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to determine a position (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses a “controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location…position data received”, *Examiner interprets this meeting location and the received position data to be a position determined by the controller and see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “control server 804 matches the vehicle to one or more appropriate vehicle chargers 806 at step 904 responsive to the position of the vehicle“) or a time at which the power supply vehicle can supply power to the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses “A database stores mobile charging platform data and electric vehicle data. An artificial intelligence controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location between the mobile charging platform and the electric vehicle responsive to first position data received from the mobile charging platform application, second position data received from the electric vehicle, the mobile charging platform data and the electric vehicle data“ and see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments“, *Examiner interprets the appointments to be a time at which power can be supplied) based on a database (Fig. 5, 512, Fig. 10, 1002 and 1006) that includes positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation (see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808and see at least para. [0069] of Goei which discloses “a charging apparatus database 1002 that includes all of the electrical vehicle charging units 806 that have registered with the system for providing charging locations for electric vehicles. The database 1002 includes information such as number of charging ports and the types of electric vehicles for which the charging units 806 may be used. Databases within the charging controller server 804 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 806 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 1004”), or positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation (see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments that are made by vehicle drivers with respect to particular charging units 806. The appointment database 1006 indicates a charging unit 806 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle. An appointment controller 1008 generates a listing of possible appointment times for a charging unit 806 to the mobile device application 808 responsive to a user request and receives and stores a user selection for a particular appointment time for a charging unit 806 that a driver has selected”, *Examiner interprets the times when the changing unit is not presently scheduled to be time when the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation. Additionally, see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required, i.e., positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation).
Regarding claim 10, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 10, 804 of Goei discloses a “central controller” and see para. [0076] of Goei discloses “central controller 804 for storage within the various databases” and see Fig. 5, 502 and see at least para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to determine a position (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses a “controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location…position data received”, *Examiner interprets this meeting location and the received position data to be a position determined by the controller and see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “control server 804 matches the vehicle to one or more appropriate vehicle chargers 806 at step 904 responsive to the position of the vehicle“) or a time at which the power supply vehicle can supply power to the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses “A database stores mobile charging platform data and electric vehicle data. An artificial intelligence controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location between the mobile charging platform and the electric vehicle responsive to first position data received from the mobile charging platform application, second position data received from the electric vehicle, the mobile charging platform data and the electric vehicle data“ and see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments“, *Examiner interprets the appointments to be a time at which power can be supplied) based on a database (Fig. 5, 512, Fig. 10, 1002 and 1006) that includes positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation (see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808and see at least para. [0069] which discloses “a charging apparatus database 1002 that includes all of the electrical vehicle charging units 806 that have registered with the system for providing charging locations for electric vehicles. The database 1002 includes information such as number of charging ports and the types of electric vehicles for which the charging units 806 may be used. Databases within the charging controller server 804 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 806 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 1004”), or positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation (see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments that are made by vehicle drivers with respect to particular charging units 806. The appointment database 1006 indicates a charging unit 806 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle. An appointment controller 1008 generates a listing of possible appointment times for a charging unit 806 to the mobile device application 808 responsive to a user request and receives and stores a user selection for a particular appointment time for a charging unit 806 that a driver has selected”, *Examiner interprets the times when the changing unit is not presently scheduled to be time when the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation. Additionally, see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required, i.e., positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation).
Regarding claim 11, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 10, 804 of Goei discloses a “central controller” and see para. [0076] of Goei discloses “central controller 804 for storage within the various databases” and see Fig. 5, 502 and see at least para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] of Goei discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to determine a position (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses a “controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location…position data received”, *Examiner interprets this meeting location and the received position data to be a position determined by the controller and see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “control server 804 matches the vehicle to one or more appropriate vehicle chargers 806 at step 904 responsive to the position of the vehicle“) or a time at which the power supply vehicle can supply power to the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses “A database stores mobile charging platform data and electric vehicle data. An artificial intelligence controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location between the mobile charging platform and the electric vehicle responsive to first position data received from the mobile charging platform application, second position data received from the electric vehicle, the mobile charging platform data and the electric vehicle data“ and see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments“, *Examiner interprets the appointments to be a time at which power can be supplied) based on a database (Fig. 5, 512, Fig. 10, 1002 and 1006) that includes positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation (see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808and see at least para. [0069] of Goei which discloses “a charging apparatus database 1002 that includes all of the electrical vehicle charging units 806 that have registered with the system for providing charging locations for electric vehicles. The database 1002 includes information such as number of charging ports and the types of electric vehicles for which the charging units 806 may be used. Databases within the charging controller server 804 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 806 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 1004”), or positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation (see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments that are made by vehicle drivers with respect to particular charging units 806. The appointment database 1006 indicates a charging unit 806 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle. An appointment controller 1008 generates a listing of possible appointment times for a charging unit 806 to the mobile device application 808 responsive to a user request and receives and stores a user selection for a particular appointment time for a charging unit 806 that a driver has selected”, *Examiner interprets the times when the changing unit is not presently scheduled to be time when the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation. Additionally, see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required, i.e., positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation).
Regarding claim 12, Goei, as modified by Margines discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 10, 804 of Goei discloses a “central controller” and see para. [0076] of Goei discloses “central controller 804 for storage within the various databases” and see Fig. 5, 502 and see at least para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”, *Examiner notes that para. [0065] discloses “an electric vehicle charging control server 804 that controls and manages all system operations enabling user devices to make reservations, connect with and control charging with a variety of electrical vehicle chargers 806” and this is control server 804 is also interpreted to be a controller) is configured to determine a position (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses a “controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location…position data received”, *Examiner interprets this meeting location and the received position data to be a position determined by the controller and see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “control server 804 matches the vehicle to one or more appropriate vehicle chargers 806 at step 904 responsive to the position of the vehicle“) or a time at which the power supply vehicle can supply power to the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0004] of Goei which discloses “A database stores mobile charging platform data and electric vehicle data. An artificial intelligence controller generates the control data to schedule the meeting location between the mobile charging platform and the electric vehicle responsive to first position data received from the mobile charging platform application, second position data received from the electric vehicle, the mobile charging platform data and the electric vehicle data“ and see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments“, *Examiner interprets the appointments to be a time at which power can be supplied) based on a database (Fig. 5, 512, Fig. 10, 1002 and 1006) that includes positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation (see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808 and see at least para. [0069] of Goei which discloses “a charging apparatus database 1002 that includes all of the electrical vehicle charging units 806 that have registered with the system for providing charging locations for electric vehicles. The database 1002 includes information such as number of charging ports and the types of electric vehicles for which the charging units 806 may be used. Databases within the charging controller server 804 comprise databases that provide data for performing complex real-time matching of the location of an electric vehicle on the road and searching for a charging unit 806 to determine the charging unit that is closest to the vehicle using the charger locator controller 1004”), or positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation (see at least para. [0070] of Goei which discloses “An appointment database 1006 stores information for charging appointments that are made by vehicle drivers with respect to particular charging units 806. The appointment database 1006 indicates a charging unit 806 and times that the charging unit is presently scheduled to be charging a particular vehicle. An appointment controller 1008 generates a listing of possible appointment times for a charging unit 806 to the mobile device application 808 responsive to a user request and receives and stores a user selection for a particular appointment time for a charging unit 806 that a driver has selected”, *Examiner interprets the times when the changing unit is not presently scheduled to be time when the power supply vehicle was unable to perform the power supply operation. Additionally, see at least para. [0067] of Goei which discloses “the availability of the located chargers 806 is determined at step 906 to determine which of the chargers is available for charging of the vehicle. The time availability may be based upon a requested time or a projected time based upon the travel plan. Upon confirmation of the availability of the charging units 806, the user is to select one of the available charging units 806 and an appointment with the specific charging unit 806 is made by the charging control server 804, and the driver is notified of this appointment through their mobile application 808”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required, i.e., positions or times at which the power supply vehicle was able to perform a power supply operation).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Goei discloses A management apparatus (see at
least para. [0049] of Goei which describes an apparatus that “The artificial intelligence (AI) controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“) comprising a controller (Fig. 5, 502 and see at least para. [0049] of Goei which discloses “controller module 502 is the brains of the entire MEC system 402 and manages several control modules“ and see at least para. [0047] of Goei which discloses “controllers will be used to manage the distribution of electricity drawn by multiple EVs 406 from the multiple chargers” and see at least para. [0048] of Goei which discloses “The mobile EV charging system or MEC 402 as defined earlier and is comprised of many controller modules of hardware and software elements, and combinations thereof that perform specific functions”)configured to manage a power supply vehicle (Fig. 3, 202 and Fig. 1, 102 and see at least para. [0037] of Goei which discloses “a mobile EV charging station 202. Mobile stations (“mStations(s)”) 202 consist of vehicles or transportable platforms/containers that are equipped with chargers 302“, *Examiner considers mStation 202 to be the power supply vehicle. Also, see at least para. [0034] of Goei which discloses “the system described herein is a mobile EV charging system 102 (“MEC”) for the reservation of, and the deployment and use of chargers that are incorporated into a mobile charging platform 104 such as a truck or van, or a container module that can be transported” and see at least para. [0047] of Goei which discloses “an mStation carries multiple chargers 302”), wherein the controller is configured to acquire, via a terminal apparatus (Fig. 8, 808 and Fig. 4, 404a and see at least para. [0065] of Goei which discloses “The electric vehicle users are able to interact with the system 802 using a mobile device application 808 installed, for example, on their smartphone” and see at least para. [0050] of Goei which discloses “upon logging into his dApp 404 a, a driver may specify the start and end points of a trip he is planning with stops along the way to visit a place or places of interest. The dApp 404a requires the driver to activate his GPS function 506 on his phone”, *Examiner interprets the dApp/mobile application 808 (404a) to correspond to the terminal apparatus used by the user (driver 406) since it is the user-facing device that transmits specified conditions to and receives notifications from the management apparatus/controller) used by a user (Fig. 4, 406 and see at least para. [0052] of Goei which discloses “the driver's EV 406”), specified conditions that include a position specified by the user (see at least para. [0050] of Goei which discloses “upon logging into his dApp 404 a, a driver may specify the start and end points of a trip he is planning with stops along the way to visit a place or places of interest. The dApp 404 a requires the driver to activate his GPS function 506 on his phone”, *Examiner interprets the driver’s specification of trip start/end points and stops, via the dApp, as the specified position) and a time specified by the user (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “a driver submits a routing plan via a driver mobile app (“dApp”) 108 a that is connected to MEC 102 via an Internet cloud (the “Cloud”) or other wireless communications network/environment, the MEC matches up and tags several mStations 202 a whose operating areas coincide with the driver's planned travel route and times (“Trip Plan”) as submitted by the driver”, *Examiner interprets the time submitted by the driver as part of the Trip Plan, via the dApp, as the time specified by the user). Goei does disclose a map (Fig. 5, 536 and see at least para. [0053] of Goei which describes “a real-time map 536”) of an area where the power supply vehicle can supply power to a vehicle of the user under the specified conditions (see at least para. [0053] of Goei which discloses “MEC 402 maintains a real-time map 536 of all EV charging locations along the route that can be readily accessed by the driver” and see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “the MEC matches up and tags several mStations 202a whose operating areas coincide with the driver's planned travel route and times”, *Examiner interprets the operating areas of MSTations 202a matched to the driver’s Trip Plan (i.e., the driver’s
specified route and times) as the claimed area where the power supply vehicle can supply power under the specified conditions). Goei also discloses information corresponding to being in an area where the power supply vehicle cannot supply power to the vehicle of the user under the specified conditions (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “the MEC matches up and tags several mStations 202 a whose operating areas coincide with the driver's planned travel route and times (“Trip Plan”) as submitted by the driver. Any mStation 202 b that is not within a defined range will be excluded from bidding to accept the requested reservation”, *Examiner interprets mStations excluded for falling outside the defined range relative to the driver’s specified Trip Plan as corresponding to a position where the power supply vehicle cannot supply power under the specified conditions), within the area where the power supply vehicle can supply power, a first area surrounded by the area where the power supply vehicle can supply power (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “the MEC matches up and tags several mStations 202 a whose operating areas coincide with the driver's planned travel route and times”, *Examiner interprets the operating areas of MSTations 202a matched to the driver’s Trip Plan (i.e., the driver’s specified route and times) as the claimed area where the power supply vehicle can supply power within a certain area, i.e., an operating area which may be surrounded by the broader area in which the power supply vehicle can supply power), accept a reservation (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which describes “accept the requested reservation … Various protocols may be set by the administrator of MEC 102 (the “Administrator”) which governs the reservation and fulfillment process”, *Examiner interprets governing the reservation to include the operation of accepting a reservation) for the power supply vehicle to supply power to the vehicle of the user (see at least para. [0034] of Goei which discloses “a mobile EV charging system 102 (“MEC”) for the reservation of, and the deployment and use of chargers that are incorporated into a mobile charging platform 104 such as a truck or van, or a container module that can be transported, and which can then be dispatched on an “as-needed” basis to meet a requesting driver of an electric vehicle 106 (“EV”) at a pre-arranged location for a charging session” and see at least para. [0044] which discloses “A driver 406 initiates a request for a charge reservation session via his dApp 404 a which is connected to the MEC 402 via the cloud 416 ranging from a one-time charge near his current location to a series of charges at different locations according to a Trip Plan”), and control the power supply vehicle to autonomously drive, at the time specified of the specified condition, to the position specified of the specified condition (see at least para. [0034] of Goei which discloses “a mobile EV charging system 102 (“MEC”) for the reservation of, and the deployment and use of chargers that are incorporated into a mobile charging platform 104 such as a truck or van, or a container module that can be transported, and which can then be dispatched on an “as-needed” basis to meet a requesting driver of an electric vehicle 106 (“EV”) at a pre-arranged location for a charging session” and see at least para. [0039] of Goei which discloses “these options will be automatically assessed and initiated by MEC 102 and matched to the requesting driver's criteria and the appropriate mStation 202 will be dispatched at the appropriate time to rendezvous with the driver” and see at least para. [0058] of Goei which discloses “The Autonomous Vehicle Control (“AVC”) Controller Module 550 handles interactions and control of autonomous, self-driving mStations in the MEC system 402. As standards and protocols evolve, MEC 402 and AVC 550 will adapt. AVC 550 in conjunction with the AI 502 module and other modules will interact with autonomous mABStations to engage them in rendezvous with drivers”).
Goei may not explicitly disclose that this area information is output as a first display, on a
map displayed by the terminal apparatus.
However, Margines discloses an output as a first display, on a map displayed by the
terminal apparatus (see at least para. [0062] of Margines which discloses “The first portion of the map information may then be sent to the user's client computing device for display to the user. Returning to FIG. 7, at block 750, the first portion of the map information is provided to the client computing device for display to a user such that the first portion of the map information represents a currently available service area for the user”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the system of Goei to output a first display on a map displayed by the terminal apparatus, as taught in Margines with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently communicate to the requesting user where the power supply vehicle can service their request under the specified conditions. See para. [0062] of Margines for motivation.
Goei may not explicitly disclose that this area information is output as a second display
different from the first display.
However, Margines discloses an output as a second display different from the first display
(see at least para. [0019] of Margines which discloses “map information which may include various information including data for drawing an image-based map for display or presentation to a user. This data may include the shape and location of roads, areas where the vehicle cannot drive or is directed not to drive, points of interest, predetermined pick up and drop off locations, and any other details that may be useful for drawing a map for display”, *Examiner interprets the disclosed display of areas where the vehicle cannot drive or is directed not to drive, layered together with the service-area map display, as a second display different from the first display of the available service area output on the same map, as broadly as recited). This is further supported by Goei’s disclosure of mSTations excluded from a defined operating range relative to the driver’s Trip Plan (see at least para. [0040] of Goei which discloses “Any mStation 202 b that is not within a defined range will be excluded from bidding to accept the requested reservation”, which when the excluded region collectively spans multiple such mStation positions relative to the driver’s route, corresponds to an area rather than a single position -within or surrounded by the broader operating area where the power supply vehicle can otherwise supply power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify Goei’s system to include area information that is output as a second display different from the first display, as taught by Margines with a reasonable expectation of success since both references address providing map-based information to a user of a dispatched vehicle service and Margines expressly teaches that map information provided for user display includes distinct data representing where the dispatched vehicle cannot operate, with data representing the area where it can operate. See para. [0019] of Margines for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park (US 2013/0342310 A1) a power level detection unit 110 is adapted to detect the power level of the battery mounted on the electric vehicle 100, and can be implemented by a battery voltage/current measurement sensor and a power level calculation algorithm. For example, the battery power level is calculated by measuring the voltage of the battery and applying a prediction model in connection with pre-stored correlation between the voltage and power level. Forbes (US 10,899,235 B2) describes electric vehicle (EV) charging and management including systems and methods for electric vehicle (EV) charging and graphic user interface for consumers with consumer profiles and EV point of sale terminal profiles. Methods for consumer guidance and controls are provided, and coupled with graphic user interfaces for mobile applications, websites, and electric vehicle point of sale terminals.
Conclusion
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/August 17, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662