DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 October 2023 was filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 2-4: “shaping a coil structure from an elongate conductor;
shaping an antenna for the MRT measurement from the coil structure;
introducing the antenna into a cavity mold” should read:
-- shaping an elongate conductor to form a coil structure;
shaping the coil structure to form an antenna for the MRT measurement;
wherein shaping the coil structure comprises, introducing the antenna into a cavity mold --
In claim 1, line 6: “by liquid plastic material” should read: -- by the liquid plastic material --
In claim 1, line 7: “a liquid plastic material” should read: -- the liquid plastic material --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation in lines 7-8, “shaping the local coil by filling the cavity mold with a liquid plastic material and curing the plastic material” is confusing because, it is unclear how shaping a local coil manifests by filling the cavity mold with a liquid plastic material and curing. Would the recited shaping be established only after molding or the like? See, line 4 recites “introducing the antenna into a cavity mold”. Also, see the claim objections. As best understood, it appears that the limitation actually intends that “filling the cavity mold with the liquid plastic material, and molding by curing the liquid plastic material that forms the local coil”, or the like, unless otherwise defined the term “shaping”.
Claims 2-20 depend on claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20180097274) in view of Ludwig (DE 102014220116).
[AltContent: textbox (antenna)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (cavity mold)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figs. 2 and 3, Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches, a method for producing a local coil (RF coil 100, Figs. 1 to 7b, RF coil may be a shoulder coil, a head coil, a wrist coil, a knee coil, or an ankle coil, etc., para. [0032], in which, the RF coil 100 is a local coil) for an MRT measurement (see Abstract), comprising:
shaping a coil structure (see antenna circuit 110 in Fig. 1, step 10, the flexible antenna circuit 110 may first be designed to have a flattenable shape, corresponding to a human body part under examination, of the RF coil, and then the flexible antenna circuit 110 may be bent into the desired shape para. [0038-0039]);
shaping an antenna (antenna circuit 110, Fig. 2) for the MRT measurement (see Abstract) from the coil structure (step 20, fixing the flexible antenna circuit 110, which has been bent into the desired shape, to a support 120. The flexible antenna circuit 110 and support 120 form a flexible coil framework 130, para. [0040]);
introducing the antenna into a cavity mold (mold 140, Fig. 3, step 30, fixing the flexible antenna circuit 110 and the support 120 together (i.e. fixing the flexible coil framework 130) in an elastic macromolecular material mold 140, para. [0041]) that is designed to receive a liquid plastic material (mold 140 comprises an upper mold 141 and a lower mold 142…elastic macromolecular material is injected into a cavity 143, para. [0041-0042]), wherein the antenna is arranged in the cavity mold in such a way that it is at least partially encapsulatable by liquid plastic material (see Figs. 3 and 4);
shaping the local coil by filling the cavity mold with a liquid plastic material and curing the plastic material (elastic macromolecular material is injected into a cavity 143 of the elastic macromolecular material mold 140, such that the elastic macromolecular material encloses the flexible antenna circuit 110 and support 120, and the elastic macromolecular material thereby forms a one-piece flexible casing, para. [0042]).
[AltContent: textbox (conductor)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 1a, Ludwig.
Chen does not explicitly teach, shaping a coil structure from an elongated conductor. However, Ludwig teaches, a method of producing a local coil (RF coil 1, see annotated Fig. 1a) for an MRT measurement (see Abstract), comprising shaping a coil structure from an elongated conductor (RF coil for MR measurements on a target volume in an oral region of an object…, wherein the coil comprises a coil conductor forming a resonant circuit, para. [0001, 0005], …an RF coil 1 according to the invention with a coil conductor made of copper wire, para. [0052]); and shaping the local coil by filling the cavity mold with a liquid plastic material and curing the plastic material (coating with a malleable mass 11 surrounding the coil 1, Figs. 3a, 4b and 4c, para. [0049]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ludwig, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement of Chen and to shape an elongated conductor to form a coil structure as Ludwig taught in Fig. 1a so that it enables forming curved coil conductors to a desired shape such as adaptable to a tooth or jaw arch in the mouth as Ludwig disclosed in para. [0023]. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in shaping the coil structure; or shaping an antenna. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chen further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the shaping of the antenna comprises: combining the antenna with a design mold, which is the cavity mold, by joining the antenna to the design mold (fixing the flexible antenna circuit 110 and the support 120 together in an elastic macromolecular material mold 140. As shown in FIG. 3, a demonstrative elastic macromolecular material mold 140 comprises an upper mold 141 and a lower mold 142…the elastic macromolecular material thereby forms a one-piece flexible casing, para. [0041-0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Chen further teaches, the method of claim 2, wherein the shaping of the antenna comprises: plastically deforming the design mold by compression molding with a heat application (a casing of the coil is generally made of an elastic macromolecular material; a flexible antenna circuit is joined to the elastic macromolecular material by hot pressing, para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chen further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the conductor is a wire, a flexible lead (RF coils may be classified, according to structural form, as rigid coils, flexible coils, and combined rigid/flexible coils, para. [0028]), or a conductor track on a substrate material and/or the coil structure is formed from a continuous conductor.
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chen further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the coil structure comprises a plurality of conductors (see Fig. 1) that form a plurality of independent and electrically isolated antenna elements (see Fig. 2, flexible antenna circuit 110 may first be designed to have a flattenable shape.. of the RF coil 100, and then be bent into a desired shape, para. [0034])
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chen further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the local coil is shaped using an injection molding process (the flexible casing is made by an injection molding method, para. [0036], injecting an elastic macromolecular material into the elastic macromolecular material mold, para. [0012]), a casting process, a foaming process, or a dip molding process.
Regarding claim 7, Chen does not teach the recited limitations with respect to claim 7. However, Ludwig further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the antenna is shaped and introduced into the cavity mold such that: endpieces of the conductor protrude from the cavity mold and are not encased by plastic material during the shaping of the local coil (see retrieval leads 16, Fig. 4c), the antenna forms an inductance that is inductively connectable to an external inductance (RF coil can be inductively coupled to a receiving coil of an evaluation unit for further signal processing, para. [0009, 0013]), and the antenna forms an electrode that is usable according to its intended purpose for capacitive coupling to an external electrode (the ends of the coil conductor are connected by a capacitor, after positioning the RF coil in the mouth, the capacitor can be adjusted to make the coil resonant. The access to the capacitor can then be closed and the measurement can be carried out, para. 0049]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ludwig, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement of Chen and to shape an elongated conductor to form a coil structure as Ludwig taught in Fig. 1a so that it enables forming adjustable capacitor connections for tuning the coil to a desired frequency.
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 7. Chen further teaches, the method of claim 7, wherein the plastic material or a substrate material of a conductor track of the conductor serves as a dielectric (support 120 is used to support the flexible antenna circuit 110. According to one embodiment of the present invention, the support 120 may be made of plastic or fabric, para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chen further teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising: introducing an insertion element into the cavity mold before it is filled with the plastic material and/or the cavity mold is cast to create a cavity inside the local coil (see the cavity 143 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chen further teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising: repeating a number of times the step of filling the mold with a liquid plastic material such that different plastic layers are superimposed on one another (injecting an elastic macromolecular material into the elastic macromolecular material mold, para. [0012], unless otherwise defined, it is obvious to inject different macromolecular layers as desired).
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chen further teaches, the method of claim 10, further comprising: using a plurality of different plastic materials (support 120 may be made of plastic or fabric…the elastic macromolecular material encloses the flexible antenna circuit 110 and support 120, para. [0040-0042]) possessing different elastic properties in a cured state (plastic, fabric and elastic macromolecular possess different elastic properties).
Regarding claim 15, Chen does not teach, connecting a shortening capacitor. However, Ludwig further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the local coil is produced in such a way that it comprises a shortening capacitor that is designed and connected to the antenna in such a way that the antenna has a predetermined impedance (the capacitor connecting the ends of the coil conductor can be fixed or adjustable with respect to the size of the capacitance value. Preferably the capacitor is short-circuitable, para. [0012]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ludwig, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement of Chen and to shape an elongated conductor to form a coil structure as Ludwig taught in Fig. 1a so that it enables forming adjustable capacitor connections for tuning the coil to a desired frequency.
Regarding claim 16, Chen does not teach, connecting a shortening capacitor. However, Ludwig further teaches, the method of claim 15, wherein the shortening capacitor is integrated into the antenna using a double-sided metallization or is produced using a discrete element (recess is also provided in the casing 11 to ensure access to the capacitor…the capacitor can be adjusted to make the coil resonant, para. [0049], in which the capacitor is a discrete element).
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Ludwig teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Chen further teaches, a local coil shaped using the method of claim 1 (RF coil 100, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Chen does not teach, antenna and the shape of the plastic material for insertion into a body orifice for insertion. However, Ludwig further teaches, the local coil of claim 17, wherein the local coil is embodied with regard to its antenna and the shape of the plastic material for insertion into a body orifice for insertion into an oral cavity (intraoral area, para. [0054, Figs. 2a and 4a to 4c) or for rectal or vaginal insertion or insertion into a blood vessel. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ludwig, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement of Chen and to shape an elongated conductor to form a coil structure as Ludwig taught in Fig. 1a so that it enables an MR measurement on a target volume in an oral region of an object.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ludwig as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ozen (Design of an Intraoral Dipole Antenna for Dental Applications, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING, VOL. 68, NO. 8, AUGUST 2021, one of the prior arts listed in the IDS).
Annotated Fig. 1, Ozen.
Regarding claim 12, modified Chen does not teach, plurality of local coils of the same type. However, Ozen teaches a method of producing a local coil for an MRT measurement, including shaping a coil structure, shaping an antenna, in which, a plurality of local coils of the same type are manufactured in different sizes (3-wire arms, and 3-wire arms with shorted ends, see Figs. 1e and 1f, multi-planar dipoles have additional wires at a distance of 8.6 mm to the central plane, page 2564, col. 2) and at the same time are produced in such a way that they have terminals at different geometric positions (see Figs. 1e and 1f). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ozen, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement of Chen and to include coils of same type have different sizes as Ozen taught in Fig. 1a to 1f so that it enables MR measurements of human subjects having different mandibular size and shape depending on several factors such as age, ethnicity and gender as Ozen disclosed in col. 2, page 2571.
Regarding claim 13, modified Chen does not teach, additional inductance at a point. However, Ozen further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the antenna is produced in such a way that it forms an additional inductance at a point that has little imaging impact (see the ribbon and multiwire conductor sensitivity results in Fig. 1, ribbon and multi-wire conductors result in a wider sensitivity across the dipole arms). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ozen, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement of Chen and to include coils of same type have different sizes as Ozen taught in Fig. 1a to 1f so that it enables MR measurements of human oral cavities and to remove the signals from the surrounding tissues.
Regarding claim 20, modified Chen does not teach, mechanical or electrical structures at its surface formed to serve as triggers for a switch. However, Ozen further teaches, mechanical or electrical structures at its surface formed to serve as triggers for a switch of an MRT interface or as electrical signal contacts (loop coil and dipole antenna were interfaced to a clinical 3T MRI system via a custom made Tx/Rx switch, page 2567, col. 1).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ludwig as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zink (US 20120293176)
[AltContent: textbox (plug-in connection)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 1, Zink.
Regarding claim 18, modified Chen does not teach, a plug that serves to produce a mechanically reinforced plug-in connection. However, Zink teaches, a local coil for an MRT measurement, in which, the local coil of claim 17, further comprising: contacts for electrically contacting with an MRT interface and mechanically retaining structures which, in conjunction with the contacts, are designed to form a plug that serves to produce a mechanically reinforced plug-in connection with the interface (see Figs. 1 and 2, the coil element SP1 is connected to the other coil element SP2 in a rotating manner, para. [0025]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Zink, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement of Chen and to include a plug that serves as a connector as Zink taught in Figs. 1 and 2 connecting coil elements to the other coil elements so that it enables forming a desired coverage while conducing MR measurements as Zink disclosed in para. [0020].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 14 would be allowable for disclosing a method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement, wherein during manufacture of a plurality of local coils of the same type having different sizes, the antennas of the local coils are produced having different additional inductances such that the smallest antenna receives the greatest additional inductance.
Though, prior art Ozen teaches, method of producing a local coil for an MRT measurement including, a plurality of local coils of the same type are manufactured in different sizes, Ozen does not teach, the antennas of the local coils are produced having different additional inductances such that the smallest antenna receives the greatest additional inductance.
Though, prior art Kreischer (US 20130184566) teaches a method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement, including shaping a coil structure from an elongate conductor; shaping an antenna for the MRT measurement; and molding the local coil, and manufacture of a plurality of local coils of the same type, Kreischer fails to teach, manufacture of a plurality of local coils of the same type having different sizes, the antennas of the local coils are produced having different additional inductances such that the smallest antenna receives the greatest additional inductance.
Prior art of record Chen or Ludwig does not teach a plurality of local coils of the same type having different sizes, wherein during manufacture of a plurality of local coils of the same type having different sizes, the antennas of the local coils are produced having different additional inductances such that the smallest antenna receives the greatest additional inductance.
Therefore, claim 14 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prior art Kreischer (US 20130184566) teaches, a method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement, comprising shaping a coil structure from an elongate conductor; shaping an antenna for the MRT measurement; molding the local coil, and manufacture of a plurality of local coils of the same type.
Prior art Rehner (US 20150196255) teaches, a method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement, comprising shaping a coil structure from an elongate conductor; shaping an antenna for the MRT measurement; and molding the local coil.
Prior art Biber (US 20130241557) teaches, a method for producing a local coil for an MRT measurement, comprising shaping a coil structure from an elongate conductor; shaping an antenna for the MRT measurement; and injection molding the local coil.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729