DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The previous objections to claims 1-5 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
All other rejections from the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the terms “(+)” and “(-)” may be more appropriately written as “positive” and “negative”, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the measured internal voltage value" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 previously states “a voltage value under a load resistance”, however, this is not clearly connected to a measured internal voltage value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US 2017/0328047), in view of Shanahan et al. (US 2014/0106007) and in further view of Matsuyama et al. (US 2018/0222775).
Regarding claim 1, Murata discloses a water device (title) comprising a first water discharge part (12) and a second water discharge part (13) [0043] (= a dual faucet with a sterile water and regular water supply function), comprising:
A faucet device (1) including a discharge pipe (11) (Figure 2a) [0043] (= a faucet body including a body portion), a second water discharge port (13a) connected to the pipe (11) and through which water that has been electrolyzed comes [0059] (= a sterile water outlet faucet connected to the body portion and through which sterile water comes), and a first water discharge port (12a) supplying normal water and is connected to the discharge pipe (11) and is located near the second water discharge port [0054], [0072] (= and a regular water outlet faucet connected to the body portion near the sterile water outlet faucet and through which raw water supplied from a raw water pipe line comes; Murata discloses tap water which the instant specification indicates is raw water, page 13, lines 10-11); and
Controlling the current or voltage of the electrolysis tank (37) in relation to concentration with a controller (40) abstract, [0006]-[0010], [0086]-[0087].
Regarding “a sterile water supply unit including a casing, and an electrolytic bath module disposed in the casing and configured to produce sterile water by electrolysis of the raw water supplied from the raw water pipe line and supply the produced sterile water to the sterile water outlet faucet” and “wherein the electrolytic bath module includes a housing having a sterile water production space, a positive electrode and a negative electrode installed in the housing, a power supply unit configured to form a potential difference between the positive electrode and the negative electrode” Murata discloses a second water unit including an electrolysis tank (37) which intrinsically includes a casing or housing and electrolyzes the water supplied to the second water discharge port (13a) from a common water supply piping (21) (abstract, [0054], [0056], [0059], Figure 6). The electrolysis tank of Murata intrinsically includes a positive electrode and negative electrode within the casing or housing to treat the water (abstract, [0061]).
Murata discloses a controller (40) for adjusting the concentration, an electrolysis device which is inclusive of current and voltage control and measurement and controlling the electrolysis based on concentration.
Murata does not disclose a measurement unit configured to measure a voltage value under a load resistance of the electrolytic bath module.
In the same or similar field of water electrolysis [0018] and faucets [0009], Shanahan discloses a control module and sensors such as meters that measure how much voltage or current is being applied to or across electrodes. Shanahan discloses that feedback from the voltmeter may cause a user to vary a setting of the system such as the amperage [0115].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a voltage measuring device because Shanahan discloses various voltmeter devices for measuring a voltage across or between electrodes and subsequently adjusting settings. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Murata with a voltage measuring measurement unit for adjusting the concentration based on the measured voltage.
Murata in view of Shanahan differs from the instant claim in that the combination does not disclose an additional casing or housing for supplying the sterile water. The electrolysis tank (37) of Murata is being interpreted as including a single housing or tank.
In the same or similar field of water electrolysis, Matsuyama discloses a device comprising a tank or container (4) (= claimed casing) of electrolyzed water production device (1B) and an electrolytic bath (3) (= electrolytic bath module comprising a housing) (Figure 25). In an additional embodiment, Matsuyama discloses an electrolytic bath (3) within an electrolyzed water production device (1E) (Figure 28).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a sterile water supply unit including a casing, and an electrolytic bath module disposed in the casing and wherein the electrolytic bath module includes a housing because Matsuyama discloses that an electrolytic bath (= electrolytic bath module) with its housing may be positioned within a tank or container that is configured to supply water. Since Murata does not explicitly disclose the electrolysis tank setup or configuration, one of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily look to the art for workable water supply units and arrive at a reference such as Matsuyama which discloses multiple housings or containers for storing water and carrying out electrolysis.
Regarding claim 2, the instant claim is directed towards the manner of operating the claimed faucet and does not structurally limit the claimed faucet. The instant claim appears to recite controlling the operation of the electrolysis through current or voltage. Murata discloses controlling the operation of electrolysis [0006]-[0010], [0086]-[0087]. The control of the current or voltage of Murata is in relation to the concentration.
Regarding claim 3, the instant claim is directed towards the manner of operating the claimed device and does not further structurally limit the claimed device. Murata discloses controlling the energization (current or voltage) using a controller and discloses starting/stopping the energization to the electrolysis tank (abstract, [0010], [0074]).
Regarding claim 4, the instant claim appears to require an operation switch. Since the device of Murata includes controlling the electrolysis to start and stop, there is intrinsically a switch controller. Murata discloses controlling the energization (current or voltage) using a controller and discloses starting/stopping the energization to the electrolysis tank (abstract), [0010], [0074]. Further, Murata discloses a user interface (= external manipulation) in combination with a sensor unit comprising a sensor signal for controlling the electrolysis tank operation [0057], [0093], [0120], Figure 13.
Regarding claim 5, the instant claim does not appear to further structurally limit the claimed device. The controller of Murata includes control of the voltage and current and starting/stopping the electrolysis along with a sensor signal as described above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 August 2026 have been fully considered. The remarks on pages 5-7 are directed towards the previous grounds of rejection which have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and therefore will not be specifically addressed at this time. New grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795