Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-6 of the reply, applicant argues Tezawa discloses a cutting component, but no rough surface is provided on the cutting component; Chen does not disclose a cutting component. However, Tezawa is not relied upon for disclosing the rough surface and Chen is not relied upon for a cutting component.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On page 6 of the reply, applicant argues, “Tezawa does not disclose any rough surface on the cutting component or on the rotary holder. Because Tezawa lacks a rough surface entirely, it necessarily lacks any corresponding unrough surface positioned adjacent to a rough surface. Thus, Tezawa contains no teaching or suggestion of either a rough surface or an unrough surface in relation to a cutting edge or a flank surface. Sigler's blasting is applied directly to the electrode tip; Sigler contains no concept of designing a rough surface and an unrough surface relative to a cutting edge. Chen discloses concentric texturing on a receiving surface, but (1) Chen has no cutting component, (2) Chen has no cutting edge, and (3) Chen does not consider any relationship between a rough surface and a cutting edge.”
However, starting from Tezawa and trying to solve the objective problem, the skilled person would consider Chen, which discloses a tool for reshaping an electrode tip used for aluminum resistance spot welding (see 54-5). In particular, the tool (see fig. 2) has a textured surface comprising a plurality Of asperities (claim 1) with an average roughness depth of about 1() to 5() gm. The rotation of the tool enables to roughen the surface of the tip of an electrode (claim 17), creating sharp asperities suitable to penetrate an oxide layer on a surface of a metal part (claim 20). Although blasting is not explicitly mentioned by Chen, the description indicates that the textured surface 260 Of the tool 200 (see fig. 2) can include a random arrangement of asperities (see 526), which would typically be obtained by a blasting process. Therefore, in view of Chen, it would be obvious for the skilled person to provide the receiving surface of the tip dresser cutter with a roughen surface, thereby arriving to the subject-matter of claims 1 and 4 of the present application.
In response to applicant’s arguments on pages 6-9, against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tezawa (US 2018/0272458) in view of Sigler et al (US 2014/0076859) and Chen (US 2005/0211677).
Regarding claim 1, Tezawa discloses, A method for cutting and reshaping an electrode tip, the method comprising:
preparing a rotary holder and a cutting component, the rotary holder having a receiving surface to receive a tip end of a spot-welding electrode tip, the cutting component having a cutting edge extending in a curved manner and a flank surface continuous with the cutting edge and extending laterally alongside the cutting edge (See Paragraph [0013] and Fig 2 shows a rotary holder and cutting component, which has been prepared, having a receiving surface 52 for receiving the tip of a spot welding electrode 2, See Abstract and Fig 3, Fig 2 also shows the cutting edge extending in a curved manner at 2a and the flank surface extending laterally alongside the cutting edge as the blades are streamlined with the fitting surface 52, See Paragraph [0033], [0042]).
(Fig 2 shows the cutting edge extending gradually farther from a rotation of axis of the holder, Fig 1 shows the holder being attached to a tip dresser 1)
receiving the tip end of the electrode tip by the receiving surface and the flank surface while rotating the rotary holder to cut and reshape the tip end of the electrode tip with the cutting edge. (Figs 4 and 5 show the electrode tip 2 being cut and reshaped by the cutting edge. See Abstract)
Tezawa fails to disclose, treating at least one of the receiving surface or the flank surface by blasting to form a rough surface. However, Sigler discloses using a grit blasting process for the electrode in order to form a rough textured surface on the electrode. (See Paragraph [0029], [0030]) Chen discloses forming the rough textured surface via textured surfaces 260 in the rotary holder 200. (See Figs 5 and 6, Paragraph [0022]) These references are used to show how blasting is used on the electrode to from the rough textured surface and translated to the rotary holder in order to form the same surface on the electrode using the rotary holder.
Applicant is shifting the blasting from the electrode to the rotary holder to form the same surface on the electrode as Chen would form. The electrode surface being formed by the rotary holder rather than the blasting in Sigler. Starting from Tezawa and trying to solve the objective problem, the skilled person would consider Chen, which discloses a tool for reshaping an electrode tip used for aluminum resistance spot welding (see 54-5). In particular, the tool (see fig. 2) has a textured surface comprising a plurality Of asperities (claim 1) with an average roughness depth of about 1() to 5() gm. The rotation of the tool enables to roughen the surface of the tip of an electrode (claim 17), creating sharp asperities suitable to penetrate an oxide layer on a surface of a metal part (claim 20). Although blasting is not explicitly mentioned by Chen, the description indicates that the textured surface 260 Of the tool 200 (see fig. 2) can include a random arrangement of asperities (see 526), which would typically be obtained by a blasting process. Therefore, in view of Chen, it would be obvious for the skilled person to provide the receiving surface of the tip dresser cutter with a roughen surface, thereby arriving to the subject-matter of claims 1 and 4 of the present application.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adapt Tezawa in view of Sigler and Chen to provide , treating at least one of the receiving surface or the flank surface by blasting to form a rough surface for forming a rough textured surface on the electrode in order to effectively penetrate the oxide layers during welding.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Tezawa fails to disclose the rough surface on at least one of the receiving surface or the flank surface has a surface roughness Ra within a range of 5.3 to 6.5 um. However, Sigler discloses resulting surface roughness measured from peak-to-valley can range between approximately 2 um and 50 um, or in some cases between approximately 5 um and 10 um.
It would have been obvious to provide the rough surface on at least one of the receiving surface or the flank surface has a surface roughness Ra within a range of 5.3 to 6.5 um since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Tezawa discloses a tip dresser cutter (See Fig 1), comprising: a rotary holder (4) including a receiving surface to receive a tip end of a spot-welding electrode tip, the rotary holder being rotatable about a rotation axis; and a cutting component attached to the rotary holder, the cutting component having a cutting edge extending in a curved manner and gradually farther from the rotation axis and a flank surface continuous with the cutting edge and laterally extending alongside the cutting edge, the cutting component being configured to cut and reshape, with the cutting edge, (See Paragraph [0013] and Fig 2 shows a rotary holder and cutting component, which has been prepared, having a receiving surface 52 for receiving the tip of a spot welding electrode 2, See Abstract and Fig 3, Fig 2 also shows the cutting edge extending in a curved manner at 2a and the flank surface extending laterally alongside the cutting edge as the blades are streamlined with the fitting surface 52, See Paragraph [0033], [0042]).
the tip end of the electrode tip received by the receiving surface and the flank surface while the rotary holder is rotating, (Figs 4 and 5 show the electrode tip 2 being cut and reshaped by the cutting edge. See Abstract)
Tezawa fails to disclose wherein at least one of the receiving surface or the flank surface has a rough surface treated by blasting.
However, Sigler discloses using a grit blasting process for the electrode in order to form a rough textured surface on the electrode. (See Paragraph [0029], [0030]) Chen discloses forming the rough textured surface via textured surfaces 260 in the rotary holder 200. (See Figs 5 and 6, Paragraph [0022]) These references are used to show how blasting is used on the electrode to from the rough textured surface and translated to the rotary holder in order to form the same surface on the electrode using the rotary holder.
Applicant is shifting the blasting from the electrode to the rotary holder to form the same surface on the electrode as Chen would form. The electrode surface being formed by the rotary holder rather than the blasting in Sigler. Starting from Tezawa and trying to solve the objective problem, the skilled person would consider Chen, which discloses a tool for reshaping an electrode tip used for aluminum resistance spot welding (see 54-5). In particular, the tool (see fig. 2) has a textured surface comprising a plurality Of asperities (claim 1) with an average roughness depth of about 1() to 5() gm. The rotation of the tool enables to roughen the surface of the tip of an electrode (claim 17), creating sharp asperities suitable to penetrate an oxide layer on a surface of a metal part (claim 20). Although blasting is not explicitly mentioned by Chen, the description indicates that the textured surface 260 Of the tool 200 (see fig. 2) can include a random arrangement of asperities (see 526), which would typically be obtained by a blasting process. Therefore, in view of Chen, it would be obvious for the skilled person to provide the receiving surface of the tip dresser cutter with a roughen surface, thereby arriving to the subject-matter of claims 1 and 4 of the present application.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adapt Tezawa in view of Sigler and Chen to provide, treating at least one of the receiving surface or the flank surface by blasting to form a rough surface for forming a rough textured surface on the electrode in order to effectively penetrate the oxide layers during welding.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761