DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 05/03/2026 has been received and considered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 and 26-29 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/05/2026. The 112(f) interpretation of claim 1 “electronic circuitry” has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 08/05/2026, have been fully considered.
The argument on pages 11-12 and 18-20 that the combination of Tanaka and Ramanan would not have been obvious, since Tanaka does not mention massage with the use of the inner gas treatment vessel, nor does Ramanan teach the use of massage with an inner gas treatment vessel, is persuasive. The rejection over Tanaka has been withdrawn. However, due to the clarification in the claims of the gas transfer sections with respect to the first and second vessels, a new rejection has been made over Nakamura in view of Ramanan and Hartwell. Please see the updated rejection below.
The argument on pages 13-17 that the modification with Hartman would be inoperable has been carefully considered, but is not persuasive. It appears that applicant’s interpretation of the modification does not align with the teaching in the modification. The entire apparatus of Hartwell is not installed within the inner pliable bag of Tanaka; rather, only the transmission layer, strip 226, is installed in the pliable bag in the same manner as shown in Hartwell’s device. That is, only the transmission strip 226 is applied to one of the inner surfaces of Tanaka’s pliable bag, not the entirety of Hartman’s device as argued by applicant. The transmission strip is the structure taught by Hartman to maintain gas flow through a device similar in structure and function to Tanaka. The modification taught by Hartman shows the similarities in structure between Hartman’s device and Tanaka’s device: each includes an internal space subjected to gas pressure, each includes at least two pliable walls (Tanaka’s inner walls of enclosure 2, and Hartman’s two layers 220, 222), each includes a gas passage (Tanaka’s first coupler 8 and Hartman’s connector 110). While the rejection over Tanaka has been withdrawn and replaced with Nakamura, the rejection over Hartman has been maintained in a similar manner. The rejection has been clarified below.
The argument on pages 17-18 and 21 that the claimed multiple openings is novel over Ramanan is not persuasive, as the location of the multiple openings is only broadly claimed as part of the “gas transfer section”, which does not appear to require a specific structure. The office action mailed 05/05/2026 cites Ramanan fig. 8B, interface unit 1008 having multiple valves 6297 and lines 6302 [0169], which discloses sixteen valves and sixteen connecting lines, i.e., openings. Since the “second gas transfer section” is a broad limitation, it has been interpreted to include only the structure required by the claim, which includes multiple openings for gas transfer therethrough, and structure which allows fluid communication with the second vessel (such as, by way of example, connecting lines).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2010/0168650 A1), in view of Ramanan et al. (US 2020/0237607 A1), hereafter Ramanan, and Hartwell et al. (US 2020/0121510 A1), hereafter Hartwell.
Regarding Claim 1, Nakamura discloses a system for administering a multibaric treatment protocol to a limb of a human subject (fig. 7, abstract), the system comprising: a. a first vessel comprising (i) a pliable bag (fig. 7, inner cover suit 60A [0087]) having an opening in a proximal portion thereof (fig. 7, 60A has an opening to insert the leg [0088]) and comprising first and second opposing bag sections (the right and left sides of 60A, respectively), (ii) a connection arrangement mounted to the first bag section (fig. 7, the connection point on 60A of the hose leading from carbon dioxide supply apparatus 1 [0087]), b. a second vessel (fig. 7, outer cover suit 60B [0087]) having a proximal opening (fig. 7, the opening where the leg is inserted [0088]); c. a first gas-transfer section comprising a first opening for gas transfer therethrough (fig. 7, carbon dioxide supply apparatus 1 with connecting hose [0087]), the first gas-transfer section configured to be placed in fluid communication with the first vessel (fig. 7 [0087]), and to cause a flow of a gas through said first opening ([0087]); d. a second gas-transfer section (fig. 7, compressor 2 with connecting hose [0087]), the second portion gas-transfer section configured to be placed in fluid communication with the second vessel (fig. 7 , [0087]), i. a first mode in which, when said first vessel envelops a lengthwise part of said limb and is in fluid communication with said first gas- transfer section (fig. 7 [0087]), said first gas-transfer section causes a quantity of gas to flow through said first opening and into said first vessel ([0087]), and ii. a second mode in which, when the second vessel at least partly surrounds said enveloped lengthwise part of said limb and is in fluid communication with said second gas-transfer section (fig. 7 [0087]).
However, Nakamura is silent on the following:
a (iii) lengthwise strip arranged on an interior surface of the second bag section such that (A) a distal portion of said lengthwise strip is disposed in a distal portion of said pliable bag and in fluid communication with said connection arrangement and (B) a proximal end of the lengthwise strip is disposed in a proximal portion of said pliable bag, said lengthwise strip comprising an at-most-partially compressible layer open to an interior space of said pliable bag along the length of said lengthwise strip;
the second vessel comprising multiple fluid- holding compartments arranged consecutively along a lengthwise portion of said second vessel;
the second gas-transfer section comprising multiple openings for gas transfer therethrough, and to cause respective flows of gas through said multiple openings; and e. electronic circuitry arranged to control said first and second gas-transfer sections and programmed to operate in each one of the following modes in sequence;
said second gas-transfer section causes a lengthwise circulation of said quantity of gas at least throughout a lengthwise portion of said pliable bag that is surrounded by said multiple fluid-holding compartments, wherein causing the circulation includes regulating, through said multiple corresponding openings, respective gas pressures in the fluid-holding compartments to alternately inflate and deflate said compartments, each inflating being effective to apply a compressive pressure through a wall of said pliable bag to a corresponding portion of said limb, wherein the alternately inflating and deflating includes alternately inflating and deflating consecutive fluid-holding compartments, wherein in said second mode, said lengthwise strip defines a lengthwise, at-most-partly compressible fluid pathway for gas flow between first and second non-contiguous lengthwise portions of said pliable bag that are respectively distal and proximal to a lengthwise portion of said pliable bag that is under compressive pressure applied by one or more corresponding fluid-holding compartments.
Ramanan teaches a compression apparatus for the limbs (fig. 1, abstract), which is a sleeve comprising multiple fluid-holding compartments arranged consecutively along a lengthwise portion (fig. 7, 7304-1 through 7304-16 [0171]) and a gas-transfer section comprising multiple openings and gas flow through said multiple openings (fig. 8B, interface unit 1008 having multiple valves 6297 and lines 6302 [0169]). Ramanan’s device also includes electronic circuitry arranged to control said first and second gas-transfer sections and programmed to operate (fig. 5, central controller 4230 operates the therapy device [0132]) which is programmed to operate the device to cause a lengthwise circulation that is surrounded by said multiple fluid-holding compartments ([0178] a sequence of pressurization of the chambers starts at one end and moves to the other end), wherein causing the circulation includes regulating, through said multiple corresponding openings, respective gas pressures in the fluid-holding compartments to alternately inflate and deflate said compartments ([0113] and [0182]), each inflating being effective to apply a compressive pressure to a corresponding portion of said limb ([0113]), wherein the alternately inflating and deflating includes alternately inflating and deflating consecutive fluid-holding compartments ([0178]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s outer cover suit (fig. 7 , 60B) to have multiple fluid compartments and gas-transfer sections to have multiple fluid openings, along with electronic circuitry to cause a lengthwise circulation as taught by Ramanan in order to improve the massage disclosed by Nakamura (see [0022] and [0069]) to more accurately replicate a massage done by a physical therapist (Ramanan [0233]). Modifying Nakamura’s outer second vessel with Ramanan’s sequential inflation of multiple compartments would result in a lengthwise circulation of said quantity of gas at least throughout a lengthwise portion of said pliable bag by applying compressive pressure through the wall of the pliable bag, since Ramanan’s sleeve causes the same effect on the user’s limb ([0291]).
However, the now-modified device remains silent on a (iii) lengthwise strip arranged on an interior surface of the second bag section such that (A) a distal portion of said lengthwise strip is disposed in a distal portion of said pliable bag and in fluid communication with said connection arrangement and (B) a proximal end of the lengthwise strip is disposed in a proximal portion of said pliable bag, said lengthwise strip comprising an at-most-partially compressible layer open to an interior space of said pliable bag along the length of said lengthwise strip; said lengthwise strip defines a lengthwise, at-most-partly compressible fluid pathway for gas flow between first and second non-contiguous lengthwise portions of said pliable bag that are respectively distal and proximal to a lengthwise portion of said pliable bag that is under compressive pressure applied by one or more corresponding fluid-holding compartments.
Hartwell teaches a wound treatment apparatus that applies oxygen therapy and negative pressure (fig. 1, 10, [0033]), which has an upper layer and a lower layer (fig. 2B, upper layer 220 [0033] and lower layer 222 [0035]) as well as a strip of porous material (fig. 2B 226 [0037] that is used to allow transmission of fluid including a liquid or gas to and from the dressing ([0037]) from an opening (fig. 2B, aperture 229 to fluidic connector 110 [0054]). This strip (226) is arranged on an interior surface (fig. 2B 226 is located inside of the layers 220 and 222) such that (A) a distal portion of said lengthwise strip is disposed in a distal portion of said pliable bag (fig. 2A, 221 is shown in this view, and is positioned above 226 as seen in fig. 2B [0043]) and in fluid communication with said connection arrangement (fig. 2A, fluidic connector 110 [0030]) and (B) a proximal end of the lengthwise strip is disposed in a proximal portion of said pliable bag (fig. 2A shows this configuration), said lengthwise strip comprising an at-most-partially compressible layer open to an interior space of said pliable bag along the length of said lengthwise strip (fig. 2B, 226 is provided along the length of the strip and is porous and ensures an open channel to communicate oxygen and/or negative pressure [0037]); said lengthwise strip defines a lengthwise, at-most-partly compressible fluid pathway for gas flow between first and second non-contiguous lengthwise portions of said pliable bag (fig. 2A-2B shows this configuration [0037]; layer 226 ensures that gas flow coming to or from fluidic connector 110 [0030] is maintained over the whole wound site [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the lengthwise strip taught by Hartwell (Hartwell fig. 2B, 226) into Nakamura’s inner first vessel on the first bag section (fig. 5, the interior side of layer 60A, located in proximity to the connection arrangement) in the manner claimed and taught by Hartwell, in order to maintain an open-air channel to communicate gas into the inner first vessel (Hartwell [0037]). This would ensure that once the modified device is under compression that the strip would be positioned such that a gas flow pathway is maintained respectively distal and proximal to a lengthwise portion of said pliable bag that is under compressive pressure applied by one or more corresponding fluid-holding compartments.
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, wherein said quantity of gas caused in the first mode to flow through said first opening and into said first vessel has an ambient-pressure volume of at least 100cc (fig. 7, a user’s leg fits inside of the inner cover suit 60A and thus has at least a volume of 100cc; though prior art drawings are not interpreted as depicting scale, unless specified, the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2125.))
Regarding Claim 3, Nakamura as modified discloses a system of claim 2, wherein (i) said applying of said compressive pressure through a wall of said pliable bag to a corresponding portion of said limb by inflating one or more of said fluid-holding compartments is effective to displace a portion of said quantity of gas within said first vessel (as modified by Ramanan’s multiple compartments in the outer cover suit, the pressure in the compartments would be capable of applying compressive pressure through the wall of Nakamura’s inner cover suit 60A, since Nakamura’s outer layer also applies compressive pressure and massage to the leg, Nakamura [0022]), and (ii) said ambient-pressure volume of said quantity of gas is selected so that said displacing does not create an above-ambient pressure within said first vessel (Ramanan [0234] the pressure in the compression compartments may be lowered to ambient pressure by the controller as part of the routine).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, wherein the regulating in the second mode of respective gas pressures in the fluid-holding compartments to alternately inflate and deflate said compartments (Ramanan [0182]) includes repeating a sequence of differential pressure regulation (Ramanan [0235]).
Regarding Claim 5, Nakamura as modified discloses a system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein said quantity of gas includes at least one of ozone, oxygen, and an essential oil (Nakamura uses carbon dioxide [0087]).
However, Hartman teaches supplying oxygen to the inner layer for wound healing ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas supplied in the modified Nakamura to be oxygen instead of carbon dioxide, as taught by Hartman, for the benefit of providing wound healing for a patient.
Regarding Claim 7, Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a volume of said pliable bag is within a range of 0.3 to 10 liters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the volume of the pliable bag of Nakamura (fig. 7 , 60A), which is shown accommodating a patient’s leg, to be within a range of 0.3 to 10 liters since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the pliable bag of the modified Nakamura would still be able to accommodate the appropriate portion of the user’s body if the volume was modified to fall within the claimed range. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the dimensions of the pliable bag create an interior volume for receiving a limb of a user for therapy (page 21, lines 31-33).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, wherein said lengthwise strip is formed integrally with said pliable bag (as modified by Hartman, the transmission layer 226 is at least partially adhered to the backing layer 220, and in the modification would be at least partially adhered to the inside of layer 60A to maintain gas flow while pressure is applied by the modified outer layer 60B).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein said lengthwise strip is affixed to said second bag section.
However, it has been held that rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice when the operation of the device would not be altered. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). In this case, the rearrangement of the lengthwise strip with the fluidic connector from the first bag section to the second bag section would not change the operation of the device.
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, wherein in the second mode when the second vessel at least partly surrounds said enveloped lengthwise part of said limb, said lengthwise strip is aligned longitudinally with said multiple fluid-holding compartments (since the strip in Hartman fig. 2A is arranged lengthwise, it would have been reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to similarly arrange the strip lengthwise in a longitudinal direction of the limb; in addition, in the modified device, Ramanan’s multiple fluid-holding compartments are arranged perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction of the limb, fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein said lengthwise strip has a length of at least 10 cm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the length of the strip taught by Hartman into the modified device to have a length of at least 10 cm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the strip of the modified Nakamura would still be able to maintain an open air channel into the pliable bag when its length is similar to the length of the bag. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the dimensions of the strip are at least 10 cm (specification page 10, 34, 35, etc.).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein said lengthwise strip has a thickness of no more than 3.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the thickness of the strip taught by Hartman into the modified device to be no more than 3.5 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the strip of the modified Nakamura would still be able to maintain an open air channel into the pliable bag when its thickness is no more than 3.5mm. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the thickness of the strip is no more than 3.5mm, 5mm, 7.5, or 10mm (specification page 11, 34, 35, etc.).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the first gas-transfer section comprises an ozone generator for delivering an ozone- containing gas to said first vessel (fig. 7, the supplied gas in the first gas-transfer section 1 is carbon dioxide [0087]).
However, Hartman teaches the use of ozone for a gas treatment for wound healing ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change Nakamura’s supplied gas from carbon dioxide to ozone and an ozone generator, as taught by Hartman, for the benefit of providing a gas that helps with wound healing (Hartman [0081]).
Regarding Claim 14, Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, wherein the first gas-transfer section comprises a container for storage of a therapeutic gas (Nakamura fig. 7, supply apparatus 1 is a storage container for carbon dioxide [0087]).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 1, wherein when the first and/or second bag sections of said pliable bag is/are collapsed by inflation of one or more of said multiple fluid-holding compartments, said lengthwise strip maintains a viable conduit for conveyance of a gas at least for the extent of said first vessel that is surrounded by said fluid-holding compartments of said second vessel (as modified in claim 1 by Ramanan and Hartman, when Ramanan’s compression chambers provide compression onto Nakamura’s pliable bag 60A, similarly to the arrangement shown in fig. 7, Hartman’s strip 226, shown in Hartman fig. 2a-b, maintains an open air channel, Hartman [0037]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Nakamura and Ramanan.
Regarding Claim 16, Nakamura discloses a system for administering a multibaric treatment protocol to a limb of a human subject (fig. 7 [0087] and [0069]), the system comprising:
a. a first vessel comprising (i) a pliable bag (fig. 7 , inner cover suit 60A [0087]) having an opening in a proximal portion thereof (fig. 7 , 60A has an opening to insert the leg [0088]) and comprising first and second opposing bag sections (the left and the right sides of 60A), and (ii) a connection arrangement mounted to the first bag section (fig. 7 , the connection point on 60A of the hose leading from carbon dioxide supply apparatus 1 [0087]);
b. a second vessel having a proximal opening (fig. 7, outer cover suit 60B [0087]) and;
c. a first gas-transfer section comprising a first opening for gas transfer therethrough, the first gas-transfer section configured to be placed in fluid communication with the first vessel, and to cause a flow of a gas through said first opening (fig. 7, carbon dioxide supply apparatus 1 [0087]),
d. a second gas-transfer section, the second gas-transfer section configured to be placed in fluid communication with the second vessel (fig. 7 [0078), and to cause respective flows of gas ((fig. 7, compressor 2 [0087]); and
i. a first mode in which, when said first vessel envelops a lengthwise part of said limb and is in fluid communication with said first gas- transfer section (fig. 7 [0087]), said first gas-transfer section causes a quantity of gas to flow through said first opening and into said first vessel ([0087]), and ii. a second mode in which, when the second vessel at least partly surrounds said enveloped lengthwise part of said limb and is in fluid communication with said second gas-transfer section (fig. 7 [0087]).
Nakamura is silent on the second vessel comprising multiple fluid- holding compartments arranged consecutively along a lengthwise portion of said second vessel; the second gas-transfer section comprising multiple openings for gas transfer therethrough and respective flows of gas through said multiple openings,
As well as silent on e. electronic circuitry arranged to control said first and second gas-transfer sections and programmed to operate the claimed sequence, said second gas-transfer section causes a lengthwise circulation of said quantity of gas at least throughout a lengthwise portion of said pliable bag that is surrounded by said multiple fluid-holding compartments, wherein causing the circulation includes regulating, through said multiple corresponding openings, respective gas pressures in the fluid-holding compartments to alternately inflate and deflate said compartments, each inflating being effective to apply a compressive pressure through a wall of said pliable bag to a corresponding portion of said limb, wherein the alternately inflating and deflating includes alternately inflating and deflating consecutive fluid-holding compartments.
Ramanan teaches a compression apparatus for the limbs (fig. 1, abstract), which is a sleeve comprising multiple fluid- holding compartments arranged consecutively along a lengthwise portion (fig. 7, 7304-1 through7304-16 [0171]) and a gas-transfer section comprising multiple openings and gas flow through said multiple openings (fig. 8B, interface unit 1008 having multiple valves 6297 and lines 6302 [0169]). Ramanan’s device also includes electronic circuitry arranged to control said first and second gas-transfer sections and programmed to operate (fig. 5, central controller 4230 operates the therapy device [0132]) which is programmed to operate the device to cause a lengthwise circulation that is surrounded by said multiple fluid-holding compartments ([0178] a sequence of pressurization of the chambers starts at one end and moves to the other end), wherein causing the circulation includes regulating, through said multiple corresponding openings, respective gas pressures in the fluid-holding compartments to alternately inflate and deflate said compartments ([0113] and [0182]), each inflating being effective to apply a compressive pressure to a corresponding portion of said limb ([0113]), wherein the alternately inflating and deflating includes alternately inflating and deflating consecutive fluid-holding compartments ([0178]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s outer cover suit (fig. 7, 60B) to have multiple fluid compartments and gas-transfer sections to have multiple fluid openings, along with electronic circuitry to cause a lengthwise circulation as taught by Ramanan in order to improve the massage disclosed by Nakamura (see [0022] and [0069]) to more accurately replicate a massage done by a physical therapist (Ramanan [0233]). Modifying Nakamura’s outer second vessel with Ramanan’s sequential inflation of multiple compartments would result in a lengthwise circulation of said quantity of gas at least throughout a lengthwise portion of said pliable bag by applying compressive pressure through the wall of the pliable bag, since Ramanan’s sleeve causes the same effect on the user’s limb ([0291]).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Nakamura, Ramanan, and Hartman, further in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2010/0305497 A1), hereafter Tanaka.
Regarding Claim 6, Nakamura as modified discloses a system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein in the first mode, the causing of said flow of said quantity of gas is preceded by evacuating said first vessel through the first opening.
However, Tanaka teaches a pressurized carbon dioxide device using a sealed pliable bag (figs. 1a-b, sealing member 2 [0087]) in which inside air is discharged prior to adding carbon dioxide ([0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s first mode to evacuate the first vessel as taught by Tanaka in order to ensure that no outside air is included in the first vessel, only carbon dioxide (Tanaka [0089]).
Claims 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Nakamura, Ramanan, and Hartman, further in view of Tanaka, as evidenced by Smith & Nephew (https://www.smith-nephew.com/en-us/patients/products/advanced-wound-management/allevyn-complete-care#overview, accessed 15 April 2026), hereafter Smith & Nephew.
Regarding Claim 26, Nakamura as modified discloses a system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the electronic circuitry is further programmed to perform each of the following steps in sequence:
i. evacuating said first vessel, through said first opening of said first gas- transfer section, to reduce a pressure in said first vessel to a below- ambient pressure
ii. causing a quantity of gas to flow through said first opening of said first gas-transfer section and into said evacuated first vessel to increase said pressure in said first vessel, the flow of gas traversing said lengthwise strip (as modified by Hartman, the gas coupler is provided with a transmission layer as shown in Hartman figs. 2A-B [0037]; Nakamura fig. 7, inner cover suit 60A is filled with carbon dioxide [0087], but the disclosure is silent on the first vessel being evacuated when this step occurs).
However, Tanaka teaches a pressurized carbon dioxide device using a sealed pliable bag (figs. 1a-b, sealing member 2 [0087]) in which inside air is discharged prior to adding carbon dioxide ([0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s first mode to evacuate the first vessel as taught by Tanaka in order to ensure that no outside air is included in the first vessel, only carbon dioxide (Tanaka [0089]).
The modified device is also silent on additionally comprising an elastically-compressible element biased to expand to a design height in at least one dimension, and to at least partially compress said elastically- compressible element.
However, Hartman additionally includes an absorbent layer in the strip (fig. 2B, 221 [0033]) to collect wound exudate ([0052]). This absorbent layer may be made from foam ([0043]) such as ALLEVYNTM- foam ([0044]) which is compressible (as evidenced by Smith & Nephew, last para, page 1, the foam is compressible).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the device an elastically-compressible element, such as the foam absorbent layer taught by Hartman, which is understood as a foam to be able to expand to a design height (interpreted to mean a vertical height) in at least one dimension, and is understood to be at least partially compressible. It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the foam absorbent layer would also expand the at least partially compressed elastically-compressible element, since Hartman’s absorbent layer is foam and would be capable of expansion under negative pressure.
Regarding Claim 27, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 26, wherein said elastically-compressible element comprises an open-celled foam (Hartman [0057]).
Regarding Claim 28, Nakamura as modified discloses a system of claim 26, but does not disclose wherein said below-ambient pressure is between 10 and 100 mm Hg below ambient pressure.
However, Hartman teaches a negative pressure may be applied to the positive pressure oxygen and negative pressure wound dressing at -80 mmHg ([0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the below-ambient pressure of Nakamura’s evacuation step to be -80 mmHg as taught by Hartman (where the prior art discloses a range that lies within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim (MPEP 2131.03)), since this pressure would be able to withdraw gas from the pliable bag.
Regarding Claim 29, the modified Nakamura discloses a system of claim 26, wherein the flow of said quantity of gas to said elastically-compressible element is substantially all through said lengthwise strip (as modified by Hartman, the absorbent layer 221 is at least the length of strip 226, fig. 2B [0052]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2006/0149171 A1 fig. 8 discloses a vacuum pump (401) combined with a compression wrap (301).
US 2013/0066285 A1 discloses a negative pressure device which includes a cellular foam pressure distribution manifold (fig. 2, 116 [0023]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARA K TOICH/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785