DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the preamplifier (claims 2, 12); isolator/current blocked between seed and SOA (claims 3, 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11, 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (US-20210088657-A1) in view of Thielen (US-20120281199-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shah discloses a system (fig. 1+6, 0004), comprising: a seed laser diode configured to produce a seed optical signal (fig. 6 seed laser diode 400 produces seed optical signal 405, 0080); a semiconductor optical amplifier configured to, based on an injected amplifier current pulse, amplify the seed optical signal to produce an emitted optical signal (SOA 410 amplifies 405, based on amplifier current pulse I2, to produce emitted signal 125, 0084); and a driver configured to provide current to the seed laser diode or the semiconductor optical amplifier (driver 600 provides current I1 I2 to 400 and 410, 0083)
Shah does not disclose one of the currents being a profiled compensation current associated with the injected amplifier current pulse to at least in part control a frequency chirp of the emitted optical signal.
Thielen discloses a system for generating an optical pulse with a control signal supplied to an SOA or master oscillator to control a frequency chirp of the optical pulse (fig. 1 control signal supplied to SOA or MO to control frequency chirp (MO signal not shown), 0022, 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have one of the currents being a profiled compensation current associated with the injected amplifier current pulse to at least in part control a frequency chirp of the emitted optical signal to allow for the device to be used in a greater number of “environments of application” (Thielen 0026).
Regarding claim 5, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the seed laser diode is a continuous wave laser diode (0083).
Regarding claim 7, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the injected amplifier current pulse generates an amplified optical pulse of the emitted optical signal (I2 generates amplified pulse of 125, 0084).
Regarding claim 11, Shah discloses a method (figs. 1+6, 0004), comprising: producing from a seed laser diode a seed optical signal (fig. 6 seed laser diode 400 produces seed optical signal 405, 0080); providing to the semiconductor optical amplifier the amplifier current pulse (amplifier current pulse I2 provided to SOA 410, 0084); generating the amplified optical pulse in response to the provided amplifier current pulse (amplified optical pulse in response to provided I2); and emitting the amplified optical pulse (SOA 410 amplifies 405, based on amplifier current pulse I2, to produce emitted signal 125, 0084).
Shah does not disclose providing to the seed laser diode or a semiconductor optical amplifier, a profiled compensation current associated with an amplifier current pulse to at least in part control a frequency chirp of an emitted amplified optical pulse, wherein the frequency chirp is induced by the amplifier current pulse.
Thielen discloses a system for generating an optical pulse with a control signal supplied to an SOA or master oscillator to control a frequency chirp of the optical pulse with SOA having particular chirp characteristic (fig. 1 control signal supplied to SOA or MO to control frequency chirp (MO signal not shown), 0022, 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to the seed laser diode or a semiconductor optical amplifier, a profiled compensation current associated with an amplifier current pulse to at least in part control a frequency chirp of an emitted amplified optical pulse, wherein the frequency chirp is induced by the amplifier current pulse to allow for the device to be used in a greater number of “environments of application” (Thielen 0026).
Regarding claim 15, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the seed laser diode is a continuous wave laser diode (0083).
Regarding claim 20, Shah discloses a system (figs. 1+6, 0004), comprising: a driver configured to provide current (fig. 1 driver 600 provides current I1 I2, 0083); a seed laser diode configured to emit a seed optical signal (fig. 6 seed laser diode 400 produces seed optical signal 405, 0080); a semiconductor optical amplifier configured to, based on an injected amplifier current pulse, amplify the seed optical signal to produce the emitted optical pulse (SOA 410 amplifies 405, based on amplifier current pulse I2, to produce emitted optical pulse 125, 0084); a scanner configured to scan the emitted optical pulse within a configured field of regard (scanner 120 scans emitted pulse within field of regard, 0039); a detector configured to detect at least a portion of the emitted optical pulse scattered by a target located downrange from the system (fig. 1 detector 140 detects portion of 125 scattered by target 130 located downrange from system 100, 0025-0027); and a processor configured to analyze detected information from the detector to provide one or more measurement signals associated with the target (processor 150 analyzes information from 140 to provide signal associated with 130, 0027).
Shah does not disclose one of the currents being a profiled compensation current to at least in part control a frequency chirp of an emitted optical pulse, and wherein the profiled compensation current is associated with an injected amplifier current pulse; seed laser diode configured to receive the profiled compensation current.
Thielen discloses a system for generating an optical pulse with a control signal supplied to a master oscillator to control a frequency chirp of the optical pulse (fig. 1 control signal supplied to MO to control frequency chirp (MO signal not shown), 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have one of the currents being a profiled compensation current to at least in part control a frequency chirp of an emitted optical pulse, and wherein the profiled compensation current is associated with an injected amplifier current pulse to allow for the device to be used in a greater number of “environments of application” (Thielen 0026). Sending compensation current to seed laser diode (rather than downstream component) would allow for immediate adjustment/correction at the start and reduce interference with SOA or other downstream components.
Claim(s) 2, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Thielen and Andrews (US-5175643-A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 1.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the profiled compensation current is provided to a preamplifier of the semiconductor optical amplifier.
Andrews discloses a MOPA device with a current provided to a preamplifier of an amplifier in a way that avoids chirping (fig. 2 pre-amp current provided to preamplifier 14 of amplifier 16, col. 4 lines 35-55, col. 6 lines 5-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the profiled compensation current is provided to a preamplifier of the semiconductor optical amplifier to ensure that only light above a given threshold level is transmitted to the SOA amplifier and to reduce complexity of seed laser construction. Injecting into preamplifier instead of seed laser allows for seed laser output to be known prior to setting/adjusting compensation current and will make it easier to calibrate compensation current.
Regarding claim 12, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 11.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the profiled compensation current is provided to a preamplifier of the semiconductor optical amplifier.
Andrews discloses a MOPA device with a current provided to a preamplifier of an amplifier in a way that avoids chirping (fig. 2 pre-amp current provided to preamplifier 14 of amplifier 16, col. 4 lines 35-55, col. 6 lines 5-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the profiled compensation current is provided to a preamplifier of the semiconductor optical amplifier to ensure that only light above a given threshold level is transmitted to the SOA amplifier and to reduce complexity of seed laser construction. Injecting into preamplifier instead of seed laser allows for seed laser output to be known prior to setting/adjusting compensation current and will make it easier to calibrate compensation current.
Claim(s) 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Thielen and Desmoulins (US-20220166181-A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 1.
Modified Shah does not disclose further comprising an isolator component arranged between the seed laser diode and the semiconductor optical amplifier, wherein the isolator component is configured to prevent light from the semiconductor optical amplifier from entering the seed laser diode.
Desmoulins discloses an apparatus for providing optical radiation with an isolator component between seed sources and amplifier (fig. 1 isolator 53 between seed sources 1 and 2 and amplifier 4, 53 prevents light from 4 from entering 1 + 2, 0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an isolator component arranged between the seed laser diode and the semiconductor optical amplifier, wherein the isolator component is configured to prevent light from the semiconductor optical amplifier from entering the seed laser diode to reduce noise and improve signal clarity/quality and system efficiency and predictability.
Regarding claim 13, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 11.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein a light from the semiconductor optical amplifier is blocked from entering the seed laser diode.
Desmoulins discloses an apparatus for providing optical radiation with an isolator component between seed sources and amplifier (fig. 1 isolator 53 between seed sources 1 and 2 and amplifier 4, 53 blocks light from 4 from entering 1 + 2, 0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a light from the semiconductor optical amplifier is blocked from entering the seed laser diode to reduce noise and improve signal clarity/quality and system efficiency and predictability.
Claim(s) 4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Thielen and LaChapelle (US-20210055391-A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 1.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the seed laser diode is configured to emit a reference optical signal to a receiver, wherein the receiver is configured to detect at least a portion of the emitted optical signal.
LaChapelle discloses a coherent pulsed lidar system that uses a receiver that detects a reference optical signal from a seed laser and a portion of an emitted optical signal (figs. 6, receiver detects reference signal 430 and input beam 135, 0045, 0233-0235).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the seed laser diode is configured to emit a reference optical signal to a receiver, wherein the receiver is configured to detect at least a portion of the emitted optical signal to help determine whether an emitted optical signal is a valid optical signal and associate a reference optical signal with an emitted optical signal by comparing/matching reference optical signal and emitted optical signal (LaChapelle 0233-0235).
Regarding claim 14, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 11.
Modified Shah does not disclose further comprising emitting a reference optical signal from the seed laser diode to a receiver, wherein the receiver is configured to detect a portion of the emitted amplified optical pulse.
LaChapelle discloses a coherent pulsed lidar system that uses a receiver that detects a reference optical signal from a seed laser and a portion of an emitted optical signal (figs. 6, receiver detects reference signal 430 and input beam 135, 0045, 0233-0235).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the seed laser diode emitting a reference optical signal to a receiver, wherein the receiver is configured to detect a portion of the emitted amplified optical pulse to help determine whether an emitted optical signal is a valid optical signal and associate a reference optical signal with an emitted optical signal by comparing/matching reference optical signal and emitted optical signal (LaChapelle 0233-0235).
Claim(s) 6, 8-9, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Thielen and Blauvelt (US-20180041006-A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 1.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the profiled compensation current introduces a compensation frequency chirp that counteracts a frequency chirp associated with the injected amplifier current pulse.
Blauvelt discloses a modulated laser source with a compensation current introducing a compensation frequency chirp that counteracts a frequency chirp associated with an amplifier current pulse (fig. 12a compensation current 331 w/ compensation frequency chirp counteracts frequency chirp associated with a modulator 400 (e.g. an amplifier), 0035-0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the profiled compensation current introduces a compensation frequency chirp that counteracts a frequency chirp associated with the injected amplifier current pulse to reduce chirp and increase carrier-to-noise ratio (Blauvelt 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 8, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 1.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the profiled compensation current is associated with a drop in a seed current provided to the seed laser diode.
Blauvelt discloses a modulated laser source with a compensation current associated with a drop in a current provided to a laser via negative current (fig. 12a compensation current 331 applied to laser (unit on left) and associated with a drop in current to laser, “331 flows into or out of the resonator segment of the waveguide 302” (0038, flowing out of = negative current = drop in current applied to laser), 0035-0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the profiled compensation current is associated with a drop in a seed current provided to the seed laser diode via negative current to reduce current through seed diode laser/reduce energy used and compensate for chirp caused by positive amplifier current pulse (Blauvelt 0038).
Regarding claim 9, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the drop in the seed current corresponds to a negative current pulse (see claim 8 modification, 331 negative current pulse = flows out of resonator segment, Blauvelt 0038).
Regarding claim 16, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 11.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the profiled compensation current introduces a compensation frequency chirp that counteracts the frequency chirp induced by the injected amplifier current pulse.
Blauvelt discloses a modulated laser source with a compensation current introducing a compensation frequency chirp that counteracts a frequency chirp associated with an amplifier current pulse (fig. 12a compensation current 331 w/ compensation frequency chirp counteracts frequency chirp associated with a modulator 400 (e.g. an amplifier), 0035-0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the profiled compensation current introduces a compensation frequency chirp that counteracts the frequency chirp induced by the injected amplifier current pulse to reduce chirp and increase carrier-to-noise ratio (Blauvelt 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 17, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 11.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the profiled compensation current is associated with a drop in a seed current provided to the seed laser diode.
Blauvelt discloses a modulated laser source with a compensation current associated with a drop in a current provided to a laser via negative current (fig. 12a compensation current 331 applied to laser (unit on left) and associated with a drop in current to laser, “331 flows into or out of the resonator segment of the waveguide 302” (0038, flowing out of = negative current = drop in current applied to laser), 0035-0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the profiled compensation current is associated with a drop in a seed current provided to the seed laser diode via negative current to reduce current through seed diode laser/reduce energy used and compensate for chirp caused by positive amplifier current pulse (Blauvelt 0038).
Regarding claim 18, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the drop in the seed current corresponds to a negative current pulse (see claim 17 modification, 331 negative current pulse = flows out of resonator segment, Blauvelt 0038).
Claim(s) 10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Thielen, Blauvelt, and Kubota (US-20220082671-A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Shah discloses the system of claim 9.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the negative current pulse is an asymmetric pulse.
Kubota discloses a distance measurement device with emitted pulses that are asymmetrical with respect to time (fig. 1, 0030, 0210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the negative current pulse is an asymmetric pulse to increase the effect of lost pulse identification if multiple pulses are emitted/increase degrees of freedom for pulse construction (Kubota 0210).
Regarding claim 19, modified Shah discloses the method of claim 18.
Modified Shah does not disclose wherein the negative current pulse is an asymmetric pulse.
Kubota discloses a distance measurement device with emitted pulses that are asymmetrical with respect to time (fig. 1, 0030, 0210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the negative current pulse is an asymmetric pulse to increase the effect of lost pulse identification if multiple pulses are emitted/increase degrees of freedom for pulse construction (Kubota 0210).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Piracha US-12517221-B1: LIDAR system with emitted pulses that vary either spatially or temporally across the pulse
Wipiejewski US-20040076199-A1: Laser with various chirp compensation structures and techniques
O’Brien US-5793521-A: Optical semiconductor device with pumped preamplifier + amplifier sections; discusses modulating amplifier rather than laser to reduce laser chirp; includes isolator between laser diode and amplifier
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828