DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Ln. 18 recites “a controller that control” which should read “a controller that controls”
Claim 3, Ln. 3-4 recites “wherein second inspiratory lumen” which should read “wherein the second inspiratory lumen”
Claim 5, Ln. 3-4 recites “the endotracheal tube serves the one or more expiratory lumens” which should read “the endotracheal tube serves as the one or more expiratory lumens”
Claim 14, Ln. 4 recites “the airways” which should read “the airway” for consistency with claim 1
Claim 20, Ln. 4 recites “at least distal tip” which should read “at least a distal tip”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8-10, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “the first lumen is one of …” and “the second lumen is one of …” which deems the claim indefinite. As currently written the first lumen and the second lumen could both be selected as the same structure, e.g. the first inspiratory lumen, which appears to create a logical impossibility. For the purposes of examination the latter limitation will be interpreted as reading “the second lumen is a different one of ….”
Claim 10 recites the limitations “the first lumen is withdrawn from the second lumen” which deems the claim indefinite. The active language in the limitation raises the question as to whether the claim is attempting to recite a method step. The use of active verbiage is generally not suitable for an apparatus claim since apparatus claims define a structure by what it is. One suggested edit for the claim could be “the first lumen is capable of being withdrawn from the second lumen.”
Claim 16 recites the limitations “the first lumen is one of …” and “the second lumen is one of …” which deems the claim indefinite. As currently written the first lumen and the second lumen could both be selected as the same structure, e.g. the first inspiratory lumen, which appears to create a logical impossibility. For the purposes of examination the latter limitation will be interpreted as reading “the second lumen is a different one of ….”
Claim 19 recites the limitations “the first inspiratory lumen and a first expiratory lumen of the one or more expiratory lumens are withdrawn to above a carina of the airway” which deems the claim indefinite. The active language in the limitation raises the question as to whether the claim is attempting to recite a method step. The use of active verbiage is generally not suitable for an apparatus claim since apparatus claims define a structure by what it is. One suggested edit for the claim could be “the first inspiratory lumen and a first expiratory lumen of the one or more expiratory lumens are capable of being withdrawn to above a carina of the airway.”
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “inspiratory gas pressure control mechanisms” in claims 1 and 21 and “expiratory gas pressure control mechanisms” in claims 1 and 21.
The corresponding structure for the “inspiratory flow control mechanism(s)” is
found in the instant specification as at least: the inspiratory gas source(s) 160 of FIG. 1, the inspiratory flow control system(s) 150 of FIG. 1, the inspiratory tube(s) 152 of FIG. 1, the inspiratory gas supply system of FIG. 9A, the inspiratory gas supply system(s) of FIG. 9B, the inspiratory gas delivery system of FIG. 9A, the inspiratory gas delivery system(s) of FIG. 9B, the pressurizer(s) 145, the controllers 170, one or more components of one of the previously listed elements, or a combination thereof (¶00269). Note is also made of the discussion in ¶00274.
The corresponding structure for the “expiratory flow control mechanism(s)” is
found in the instant specification as at least: the expiratory gas output(s) 165 of FIG. 1, the expiratory flow control system(s) 155 of FIG. 1, the expiratory tube(s) 157 of FIG. 1, the expiratory gas receipt system of FIG. 9A, the expiratory gas receipt system(s) of FIG. 9B, the expiratory gas removal system of FIG. 9A, the expiratory gas removal system(s) of FIG. 9B, the pressurizer(s) 145, the controllers 170, one or more components of one of the previously listed elements, or a combination thereof (¶00273).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-8, 16-17 and 21 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6-9, 11 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,285,286. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations of instant claim 1 are found within the overall scope of patent claim 1, the instant claim merely being slightly broader in scope. A further mapping of dependent claims is as follows:
Instant claim 2 vs. patent claim 2
Instant claim 3 vs. patent claim 6
Instant claim 4 vs. patent claim 7
Instant claim 5 vs. patent claim 9
Instant claim 6 vs. patent claim 17
Instant claim 7 vs. patent claim 18
Instant claim 8 vs. patent claim 11 – in patent claim 11 the endotracheal tube defines an expiratory lumen with patent claim 9 defining an inspiratory lumen within the endotracheal tube
Instant claim 16 vs. patent claim 11 – in patent claim 11 the endotracheal tube defines an expiratory lumen with patent claim 10 defining an inspiratory lumen within the endotracheal tube
Instant claim 17 as obvious in view of patent claim 11 – one of ordinary skill in the art would obviously recognize that endotracheal tubes are commonly curved to match the natural human anatomical curvature from the mouth into the trachea
Instant claim 21 vs. patent claim 1 in the same manner discussed above in regard to claim 1
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8, 10, 16-17 and 21 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 40 and 76 of U.S. Patent No. 12,171,941. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations of instant claim 1 are found within the overall scope of any of patent claims 2, 40, and 76, the instant claim merely being slightly broader in scope. A further mapping of dependent claims is as follows:
Instant claim 2 as obvious in view of patent claims 2, 40 and 76 – one of ordinary skill in the art reading the claims as defining inspiratory lumens provided to two different directions of the airway would obviously have expected those opposite directions to be related to separate lungs
Instant claim 5 as obvious in view of patent claims 2, 40 and 76 – one of ordinary skill in the art reading the claims as defining inspiratory lumens provided to two different directions of the airway would obviously have expected the lumens to be part of an endotracheal tube as that is the common structure in the respiratory arts which delivers gas into a patient’s lower airway
Instant claim 8 vs. any of patent claims 4, 42 and 78
Instant claim 10 as obvious in view of patent claims 4, 42 and 78 – one of ordinary skill in the art will obviously expect a lumen which is “threaded through” to also be capable of being withdrawn in a reverse manner
Instant claim 16 vs. any of patent claims 4, 42 and 78 – “threaded through” implies a smaller diameter
Instant claim 17 as obvious in view of patent claims 2, 40 and 76 – one of ordinary skill in the art would obviously recognize that gas delivery lumens being passed into a lower airway are commonly curved to match the natural human anatomical curvature from the mouth into the trachea
Instant claim 21 vs. patent claims 2, 40 and 76 in the same manner discussed above in regard to claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reissmann (U.S. Pub. 2004/0231673).
Regarding claim 21, Reissmann discloses a method for airflow control (e.g. Fig. 1), the method comprising: setting, by a controller (¶0024 – software-controlled ventilation), a property of a first flow of a plurality of flows based on a property of a second flow of the plurality of flows (¶¶0024, 0026, 0040, 0049 – sensor feedback to ventilator control), wherein the plurality of flows includes one or more expiratory flows and at least one of a plurality of inspiratory flows (e.g. Fig. 1 flows through #11, 12); receiving a first inspiratory gaseous volume into a first inspiratory lumen (Fig. 1 #5; ¶0051); providing the first inspiratory gaseous volume to a first portion of an airway of a patient as a first inspiratory flow through the first inspiratory lumen using one or more inspiratory gas pressure control mechanisms (¶0049) while the first inspiratory lumen is at least partially inserted into the airway (Fig. 1); wherein the controller controls the one or more inspiratory gas pressure control mechanisms (¶0049); and evacuating an expiratory gaseous volume from the first portion of the airway as the one or more expiratory flows through one or more expiratory lumens (Fig. 1 #6; ¶0051) using one or more expiratory gas pressure control mechanisms (¶0049) while the one or more expiratory lumens are at least partially inserted into the airway, wherein the controller controls the one or more expiratory gas pressure control mechanisms (¶0049). It is noted that the disclosed structures for the inspiratory gas pressure control mechanism and expiratory gas pressure control mechanism (see above 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation) cover so many options, including some overlap between those options, that internal structures of ventilator 1 and/or other valves are suitable for reading on the inspiratory gas pressure control mechanism and expiratory gas pressure control mechanism. The instant claim is afforded an effective filing date of not later than 11 Jun 2021.
Reissmann fails to disclose receiving a second inspiratory gaseous volume into a second inspiratory lumen; providing the second inspiratory gaseous volume to a second portion of the airway as a second inspiratory flow through the second inspiratory lumen using the one or more inspiratory gas pressure control mechanisms while the second inspiratory lumen is at least partially inserted into the airway; and evacuating an expiratory gaseous volume from the second portion of the airway as the one or more expiratory flows through one or more expiratory lumens using one or more expiratory gas pressure control mechanisms while the one or more expiratory lumens are at least partially inserted into the airway.
However, it is noted that the claim does not require any of the lumens to be part of a same apparatus, as is required by claim 1. Similarly, the claim places no timing requirements on when the first inspiratory gaseous volume and the second inspiratory gaseous volume are received or when the evacuating of the expiratory gaseous volume is performed. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered it prima facie obvious that treatment on a patient could begin in the manner shown in Fig. 1 of Reissmann and address two of the lumens of the claimed invention, as indicated in the above citations. It is a recognized concern in the respiratory arts that when a blocked or otherwise defective endotracheal tube is recognized during treatment the patient may need to be extubated and the endotracheal tube replaced. Such a replacement of the endotracheal tube of Fig. 1 would then introduce two new lumens which would still be expected to have their flow controlled by ventilator 1.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Reissmann a second inspiratory gaseous volume into a second inspiratory lumen; providing the second inspiratory gaseous volume to a second portion of the airway as a second inspiratory flow through the second inspiratory lumen using the one or more inspiratory gas pressure control mechanisms while the second inspiratory lumen is at least partially inserted into the airway; and evacuating an expiratory gaseous volume from the second portion of the airway as the one or more expiratory flows through one or more expiratory lumens using one or more expiratory gas pressure control mechanisms while the one or more expiratory lumens are at least partially inserted into the airway based upon a recognized concern in the respiratory arts that when a blocked or otherwise defective endotracheal tube is recognized during treatment the patient may need to be extubated and the endotracheal tube replaced, with the new endotracheal tube then introducing two new lumens resulting in fulfillment of the overall lumens and flows required by the instant claim. Applicant may wish to consider defining all of the claimed lumens as of the same apparatus and/or to recite all of the lumens as inserted within the airway at the same time.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsman (U.S. Patent 5359999).
Regarding claim 21, Kinsman discloses a method for airflow control (e.g. Fig. 2), the method comprising: setting, by a controller (Col. 3, Ln. 35 – Col. , Ln. 3 – electronics of master ventilator; Col. 6, Ln. 34-43 – master ventilator has a controller), a property of a first flow of a plurality of flows based on a property of a second flow of the plurality of flows (Col. 3, Ln. 35 – Col. 5, Ln. 3 – cycling of the ventilator), wherein the plurality of flows includes one or more expiratory flows and at least one of a plurality of inspiratory flows (cycling a ventilator involves inspiratory and expiratory flows); receiving a first inspiratory gaseous volume into a first inspiratory lumen (e.g. Fig. 2 #1 receives from #10); providing the first inspiratory gaseous volume to a first portion of an airway of a patient as a first inspiratory flow through the first inspiratory lumen using one or more inspiratory gas pressure control mechanisms (Fig. 2 operation of #14) while the first inspiratory lumen is at least partially inserted into the airway (Fig. 2); receiving a second inspiratory gaseous volume into a second inspiratory lumen (e.g. Fig. 2 #2 receives from #12); providing the second inspiratory gaseous volume to a second portion of the airway as a second inspiratory flow through the second inspiratory lumen using the one or more inspiratory gas pressure control mechanisms (Fig. 2 operation of #15) while the second inspiratory lumen is at least partially inserted into the airway (Fig. 2), wherein the controller controls the one or more inspiratory gas pressure control mechanisms (Col. 3, Ln. 35 – Col. , Ln. 3; Col. 6, Ln. 34-43 – master and slave configuration), wherein the plurality of inspiratory flows includes the first inspiratory flow and the second inspiratory flow (Fig. 2); and evacuating an expiratory gaseous volume from the first portion of the airway and from the second portion of the airway as the one or more expiratory flows (Fig. 2 through #11, 13) using one or more expiratory gas pressure control mechanisms (Fig. 2 operation of #14, 15), wherein the controller controls the one or more expiratory gas pressure control mechanisms (Col. 3, Ln. 35 – Col. , Ln. 3; Col. 6, Ln. 34-43 – master and slave configuration). Alternately, the left lumen 2 of Kinsman can be read as an expiratory lumen and Kinsman would then fail to disclose a second inspiratory lumen. It is noted that the disclosed structures for the inspiratory gas pressure control mechanism and expiratory gas pressure control mechanism (see above 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation) cover so many options, including some overlap between those options, that internal structures of ventilators 14, 15 are suitable for reading on the inspiratory gas pressure control mechanism and expiratory gas pressure control mechanism. The instant claim is afforded an effective filing date of not later than 11 Jun 2021.
Kinsman fails to disclose both a second inspiratory lumen inserted into the airway and one or more expiratory lumens at least partially inserted into the airway.
However, it is noted that the claim does not require any of the lumens to be part of a same apparatus, as is required by claim 1. Similarly, the claim places no timing requirements on when the first inspiratory gaseous volume and the second inspiratory gaseous volume are received or when the evacuating of the expiratory gaseous volume is performed. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered it prima facie obvious that treatment on a patient could begin in the manner shown in Fig. 2 of Kinsman and address two of the lumens of the claimed invention, as indicated in the above citations. It is a recognized concern in the respiratory arts that when a blocked or otherwise defective endotracheal tube is recognized during treatment the patient may need to be extubated and the endotracheal tube replaced. Such a replacement of the endotracheal tube of Fig. 2 would then introduce two new lumens which would still be expected to have their flow controlled by ventilators 14, 15.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Kinsman both a second inspiratory lumen inserted into the airway and one or more expiratory lumens at least partially inserted into the airway based upon a recognized concern in the respiratory arts that when a blocked or otherwise defective endotracheal tube is recognized during treatment the patient may need to be extubated and the endotracheal tube replaced, with the new endotracheal tube then introducing two new lumens resulting in fulfillment of the overall lumens and flows required by the instant claim. Applicant may wish to consider defining all of the claimed lumens as of the same apparatus and/or to recite all of the lumens as inserted within the airway at the same time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 are allowed over the prior art. Some of these claims are rejected based upon the above 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections and nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art fails to teach or suggest an apparatus including all elements and functionality recited by the instant claim. Specifically, the apparatus is recited as including a first inspiratory lumen communicating to a first portion of the airway, a second inspiratory lumen communicating to a second portion of the airway, and at least one expiratory lumen at least partially inserted into the airway. Thus, the claimed apparatus must include at least three lumens amongst which two lumens communicate inspiratory gas to different portions of the airway of the patient. Additionally, a controller regulates flow through all of the lumens. The instant claim is afforded an effective filing date of not later than 11 Jun 2021.
Closest prior art to the instant claim include: Darowski et al. (U.S. Patent 4598706), Kinsman (U.S. Patent 5359999), and Bell (U.S. Patent 10980954). Darowski (Figure) and Kinsman (Figs. 2-3) each teach a pair of inspiratory limbs delivering gas to a patient. However, neither Darowski nor Kinsman teaches or suggests more than two lumens placed within the patient. There is not found to be a preponderance of the evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified either of Darowski or Kinsman to have included the requirements minimum of three lumens within the patient without improper hindsight reasoning.
Bell teaches an endotracheal tube which can include multiple inspiratory tubes (Fig. 3B #321 or Fig. 3C #325; Col. 11, Ln. 41-46). However, those multiple inspiratory tubes empty into common a common distal portion of the endotracheal tube (e.g. Fig. 1 #102b; Col. 10, Ln. 35-50). Thus, different inspiratory flows through inspiratory tubes 321, 325 will only provide gas to the same portion of the patient’s airway, at the distal opening of the endotracheal tube, and not to different first and second portions of the patient’s airway.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references.
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785