DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claims
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Claims 5-6, 15-16 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 7-14 and 17-20 are pending.
No new claim is added.
Response to arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 12/22/2025; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to the claim rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103, applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant has amended the independent claims and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application and the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached below in the FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot. However, even though applicant has amended the claims and the Office has provided new mapping of cited prior art below, the Office is still using most of the same cited prior art for most of the subject matter of the claim, thus the Office will attempt to address all remarks that remain relevant.
Applicant remarks:
Zeng does not disclose or suggest driving the grain cart to a goal point that is a greater distance from the side edge of the truck than the path line and driving the grain truck from the goal point to the path line (page 7).
Office response:
Please see new mapping above, specifically the mapping for the independent claims 1 and 11.
Applicant further argues that the dependent claims 4 and 14; and 10 and 20 are allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is indefinite because of improper dependent. Claim 8 contains a reference to the previously set forth canceled claim. For, purpose of examination, claim will be read as “ The system of claim 1”. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is indefinite because of improper dependent. Claim 8 contains a reference to the previously set forth canceled claim. For, purpose of examination, claim will be read as “ The system of claim 11”. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20220011444 A1 to Eichhorn et al. (herein after “Eichhorn”) in view of KR 20210093240 A to Nakabayashi et al. (herein after “Nakabayashi”). Regarding claim 1, Eichhorn teaches A system for controlling a grain cart relative to a grain truck (see Eichhorn at least para[0013] the grain cart guidance system is configured to plot a grain cart guidance line for along one or more grain trucks), wherein the grain truck includes a side edge extending between a front end and a rear end (see Eichhorn at least para 0090] In the implementation of FIG. 3, an orthogonal arrangement of one receiver 12A to another 12B would have the GNSS receivers 12A, 12B parallel to the front side of the trailer 2. This would be orthogonal to the long side of the trailer 2,
, figures 12A and 12B and figures 15B and 17B), the system comprising:
a controller configured to use the image from the monitoring device to identify a location of the grain truck (see Eichhorn para[0009] This sensing of at least one configuration, dimension, or measurement is useful to help determine the best location to position the grain cart to load into a specified location of the grain truck):
a ranging device configured to identify a position and orientation of the side edge relative to the grain cart based on the location identified by the controller (see Eichhorn at least para[0093] The remote server 33 notifies and provides the identification and current position and orientation for active grain trucks 14 that are relevant to it. ); and a controller configured to: determine a path line parallel to the side edge (see Eichhorn para[0094] In various implementations, the guidance line B can include more than just the parallel path next to the truck 14/trailer 2), wherein the path line is a first predetermined distance (See Eichhorn para[0080] utilizing GNSS position to examine a set number of recent positions based on distance )from the side edge (see Eichhorn figures 3 and 4 are parallel guidance line B at a distance, para[0082] a straight-line distance of about 30 ft (at speeds greater than 0.5 mph) may be required to establish an accurate heading) ; identify a goal point based on the path line, wherein the goal point (see para[0009] This sensing of at least one configuration, dimension, or measurement is useful to help determine the best location to position the grain cart to load into a specified location of the grain truck, such as the center of the receiving grain truck box, ) a second predetermined distance from the front or rear end of the side edge; and plan a path for the grain cart to the goal point (see Eichhorn para[0071] In either of the above implementations, the positions and orientation information is used to create a guidance path for the tractor automatic guidance system to follow or for an operator to manually follow with or without assisted steering. In certain implementations, when in range, the operator can engage the guidance system and allow it to position the grain cart alongside the receiving vehicle (grain truck)), plan a path for the grain cart to the goal point; a drive the grain cart along the path to the goal point. (See Eichhorn para [0098] The grain cart operator then drives the grain cart 18 into position to engage on the guidance line B)
by a monitoring device mounted on the grain cart, an image of the grain truck (See Eichhorn at least para[0077] the grain cart ECU 22 can do one or more of: present the distance and orientation information to the grain cart operator via the display 24 to allow manual guidance along the correct path and/or input the distance and orientation data to the optional grain cart automatic guidance system 26 to correctly position and align the grain cart 18 to the truck 14 for unloading,); using the image from the monitoring device to identify a location of the grain truck (See Eichhorn para[0016]a display for displaying the grain cart guidance line for manual navigation by an operator) ;
However, Eichhorn does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach: a monitoring device configured to obtain an image of the grain truck, wherein the second predetermined distance is greater than the first predetermined distance;. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Nakabayashi same field of endeavor teaches wherein the second predetermined distance is greater than the first predetermined distance(See Nakabayashi a target point estimator configured to calculate, as an estimated target point, a location separated by a predetermined distance from the projection point on the target travel path from the host vehicle position in the traveling direction of the work vehicle on the target travel path) and drive the grain cart from the goal point to the path line. (See Nakabayashi a position located at a point spaced apart from the current position of the host vehicle in the traveling direction of the work vehicle and located on the target travel path becomes the estimated target point).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Eichhorn’s apparatus, systems, and methods for a system for guiding a tractor and auger cart alongside a grain truck with Nakabayashi’s target point at a location separated by a predetermine distance from the travel path in order to allow to provide an automatic driving control system capable of calculating a turning output according to the state of a work vehicle(see summery of the invention).
Regarding claim 2, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 1. Eichhorn teaches wherein the controller is configured to derive a truck line by fitting a first order model to the side edge. (See Eichhorn para0084] Various implementations of the system 10, shown for example in FIG. 2, establish the truck heading A, using a kinematic modeling method for the truck 14/trailer 2. Kinematic modeling, for heading calculation, uses a mathematical model for determining trailer 2 position and therefore truck heading A. The kinematic model estimates how the truck 14/trailer 2 moves in the field. )
Regarding claim 3, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 1. Eichhorn teaches wherein the controller is configured to identify a line perpendicular to the truck line wherein the perpendicular line extends through the one of the front [[or]] and the rear end of the side edge and wherein the goal point aligns with the perpendicular line. (see Eichhorn at least para [0090] In the implementation of FIG. 3, an orthogonal arrangement of one receiver 12A to another 12B would have the GNSS receivers 12A, 12B parallel to the front side of the trailer 2. This would be orthogonal to the long side of the trailer 2, which is the side that the grain cart 18 aligns to for unloading, orthogonal arrangement is similar as a line perpendicular to truck line).
Regarding claim 7, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 1. Eichhorn discloses wherein the controller is configured to use one of a pure pursuit algorithm and a model predictive control to drive the cart along the path (see Eichhorn at least para[0084] The kinematic model estimates how the truck 14/trailer 2 moves in the field, see para[00840 and [0085] for details) .
Regarding claim 8, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 1. Eichhorn teaches wherein the controller is configured to drive the grain cart along the path line while the grain cart unloads crop material into the grain truck (see Eichhorn at least para[0094] the guidance line B can also include a planned path from the current location of the grain cart 18 to the optimal aligned position. This cloud-based approach may also be used to guide an autonomous (i.e. remote or computer-operated) grain carts 18 for unloading into the grain trucks 14.).
Regarding claim 9, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 1. Eichhorn teaches wherein the controller is configured to use one of a Stanley controller( similar as Eichhorn para[0104] Line or plane detection algorithms can detect the long side 2B of the grain truck 14, that is, the side 2B of the grain truck 14 that the grain cart 18 should drive parallel to at the proper separation distance to achieve onloading (or grain transfer)), a rear wheel based feedback method (see Eichhorn at least para[0091] In a parallel arrangement such as that of FIG. 4, the GNSS receivers 12A, 12B are parallel to the long side 2B of the trailer 2, so the heading from the rear receiver 12B to the front receiver 12A matches the heading A of the truck 14/trailer 2. The advantage of the system 10 with dual- GNSS receivers 12A, 12B for heading calculation is that the heading of the trailer 2 is always known, regardless of how the truck 14/trailer 2 has been driven.), and a model predictive control to drive the cart along the path (see Eichhorn Kinematic modeling).
Regarding claim 11, Eichhorn teaches A method for controlling a controller on a grain cart to control the gain cart relative to a grain truck, wherein the grain truck includes a side edge extending between a front end and a rear end(see Eichhorn at least para 0090], the method comprising the steps of: determining a position and orientation of the side edge relative to the grain cart (see Eichhorn at least para[0093] The remote server 33 notifies and provides the identification and current position and orientation for active grain trucks 14 that are relevant to it. ); determining a path line parallel to the side edge, wherein the path line is a first predetermined distance from the side edge(see Eichhorn figures 3 and 4 are parallel guidance line B at a distance, para[0082] a straight-line distance of about 30 ft (at speeds greater than 0.5 mph) may be required to establish an accurate heading) ; identifying a goal point based on the path line, wherein the goal point is a second predetermined distance from the front or rear end of the side edge; and planning a path for the grain cart to the goal point(see Eichhorn para[0071] In either of the above implementations, the positions and orientation information is used to create a guidance path for the tractor automatic guidance system to follow or for an operator to manually follow with or without assisted steering. In certain implementations, when in range, the operator can engage the guidance system and allow it to position the grain cart alongside the receiving vehicle (grain truck)), using the image from the monitoring device to identify a location of the grain truck (See Eichhorn para[0016]a display for displaying the grain cart guidance line for manual navigation by an operator) ;
a drive the grain cart along the path to the goal point. (See Eichhorn para [0098] The grain cart operator then drives the grain cart 18 into position to engage on the guidance line B),
by a monitoring device mounted on the grain cart, an image of the grain truck (See Eichhorn at least para[0077] the grain cart ECU 22 can do one or more of: present the distance and orientation information to the grain cart operator via the display 24 to allow manual guidance along the correct path and/or input the distance and orientation data to the optional grain cart automatic guidance system 26 to correctly position and align the grain cart 18 to the truck 14 for unloading,);
However, Eichhorn does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach: obtaining, by a monitoring device mounted on the gain cart, an image of the gain truck: using the image from the monitoring device to identify a location of the gain truck:, wherein the second predetermined distance is greater than the first predetermined distance;. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Nakabayashi However, Eichhorn does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach : a monitoring device configured to obtain an image of the grain truck, wherein the second predetermined distance is greater than the first predetermined distance;. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Nakabayashi same field of endeavor teaches wherein the second predetermined distance is greater than the first predetermined distance(See Nakabayashi a target point estimator configured to calculate, as an estimated target point, a location separated by a predetermined distance from the projection point on the target travel path from the host vehicle position in the traveling direction of the work vehicle on the target travel path) and drive the grain cart from the goal point to the path line. (See Nakabayashi a position located at a point spaced apart from the current position of the host vehicle in the traveling direction of the work vehicle and located on the target travel path becomes the estimated target point).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Eichhorn’s apparatus, systems, and methods for a system for guiding a tractor and auger cart alongside a grain truck with Nakabayashi’s target point at a location separated by a predetermine distance from the travel path in order to allow to provide an automatic driving control system capable of calculating a turning output according to the state of a work vehicle(see summery of the invention).
Regarding claim 12, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 11. Eichhorn teaches the step of deriving a truck line by fitting a first order model to the side edge (See Eichhorn para0084] Various implementations of the system 10, shown for example in FIG. 2, establish the truck heading A, using a kinematic modeling method for the truck 14/trailer 2. Kinematic modeling, for heading calculation, uses a mathematical model for determining trailer 2 position and therefore truck heading A. The kinematic model estimates how the truck 14/trailer 2 moves in the field. ).
Regarding claim 13, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 11. Eichhorn discloses further comprising the step of identifying a line perpendicular to the truck line wherein the perpendicular line extends through the front or rear end of the side edge and wherein the goal point aligns with the perpendicular line (see Eichhorn at least para [0090] In the implementation of FIG. 3, an orthogonal arrangement of one receiver 12A to another 12B would have the GNSS receivers 12A, 12B parallel to the front side of the trailer 2. This would be orthogonal to the long side of the trailer 2, which is the side that the grain cart 18 aligns to for unloading, orthogonal arrangement is similar as a line perpendicular to truck line).
Regarding claim 17, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 11. Eichhorn discloses further comprising the step of using one of a pure pursuit algorithm and a model predictive control to drive the cart along the path (see Eichhorn at least para[0084] The kinematic model estimates how the truck 14/trailer 2 moves in the field, see para[00840 and [0085] for details) .
Regarding claim 18, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 11. Eichhorn discloses further comprising the step of driving the grain cart along the path line while the grain cart unloads crop material into the grain truck (see Eichhorn at least para[0094] the guidance line B can also include a planned path from the current location of the grain cart 18 to the optimal aligned position. This cloud-based approach may also be used to guide an autonomous (i.e. remote or computer-operated) grain carts 18 for unloading into the grain trucks 14.).
Regarding claim 19, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain applied as claim 11. Eichhorn discloses further wherein the controller uses one of a Stanley controller( similar as Eichhorn para[0104] Line or plane detection algorithms can detect the long side 2B of the grain truck 14, that is, the side 2B of the grain truck 14 that the grain cart 18 should drive parallel to at the proper separation distance to achieve onloading (or grain transfer, Stanley controller is a path tracking algorithm), a rear wheel based feedback method(see Eichhorn at least para[0091] In a parallel arrangement such as that of FIG. 4, the GNSS receivers 12A, 12B are parallel to the long side 2B of the trailer 2, so the heading from the rear receiver 12B to the front receiver 12A matches the heading A of the truck 14/trailer 2. The advantage of the system 10 with dual- GNSS receivers 12A, 12B for heading calculation is that the heading of the trailer 2 is always known, regardless of how the truck 14/trailer 2 has been driven, and a model predictive control to drive the cart along the path (see Eichhorn Kinematic modeling).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20220011444A to Eichhorn et al (herein after “Eichhorn”) in view of KR 20210093240 A to Nakabayashi et al. (herein after “Nakabayashi”) and US20180053406A1 to Kawamata et al. (herein after “Kawamata”).
Regarding claim 4, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain apply as claim 1. Eichhorn teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the grain cart will make a sharp turn from the goal point to the path (See Eichhorn para[0083] The truck ECU 20 according to certain of these implementations also evaluates the past GNSS positions to determine if the truck 14/trailer 2 was in a turn) and
if the controller determines that the grain cart will make the sharp turn, the controller is configured to:
determine an offset point that is a third predetermined distance from the one of the front[[or]]and the rear end of the side edge wherein the offset point lies along the truck lines (see Eichhorn similar as para[0079] if the distance between positions is small due to slow speed of the truck 14, and therefore the receiver 12, the calculated heading may have excessive error from the true truck orientation/heading A that prevents the system 10 from being able to properly align the grain cart 18 tractor to the truck 14 and/or trailer 2; As illustrated in FIG. 2, a single GNSS receiver 12 is used on the grain truck 14 (or trailer 2) to determine the position and orientation information of the grain truck 14, shown at A, and to plot a grain cart 18 guidance line B. One of the potential limitations of this approach is that heading A may only be determined if there is movement of the GNSS receiver 12.).
However, Eichhorn does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach identify a second line perpendicular to the truck line going through the offset point; move the goal point to the second perpendicular line before planning the path for the grain cart to the goal point. Nevertheless, Kawamata same field of endeavor teaches identify a second line perpendicular to the truck line going through the offset point; and (See Kawamata para[0066]As illustrated in FIG. 7, the autonomous travel control unit 262 as the error calculation unit drops a perpendicular line from an own dump truck position 710 onto a target route 700,)
move the goal point to the second perpendicular line before planning the path for the grain cart to the goal point. (See Kawamata para0066]
As illustrated in FIG. 7, the autonomous travel control unit 262 as the error calculation unit drops a perpendicular line from an own dump truck position 710 onto a target route 700, and calculates the length of the perpendicular line as an amount of positional offset 720 between the own dump truck position and the target route.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Eichhorn’s apparatus, systems, and methods for a system for guiding a tractor and auger cart alongside a grain truck with Kawamata’s error calculation unit to in order to allow for avoiding collide from behind, and dump trucks pass each other while traveling in opposite directions (see Kawamata para[0003]).
Regarding claim 14, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain apply as claim 11. Eichhorn teaches determining whether the gain cart will make a sharp turn from the goal point to the path ln (See Eichhorn para[0083] The truck ECU 20 according to certain of these implementations also evaluates the past GNSS positions to determine if the truck 14/trailer 2 was in a turn) and
and if it is determined that the gain cart will make the sharp turn, the method further comprises the steps of: determining an offset point that is a third predetermined distance from the one of the front [[or]] and the rear end of the side edge wherein the offset point lies along the truck line (see Eichhorn similar as para[0079] if the distance between positions is small due to slow speed of the truck 14, and therefore the receiver 12, the calculated heading may have excessive error from the true truck orientation/heading A that prevents the system 10 from being able to properly align the grain cart 18 tractor to the truck 14 and/or trailer 2; As illustrated in FIG. 2, a single GNSS receiver 12 is used on the grain truck 14 (or trailer 2) to determine the position and orientation information of the grain truck 14, shown at A, and to plot a grain cart 18 guidance line B. One of the potential limitations of this approach is that heading A may only be determined if there is movement of the GNSS receiver 12.)
further comprising the step of determining an offset point (see Eichhorn similar as heading A ) that is a third predetermined distance from the front or rear end of the side edge wherein the offset point lies along the truck line (see Eichhorn similar as para[0079] if the distance between positions is small due to slow speed of the truck 14, and therefore the receiver 12, the calculated heading may have excessive error from the true truck orientation/heading A that prevents the system 10 from being able to properly align the grain cart 18 tractor to the truck 14 and/or trailer 2; As illustrated in FIG. 2, a single GNSS receiver 12 is used on the grain truck 14 (or trailer 2) to determine the position and orientation information of the grain truck 14, shown at A, and to plot a grain cart 18 guidance line B. One of the potential limitations of this approach is that heading A may only be determined if there is movement of the GNSS receiver 12.).
However, Eichhorn does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach identifying a second line perpendicular to the truck line going through the offset point; moving the goal point to the second perpendicular line before planning the path for the gain cart to the goal point. Nevertheless, Kawamata same field of endeavor teaches identifying a second line perpendicular to the truck line going through the offset point (See Kawamata para[0066]As illustrated in FIG. 7, the autonomous travel control unit 262 as the error calculation unit drops a perpendicular line from an own dump truck position 710 onto a target route 700,) : and
moving the goal point to the second perpendicular line before planning the path for the gain cart to the goal point. (See Kawamata para0066]
As illustrated in FIG. 7, the autonomous travel control unit 262 as the error calculation unit drops a perpendicular line from an own dump truck position 710 onto a target route 700, and calculates the length of the perpendicular line as an amount of positional offset 720 between the own dump truck position and the target route.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Eichhorn’s apparatus, systems, and methods for a system for guiding a tractor and auger cart alongside a grain truck with Kawamata’s error calculation unit to in order to allow for avoiding collide from behind, and dump trucks pass each other while traveling in opposite directions (see Kawamata para[0003]).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20220011444A to Eichhorn et al (herein after “Eichhorn”) in view of KR 20210093240 A to Nakabayashi et al. (herein after “Nakabayashi”) and US20140032035A1 to Thomson (herein after “Thomson”).
Regarding claim 10, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain apply as claim 1. However, Eichhorn does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the controller is configured to use Dubins Path to plan the path for the grain cart to the goal point. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Thomson teaches wherein the controller is configured to use Dubins Path to plan the path for the grain cart to the goal point (see Thomson at least para[0037] To solve this problem, for each automated vehicle, a path from the start position to a node and a path from a node to the goal position 204 needs to be calculated. As long as there is sufficient coverage of the roadmap, then a Dubins path or similar path will suffice).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Eichhorn’s apparatus, systems, and methods for a system for guiding a tractor and auger cart alongside a grain truck with Thomson’s Dubins path to configure to plan the path for the path in order to allow for to always start off or finish on a position on the path (see Thomson para[0037]).
Regarding claim 20, Eichhorn and Nakabayashi remain apply as claim 11. However, Eichhorn does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach further comprising the step of using Dubins Path to plan the path for the grain cart to the goal point. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Thomson further comprising the step of using Dubins Path to plan the path for the grain cart to the goal point (see Thomson at least para[0037] To solve this problem, for each automated vehicle, a path from the start position to a node and a path from a node to the goal position 204 needs to be calculated. As long as there is sufficient coverage of the roadmap, then a Dubins path or similar path will suffice).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Eichhorn’s apparatus, systems, and methods for a system for guiding a tractor and auger cart alongside a grain truck with Thomson’s Dubins path to configure to plan the path for the path in order to allow for to always start off or finish on a position on the path (see Thomson para[0037]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666