DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,799,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown below:
Current Claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,799,194
Claim 1
Claim 1 or Claim 9 or Claim 15 or Claim 21
Claim 2
Claim 1 or Claim 9 or Claim 15 or Claim 21
Claim 3
Claim 1 or Claim 9 or Claim 15 or Claim 21
Claim 4
Claim 1 or Claim 9 or Claim 15 or Claim 21
Claim 5
Claim 1 or Claim 9 or Claim 15 or Claim 21
Claim 6
Claim 2 or Claim 10 or Claim 16 or Claim 22
Claim 7
Claim 3 or Claim 21
Claim 8
Claim 4 or Claim 9 or Claim 15 or Claim 23
Claim 9
Claim 5 or Claim 11 or Claim 17 or Claim 27
Claim 10
Claim 6 or Claim 12 or Claim 18 or Claim 24
Claim 11
Claim 7 or Claim 13 or Claim 19 or Claim 26
Claim 12
Claim 8 or Claim 14 or Claim 20 or Claim 25
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 13-14, 16, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,799,194. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown below:
Current Claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,799,194
Claim 1
Claim 1 or Claim 16
Claim 5
Claim 14 or Claim 16
Claim 6
Claim 1 or Claim 16
Claim 9
Claim 13 or Claim 16
Claim 10
Claim 5
Claim 11
Claim 4 or Claim 18
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the second conductive region is substantially symmetric to the first conductive region” of claim 8 and “wherein the antenna array includes multiple antenna elements arranged in a third direction which is perpendicular to a first direction from the front plate to the rear plate, and is perpendicular to a second direction toward which the first surface faces” of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3 and 7-8 use the terms “first conductive region” and “second conductive region”. The specification fails to set forth or describe these features, and it is unclear as to what these limitations are claiming. A region is an area of an element, not a tangible element itself. Claim 8 claims that the first and second conducive regions are symmetric, and the only mention of symmetry in the spec is in paragraph [137] and has to do with the conductive coating layer and the conducive material/support member. It appears that the applicant is trying to claim the conductive coating layer 655 placed on an inside surface of the second glass 20 as a “region”, and conductive material or conductive support member of the display 640 as a region. In claims 1 and 9 of the parent case, US Patent 11,799,194 they are being claimed as a first conductive element and a second conductive element. The use of “region” now implies that the applicant intends for it to be different from portion, and it is unclear as to what that difference in scope is. For the purposes of examination, any conductive area or element inside that mobile communication device that fits the specifics of the claims will be construed as reading on the claims.
Claims 7-8 recite the limitations "the first conductive region" and “the second conductive region”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in these claims. Claim 7 will be construed as “wherein a first conductive region prevents signals generated by the antenna array from being transmitted through the front plate, and wherein a second conductive region prevents signals generated by the antenna array from being transmitted through the rear plate”, and claim 8 will be construed as being dependent on claim 7, for the purposes of examination.
Claim 11 recites wherein the antenna array includes multiple antenna elements arranged in a third direction which is perpendicular to a first direction from the front plate to the rear plate, and is perpendicular to a second direction toward which the first surface faces. The first direction of from the front plate to the rear plate can be understood to be the Z axis of figure 1. However, it is unclear as to what the second direction would be as it is just “a second direction toward which the first surface faces”. This makes it unclear as to what the third direction is supposed to be as it’s perpendicular to both the first and second directions. The drawings and specification provide no clarity to these directions, so it is indefinite as it is not understood what the claim is trying to capture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Mow et al. (US 2018/0026341, hereby referred as Mow).
Regarding claim 1, Mow teaches the following:
a mobile communication device comprising:
a front plate (element 172, figures 7-8) forming at least a portion of a front surface of the mobile communication device;
a rear plate (bottom portion of element 12, figures 7-8) forming at least a portion of a rear surface of the mobile communication device;
a side member (side portion of element 12, figures 7-8) forming a side surface of the mobile communication device, the side member comprising a first conductive portion (portion of 12 on the side that is to the left of element 20, figure 7), a second conductive portion (portion of 12 on the side that is to the right of element 20, figure 7), and a non-conductive portion (element 20, figure 7) located between the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion (“portions of plastic-filled slot 20 in metal housing wall 12”, paragraph [0048], figure 7);
a printed circuit board (PCB) (element 150, figures 7) including a first surface facing the non-conductive portion and a second surface opposite to the first surface (as shown in figure 7); and
an antenna array (elements 40/40’ on element 150A, figures 7-8) disposed on the first surface of the PCB (as shown in figure 8), facing the non-conductive portion to transmit or receive signals through the non-conductive portion (paragraph [0048] and [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
further comprising a first conductive region (portion of element 170, figure 8, “Display 14 may be a touch screen display that incorporates a layer of conductive capacitive touch sensor electrodes”, paragraphs [0020] and [0055]) located between the front plate and the antenna array (elements 40/40’ on element 150A, figure 7).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
further comprising a second conductive region (element 164, figure 8) located between the rear plate and the antenna array (elements 40/40’ on element 150A, figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the signals have a millimeter wave frequency (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 6, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the antenna array (elements 40/40’ on element 150A, figure 7) is fully overlapped with the non-conductive portion (element 20, figure 7) when viewed in a direction toward the side surface (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
further comprising a communication circuit (elements 152, figure 7) configured to transmit or receive the signals through the antenna array, and wherein the communication circuit is disposed on the second surface (as shown in figure 7).
Regarding claim 12, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the front plate (element 172, figures 7-8) or the rear plate comprises at least one of glass and polymer (“a clear display cover layer 172 (e.g., a layer of glass”, paragraph [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mow et al. (US 2018/0026341, hereby referred as Mow) in view of Khripkov et al. (US 2017/0201011, hereby referred as Khripkov).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the mobile communication device with the exception for the following:
wherein a first conductive region prevents signals generated by the antenna array from being transmitted through the front plate, and wherein a second conductive region prevents signals generated by the antenna array from being transmitted through the rear plate.
However, Mow does suggest that shielding structures can be used (paragraph [0048]).
Khripkov suggests the teachings of wherein a first conductive region (element 161, figures 32-33) prevents signals generated by the antenna array (elements 141, figures 32-33) from being transmitted through the front plate (element 102, figure 1), and wherein a second conductive region (element 163, figures 32-33) prevents signals generated by the antenna array from being transmitted through the rear plate (element 103, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Mow to include a first conductive region that prevents signals generated by the antenna array from being transmitted through the front plate, and a symmetric second conductive region that prevents signals generated by the antenna array from being transmitted through the rear plate around the antenna array as suggested by the teachings of Khripkov and Mow which would act as a guide to direct the transmitted waves towards the non-conductive portion of the side member and would reduce any interference that may occur with other components in the mobile communication device.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, the combination of Mow and Khripkov as referred in claim 7 teaches the following:
wherein the second conductive region (Khripkov, element 163, figures 32-33) is substantially symmetric to the first conductive region (Khripkov, element 161, figures 32-33).
Claims 4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mow et al. (US 2018/0026341, hereby referred as Mow).
Regarding claim 4, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the mobile communication device with the exception for the following:
further comprising a conductive plate located between the front plate and the rear plate, and substantially parallel with the PCB such that the PCB is located between the conductive plate and the side surface and is disposed on the conductive plate, and wherein the second surface of the PCB faces the conductive plate.
However, Mow does teach that the antennas can be Yagi dipole antennas with a reflector (paragraph [0042]-[0043]). It is known in the antenna art, that a planar Yagi antenna has a grounding plate on the opposite side of the positive fed dipole and directors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the antennas of Mow to be a Yagi dipole antenna, which would further comprise a conductive plate located between the front plate and the rear plate, and substantially parallel with the PCB such that the PCB is located between the conductive plate and the side surface and is disposed on the conductive plate, and wherein the second surface of the PCB faces the conductive plate as suggested by the teachings of Mow (paragraphs [0042]-[0043]) which can provide enhanced signal directionality and gain when compared to standard dipoles which would improve the communication of the mobile communication device.
Regarding claim 10, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the mobile communication device with the exception for the following:
wherein the antenna array includes a plurality of patch antennas.
However, Mow does teach that the antennas can also be patch antennas (paragraphs [0037], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the antenna array of Mow to include a plurality of patch antennas as suggested by the teachings of Mow which can provide a more directional radiation pattern also provide a better gain than the dipole antennas.
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Mow as referred in claim 1 teaches the mobile communication device with the exception for the following:
wherein the antenna array includes multiple antenna elements arranged in a third direction which is perpendicular to a first direction from the front plate to the rear plate, and is perpendicular to a second direction toward which the first surface faces.
However, Mow does teach that the antenna array (elements 40, figure 7) includes multiple antenna elements arranged a first direction (elements 40’ on element 150A are arranged in a Z direction), a second direction (elements 40’ on element 150B are arranged in a Y direction), and a third direction (elements 40” on element 150B are arranged in a X and Y direction). Mow also suggests that the antennas can be dipoles or patch antennas (paragraphs [0037], [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the antenna array of Mow to include multiple antenna elements arranged in a third direction which is perpendicular to a first direction from the front plate to the rear plate, and is perpendicular to a second direction toward which the first surface faces as suggested by the teachings of Mow in order to allow for the antenna array to radiate towards different surfaces of the mobile communication device in order to allow for communications in all directions.
Additional Comments
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Khripkov et al. (US 2020/0203804, figure 6) also teaches the claimed invention of claim 1.
Conclusion
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845