20Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicants' communication filed on October 20, 2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on October 20, 2023 have been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pub No.: US-20240164641-A1 (herein “Jang”).
Claims 1, 11, and 20
Consider claim 1, Jang teaches a biometric data management method of a system, comprising:
measuring a bio signal of a user by a patch-type bio signal measuring device (see Jang Fig. 7, [0100] note patch 104 sensing respective first bio-signal of the user);
checking a first residual quantity of a battery of a smart watch (see Jang [0078] note if the charge level of the battery of the smartwatch is below a predetermined threshold);
when it is determined that the first residual amount of the battery is sufficient, connecting wireless communication between the patch-type bio signal measuring device and the smart watch, and receiving, by the smart watch, first biometric data corresponding to the bio signal measured by the patch-type bio signal measuring device for a first time from the patch-type bio signal measuring device (see Jang Fig. 7, [0103] note transmit the first bio-signal data to the smartwatch 106);
transmitting, by the smart watch, the first biometric data received from the patch-type bio signal measuring device to a server (see Jang [0078], [0105] note smart watch offloading processing tasks for the bio-signal to the smart phone);
disconnecting the wireless communication between the patch-type bio signal measuring device and the smart watch and entering the smart watch into a standby mode for a predetermined data transmission cycle (see Jang [0078], [0089], [0105] note when the charge level of a battery of the smartwatch 106 is below a predetermined threshold, the first bio signal data may be transmitted to the smartphone for processing where the smartwatch periodically transmits interrogation message to the patch based on acknowledgement of a short range beacon signal);
after the predetermined data transmission cycle, checking, by the smart watch, a second residual quantity of the battery (see Jang Fig. 7, [0078], [0089], [0105] note periodically transmitting a short-range beacon signal by the smartwatch to the patch, where the patch acknowledges the short range beacon signal, then the smart watch transmits the interrogation message for the bio-signal and when the charge level of a battery of the smartwatch 106 is below a predetermined threshold, the first bio signal data may be transmitted to the smartphone for processing); and
when it is determined that the second residual quantity of the battery is not sufficient, transmitting, by the smart watch or the server, information on requested biometric data to a candidate device (see Jang [0078], [0105] note when the charge level of a battery of the smartwatch 106 is below a predetermined threshold, the first bio signal data may be transmitted to the smartphone for processing).
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2 and 12
Consider claim 2, Jang teaches further comprising:
connecting wireless communication between the patch-type bio signal measuring device and the candidate device, and receiving, by the candidate device, second biometric data corresponding to the bio signal measured by the patch-type bio signal measuring device for a second time based on information on the requested biometric data from the patch-type bio signal measuring device (see Jang [0078], [0105] note the first bio signal data may be transmitted to the smartphone for processing).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13
Consider claim 3, Jang teaches wherein the smart watch selects the candidate device from a list of the candidate devices provided from the server (see Jang [0102] note selecting co-operative mode due to user selection via the smartwatch and another device, i.e. the smartphone).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4 and 14
Consider claim 4, Jang teaches wherein the information on the requested biometric data includes a packet number (see Jang [0078], [0103]-[0105] note transmitting the first bio-signal data and/or the second bio-signal data for processing at the smartphone).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5 and 15
Consider claim 5, Jang teaches wherein the second biometric data is generated from a second bio signal subsequent to a first bio signal corresponding to the first biometric data (see Jang Fig. 7, [0078], [0100], [0105] note repeating step 701 for sensing the first bio-signal).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 16
Consider claim 6, Jang further comprising:
re-connecting the wireless communication between the patch-type bio signal measuring device and the smart watch when it is determined that the second residual quantity of the battery is sufficient (see Jang [0078] note if the charge level of the battery of the smartwatch is below a predetermined threshold); and
after the re-connecting, receiving, by the smart watch, second biometric data corresponding to the bio signal measured by the patch-type bio signal measuring device for a second time from the patch-type bio signal measuring device (see Jang Fig. 7, [0103] note repeat step 710 smartwatch 106 receiving the first bio-signal data from patch 104).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7 and 17
Consider claim 7, Jang teaches further comprising: setting the data transmission cycle (see Jang Fig. 7, [0089] see Jang [0089] note periodically transmitting short-range beacon signal by the smartwatch to the patch); and connecting the wireless communication between the patch-type bio signal measuring device and the smart watch, and requesting, by the smart watch, the patch-type bio signal measuring device to start measuring the bio signal (see Jang Fig. 7, [0089] note transmitting the interrogation message responsive to detecting the short-range beacon signal).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 7.
Claims 8 and 18
Consider claim 8, Jang teaches wherein the setting of the data transmission cycle is variably determined according to at least one of a type of the bio signal, a communication environment, and a battery status (see Jang [0089] note when the patch is in proximity the smartwatch transmits the interrogation message upon receiving acknowledgement of a short range beacon signal periodically transmitted by the smartwatch).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 8.
Claims 9 and 19
Consider claim 9, Jang teaches wherein the server analyzes the received biometric data and checks whether there is missing biometric data (see Jang [0094] note the user may have the option to select which fo the first and/or second bio signal data is analyzed and/or dispalyed).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 9.
Claim 10
Consider claim 10, Jang teaches wherein the patch-type bio signal measuring device is a patch-type device detachable from a body of the user (see Jang Fig. 1, [0064] note the patch 104 may include include ECG electrodes, etc), and the smart watch is a wearable device worn on a wrist of the user (see Jang Fig. 1, [0076], [0084], note smartwatch 106 worn on user’s wrist 102).
Contact Information
/MARCUS HAMMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647 20