DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 11/21/2025.
The claims 2-3, 6-7 have been canceled by the applicant.
The claims 21-24 have been newly added by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-11, 17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190149205) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2021184296).
Regarding claim 1 Kim disclose, an apparatus comprising a memory read as: “a memory” see para. 163 coupled to a processor read as: “a processor” see para. 163, the processor configured to:
receive, from a network and via the transceiver, a configuration for a multiple layer physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission that uses more than one codeword para. 8, “receiving, from a base station, control information for the uplink signal; mapping the plurality of codewords into a plurality of layers in accordance with an indicator included in the control information”; and
generate, for transmission in accordance with the configuration for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword, the multiple layer PUSCH transmission para. 8, “transmitting the uplink signal comprising the precoded codewords to the base station, wherein the indicator indicates one of two or more codeword-to-layer mapping rules corresponding to the number of the layers”,
the multiple layer PUSCH transmission generate, for transmission on at least a first layer of multiple layers using a first codeword of the more than one codeword para. 8, “wherein the indicator indicates one of two or more codeword-to-layer mapping rules corresponding to the number of the layers”, and
on at least a second layer of the multiple layers using a second codeword of the more than one codeword para. 124, “since layer #0 and layer #1 are mapped into the first codeword, and layer #2 and layer #3 are mapped into the second codeword”.
Kim teach transmitting the signals comprising the mapped precoded codewords based on the configuration but do not specifically disclose the step of, generate the signals for transmission. However, Khoshnevisan teach, para. 35, “Transmit processor 220 may also generate reference symbols for reference signals (e.g., the cell-specific reference signal (CRS) ) and synchronization signals (e.g., the primary synchronization signal (PSS) and secondary synchronization signal (SSS))”
Khoshnevisan further teach receive, from the network, a configured mapping of layers to codewords in the more than one codeword. However, Khoshnevisan teach, para. 62-64, “the UE may receive, uplink DCI scheduling an uplink communication (e.g., a PUSCH) and indicating one or more parameters to be used for transmitting multiple codewords in the uplink communication… for example, each codeword is associated with a layer set that includes multiple layers, which are mapped to one or more DMRS ports in a DMRS CDM group (e.g., for two codewords, there are two corresponding PUSCH transmissions”.
Khoshnevisan further teach, determine, from the configured mapping, a mapping of different layers of the multiple layer PUSCH transmission to the more than one codeword para. 81-84, “the UCI may be mapped to the PUSCH including the layers associated with multiple codewords… the UE may determine a rate-matching output according to a sequence length for the UCI, E UCI, i, which may be determined according to the expression E UCI, i=L qQ′ UCI, iQ m when the UCI is mapped to the layers of one codeword, the expression E UCI, i=L q1Q′ UCI, iQ m1+L q2Q′ UCI, iQ m2 when the UCI is mapped to the layers of two codewords”.
Kim and Khoshnevisan are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to configuring communication parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan in the system of Kim so the system can configure the specific mapping for PUSCH transmissions depending on the number of layers and the transmission scheme. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently allowing flexible use of antennas and layers.
Regarding claim 4 Kim disclose, wherein: the processor is configured to,
receive, from the network and via the transceiver, an indication of a maximum rank for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission para. 45, “receives from the eNB on the DL, a Rank Indicator (RI)”; and
determine, at least partly based on the indication of the maximum rank for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission indicating a maximum rank for PUSCH transmissions that satisfies a threshold rank, that the network can schedule the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword para. 124, Table 2, “See the codeword-to-layer mapping (CLM) in table 2, which enables for each predetermined configuration, in terms of number of layers and number of codewords, to indicate different mapping (compared to the standard mapping in table 1)”; and
the configuration for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword is received after determining that the network can schedule the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword para. 74, “The network may select the number of ranks and layers for the corresponding UE, precoder, proper MCS level per codeword, etc. through the measured uplink information and provide the selected data through DCI”.
Regarding claim 5 Kim disclose, wherein: the processor is configured to receive, from the network and via the transceiver, an indication that the network can schedule the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword para. 74, “The network may select the number of ranks and layers for the corresponding UE, precoder, proper MCS level per codeword, etc. through the measured uplink information and provide the selected data through DCI”; and
the configuration for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword is received after receiving the indication that the network can schedule PUSCH transmissions using more than one codeword para. 8, “receiving, from a base station, control information for the uplink signal; mapping the plurality of codewords into a plurality of layers in accordance with an indicator included in the control information”.
Regarding claim 8 Kim disclose, wherein:
the processor is configured to, receive, from the network and via the transceiver, an indication of a number of layers mapped to at least one codeword of the more than one codeword Table 1, “P indicates the number of antenna ports used for PUSCH transmission, and ν indicates the number of layers”; and
determine, based at least partly on the number of layers mapped to the at least one codeword of the more than one codeword, a number of layers of the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that is mapped to each codeword of the more than one codeword para. 124, “Table 2 below by introducing a CLM indicator considering various mapping rules applied to the same layers and codewords”.
Regarding claim 9 Kim disclose, wherein the processor is configured to
receive, from the network and via the transceiver, a configured mapping of layers to codewords for a codebook based PUSCH transmission, the layers being configured or indicated by more than one transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) para. 124, “The eNB and the UE share a codebook comprised of a plurality of precoding matrixes, and each precoding matrix within the codebook has a unique index”.
Regarding claim 10 Kim disclose, wherein the processor is configured to receive, from the network and via the transceiver, a configured mapping of layers to codewords for a noncodebook based PUSCH transmission, the layers being configured or indicated by more than one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) para. 123, Fig. 12, “the eNB may determine precoder and rank for uplink transmission through the SRS and notify the UE of the determined precoder and rank through an uplink grant”.
Regarding claim 11 Kim disclose, wherein the configuration for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword comprises downlink control information (DCI) including para. 44, 53, “the DCI includes control information such as resource allocation information for the UE… Information indicating one or more UEs to receive PDSCH data and information indicating how the UEs are supposed to receive and decode the PDSCH data are delivered on a PDCCH”:
a first indicator of a first modulation and coding scheme for the first codeword para. 53, “information about data transmitted in radio resources (e.g. at a frequency position) “B” based on transport format information (e.g. a modulation scheme, coding information, etc.))”; and
a second indicator of a second modulation and coding scheme for the second codeword para. 114, “Different codeword(s) may be allocated to each RU (or antenna port group). In a state that channel features between the eNB and the RU are different for most of the RUs, it may be more efficient in view of throughput optimization that one codeword is transmitted to one RU (or antenna port group) and the other codeword is transmitted to the other RUs”.
Regarding claim 17 Kim disclose, wherein the processor is configured to transmit uplink control information (UCI) across all layers of the multiple layer PUSCH transmission para. 55, Fig. 6, “(PUCCH) including Uplink Control Information (UCI) is allocated to the control region and a Physical uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) including user data is allocated to the data region”.
Claim 20 recites a apparatus corresponding to the device of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21 Kim disclose, wherein the configured mapping indicates, at least, a number of layers mapped to the first codeword, para. 73, Table 1, “A codeword-to-layer mapping concept of FIG. 9 is summarized as listed in Table 1 below. In Table 1, P indicates the number of antenna ports used for PUSCH transmission, and ν indicates the number of layers”.
Regarding claim 22 Kim disclose, wherein the configured mapping indicates, at least, a dynamic mapping of particular layers to the first codeword para. 126, Table 2, “In Table 2, it is assumed that the number of layers mapped into the first codeword is smaller than or equal to the number of layers mapped into the second codeword and combination according to various layer orders is disregarded”.
Regarding claim 23 Kim disclose, wherein the configured mapping is based at least partly on a channel condition or a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), para. 112, “since the antenna ports which belong to the same RU have similar channel (quality) features, it may be assumed that these antenna ports constitute one group. Considering these features, the CLM scheme for the vehicle distributed antenna should be designed by reflecting antenna port grouping of the vehicle UE”.
Regarding claim 24 Kim disclose, wherein the configured mapping is particular to: the multiple layer PUSCH transmission para. 8, “receiving, from a base station, control information for the uplink signal; mapping the plurality of codewords into a plurality of layers in accordance with an indicator included in the control information”; or a subset of multiple layer PUSCH transmissions including the multiple layer PUSCH transmission. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190149205) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2021184296) further in view of INTELCORPORATION: "Discussion on enhancement for 8Tx UL transmission", 3GPPDRAFT; R1-2209045, hereafter “Intel”.
Regarding claim 18 Kim and Khoshnevisan does not specifically disclose, wherein: the more than one codeword consists of the first codeword and the second codeword; and the processor is configured to,
divide uplink control information (UCI) into at least a first portion and a second portion; transmit the first portion across all layers of the first codeword; and transmit the second portion across all layers of the second codeword section 2.1.3, “In Rel-18, for PUSCH with dual codewords, it should be discussed whether UCI is mapped to only one codeword or the UCI could be mapped to both codewords. RAN1 to discuss the UCI multiplexing when two codewords are used, i.e., whether the UCI is multiplexed with only one codeword or the UCI can be multiplexed with both codewords”.
Kim, Khoshnevisan and Intel are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to configuring communication parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Intel in the system of Kim and Khoshnevisan so the system can increase the transmission reliability. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure a more efficient use of the communication channel.
Regarding claim 19 Kim and Khoshnevisan does not specifically disclose, wherein the processor is configured to transmit uplink control information (UCI) across all layers of only one codeword of the more than one codeword section 2.1.3, “For PUSCH transmission with dual codewords, another issue is UCI multiplexing. In the legacy spec, the UCI, including HARQ-ACK, CSI Part I and CSI Part II, is mapped to all the layers.”.
Kim, Khoshnevisan and Intel are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to configuring communication parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Intel in the system of Kim and Khoshnevisan so the system can increase the transmission reliability. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure a more efficient use of the communication channel.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190149205) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2021184296) further in view of Khoshnevis et al. (U.S. Pub. 20140293881).
Regarding claim 12 Kim and Khoshnevisan does not specifically disclose, wherein the configuration for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword comprises downlink control information (DCI) including a new data indicator that indicates whether a transport block carried by the second codeword is a new transmission or a retransmission. However, Khoshnevis teach “The MCS index may be based on a single codeword associated with a single codeword transmission. The MCS index may be based on at least one of a first codeword and a second codeword associated with a multiple codeword transmission”, see para. 29.
Kim, Khoshnevisan and Khoshnevis are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to configuring communication parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevis in the system of Kim and Khoshnevisan so the system can identify the data layers to be mapped with the correct transmissions. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure a more efficient use of the communication channel.
Regarding claim 13 Kim and Khoshnevisan does not specifically disclose, wherein the configuration for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword comprises downlink control information (DCI). However, Khoshnevis teach “The MCS index may be based on at least one of a first codeword and a second codeword associated with a multiple codeword transmission”, see para. 29. Khoshnevis further disclose including: a first indicator of a first redundancy version for the first codeword; and a second indicator of a second redundancy version for the second codeword para. 29, “In Table (2), rv.sub.idx is the redundancy version of a transmitted codeword. The redundancy version index 0 is used for initial transmission”.
Kim, Khoshnevisan and Khoshnevis are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to configuring communication parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevis in the system of Kim and Khoshnevisan so the system can add redundancy to the data transmitted. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve communications by detecting and correcting errors that may have occurred during transmission.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190149205) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2021184296) further in view of HUAWEI:"Multiplexing of control and data in multi-layer PUSCH transmission", 3GPP DRAFT; R110026, hereafter “Huawei”).
Regarding claim 14 Kim and Khoshnevisan does not specifically disclose, wherein the configuration for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword comprises radio resource control (RRC) signaling including: a configured grant (CG) configuration, including, a first indicator of a first modulation and coding scheme for the first codeword; and a second indicator of a second modulation and coding scheme for the second codeword. However, Huawei teach “The control information should be mapped to layers with better quality. For example, for two CWs mapped to two layers, assuming layer 2 is better than layer 1, then the control information should be mapped to layer 2, leaving layer 1 completely for data only” see section 3.
Kim, Khoshnevisan and Huawei are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to configuring communication parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huawei in the system of Kim and Khoshnevisan to be able to configure the communication parameters effectively. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the transmissions reliability and efficiency.
Claim(s) 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190149205) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2021184296) further in view of Oteri et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230145316).
Regarding claim 15 Kim and Khoshnevisan does not specifically disclose, wherein the processor is configured to support, for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword, at least sixteen uplink (UL) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes per component carrier (CC). However, Oteri teach “wherein the physical uplink channel having a frequency larger than 52.6 GHz, and the method further comprising generating the one or more HARQ codebooks based on a number of HARQ processes, wherein the number is larger than sixteen”, see para. 217.
Kim, Khoshnevisan and Oteri are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to configuring communication parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Oteri in the system of Kim and Khoshnevisan to increase the number of HARQ processes permitting for continuous data transmissions without waiting for acknowledgments. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the network flexibility and transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 16 Kim and Khoshnevisan does not specifically disclose, wherein the processor is configured to support, for the multiple layer PUSCH transmission that uses more than one codeword, at least eight uplink (UL) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes per component carrier (CC). However, Oteri teach “In the Type 1 codebook, the size of the HARQ codebook is fixed by RRC signaling and depends on the DCI format used to allocates resources. With DCI format 1_0 (fallback DCI), the size can be set from eight consecutive slots. DCI format 1_1 (non-fallback DCI) includes an indicator indicating the size, such as a PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator' field usable to select up to eight values within the range from zero to fifteen: {0,1,5,7,9,10,11,15} from dl-data-to-ULACK”, see para. 73..
Kim, Khoshnevisan and Oteri are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to configuring communication parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Oteri in the system of Kim and Khoshnevisan to increase the number of HARQ processes permitting for continuous data transmissions without waiting for acknowledgments. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the network flexibility and transmission efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230035992) which disclose(s) uplink codeword to layer mapping and phase tracking reference signaling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471