DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: inconsistent terminology with respect to “fluoro(poly)ether group-containing silane compound (claim 12) as opposed to “fluoropolyether group-containing silane compound” as recited in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, there is a lack of antecedent basis for ‘the formula (S4)’ and for Rsi to be selected therefrom. It is noted that proper antecedent basis can be found in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1, from which claim 10 depends, defines XA as a single bond or –(X51)p5- where X51 is selectable from a Markush group which includes phenylene, -O-, and –(CH2)n5- (an alkyl not an alkylene), among others. However, the recitation of claim 10 redefines XA as selectable from a single bond or the formula –(R51’)p5’-(X51’)q5’-(R51’)p5’’-, wherein R51’ is a C1-6 alkylene group. The definitions as set forth in claim 1 regarding XA does not provide support for an –(C1-6 alkylene)-O-(C1-6 alkylene)- and therefore claim 10 is improper for failing to include the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. The same applies with respect to XB of claim 10 as defined by claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1, from which claim 10 depends, defines XB as a single bond or –(X61)p6- where X61 is selectable from a Markush group which includes phenylene, -O-, and –(CH2)n5- (an alkyl not an alkylene), among others. However, the recitation of claim 11 redefines XB as a C1-6 alkylene group. The definitions as set forth in claim 1 regarding XB does not provide support for a C1-6 alkylene and therefore claim 11 is improper for failing to include the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mohara et al. (WO 2016006584 A1; using Clarivate Analytics machine translation for English language citations).
Regarding claims 1-11, Mohara teaches perfluoro(poly)ether modified amide silane compounds of formula (1) (readable over instant formula (1) as outlined below)
, wherein: Rf represents a C-1-16 alkyl group which may be substituted with fluorine (pg2); wherein PFPE represents –(OC4F8)a-(OC3F6)b-(OC2F4)c-(OCF-2-)-d, where a, b, c and d are 0-200, or –(OC2F4-Ra)n’ (see pg3)(Rr-PFPE reading over instant RF1); wherein X1 is a single bond or a divalent organic group including C1-20 alkylene, -(CH2)s-O-(CH2)t, -(CH2)s-NR6-(CH2)t (see pg4)(X1 readable over instant XA); wherein R1 is a hydrogen, a C1-6 alkyl group, or a phenyl group (see pg4)(R1 readable over instant R1); wherein R2 is an -X2-SiQ1kY-13-k, where X2 is a divalent organic group (X2 readable over instant XB and SiQ1kY-13-k- is readable over instant RSi), where Q1 is a hydrogen, a lower C1-6 alkyl, or a phenyl group, where Y1 is -OR5, where R5 is a C2-10 alkyl group, and p is 1 (see pg4).
Regarding claims 12-14, Mohara teaches the perfluoro(poly)ether modified amide silane compound as set forth in claim 1 above, and further teaches such is a surface treating agent (abstract; pg6) and may further be diluted with a solvent (pg6), and may contain other additives including fluorine oils, silicone oils, catalysts, etc. (pg6; pg8-9).
Regarding claim 15, Mohara teaches the perfluoro(poly)ether modified amide silane compound as set forth in claim 12 above. Mohara further teaches the surface treatment composition provides antifouling properties, water repellency properties, etc. (pg12).
Regarding claims 16-17, Mohara teaches the perfluoro(poly)ether modified amide silane compound as set forth in claim 1 above, and further teaches articles thereof (pg9) wherein the composition is applied to a base material as a layer thereon (pg9) by wet or dry coating methods (pg10). Mohara teaches the articles include optical materials (pg12).
Double Patenting
A) Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/374,850 (reference application; a notice of allowance has been mailed in the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of both the instant and copending application are directed to substantially overlapping fluoropolyether group-containing silane compound of substantially similar formula (1) or (2), and to substantially similar coating compositions, ‘agents’, and articles. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
B) Claims 1-12 and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 17-22 of copending Application No. 19/295,821 (reference application; a notice of allowance has been mailed in the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of both the instant and copending application are directed to substantially overlapping fluoropolyether group-containing silane compound of substantially similar formula (1), and to substantially similar coating compositions, ‘agents’, and articles. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
C) Claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of both the instant application and granted patent are directed to substantially overlapping fluoropolyether group-containing silane compounds of substantially similar formula (1) or (2).
Correspondence
/JANE L STANLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767