DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Innes et al. (US 10,966,581; hereinafter Innes: embodiment of Fig. 6a-6d).
Regarding claim 1, Innes (Fig. 1a-6d) discloses a vacuum cleaner conduit (110) defining an air flow passage (within 110) and comprising: a first rigid conduit part (640) and a second rigid conduit part (650), a hinge device (655) connecting the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) to each other, the hinge device (655) including a hinge axis (through 655) and being configured to allow a pivoting of the first rigid conduit part (640) relative to the second rigid conduit part (650) about the hinge axis and between an unfolded configuration (Fig. 6a) in which the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) are substantially aligned with each other and a folded configuration (Fig. 6d) in which the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) define between them an angle less than 180⁰ (Fig. 6d), a locking member (677) configured to lock the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) in the unfolded configuration (Fig. 6a), the locking member (677) and the hinge device (655) being substantially diametrically opposed relative to a central longitudinal axis (B) of the vacuum cleaner conduit (110) in the unfolded configuration (Fig. 6d) of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650), the locking member (677) being pivotally mounted on one of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) about a pivot axis which is substantially parallel to the hinge axis and is configured to pivot between a locking position (Fig. 6a) in which the locking member (675) is configured to cooperate with the other of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) so as to lock the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) in the unfolded configuration (Fig. 6a), and a release position (Fig. 6b) in which the locking member (677) is configured to release the other of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) so as to allow a pivoting of the first and second rigid conduit parts ( 640, 650) in the folded configuration (Fig. 6d), and an unlocking member (679) secured in movement to the locking member (675) and pivotally mounted about the pivot axis and between a rest position (Fig. 6a) and an unlocking position (Fig. 6d), the vacuum cleaner conduit (110) being configured such that a movement of the unlocking member (679) from the rest position (Fig. 6a) to the unlocking position (Fig. 6b) causes a displacement of the locking member (677) from the locking position (Fig. 6a) to the release position (Fig. 6b), characterized in that wherein the unlocking member (679) includes two first and second lateral gripping parts which are located on either side of one of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) and which comprise each, each of the first and second lateral gripping parts comprising at least one gripping surface, each of the first and second lateral gripping parts being intersected by a plane which is parallel to the hinge axis and which contains the central longitudinal axis (B) of the vacuum cleaner conduit (110) in the unfolded configuration (Fig. 6d) of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650). Refer to Fig. I below.
Fig. I. Innes, Fig. 6a (Annotated)
Regarding claim 2, Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 1, wherein Innes (Fig. 1a-6d) further discloses that the unlocking member (679) comprises a connection part connecting the first and second lateral gripping parts to each other, the two first and second lateral gripping parts extending respectively on either side of the connection part. Refer to Fig. I above.
Regarding claim 6, Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 1, wherein Innes further discloses that the unlocking member (679) includes a central notch extending between the two first and second lateral gripping parts, the central notch extending from an end of the unlocking member (679) which is located opposite the locking member (677) and towards the pivot axis. Refer to Fig. II below.
Fig. II. Innes, Fig. 6a (Annotated)
Regarding claim 8, Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 1, wherein Innes (Fig. 6a) further discloses that the locking member (677) and the unlocking member (679) are made in a single piece (675).
Regarding claim 9, Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 1, wherein Innes (Fig. 6a-d) further discloses a covering part configured to cover at least partly the locking member. Since the claim does not disclose how the covering part covers the locking member, the structure identified in Fig. III below was interpreted as the covering part since it is capable of covering the locking member from view from the sides. Refer to Fig. III below.
Fig. III. Innes, Fig. 6b (Annotated)
Regarding claim 10, Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 1, wherein Innes (Fig. 1a-6d) further discloses that the hinge device (655) is configured to be located above a portion of the air flow passage (extending through 110) extending near the hinge device (655), when the vacuum cleaner conduit (110) is in normal conditions of use (when the vacuum folds as shown in Fig. 1b at hinge 155, the hinge device would be positioned above a portion of the air flow passage).
Regarding claim 11, Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 1, wherein Innes (Fig. 1a-6d) further discloses that the first rigid conduit portion (640) is configured to be fluidically connected to a vacuum cleaner body (105: vacuum interpreted to be configuration shown in fig. 1a-b) equipped with a suction unit (107), and the second rigid conduit part (650) is configured to be fluidically connected to a nozzle (115) configured to be in contact with a floor to be cleaned.
Regarding claim 12, Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 1, wherein Innes (Fig. 6a-6d) further discloses a flexible conduit (620) connecting the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) and at least partially defining the air flow passage (within 110).
Regarding claim 14, Innes (Fig. 1a-6d) discloses an upright vacuum cleaner (100) comprising: a vacuum cleaner body (105) equipped with a suction unit (107) and a handling interface (101), a nozzle (115) configured to be in contact with a floor to be cleaned, and a vacuum cleaner conduit (110) according to claim 1, the vacuum cleaner conduit (110) mechanically and fluidically connecting the vacuum cleaner body (105) to the nozzle (115).
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Innes et al. (US 10,966,581; hereinafter Innes: embodiment of Fig. 14-18).
Regarding claim 1, Innes (Fig. 14-18) discloses a vacuum cleaner conduit (110) defining an air flow passage (within 110) and comprising: a first rigid conduit part (640) and a second rigid conduit part (650), a hinge device (655) connecting the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) to each other, the hinge device (655) including a hinge axis (through 655) and being configured to allow a pivoting of the first rigid conduit part (640) relative to the second rigid conduit part (650) about the hinge axis and between an unfolded configuration in which the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) are substantially aligned with each other and a folded configuration (Fig. 14-17) in which the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) define between them an angle less than 180⁰ (Fig. 14-17), a locking member (1408) configured to lock the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) in the unfolded configuration, the locking member (1408) and the hinge device (655) being substantially diametrically opposed relative to a central longitudinal axis of the vacuum cleaner conduit (110) in the unfolded configuration of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650), the locking member (1408) being pivotally mounted on one of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) about a pivot axis (1404) which is substantially parallel to the hinge axis and is configured to pivot between a locking position in which the locking member (1408) is configured to cooperate with the other of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) so as to lock the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) in the unfolded configuration, and a release position (Fig. 14-17) in which the locking member (1408) is configured to release the other of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) so as to allow a pivoting of the first and second rigid conduit parts ( 640, 650) in the folded configuration (Fig. 14-17), and an unlocking member (1406) secured in movement to the locking member (1408) and pivotally mounted about the pivot axis and between a rest position (Fig. 6a) and an unlocking position (Fig. 6d), the vacuum cleaner conduit (110) being configured such that a movement of the unlocking member (1406) from the rest position to the unlocking position (Fig. 14-17) causes a displacement of the locking member (1408) from the locking position to the release position (Fig. 14-17), characterized in that wherein the unlocking member (1406) includes two first and second lateral gripping parts which are located on either side of one of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650) and which comprise each, each of the first and second lateral gripping parts comprising at least one gripping surface, each of the first and second lateral gripping parts being intersected by a plane which is parallel to the hinge axis and which contains the central longitudinal axis (B) of the vacuum cleaner conduit (110) in the unfolded configuration of the first and second rigid conduit parts (640, 650). Refer to Fig. IV below.
Fig. IV. Innes, Fig. 14 (Annotated)
Regarding claim 13, Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 1, wherein Innes (Fig. 14-17; Col. 7, lines 47-54) further discloses that at least one biasing element configured to bias the unlocking member (1406) in the rest position and/or the locking member (1408) in the locking position (Col. 7, lines 47-54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Innes et al. (US 10,966,581; hereinafter Innes: embodiment of Fig. 14-18) in view of Young et al. (US 6,370,730; hereinafter Young).
Regarding claim 7 Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 1, but fails to disclose that each of the first and second lateral gripping parts portion comprises a gripping rib extending over at least part of the periphery of said the corresponding lateral gripping part.
Young (Fig. 1-5) teaches a lock (100) for securing a hose (202) to the body of a wet/dry vac (1) where the button for releasing the lock includes grip indentations (130). Young teaches that the grip indentions (130) serve to prevent slippage when pressing the surface (120) of the button. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Innes by adding grip indentations along the release button (which would include the first and second lateral gripping part portions) of the vacuum cleaner conduit, as taught by Young, in order to prevent slippage when pressing the release button.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3:
Closest prior art: Innes et al. (US 10,966,581)
Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 2.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that each of the first and second lateral gripping parts part extends longitudinally beyond the connection part.
Regarding claim 4:
Closest prior art: Innes et al. (US 10,966,581)
Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 2.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that the connection part includes a first transverse edge located at a first separation distance relative to the pivot axis, and a second transverse edge located at a second separation distance relative to the pivot axis, the second separation distance being greater than the first separation distance, each of the first and second lateral gripping parts extending beyond a transverse plane passing through the second transverse edge of the connection part extending perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis of the vacuum cleaner conduit in the unfolded configuration of the first and second rigid conduit parts.
Regarding claim 5:
Closest prior art: Innes et al. (US 10,966,581)
Innes discloses the vacuum cleaner conduit according to claim 2.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that each of the first and second lateral gripping parts includes a first gripping portion located at a first longitudinal distance relative to the pivot axis (C) and a second gripping portion located at a second longitudinal distance relative to the pivot axis, the second longitudinal distance being greater than the first longitudinal distance, each of the first and second lateral gripping parts connected to the connection part only at the respective first gripping portion.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cohen et al. (US 2005/0091792) discloses a self-locking hinge in which the locking mechanism is opposite the hinge and a spring is used to bias the locking mechanism in the locked position.
Contact Information
/Danielle M. Christensen/Examiner, Art Unit 3745