DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 7/6/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (necessitated by the amendment) does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 36, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell et al. 2015/0202089.
Campbell et al. discloses the invention as claimed comprising: A method of treating a patulous Eustachian tube, the method comprising: (a) inserting a first implant (1900) within a first pocket of tissue in a region of tissue external to and adjacent to the patulous Eustachian tube; and (b) expanding the first implant within the first pocket to thereby mechanically urge the Eustachian tube toward a closed state (See [0278] which states “…Alternatively, the stent 1900 may be configured to apply a minimal force against the Eustachian tube ET wall in order to provide mechanical assistance thereto…” and see claim 5 of Campbell et al.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 25, 27-34, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. 2015/0202089 in view of Palushi et al. 2020/0069472.
Regarding claims 22, Campbell et al. has been disclosed supra however, Campbell et al. does not utilize the term “pocket”.
Campbell et al. does however disclose the use of a delivery catheter for insertion of the implant thus it is obvious that a “pocket” is created within the tissue.
Regarding claim 25 and 27-29, Campbell et al. does not specifically state that incision is made into the wall of a nasopharynx region. Palushi et al. teaches in [0038 that " First, as shown in FIG. 4B, an operator may advance a deployment mechanism. " obvious that an incision must be made before the advancement can occur. It is further obvious because Pulushi et al states that the advancement is made transnasally (this includes the nasopharynx region) or transorally into ET (26) via the pharyngeal ostium (28; note that the pharyngeal ostium is a specific opening within the lateral wall of the nasopharynx). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make an incision in this region in the invention of Campbell et al. in order to deliver the implant against the adjacent wall of the patulous ET.
Regarding claims 29-31, Campbell et al. further discloses that the implant is a wire expandable stent structure (see fig. 19A and [0280]) and it is obviously capable of being resiliently biased to expand, the act of expanding the first implant within the first pocket comprising allowing the first implant to resiliently expand.
Regarding claims 32-34 Campbell et al. discloses the use of endoscopic delivery (see [0289-02292] which state in part “…In some embodiments, an endoscope may be attached to or incorporated into a dilation catheter (or other treatment catheter) or a guide catheter. FIGS. 23A-23C show two embodiments of endoscopes attached to guide catheters. FIG. 23A shows a guide catheter 2300 disposed in a nasal cavity NC with its distal end near a Eustachian tube ET…”), thus it is obvious that Campell is capable of performing the steps as recited.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,833,013 (hereafter '013) in view of Campbell et al. 2015/0202089.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Current application claim 21 recites:
"21. (New) A method of treating a patulous Eustachian tube, the method comprising: (a) inserting a first implant within a first pocket of tissue in a region of tissue near the patulous Eustachian tube; and (b) expanding the first implant within the first pocket to thereby urge the Eustachian tube toward a closed state."
Patent '013 claim 1 recites :
"1. A method of treating a patulous Eustachian tube, the method comprising: (a) forming a first pocket in a wall of a nasopharynx region proximate to a pharyngeal ostium; (b) inserting a resiliently biased implant within the first pocket; and (c) allowing the implant to expand within the first pocket to thereby urge the Eustachian tube toward a closed state."
It is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the subject matter of the current application claim is recited by the patent in a varied manner and that the pat, claim 1 further requires "in a wall of the nasopharynx region. However, the patent claims do not recite “external to and adjacent to the patulous Eustachian tube. Campbell et al. teaches that a stent may be configured to apply a minimal force against the Eustachian tube wall. [0278]). It would be obvious to modify pat. ‘013 to insert a first implant to a region external to and adjacent to the patulous ET in order to urge the ET to close.
Regarding claims 22, see pat. '013 claim 1 which recites (a) forming a first pocket in a wall of a nasopharynx region proximate to a pharyngeal ostium which is considered "the tissue".
Regarding claim 23, see patent '013 claim 6; Regarding claim 24, see pat. '013 claim 7; Regarding claim 25, see pat. '013 claim 8; Regarding claim 26, see pat. claim Regarding claim 27, see pat. claim 1; Regarding claim 28, see pat. claim 8; Regarding claim 29, see pat. claim 1; Regarding claim 30 and claim 31 see pat. claims 2 and 3; Regarding claim 32, see pat. claim 4; Regarding claim 33, see pat. claim 5; Regarding claim 34, see pat. claim 18; Regarding claim 35, see pat. claim 17; Regarding claim 36, see pat. claim 19 and obviousness explanation as give supra in para. 9.
Regarding claims 37-40, pat. '013 does not specifically recite forming a second for "a wire", however it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the patent recites forming a second pocket for "an implant" (see pat. claims 17, 19) and it is obvious that the wire is an implant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
4751. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 7:00am-3:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/Avww.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/SUZETTE J GHERBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 September 22, 2026