DETAILED ACTION
Status Of Claims
This Office Action is in response to an amendment received 3/3/2026 in which Applicant lists claims 2-3, 5-12, 14-15, 17-21, 23-28 as being original, and claims 1, 4, 13, 16, 22 as being currently amended. It is interpreted by the examiner that claims 1-28 are pending.
If applicant is aware of any relevant prior art, or other co-pending application not already of record, they are reminded of their duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 9-10 of the remarks regarding the objection to the line “The above identified application is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety” in the specification being new matter are not persuasive and are respectfully traversed. The issue is not the reference of priority to 63/432504, but rather that MPEP 608.01(p)(I)(B) states that an incorporation by reference statement added after an application's filing date is not effective since no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date (See also 35 U.S.C. 132(a)). Therefore, the statement “The above identified application is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety” should be removed.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 13-14 and 15-6 of the remarks that Hoose (US 2009/0059375 A1) does not disclose the newly amended limitations of claim 1, or the dependent claims, are not persuasive and are respectfully traversed. As set forth in the rejections below, at least figure 14 of Hoose teaches the newly amended limitations.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12 of the remarks, filed 3/3/2026, with respect to the 112 indefiniteness issues of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejections of the claims are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-16 of the remarks, filed 3/3/2026, with respect to the 102(a)(1) rejections in view of Kim (KR 10-2021-0156457 A) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejections of the claims in view of Kim are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 17-20 of the remarks that Smith (US 2006/0152809 A1) does not disclose the newly amended limitations of claim 13, or the dependent claims, are not persuasive and are respectfully traversed. As set forth in the rejections below, at least figure 3 and paragraphs [0067]-[0069] of Smith teaches the newly amended limitations.
Specification
The amendment filed 12/7/2023 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: “The above identified application is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety”.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
The examiner suggests that the applicant remove “The above identified application is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety”.
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to Provisional Patent Application 63/432,504 is ineffective because, as per MPEP 608.01(p)(I)(B), an incorporation by reference statement added after an application's filing date is not effective since no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date (See also 35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
The incorporation by reference will not be effective until correction is made to comply with 37 CFR 1.57(b), (c), or (d). If the incorporated material is relied upon to meet any outstanding objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office, the correction must be made within any time period set by the Office for responding to the objection, rejection, or other requirement for the incorporation to be effective. Compliance will not be held in abeyance with respect to responding to the objection, rejection, or other requirement for the incorporation to be effective. In no case may the correction be made later than the close of prosecution as defined in 37 CFR 1.114(b), or abandonment of the application, whichever occurs earlier.
Any correction inserting material by amendment that was previously incorporated by reference must be accompanied by a statement that the material being inserted is the material incorporated by reference and the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoose, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2009/0059375 A1, of record (hereafter Hoose).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Hoose discloses an immersion grating based morphology comprising:
a plurality of grating lines (see at least figure 1, 14 and/or 15, element 5);
an intermediate multi-layer structure (see at least figure 1, 14 and/or 15, elements 3, 33, 32 and 4); and
a substrate bearing both of the plurality of grating lines and the intermediate multi-layer structure (see at least element 1 and/or element 32);
wherein the intermediate multi-layer structure comprises a plurality of intermediate layers (see at least figure 1, elements 33 and 32, paras. [0043]-[0046]; and/or figure 14 and/or 15, elements 4 and 33);
wherein at least two of the plurality of intermediate layers comprise different refractive index (RI) material (see at least figure 1, element 33, paras. [0043]-[0046]; and/or figure 14 and/or 15, elements 4 and 33, elements Al2O3 and SiO2);
wherein at least two of the plurality of intermediate layers comprise a same refractive index (RI) material have different thicknesses (figure 14 and/or 15, elements 4 and 33, element Al2O3 having thicknesses 63nm, 29.4nm and 42nm); and
wherein the intermediate multi-layer structure is configured to meet predetermined performance criteria, wherein the performance criteria comprises one or more parameters or conditions relating to reflective losses of the immersion grating, and wherein the one or more parameters or conditions relating to the reflective losses comprise prohibiting at least some of transmitted orders for an input beam applied beyond critical angle of the substrate (see at least figure 1, 14 and/or 15, element 32, paras. [0043]-[0046], wherein metal layer 32 prevents transmission by reflecting light).
The recitation “immersion grating based morphology” has not been given significant patentable weight under MPEP Chapter 2111.02 [R-3] – Effect of Preamble because the recitation occurs in the preamble where it merely recites the intended use of a structure and fails to structurally limit the body of the claim.
MPEP 2112.02 (II) states that “statements in the preamble reciting the purpose of intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, then the recitation serves to limit the claims.” Additionally, In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962), is a case where the “statement of intended use in an apparatus claim did not distinguish over the prior art apparatus”.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Hoose discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the plurality of intermediate layers comprises a plurality of dielectric layers (see at least figure 1, element 33, paras. [0043]-[0046]; and/or figure 14 and/or 15, elements 4 and 33).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Hoose discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the plurality of intermediate layers comprises one or more layers comprising a first refractive index (RI) material and one or more layers comprising a second refractive index (RI) material, and wherein the first refractive index (RI) material and the second refractive index (RI) material are different (see at least figure 1, element 33, paras. [0043]-[0046]; and/or figure 14 and/or 15, elements 4 and 33).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Hoose discloses the limitations of claim 3, and wherein the first refractive index (RI) material comprises a low refractive index (RI) material and the second refractive index (RI) material comprises a high refractive index (RI) material, wherein the low refractive index (RI) material and the high refractive index (RI) material differ based on, at least, the high refractive index (RI) material having a higher refractive index (RI) relative to the low refractive index (RI) material (see at least figure 1, element 33, paras. [0043]-[0046]; and/or figure 14 and/or 15, elements 4 and 33).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Hoose discloses the limitations of claim 3, and wherein the one or more layers comprising the first refractive index (RI) material and one or more layers comprising the second refractive index (RI) material are arranged in an alternating manner (see at least figure 1 and/or 14 and/or 15, element 33, paras. [0043]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Hoose discloses the limitations of claim 3, and wherein the first refractive index (RI) material comprises silicon dioxide (SiO2) (see at least figure 1 and/or 14 and/or 15, element 33, paras. [0043]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Hoose discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein each of the plurality of grating lines comprises a single grating layer (see at least figure 1 and/or 15, element 5).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Hoose discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the substrate comprises glass based material (see at least figure 1, element 1, paras. [0048], [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Hoose discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein one or more morphology parameters or characteristics of the immersion grating based morphology are set or adjusted to meet the predetermined performance criteria (see at least figure 1 and/or 14 and/or 15, elements 5, 32, 33, paras. [0043]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Hoose discloses the limitations of claim 11, and wherein the one or more morphology parameters or characteristics comprise one or more of: line height of the plurality of grating lines, line width of the plurality of grating lines, period of the plurality of grating lines, duty cycle of the plurality of grating lines, selection of material used in the plurality of grating lines, number of layers in the plurality of intermediate layers, thickness of each of the plurality of intermediate layers, and selection of material used in each of the plurality of intermediate layers (see at least figure 1 and/or 14 and/or 15, elements 5, 32, 33, paras. [0043]-[0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoose, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2009/0059375 A1, of record (hereafter Hoose).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Hoose further discloses that the materials listed for use in the grating structure, adjusting layer and reflecting layer are just examples, and other materials may be used (para. [0043]).
Hoose does not specifically disclose that the second refractive index (RI) material comprises tantalum pentoxide (Ta205).
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select appropriate materials for the second refractive index material, such as tantalum pentoxide, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, and since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill of workers in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. One would have been motivated to have tantalum pentoxide for the second refractive index material, for the purpose of choosing appropriate materials for the first and second refractive index materials so that the apparatus has appropriate differences between the refractive indices of the materials used to achieve desired diffraction, transmission, reflection and interference properties. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Hoose further discloses that the materials listed for use in the grating structure, adjusting layer and reflecting layer are just examples, and other materials may be used, including silicon (para. [0043]).
Hoose does not specifically disclose that each of the plurality of grating lines comprises silicon (Si).
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select appropriate materials for the grating lines, such as silicon (Si), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, and since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill of workers in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. One would have been motivated to have grating lines comprise silicon (Si), for the purpose of choosing appropriate materials for the grating lines to achieve desired diffraction, transmission and reflection properties. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claims 13-23, 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2006/0152809 A1, of record (hereafter Smith).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Smith discloses a transmission grating based morphology comprising:
a plurality of grating lines (see at least elements 125, 110, 110a, 110b, and/or 510a’ and 510b’);
an intermediate multi-layer structure (see at least elements 120 and 110a and/or 520); and
a substrate bearing both of the plurality of grating lines and the intermediate multi- layer structure (see at least element 130 and/or 530);
wherein the intermediate multi-layer structure comprises a plurality of intermediate layers (see at least elements 120 and 110a, paras. [0047], [0069], [0074]);
wherein at least two of the plurality of intermediate layers comprise different refractive index (RI) material (see at least elements 120 and 110a, paras. [0047], [0069], [0074]);
wherein at least two of the plurality of intermediate layers comprise a same refractive index (RI) material have different thicknesses (see at least paras. [0067]-[0069] wherein the bottom phase grating material (110a) is SiO2 with a thickness of 0.294µm and the alternating layers of the dielectric stack (120) includes SiO2 with a thickness of 0.2975µm); and
wherein the intermediate multi-layer structure is configured to meet predetermined performance criteria, wherein the performance criteria comprise one or more parameters or conditions relating to reflective losses of the transmission grating, and wherein the one or more parameters or conditions relating to the reflective losses (see at least paras. [0059]-[0060]) (see at least paras. [0059]-[0060]).
As best understood, Smith does not appear to disclose that the one or more parameters or conditions relating to the reflective losses comprises prohibiting for an input beam applied onto the transmission grating, all outputs beyond first order transmitted orders and first order reflective orders.
However, Smith further discloses that in some embodiments the grating may be designed/optimized such that only minus-first and zero order light is transmitted while only minus-first and zero order light is reflected (see at least para. [0059]), that the grating may be designed/optimized such that transmitted and reflected zero order light may be minimized (see at least para. [0059]), and that the design of the grating may be achieved with the assistance of a design program providing grating efficiency computations, such as “gsolver” (see at least para. [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus such that the one or more parameters or conditions relating to the reflective losses comprises prohibiting for an input beam applied onto the transmission grating, all outputs beyond first order transmitted orders and first order reflective orders, for the purpose of achieving the desired transmission and reflection characteristics for the grating apparatus.
The recitation “transmission grating based morphology” has not been given significant patentable weight under MPEP Chapter 2111.02 [R-3] – Effect of Preamble because the recitation occurs in the preamble where it merely recites the intended use of a structure and fails to structurally limit the body of the claim.
MPEP 2112.02 (II) states that “statements in the preamble reciting the purpose of intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, then the recitation serves to limit the claims.” Additionally, In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962), is a case where the “statement of intended use in an apparatus claim did not distinguish over the prior art apparatus”.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 13, and wherein the plurality of intermediate layers comprises a plurality of dielectric layers (see at least paras. [0047], [0069], [0074]).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 13, and wherein the plurality of intermediate layers comprises one or more layers comprising a first refractive index (RI) material and one or more layers comprising a second refractive index (RI) material, and wherein the first refractive index (RI) material and the second refractive index (RI) material are different (see at least paras. [0047], [0069], [0074]).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 15, and wherein the first refractive index (RI) material comprises a low refractive index (RI) material and the second refractive index (RI) material comprises a high refractive index (RI) material, wherein the low refractive index (RI) material and the high refractive index (RI) material differ based on, at least, the high refractive index (RI) material having a higher refractive index (RI) relative to the low refractive index (RI) material (see at least paras. [0047], [0069], [0074]).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 15, and wherein the one or more layers comprising the first refractive index (RI) material and one or more layers comprising the second refractive index (RI) material are arranged in alternating manner (see at least paras. [0047], [0069], [0074]).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 15, and wherein the first refractive index (RI) material comprises silicon dioxide (SiO2) (see at least paras. [0047], [0069], [0074]).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 15, and wherein the second refractive index (RI) material comprises titanium dioxide (TiO2) (see at least paras. [0047], [0069], [0074]).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 13, and wherein one or more of the plurality of grating lines comprise a plurality of grating layers (see at least elements 110a, 110b, and/or 510a’ and 510b’).
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 20, and wherein the plurality of grating layers comprises one or more layers comprising a first refractive index (RI) material and one or more layers comprising a second refractive index (RI) material, and wherein the first refractive index (RI) material and the second refractive index (RI) material are different (see at least paras. [0042]-[0044], [0067]).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 21, and wherein the first refractive index (RI) material comprises a high refractive index (RI) material and the second refractive index (RI) material comprises a low refractive index (RI) material, wherein the low refractive index (RI) material and the high refractive index (RI) material differ based on, at least, the high refractive index (RI) material having a higher refractive index (RI) relative to the low refractive index (RI) material (see at least paras. [0042]-[0044], [0067]).
Regarding claim 23, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 21, and wherein the one or more layers comprising the first refractive index (RI) material and one or more layers comprising the second refractive index (RI) material are arranged in alternating manner (see at least paras. [0042]-[0044], [0067], [0069]).
Regarding claim 25, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 21, and wherein the second refractive index (RI) material comprises silicon dioxide (SiO2) (see at least paras. [0042]-[0044], [0067], [0069]).
Regarding claim 26, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 13, and wherein the substrate comprises fused silica based material (see at least para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 27, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 13, and wherein one or more morphology parameters or characteristics of the transmission grating based morphology are set or adjusted to meet the predetermined performance criteria (see at least paras. [0019], [0034], [0037], [0041]-[0045], [0050]-[0053], [0059]-[0060], [0064]-[0069], [0074]).
Regarding claim 28, as best understood, Smith discloses the limitations of claim 27, and wherein the one or more morphology parameters or characteristics comprise one or more of: line height of the plurality of grating lines, line width of the plurality of grating lines, period of the plurality of grating lines, duty cycle of the plurality of grating lines, selection of material used in the plurality of grating lines, number of layers in a plurality of grating layers used in one or more grating lines, thickness of each of the plurality of grating layers, selection of material used in each of the plurality of grating layers, number of layers in the plurality of intermediate layers, thickness of each of the plurality of intermediate layers, and selection of material used in each of the plurality of intermediate layers (see at least paras. [0019], [0034], [0037], [0041]-[0045], [0050]-[0053], [0059]-[0060], [0064]-[0069], [0074]).
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2006/0152809 A1, of record (hereafter Smith) as applied to claims 13, 20 and 21 above, and further in view of Hoose, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2009/0059375 A1, of record (hereafter Hoose).
Regarding claim 24, as best understood, Smith does not disclose that the first refractive index (RI) material comprises silicon (Si).
However, Hoose is related to Smith in that both Hoose and Smith are drawn to optical grating apparatuses (see at least the titles and abstracts of Smith and Hoose), wherein Hoose teaches that the grating lines may be formed of a plurality of grating layers which may be formed of various materials, including a first refractive index of silicon and a second refractive index of silicon dioxide (see at least figures 3, 10, 11, elements 7 and 8, paras. [0043], [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select appropriate materials for the first refractive index and the second refractive index, such that the first refractive index (RI) material comprises silicon (Si), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, and since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill of workers in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. One would have been motivated to have the first refractive index (RI) material comprise silicon (Si), for the purpose of choosing materials for the grating layers so that the grating apparatus has appropriate differences between the refractive indices of the materials used to achieve desired interference and diffraction properties. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Derek S. Chapel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 3/13/2026
Derek S. CHAPEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872