Drawings
The drawings are objected to for failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(m) because the use of shading in Figures 1, 2, 6, 8, and 9 only obscures the claimed elements. The use of solid black shading should only be used a manner used to represent a bar graph.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the supporting surface that can be folded out at least at one side of the device or the input and output of the device as required in Claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract claims the purported merits of the current application in the phrase “the present invention relates to an improved cutting device and an improved cutting method”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1 line 3, “nput” should read “input”,
In Claim 1 line 10, “at least one the laser beam” should read “at least one of the laser beam”,
In Claim 1 line 13, “lies in an plane” should read “lies in a plane”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transport(ing) system” in Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, and 8, ; “optical system” in Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 17, and 18; “gripping elements” in Claims 3 and 17; “control system” in Claims 5.
Transporting System
Prong (A) is invoked by the claims reciting the generic place holder “system”.
Prong (B) is satisfied because “system” is modified by the functional language “transport” or “transporting”.
Under Prong (C), the specification provides for a transporting system that controls the movement of sheets in a transport direction from an input to an output along a transport plane parallel to the transport direction, where the transporting system is adapted to grip/clamp the sheets during movement (Spec pg. 6). Claim 4 also provides that the transporting system comprises a roller system with a first and second set of rollers that can grip the sheets by clamping them. Therefore, the interpretation of the “transporting system” is a set of rollers that grip/clamp the sheets of cardboard to move them along the transport direction.
Optical System
Prong (A) is invoked by the claims reciting the generic place holder “system”.
Prong (B) is satisfied because “system” is modified by the functional language “optical”.
Under Prong (C), the disclosure provides in Claim 6 that the optical system comprises one or more mirrors to manipulate the laser beam. Therefore, the interpretation of the “optical system” is one or more mirrors used to manipulate the laser beam to the desired cutting location.
Gripping Elements
Prong (A) is invoked by the claims reciting the generic place holder “elements”.
Prong (B) is satisfied because “elements” is modified by the functional language “gripping”.
Under Prong (C), the disclosure provides that the gripping elements can be rollers pivotally connected to each other to clamp down on the sheets (pg. 9) on either side of the transport plane as provided by Claim 3, but lacks any further structure to define the gripping elements. Therefore, the interpretation of the “gripping elements” is rollers that clamp down on the sheets on either side of the transport plane.
Control System
Prong (A) is invoked by the claims reciting the generic place holder “system”.
Prong (B) is satisfied because “system” is modified by the functional language “control”.
Under Prong (C), Although Claim 5 recites the limitation that the control system is used for controlling the transporting and cutting system, and is adapted to select instructions, the disclosure lacks any further details to provide what comprises the controls system. Therefore, the claim limitation of “control system” is deemed to be indefinite, as the written description fails to disclose any corresponding structure, material, or acts to the function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “control system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claim limitation of a “control system” in Claim 5 that controls the transporting system and the cutting system invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Although the “control system” of Claim 5 has the further limitation that the “for controlling the transporting system and the cutting system, in which the controlling system is adapted to select instructions for one or more cutting forms on the sheet so that, based on the length and width of the sheets, optimal use can be made of the sheets.”, neither the claims or written description provide sufficient structure necessary to control the transporting or cutting system based on instructions for cutting the sheets. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the optical systems" in line 1 of Claim 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim should read “at least one of the at least one optical systems”.
Claim 6 as written, is indefinite because the claim improperly depends on dependent Claim 7. Examiner will interpret Claim 6 as currently written to read as dependent from Claim 1, and Claim 7 will remain dependent on Claim 6.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11/839,932. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the same inventive concept of a Cutting Device and Method previously patented via U.S. Patent No. 11/839,932.
Furthermore, the U.S. Patent 11/839,932 is a narrower claimset when compared to the claimset of the instant application, with the U.S. Patent requiring in Claims 1 and 14 the following limitation for the grippers/gripping elements: “wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are configured to passively move in a direction perpendicular to the transport plane; and wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are connected to one another by two roll connections, a cross-connection, and a spring, wherein the roll connections, cross-connection, and spring cooperate to press both of the grippers at the second side of the transport plane against the sheets”.
Claims 1-3, and 16
Claim 1 of the instant application recites all of the limitations of Claim 1 of the U.S. Patent except for “wherein the transporter comprises at least two grippers on each side of the transport plane, the at least two grippers on each side of the transport plane being spaced apart from one another such that the at least one laser beam can pass therebetween”, “the grippers being suitable for gripping the sheets by clamping the sheets at both sides of the transport plane in the grip zones and for moving the sheets in a controlled way along the transport direction, and in which the grippers at a first side of the transport plane where the at least a portion of the at least one laser is located, are positioned at a fixed distance with respect to the axis over which the at least one optical controller moves, wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are movably positioned to grip the sheets by clamping them, ”, and “wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are configured to passively move in a direction perpendicular to the transport plane; and wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are connected to one another by two roll connections, a cross-connection, and a spring, wherein the roll connections, cross-connection, and spring cooperate to press both of the grippers at the second side of the transport plane against the sheets.”
Claim 2 of the instant application recites all of the limitations of Claim 1 of the U.S. Patent except for “the grippers being suitable for gripping the sheets by clamping the sheets at both sides of the transport plane in the grip zones and for moving the sheets in a controlled way along the transport direction, and in which the grippers at a first side of the transport plane where the at least a portion of the at least one laser is located, are positioned at a fixed distance with respect to the axis over which the at least one optical controller moves, wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are movably positioned to grip the sheets by clamping them, ”, and “wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are configured to passively move in a direction perpendicular to the transport plane; and wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are connected to one another by two roll connections, a cross-connection, and a spring, wherein the roll connections, cross-connection, and spring cooperate to press both of the grippers at the second side of the transport plane against the sheets.”
Claim 3 of the instant application recites all of the limitations of Claim 1 of the U.S. Patent except for “wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are configured to passively move in a direction perpendicular to the transport plane; and wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are connected to one another by two roll connections, a cross-connection, and a spring, wherein the roll connections, cross-connection, and spring cooperate to press both of the grippers at the second side of the transport plane against the sheets.”
Claim 16 of the instant application recites all of the limitations of Claim 14 of the U.S. Patent except for “and wherein the at least one sheet is gripped by at least two grippers on each side of the transport plane by clamping the sheets during the controlled movement of the at least one sheet, in which the grippers on the side of the at least one sheet where the at least one laser beam falls onto, are positioned stationary with respect to the axis over which the at least a portion of at least one controllable laser can be moved, and the grippers at a second side of the transport plane opposite the first side are configured to passively move in a direction perpendicular to the transport plane; and wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are connected to one another by two roll connections, a cross-connection, and a spring, wherein the roll connections, cross-connection, and spring cooperate to press both of the grippers at the second side of the transport plane against the sheets.”
Claim 4
Claim 4 of the instant application and Claim 2 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 5
Claim 5 of the instant application and Claim 3 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 6
Claim 6 of the instant application and Claim 4 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 7
Claim 7 of the instant application and Claim 5 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 8
Claim 8 of the instant application and Claim 6 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 9
Claim 9 of the instant application and Claim 7 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 10
Claim 10 of the instant application and Claim 8 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 11
Claim 11 of the instant application and Claim 9 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 12
Claim 12 of the instant application and Claim 10 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 13
Claim 13 of the instant application and Claim 11 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 14
Claim 14 of the instant application and Claim 12 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 15
Claim 15 of the instant application and Claim 13 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 17
Claim 17 of the instant application and Claim 15 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 18
Claim 18 of the instant application and Claim 16 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 19
Claim 19 of the instant application and Claim 17 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 20
Claim 20 of the instant application and Claim 18 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 21
Claim 21 of the instant application and Claim 19 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 22
Claim 22 of the instant application and Claim 20 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
Claim 23
Claim 23 of the instant application and Claim 21 of the U.S. Patent are commensurate in scope.
The table shows a side-by-side comparison of the two claims from the U.S. Patent No. 11/839,932 to the instant application US 18/382,385. The table bolds anything that is additional or different from the claim set on the left-hand side.
U.S. Patent App. No. 18/382,385
U.S. Patent No. 11/839,932
1. A device for cutting sheets of a stiff material, comprising: a transporting system for the controlled movement of the sheets along a transport direction from an nput to an output,
in which the sheets lie in a transport plane that is parallel to the transport direction, wherein the transporting system is adapted to move the sheets in a controlled way within the transport plane;
and a cutting system for processing the sheets, the cutting system
comprising at least one laser for producing at least one laser beam and comprises at least one optical system for controlling at least one of the laser beam so that at least a part of the at least one the laser beam cuts the transport plane along a beam direction,
in which at least one of the optical systems is adapted to move the at least one laser beam that cuts the transport plane along a cutting direction,
wherein the cutting direction lies in an plane perpendicular to the transport direction and is parallel to the transport plane;
wherein the transporting system is adapted for gripping the sheets during movement at least two grip zones by clamping the sheets at said grip zones so that there is a minimal variation on the position of the sheets with respect to the cutting system along the beam direction,
wherein the beam direction is substantially perpendicular to the transport plane.
2. The device of claim 1, in which the transport system is configured for gripping the sheets by clamping said sheets at both sides of the transport plane in the grip zones,
wherein the grip zones at the side where the one or more lasers are located, are positioned at a fixed distance with respect to the axis over which the at least one optical system moves.
3. The device of claim 1, in which the transport system comprises at least two gripping elements at both sides of the transport plane,
the gripping elements suitable for gripping the sheets by clamping them at both sides of the transport plane in the grip zones and for moving the sheets in a controlled way along the transport direction,
and in which the gripping elements at a first side of the transport plane where the at least one laser is located, are positioned at a fixed distance with respect to the axis over which the at least one optical system moves,
wherein the gripping elements at the second side of the transport plane are movably positioned to grip the sheets by clamping them.
1. A device for cutting sheets of a stiff material, comprising: a transporter for the controlled movement of the sheets along a transport direction from an input to an output,
in which the sheets lie in a transport plane that is parallel to the transport direction, wherein the transporter is adapted to move the sheets in a controlled way within the transport plane;
a cutter for processing the sheets, the cutter
comprising at least one laser for producing at least one laser beam and comprises at least one optical controller for controlling the at least one laser beam so that at least a part of the at least one laser beam cuts the transport plane along a beam direction,
in which the at least one optical controller is adapted to move at least a portion of the at least one laser along a cutting direction such that the at least one laser beam cuts the transport plane, the at least one optical system being configured to move along an axis to move the at least one laser beam along the cutting direction, the axis along which the at least one optical system is configured to move being perpendicular to the transport direction and is parallel to the transport plane and the cutting direction;
wherein the transporter is adapted for gripping the sheets during movement at at least two grip zones by clamping the sheets at said grip zones to limit variation on the position of the sheets with respect to the cutter along the beam direction,
wherein the beam direction is substantially perpendicular to the transport plane,
wherein the transporter comprises at least two grippers on each side of the transport plane, the at least two grippers on each side of the transport plane being spaced apart from one another such that the at least one laser beam can pass therebetween, the grippers being suitable for gripping the sheets by clamping the sheets at both sides of the transport plane in the grip zones and for moving the sheets in a controlled way along the transport direction,
and in which the grippers at a first side of the transport plane where the at least a portion of the at least one laser is located, are positioned at a fixed distance with respect to the axis over which the at least one optical controller moves,
[COPIED FROM ABOVE]
wherein the transporter comprises at least two grippers on each side of the transport plane,
the at least two grippers on each side of the transport plane being spaced apart from one another such that the at least one laser beam can pass therebetween,
the grippers being suitable for gripping the sheets by clamping the sheets at both sides of the transport plane in the grip zones and for moving the sheets in a controlled way along the transport direction,
[COPIED FROM ABOVE]
and in which the grippers at a first side of the transport plane where the at least a portion of the at least one laser is located, are positioned at a fixed distance with respect to the axis over which the at least one optical controller moves,
wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are movably positioned to grip the sheets by clamping them,
wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are configured to passively move in a direction perpendicular to the transport plane; and wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are connected to one another by two roll connections, a cross-connection, and a spring, wherein the roll connections, cross-connection, and spring cooperate to press both of the grippers at the second side of the transport plane against the sheets.
4. The device of claim 1,
wherein the transporting system comprises a roller system, in which the roller system comprises a first set of rollers and a second set of rollers, so that the first set of rollers and the second set of rollers can grip the sheets by clamping them between the first set of rollers and the second set of rollers and can move the clamped sheets along the transport direction, and within the transport plane.
2. The device of claim 1,
wherein the transporter comprises a roller system, in which the roller system comprises a first set of rollers and a second set of rollers, so that the first set of rollers and the second set of rollers can grip the sheets by clamping them between the first set of rollers and the second set of rollers and can move the clamped sheets along the transport direction, and within the transport plane.
5. The device of claim 1,
wherein the device comprises a control system for controlling the transporting system and the cutting system, in which the controlling system is adapted to select instructions from one or more instructions for one or more cutting forms on the sheets so that, based on the length and width of the sheets, optimal use can be made of the sheets.
3. The device of claim 1,
wherein the device comprises a controller for controlling the transporter and the cutter, in which the controller is adapted to select instructions from one or more instructions for one or more cutting forms on the sheets so that, based on the length and width of the sheets, waste of the sheets is limited.
6. The device of claim 7,
wherein at least one of the optical systems comprises one or more mirrors configured for manipulating the at least one laser beam, wherein the at least one laser beam is deflected at least partially so that the at least one deflected laser beam intersects the transport plane along the beam direction.
4. The device of claim 1,
wherein the at least one optical controller comprises one or more mirrors configured for manipulating the at least one laser beam, wherein the at least one laser beam is deflected at least partially so that the at least one deflected laser beam intersects the transport plane along the beam direction.
7. The device of claim 6,
wherein at least one of the mirrors are mounted movably along the cutting direction with respect to the transport system so that the at least one deflected laser beam can be moved along the cutting direction, and whereby the at least one deflected laser beam does not change direction.
5. The device of claim 1,
wherein at least one of the mirrors are mounted movably along the cutting direction with respect to the transporter so that the at least one deflected laser beam can be moved along the cutting direction, and whereby the at least one deflected laser beam does not change direction.
8. The device of claim 1,
in which the cutting system and the transport system are adjusted to each other so that the processing of the sheets according to a predetermined design is carried out by moving the sheets along the transport direction and moving the at least one laser beam that intersects the transport plane along the cutting direction,
wherein the moving of the at least one laser beam that intersects the transport plane along the cutting direction is actuated by the moving of the at least one of the optical systems along the cutting direction.
6. The device of claim 1,
in which the cutter and the transporter are adjusted to each other so that the processing of the sheets according to a predetermined design is carried out by moving the sheets along the transport direction and moving the at least a portion of the at least one laser such that the at least one laser beam intersects the transport plane along the cutting direction,
wherein the moving of the at least a portion of the at least one laser is actuated by the moving of the at least one optical controller along the cutting direction.
9. The device of claim 4,
wherein the first set of rollers comprises at least two groups of rollers in which the at least two groups of rollers of the first set are separated from each other along the transport direction so that the at least one laser beam that intersects the transport plane between the separated groups of rollers of the first set can move along the cutting direction and in which the second set of rollers comprises at least two groups of rollers in which the at least two groups of rollers of the second set are separated from each other along the transport direction so that the at least one laser beam that intersects the transport plane between the separated groups of rollers of the second set can move along the cutting direction.
7. The device of claim 1,
wherein the first set of rollers comprises at least two groups of rollers in which the at least two groups of rollers of the first set are separated from each other along the transport direction so that the at least one laser beam that intersects the transport plane between the separated groups of rollers of the first set can move along the cutting direction and in which the second set of rollers comprises at least two groups of rollers in which the at least two groups of rollers of the second set are separated from each other along the transport direction so that the at least one laser beam that intersects the transport plane between the separated groups of rollers of the second set can move along the cutting direction.
10. The device of claim 1,
wherein the device is adapted for being mounted so that the transport plane is substantially parallel to a base onto which the device is placed during operation of the device.
8. The device of claim 1,
wherein the device is adapted for being mounted so that the transport plane is substantially parallel to a base onto which the device is placed during operation of the device.
11. The device of claim 1,
wherein the device is adapted for being mounted so that the transport plane is at an angle to a base onto which the device is placed during operation of the device.
9. The device of claim 1,
wherein the device is adapted for being mounted so that the transport plane is at an angle to a base onto which the device is placed during operation of the device.
12. The device of claim 1,
wherein the device comprises a supporting surface for at least partially supporting the sheets, wherein the supporting surface can be folded out at least at one side of the device, and wherein the supporting surface can be folded out at the input and at the output of the device.
10. The device of claim 1,
wherein the device comprises a supporting surface for at least partially supporting the sheets, wherein the supporting surface can be folded out at least at one side of the device, and wherein the supporting surface can be folded out at the input and at the output of the device.
13. The device of claim 1,
wherein the transport plane separates two half-spaces, in which the first set of rollers is located in the first separated half-space, and the second set of rollers is located in a second separated half-space, wherein the second half-space is different from the first half-space, and the first set of rollers is located between the transport plane and the one or more lasers, and in which the first set of rollers can be moved to and from the second set of rollers.
11. The device of claim 1,
wherein the transport plane separates two half-spaces, in which the first set of rollers is located in the first separated half-space, and the second set of rollers is located in a second separated half-space, wherein the second half-space is different from the first half-space, and the first set of rollers is located between the transport plane and the at least one laser, and in which the first set of rollers can be moved to and from the second set of rollers.
14. The device of claim 13,
wherein the second set of rollers is adapted such that the second set of rollers can be moved with respect to the cutting system along the beam direction,
and in which the first set of rollers is mounted stationary with respect to the cutting system so that the second set of rollers can grip the sheets by clamping the sheets against the stationary first set of rollers,
and in which the cutting system processes the sheets from the first half-space, so that substantially the same distance along the beam direction is maintained between the one or more lasers and the clamped sheets.
12. The device of claim 11,
wherein the second set of rollers is adapted such that the second set of rollers can be moved with respect to the cutter along the beam direction,
and in which the first set of rollers is mounted stationary with respect to the cutter so that the second set of rollers can grip the sheets by clamping the sheets against the stationary first set of rollers,
and in which the cutter processes the sheets from the first half-space, so that substantially the same distance along the beam direction is maintained between the at least one laser and the clamped sheets.
15. The device of claim 1,
wherein the beam direction is substantially perpendicular to the transport plane with a maximum deviation of 200 with respect to a perpendicular position to the transport plane.
13. The device of claim 1,
wherein the beam direction is substantially perpendicular to the transport plane with at most a deviation of 200 with respect to a perpendicular position to the transport plane.
16. A method for cutting sheets of a stiff material, comprising the following steps:
moving at least one sheet of the stiff material in a controlled way along a transport direction, in which the sheet lies in a transport plane that is substantially parallel to the transport direction;
and moving at least one controllable laser beam in a controlled way along a cutting direction, in which the at least one laser beam intersects the transport plane along the beam direction,
in which the cutting direction is parallel to the transport plane,
and in which the at least one laser beam is configured for processing the sheet and for cutting the at least one sheet, and the cutting direction is substantially perpendicular to the transport direction;
wherein the one or more laser beams execute at least one cut of the at least one sheet when moving the at least one laser beam;
and wherein the controlled movement of the at least one sheet is carried out whereby the sheet undergoes a minimum variation in position along a direction along the beam direction.
[Taken from Claim 17 below]
in which the at least one sheet is gripped by at least two gripping elements at both sides of the transport plane by clamping the sheets during the controlled movement of the at least one sheet,
in which the gripping elements on the side of the at least one sheet where the at least one laser beam falls onto, are positioned stationary with respect to an axis over which the optical system can be moved.
14. A method for cutting sheets of a stiff material, comprising the following steps:
moving at least one sheet of the stiff material in a controlled way along a transport direction, in which the sheet lies in a transport plane that is substantially parallel to the transport direction;
and moving at least a portion of at least one controllable laser in a controlled way along an axis and in a cutting direction, such that at least one laser beam from the at least one controllable laser intersects the transport plane along a beam direction,
in which the cutting direction is parallel to the transport plane,
and in which the at least one laser beam is configured for processing the at least one sheet and for cutting the at least one sheet, and the cutting direction being substantially perpendicular to the transport direction;
wherein the at least one laser beam executes at least one cut of the at least one sheet when moving the at least one laser along the cutting direction;
wherein the controlled movement of the at least one sheet is carried out whereby the sheet undergoes limited variation in position along a direction along the beam direction;
and wherein the at least one sheet is gripped by at least two grippers on each side of the transport plane by clamping the sheets during the controlled movement of the at least one sheet,
in which the grippers on the side of the at least one sheet where the at least one laser beam falls onto, are positioned stationary with respect to the axis over which the at least a portion of at least one controllable laser can be moved,
and the grippers at a second side of the transport plane opposite the first side are configured to passively move in a direction perpendicular to the transport plane; and wherein the grippers at the second side of the transport plane are connected to one another by two roll connections, a cross-connection, and a spring, wherein the roll connections, cross-connection, and spring cooperate to press both of the grippers at the second side of the transport plane against the sheets.
17. The method for cutting sheets of claim 16,
wherein the at least one laser beam is generated and guided by at least one laser and at least one optical system,
wherein the laser and the optical system are mounted movably along the cutting direction,
[See 16 above]
in which the at least one sheet is gripped by at least two gripping elements at both sides of the transport plane by clamping the sheets during the controlled movement of the at least one sheet, in which the gripping elements on the side of the at least one sheet where the at least one laser beam falls onto, are positioned stationary with respect to an axis over which the optical system can be moved.
15. The method for cutting sheets of claim 14,
wherein the at least one laser beam is generated and guided by at least one laser and at least one optical controller,
wherein at least a portion of the at least one controllable laser and the optical controller are mounted movably along the cutting direction.
18. The method of claim 16,
in which the at least one laser beam is processed by at least one optical system so that the at least one laser beam intersects the transport plane, wherein the at least one optical system is mounted movably along the beam direction so that when executing the cut, a constant, predetermined distance along the beam direction is maintained to a closest side of the at least one sheet.
16. The method of claim 14,
in which the at least one laser beam is processed by at least one optical controller so that the at least one laser beam intersects the transport plane, wherein the at least one optical controller is mounted movably along the beam direction so that when executing the cut, a constant, predetermined distance along the beam direction is maintained to a closest side of the at least one sheet.
19. The method of claim 16,
in which the beam direction is substantially perpendicular to the transport plane, with a maximum deviation of 200 with respect to a perpendicular position to the transport plane.
17. The method of claim 14,
in which the beam direction is substantially perpendicular to the transport plane, with at most a deviation of 200 with respect to a perpendicular position to the transport plane.
20. The method of claim 16,
in which the sheets are formed of at least one of the group consisting of cardboard, corrugated cardboard and combinations thereof.
18. The method of claim 14,
in which the sheets are formed of at least one of the group consisting of cardboard, corrugated cardboard and combinations thereof.
21. The method of claim 16,
wherein the method is computer-implemented for composing and executing a cutting pattern on a two-dimensional sheet of stiff material for a three- dimensional construction based on dimensions of the three-dimensional construction and based on one or more predetermined cutting forms, wherein the method comprises the following steps: receiving the dimensions of the three-dimensional construction; selecting a cutting form from the one or more predetermined cutting patterns; composing the cutting pattern based on the dimensions and the selected cutting form; and sending an instruction to a device for cutting the stiff material into the composed cutting pattern.
19. The method of claim 14,
wherein the method is computer- implemented for composing and executing a cutting pattern on a two-dimensional sheet of stiff material for a three-dimensional construction based on dimensions of the three-dimensional construction and based on one or more predetermined cutting forms, wherein the method comprises the following steps: receiving the dimensions of the three-dimensional construction; selecting a cutting form from the one or more predetermined cutting patterns; composing the cutting pattern based on the dimensions and the selected cutting form; and sending an instruction to a device for cutting the stiff material into the composed cutting pattern.
22. The method of claim 21,
wherein at least one additional cutting pattern is cut in a sheet of stiff material, wherein the additional cutting pattern is suitable for enveloping, after three-dimensional assemblage, the three dimensional construct, or being enveloped by the three-dimensional construct, in a tight fitting manner.
20. The method of claim 19,
wherein at least one additional cutting pattern is cut in a sheet of stiff material, wherein the additional cutting pattern is suitable for enveloping, after three-dimensional assemblage, the three-dimensional construct, or being enveloped by the three-dimensional construct, in a tight fitting manner.
23. The method of claim 21,
wherein the device for cutting is configured for determining dimensions of the at least one sheet, for receiving the instruction for cutting the composed cutting pattern, and for cutting the composed cutting pattern to make optimal use of the at least one sheet based upon the dimensions of the at least one sheet.
21. The method of claim 19,
wherein the device for cutting is configured for determining dimensions of the at least one sheet, for receiving the instruction for cutting the composed cutting pattern, and for cutting the composed cutting pattern to limit waste.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, and 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David (US-2015/0148940-A1) in view of Pickel (DE-10328868) and Buschulte (US-2013/0126489-A1).
Regarding Claim 1 and 16, David teaches (Figures 1a-c, 2a-b, 3a, 4a, 5a-b, 8a-c, 9, 10, 13a-e, 14, 19a-b, 23, 24, 26a, 27a) a system and method for treating and handling cardboard sheets ([Abstract], [0005]-[0009]). David specifically teaches a (Fig 1b) a cardboard processing system (100b) with a feeder (120), a laser (124), die-rule and counter-die (122), a stacker (126), a controller (130), and a conveyer (128) which receives cardboard from the feeder and moves the cardboard towards the laser, where the die-rule and counter die can provide pre-treating to the cardboard [0101]-[0106], [0112]). As the cardboard moves along in one direction (Fig 3a), a laser beam source (302) emits a laser beam (332) and uses reflecting panes (304, 306) to reflect and steer reflections of the emitted beam toward the cardboard, where servo-controlled lens (308) is used to adjust the laser and light reflecting planes in three dimensions, where a controller (312) calculates and controls the different electronics, modules, electro/optical sensors and laser beams ([0101]-[0106], [0112], [0116]-[0118], [0141], [0150]-[0164], [0320[, [0330]). David also teaches that the laser is used for pre-treating, cutting, creasing, embossing, piercing, scanning, stripping, sorting, and any combinations of these in addition to other actions ([0002], [0008]-[0010], [0033], [0036], [0115]-[0118], [0184-[0199]). David further teaches that the scanner (300) can move and position the laser beam, rotate and move reflecting planes, uses servos to control a lens (308) to adjust focus of the lens, treating the cardboard as required by the current job description, where the controller adjust the parameters of the emitted laser beam ([0117], [0121]-[0122]). David further teaches the inclusion of grippers (308) and a plurality of gripping mechanism (612a, 612b) that are able to adjust to get/release cardboard at different places depending on the job requirements, where the grippers include mechanical grippers, vacuum, clamps, belts, suction cups, side grippers, chains, electrostatics, cyclic belts, and other common gripping technique, additionally, David teaches the controller can accommodate for changes in width, height, and other parameters to sort, transfer, and stack and manipulate the cardboard ([0216]-[0218], [0221], [0226]-[0228], [0249], [0261], [0301], [0307]-[0310], [0316]).
David does not explicitly claim multiple gripping zones so that there is minimal variation on the position of the sheets with respect to the cutting system.
Pickel teaches (Figs 1, 2, 5) a method for perforating and/or cutting a laminating film such as cardboard ([0001]). Pickel also teaches a laser cutting device to perform the cutting or perforating, where a sheet feeder feeds cardboard of a range of different sizes ([0016], [0060]). Pickel further teaches the inclusion of rollers (46, 48, 50) to keep the sheet under constant tension ensuring the material is taught, where a set of rollers is on either side of the laser cutting device (60) ([0065], [0075]).
Buschulte teaches (Figs 1, 4a-c) a system and method for handling cardboard sheets. Buschulte uses side grippers (400) to hold cardboard sections of different widths and thicknesses without the need to adjust each piece of cardboard relative to the conveyors, where a spring holds a gap (418) open between a fixed belt (412a) and moveable belt (412b) until cardboard is detected, where rollers and chains may also be used instead of a spring ([0029]-[0030], [0104]-[0106]).
Regarding Claim 2, Pickel teaches the inclusion of multiple gripping zones, including gripping the material on either side of the laser, as well as the grips mounted at a fixed position ([0001], [0016], [0060], [0065], [0075]). David teaches the use of servo motors to move the lenses, optical sensors, and reflecting panels ([0117].
Regarding Claims 3, Pickel teaches the inclusion of multiple gripping zones, including gripping the material on either side of the laser, as well as the grips mounted at a fixed position ([0001], [0016], [0060], [0065], [0075]). Pickel further teaches as least two gripping elements on each side of the transport plane with the pair of rollers (48, 46), where the grips can move the sheets of cardboard in a controlled manner ([0065]). David teaches the use of servo motors to move the lenses, optical sensors, and reflecting panels ([0117].
Regarding Claim 4, Pickel teaches the inclusion of multiple gripping zones, including gripping the material on either side of the laser, as well as the grips mounted at a fixed position ([0001], [0016], [0060], [0065], [0075]). Pickel further teaches as least two gripping elements on each side of the transport plane with the pair of rollers (48, 46), where the grips can move the sheets of cardboard in a controlled manner ([0065]).
Regarding Claim 5, David teaches that the controller can accommodate for changes in width, height, and other parameters to sort, transfer, and stack and manipulate the cardboard ([0216]-[0218], [0221], [0226]-[0228], [0249], [0261], [0301], [0307]-[0310], [0316]). David further teaches that the device can move and position the laser beam, rotate and move reflecting planes, uses servos to control a lens (308) to adjust focus of the lens, treating the cardboard as required by the current job description, where the controller adjust the parameters of the emitted laser beam ([0117], [0121]-[0122]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, David further teaches using multiple lens and reflecting planes, where the reflecting planes (304, 306) can be mirrors, prisms, an array of polygon mirrors, and other similar suitable objects, to control the reflected laser-beam in up to three dimensions, and can be moved in periodic motion, a step-function, and/or continuous motion in order to position the planes at the required position or angle ([0017]-[0119]).
Regarding Claim 8, David teaches transporting the cardboard along the cutting device path, where the controller uses parameters for the current job to control the laser cutting system, including positioning the lenses and reflecting panels.
Regarding Claim 9, David teaches the cardboard cutting device, where a transporting system moves the cardboard along the device. David also teaches a cutting system where a laser beam source emits a laser beam to cut and treat cardboard, where a controller uses an optical system of lenses, optical sensors, and reflective panes to adjust the laser as needed for the current job. This adaptability allows the laser to be fired perpendicular to the cardboard during the cutting process, before the cardboard is moved to by grips to be sorted and stacked. Pickel teaches the use of rollers to apply tension on multiple zones of the cardboard, applying a force that prevents the cardboard from moving during the process. Pickel also teaches the inclusion of multiple gripping zones, with rollers gripping the material on either side of the laser, as well as the grips mounted at a fixed position ([0001], [0016], [0060], [0065], [0075]). Pickel further teaches as least two gripping elements on each side of the transport plane with the pair of rollers (48, 46), where the grips can move the sheets of cardboard in a controlled manner ([0065]). Buschulte teaches adaptable side mounted grippers that prevents the need for continuous adjustment between sheets, ensuring minimal variation between sheets being cut and improves the overall processing of the cardboard.
Regarding Claim 10, David teaches the transport plane being parallel to the base (Fig 1), Pickel also teaches the transport plane for the cardboard being parallel to the base of the device (Fig 1, 2, 5).
Regarding Claim 11, David further teaches that the cutter part of the device can be mounted at different angles, where the transport plane is at an angle compared to the base of the device and the plane in which the cardboard is transported. (Fig 3a, 5a-b) ([0064], [0067]).
Regarding Claims 15 and 19, David teaches (Fig 3a, 4a, 5a-b) the laser beam being able to be perpendicular to transport plane, as well as including reflecting planes that can change the angle that the re-reflected lase beam is guided towards the cardboard at any angle necessary for the current job description ([0122]).
Regarding Claim 17, Pickel teaches the inclusion of multiple gripping zones, including gripping the material on either side of the laser, as well as the grips mounted at a fixed position ([0001], [0016], [0060], [0065], [0075]). Pickel further teaches as least two gripping elements on each side of the transport plane with the pair of rollers (48, 46), where the grips can move the sheets of cardboard in a controlled manner ([0065]). David teaches the use of servo motors to move the lenses, optical sensors, and reflecting panels ([0117].
Regarding Claim 18, Pickel teaches the inclusion of multiple gripping zones, including gripping the material on either side of the laser, as well as the grips mounted at a fixed position ([0001], [0016], [0060], [0065], [0075]). Pickel further teaches as least two gripping elements on each side of the transport plane with the pair of rollers (48, 46), where the grips can move the sheets of cardboard in a controlled manner ([0065]). David teaches the use of servo motors to move the lenses, optical sensors, and reflecting panels ([0117].
Regarding Claim 20, David teaches system and method for treating and handling cardboard sheets ([Abstract]).
Regarding Claims 21 through 23, David teaches the use of a controller to run predefined jobs where a sheet of cardboard is fed through the device, a laser beam is adjusted to cut predetermined cuts and creases into the cardboard (Fig 8a-c, 9, 10, 19a-b).
It is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A). The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach each claimed element (a method of apparatus that will be modified), (2) show that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and that the combination doesn’t change the function of the elements, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base device would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A).
In this case, David teaches a device for cutting cardboard, where a transporting system moves the cardboard along the device parallel to the base of the device. David also teaches a cutting system where a laser beam source emits a laser beam to cut and treat cardboard, where a controller uses an optical system of lenses, optical sensors, and reflective panes to adjust the laser as needed for the current job. This adaptability allows the laser to be fired at a wide range of angles, starting from perpendicular to the cardboard, during the cutting process, before the cardboard is moved to by grips to be sorted and stacked. Pickel teaches the use of roller grips to apply tension on multiple zones of the cardboard, applying a force that prevents the cardboard from moving during the process, and Buschulte teaches adaptable side mounted grippers that prevents the need for continuous adjustment between sheets, ensuring minimal variation between sheets being cut and improves the overall processing of the cardboard.
An artisan or ordinary skill in the art could have combined the cardboard cutting device that moves and transports cardboard and is cut by a laser as taught by David, the multiple rollers to hold the cardboard taught as taught by Pickel, along with the adaptable side gripping mechanism provided by Buschulte, and would have understood that this modification would yield predictable results because all of the references teach method and systems for cutting sheets of material using a laser, and all the elements were known to ordinarily skilled artisans before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cardboard cutter as taught by David to include the multiple gripping zones taught by Pickel, and incorporate the adaptable side gripping mechanism taught by Buschulte, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David, Pickel, and Buschulte in further view Dugat (WO-2014165288-A1).
David, Pickel, and Buschulte teach all of the claimed elements of the invention as listed above, but fail to specifically claim a supporting surface for at least partially supporting the sheets, wherein the supporting surface can be folded out at least at one side of the device, and wherein the supporting surface can be folded out at the input and output of the device.
Dugat teaches (Figs 1 - 18) an automated container cutting apparatus and method, where a controller is uses to position containers (90) by moving the containers along powered rollers (24) and conveyors from a conveyor system (20-23) to a first and second cutting area to be cut by cutting apparatus (10) ([0039]). Dugat also teaches an optional fold up roller table at the entrance helps facilitate staging, positioning, loading, and unloading of the containers ([0074]).
It is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A). The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach each claimed element (a method of apparatus that will be modified), (2) show that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and that the combination doesn’t change the function of the elements, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base device would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A).
In this case, David teaches a device for cutting cardboard, where a transporting system moves the cardboard along the device parallel to the base of the device. David also teaches a cutting system where a laser beam source emits a laser beam to cut and treat cardboard, where a controller uses an optical system of lenses, optical sensors, and reflective panes to adjust the laser as needed for the current job. This adaptability allows the laser to be fired at a wide range of angles, starting from perpendicular to the cardboard, during the cutting process, before the cardboard is moved to by grips to be sorted and stacked. Pickel teaches the use of roller grips to apply tension on multiple zones of the cardboard, applying a force that prevents the cardboard from moving during the process, and Buschulte teaches adaptable side mounted grippers that prevents the need for continuous adjustment between sheets, ensuring minimal variation between sheets being cut and improves the overall processing of the cardboard. Dugat teaches a foldable table that can help stage, position, load, and unload the container during the cutting process. An artisan or ordinary skill in the art could have combined the cardboard cutting device that moves and transports cardboard and is cut by a laser as taught by David, the multiple rollers to hold the cardboard taught as taught by Pickel, the adaptable side gripping mechanism provided by Buschulte, along with the foldable supporting table of Dugat, and would have understood that this modification would yield predictable results because all of the references teach method and systems for cutting sheets of material using a laser, and all the elements were known to ordinarily skilled artisans before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cardboard cutter as taught by David to include the multiple gripping zones taught by Pickel, and incorporate the adaptable side gripping mechanism taught by Buschulte and foldable table taught by Dugat, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David, Pickel, and Buschulte in view of Nakai (US-8524536).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, David teaches a system and method for treating and handling cardboard sheets as previously mentioned.
With regards to Claim 13, David teaches the cardboard transport and cutting device, Pickle teaches (Fig 5) the inclusion of rollers on halves separated by the transport plane, but fails to teach the first set of rollers can be moved to and from the second set of rollers .
With regards to Claim 14, David teaches the cardboard cutting device and Pickel teaches the rollers as previously mentioned, and fails to teach the second set of rollers can maintain substantially the same distance along the beam direction between the laser and clamped sheets.
Nakai teaches (Figs 1 and 2), an optical film cutting method and apparatus with a pair of rollers (11a, 11b, 12a, 12b) disposed on either side of the laser device to nip and guide the material (10), where rollers (11b, 12b) have vertical movement effected by air cylinder (20) coupled to the roller through rod (19) and bracket (18) ([0002], [0042], [0044]-[0045], [0052]-[0054]).
It is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A). The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach each claimed element (a method of apparatus that will be modified), (2) show that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and that the combination doesn’t change the function of the elements, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base device would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A).
In this case, David teaches a device for cutting cardboard, where a transporting system moves the cardboard along the device parallel to the base of the device. David also teaches a cutting system where a laser beam source emits a laser beam to cut and treat cardboard, where a controller uses an optical system of lenses, optical sensors, and reflective panes to adjust the laser as needed for the current job. This adaptability allows the laser to be fired at a wide range of angles, starting from perpendicular to the cardboard, during the cutting process, before the cardboard is moved to by grips to be sorted and stacked. Pickel teaches the use of roller grips to apply tension on multiple zones of the cardboard, applying a force that prevents the cardboard from moving during the process, and Buschulte teaches adaptable side mounted grippers that prevents the need for continuous adjustment between sheets, ensuring minimal variation between sheets being cut and improves the overall processing of the cardboard. Nakai teaches the rollers that are mounted on either half of the transport plane, where an air cylinder presses down the rollers to grip down on the cardboard sheets, bringing the rollers together as well as maintaining the distance between the laser and clamped sheets.
An artisan or ordinary skill in the art could have combined the cardboard cutting device that moves and transports cardboard and is cut by a laser as taught by David, the multiple rollers to hold the cardboard taught as taught by Pickel, along with the adaptable side gripping mechanism provided by Buschulte and the drivable roller taught by Nakai, and would have understood that this modification would yield predictable results because all of the references teach method and systems for cutting sheets of material using a laser, and all the elements were known to ordinarily skilled artisans before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cardboard cutter as taught by David to include the multiple gripping zones taught by Pickel, and incorporate the adaptable side gripping mechanism taught by Buschulte and drive cylinder attached to the roller taught by Nakai, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Trumpf (DE-202016101576-U1) teaches a laser processing device where supports flip up on the edge of the table to adjust for sheet size of the plate shaped material.
/HUNTER G HEMMINGS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761