DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 11, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on May 11, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims so that they are no longer directed toward a "chemical storage apparatus" separately from a "chemical dispensing device." In addition, claims 11-17 now depend from claim 1, SO they cannot be drawn to different inventions from claim 1. In view of these amendments, the Restriction Requirement between claims 1-10 and claims 11-17 is believed to be moot.
This is not found persuasive because the restriction requirement was based on the claims as presented at the time. The groups of inventions still have distinct particulars which result in different combination of elements. The search for the inventions would be different and the examination of all the inventions of the groups together would place an undue burden on the Examiner already substantially limited in examination time
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-17 will be rejoined if allowable subject matter is found in claim 1.
Claims 18-20 will rejoined if subject matter of claim 1 is found in claim 18.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawing fail to show the relationship between the chemical storage apparatus and the chemical dispensing apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, the phrase of “in a one-touch manner” is deemed vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to what would constitute attaching or detaching the receptacle in a one-touch manner.
In regards to claim 4, the phrase of “the first plate includes a first body with a recess” is deemed indefinite because it is unclear if the recess of claim 4 is intended to be distinct from the recess recited in claim 2. For purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation is interpreted as the first plate includes a first body with the recess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 2009/0262153) in view of Giezendanner (US 2012/0184932).
In regards to claim 1, Tamaki teaches a sub-tank (120) of an ink cartridges comprising:
a reservoir member (121, reservoir) provides an ink storage chamber (123) that stores ink (fig. 6-7; para. 38-39);
a sensor receiving portion (131) provides a first fixing member located on an upper surface of a groove of the reservoir member, and a mounting hole (137a) which corresponds to a hole in the reservoir member (second fixing member) is located on a lower surface of the reservoir member (fig. 6-7; para. 41-42);
a level detecting sensor (138) provides a plurality of sensors (136H/136L) that are used to detect liquid level within the reservoir member (fig. 6-7; para. 41-44)
a casing member (137, receptacle) provides a space for the plurality of sensors (fig. 6-7; para. 41-42);
a mounting screw (139) and the mounting hole (137a) together with upper section of walls provide coupling for attaching or detaching the casing member of the level detecting sensor to or from the reservoir member (fig. 6-7; para. 41-42).
Tamaki does not explicitly teach first and second coupling members for attaching or detaching the receptacle to or from the first fixing member and the second fixing member.
However, Giezendanner teaches a fluid collection container (2) which is removable from a suction pump housing (1). Giezendanner teaches a capacitive filling level sensor (7) on the suction pump housing which is used to detect the liquid level in the fluid collection container (fig. 1-3; para. 47, 52-53).
Giezendanner teaches the fluid collection container and the suction pump housing comprise upper and lower locking pins (21, 22) together with a recess (20) that connects with a locking element (3) (fig. 1-3; para. 47-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the locking pins and the recess to locking element of Giezendanner onto the reservoir member and casing member of Tamaki because Giezendanner teaches it will provide releasable securing between the parts (para. 29, 48).
In regards to claim 2, Tamaki and Giezendanner, where Tamaki teaches
the casing member (137, receptacle) comprises includes a first plate which provides the recess for the sensors (136H/136L), where the casing member which provides a first surface contacts the sidewall of the reservoir member (fig. 6-7; para. 41-42), and
a level detection plate (135) provides a second plate that is accommodated in the recess and covers a wall of the recess (fig. 6-7; para. 41-42).
In regards to claim 3, Tamaki and Giezendanner, where Tamaki teaches the first surface is flat (fig. 6-7).
In regards to claim 7, Tamaki and Giezendanner, where Tamaki teaches the plurality of sensors are used to detect the amount of ink/liquid within the ink storage chamber (fig. 6-7; para. 41-42).
In regards to claim 8, Tamaki and Giezendanner, where Tamaki does not explicitly teach the liquid level sensor comprises a capacitance-type liquid level sensor.
However, Giezendanner teaches use of a filling level sensor (7) comprising electrodes (70/71) to detect the amount of liquid within the container (2). Giezendanner teaches the filling level sensor uses capacitance to precisely determine the filling level of the container (fig. 1-4, 6-7; para. 52-53, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the filling level sensor of Giezendanner onto the liquid level sensor of Tamaki because Giezendanner teaches it will provide precise determination of the filling level (para. 60).
In regards to claim 9, Tamaki and Giezendanner, where Tamaki teaches the ink storage chamber comprises a filter (61b) and a sealing float (133) (valve) which restricts the flow through the ink storage (fig. 6-7; para. 30, 46, 67).
In regards to claim 10, Tamaki and Giezendanner, where Tamaki does not explicitly teach the chemical tank, the first plate, the second plate, the first fixing member, the second fixing member, and the receptacle each include a non-conductive material.
However, Giezendanner teaches use plastic (non-conductive material) for the pump housing and the fluid collection container (para. 46, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the plastic material of Giezendanner onto the reservoir member, level detecting sensor and casing member of Tamaki because Giezendanner teaches it will aid in providing a high degree of measurement accuracy (para. 66).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717