DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-11, 13, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baragaba et al (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0038486 A1, hereinafter Baragaba).
As per claim 1, Baragaba teaches the limitations as claimed, including a computer-implemented method for reconciling moved workloads for a management component in a computing environment, the method comprising:
enqueuing a remediation entry for a workload that has moved within the computing environment in a remediation queue (Paragraph [0046]);
dequeuing the remediation entry for the workload from the remediation queue for processing (Figure 3, Element 397 shows entries leaving the remediation queue to begin the remediation phase);
executing a remediation service on the remediation entry for the workload from the remediation queue to update metadata for the workload in the management component (Paragraphs [0061] and [0062] show a remediation procedure occurring which updates maturity scores, wherein the maturity scores correlate to the claimed metadata); and
storing a processing status of the remediation entry for the workload at the management component (Paragraph [0062], “update the associated maturity score”).
As per claim 2, Baragaba teaches adding the remediation entry back into the remediation queue for another remediation attempt when the remediating service on the remediation entry results in a retriable error (Figure 4, Element 470, “NO” shows looping back up).
As per claim 3, Baragaba teaches storing the processing status of the remediation entry for the workload as trying when the remediating service on the remediation entry results in the retriable error (Figure 4, Element 470, “NO” shows the workload being returned to the queue, which by definition suggests that is it trying to be corrected).
As per claim 5, Baragaba teaches making an asynchronous request for the remediation service on the remediation entry for the workload (Figures 3 and 4).
As per claim 6, Baragaba teaches detecting the workload that has moved within the computing environment prior to enqueuing the remediation entry for the workload the remediation queue (Figure 4 shows processing steps occurring before determining the remediation needs).
As per claims 9-11, 13, and 14, they are medium claims with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
As per claims 17-19, they are system claims with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baragaba in view of Lin et al (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0068622 A1, hereinafter Lin).
As per claim 4, Baragaba does not expressly teach storing the processing status of the remediation entry for the workload as error when the remediating service on the remediation entry results in a non-retriable error.
However, Lin teaches storing the processing status of the remediation entry for the workload as error when the remediating service on the remediation entry results in a non-retriable error (Paragraph [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lin with those of Baragaba in order to allow for Baragaba’s method to ensure that workloads that are easily corrected are shown, which could increase trust in the method, thereby potentially increasing buy-in among prospective users.
As per claim 12, it is a medium claim with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 20, it is a system claim with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baragaba in view of Mendonca et al (U.S. Pat. No. 11509520 B1, hereinafter Mendonca).
As per claim 8, Baragaba does not expressly teach that the workload is a virtual machine.
However, Mendonca teaches that the workload is a virtual machine (Col. 16, Lines 13-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mendonca with those of Baragaba in order to allow for Baragaba’s method to take advantage of known technologies, which could increase trust in the method, thereby potentially increasing buy-in among prospective users.
As per claim 16, it is a medium claim with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY A KESSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197