DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2022/0007403; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method of a first User Equipment (UE) performing sidelink transmission in a sidelink resource pool (Paragraphs [0050]; [0106]; [0308] describes that UEs perform sidelink transmission within configured resource pools (either dynamically assigned or statically configured)),
comprising: receiving configuration for configuring two starting symbols in a Transmission Time Interval (TTI) in the sidelink resource pool, wherein a second starting symbol of the two starting symbols is later than a first starting symbol of the two starting symbols (Paragraphs [0060]-[0061]; [0085]; [0117] describes configurations that specify time domain resources using symbols within a TTI, where multiple starting symbols can be configured (first and subsequent symbols), with the second being later than the first within the time interval);
transmitting a signaling to a second UE, wherein the signaling comprises or indicates information of a first specific location of Sidelink (SL) Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (Paragraphs [0057]; [0153]; [0220]; [0305] describes how a transmitting UE sends signaling (SCI or scheduling information) to a receiving UE that includes or indicates reference signal configurations, including CSI-RS configuration);
and performing sidelink transmission with SL CSI-RS in the TTI to the second UE (Paragraphs [0153]; [0305]; [0306] describes performing sidelink transmission that includes CSI-RS transmission within the configured time resources (TTI), where the CSI-RS is used for channel measurement and reporting purposes).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches wherein the signaling comprises or indicates a second specific location of SL CSI-RS, and/or the second specific location of SL CSI-RS is used when the sidelink transmission starts from the second starting symbol in the TTI (Paragraphs [0091]-[0092]; [0094] describes that different time resources (symbols) can be assigned (first and second locations)); and/or when the sidelink transmission starts from the second starting symbol in the TTI, the first UE transmits the SL CSI-RS on a symbol based on the second specific location of SL CSI-RS, wherein the first UE sets a triggered SL CSI request in Sidelink Control Information (SCI); and/or when the sidelink transmission starts from the second starting symbol in the TTI, the first UE transmits the SL CSI-RS on a second symbol associated with the second specific location of SL CSI- RS.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches when the sidelink transmission starts from the first starting symbol in the TTI, the first UE transmits the SL CSI-RS on a symbol based on the first specific location of SL CSI-RS, wherein the first UE sets a triggered SL CSI request in SCI (Paragraphs [0091]; [0153]; [0306] describes transmission starting from the first symbols in the TTI and the Tx UE indicates scheduled/triggered CSI measurement through the SCI ); or when the sidelink transmission starts from the first starting symbol in the TTI, the first UE transmits the SL CSI-RS on a first symbol associated with the first specific location of SL CSI-RS.
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches wherein an available or candidate value for a second specific location of SL CSI-RS is with an offset later than or referenced to the second starting symbol (Paragraphs [0085]-[0086]; [0093]; [0119] describes that CSI-RS locations (second specific symbol) with the offset indicating positions later than the reference point).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches wherein the offset corresponds to a number of symbols for Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) (Paragraph [0092]-[0093] describes the offset corresponds to the number of symbols for PSCCH (K symbols))and/or a symbol for Automatic Gain Control (AGC); and/or the offset is a fixed value; and/or the offset is used for avoiding overlapping SL CSI-RS with symbols for AGC or PSCCH.
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches when the sidelink transmission starts from the second starting symbol in the TTI, the first UE transmits the SL CSI-RS on a symbol based on the first specific location of SL CSI-RS, wherein the first UE sets a triggered SL CSI request in SCI, and the first specific location of SL CSI-RS is referenced to the second starting symbol; and/or when the sidelink transmission starts from the first starting symbol in the TTI, the first UE transmits the SL CSI-RS on a symbol based on the first specific location of SL CSI-RS, wherein the first UE sets a triggered SL CSI request in SCI; and/or when the sidelink transmission starts from the first starting symbol in the TTI, the first UE transmits the SL CSI-RS on a first symbol associated with the first specific location of SL CSI-RS (Paragraphs [0091]; [0153]; [0306] describes transmission starting from the first symbols in the TTI and the Tx UE indicates scheduled/triggered CSI measurement through the SCI);
and/or when the sidelink transmission starts from the second starting symbol in the TTI, the first UE transmits the SL CSI-RS on a second symbol associated with a summation value of a value of the second starting symbol and a value of the first specific location of SL CSI-RS.
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches wherein the sidelink resource pool is in a carrier or a cell in shared spectrum or unlicensed spectrum (Paragraphs [0054]; [0082]; [0104] describes shared spectrum/carrier configurations for sidelink resource pools, where the carrier is shred between Uu interface and sidelink transmission).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches wherein based on a channel access result and/or based on whether the first UE occupies a channel at least comprising the first starting symbol or starting from the first starting symbol or initiates a Channel Occupancy Time (COT) at least comprising the first starting symbol or starting from the first starting symbol, the first UE determines whether the sidelink transmission is performed starting from the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol in the TTI (Paragraphs [0062]; [0118] describes determining whether to start from first or alternative (second) starting symbol based on channel access/occupancy).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches wherein when the first UE initiates or occupies a COT for the first starting symbol in the TTI, the sidelink transmission is performed starting from the first starting symbol (Paragraphs [0062]; [0092]; [0118] describes when UE occupies/initiates COT for first starting symbol (resource is available), transmission starts from first starting symbol); and/or when the first UE initiates or occupies a COT for the second starting symbol in the TTI, the sidelink transmission is performed starting from the second starting symbol.
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches a method of a first User Equipment (UE) performing sidelink transmission in a sidelink resource pool (Paragraphs [0050]; [0106]; [0308] describes that UEs perform sidelink transmission within configured resource pools (either dynamically assigned or statically configured)),
comprising: receiving configuration for configuring two starting symbols in a Transmission Time Interval (TTI) in the sidelink resource pool, wherein a second starting symbol of the two starting symbols is later than a first starting symbol of the two starting symbols (Paragraphs [0060]-[0061]; [0085]; [0117] describes configurations that specify time domain resources using symbols within a TTI, where multiple starting symbols can be configured (first and subsequent symbols), with the second being later than the first within the time interval);
transmitting a signaling to a second UE, wherein the signaling comprises or indicates information of a first specific location of Sidelink (SL) Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), (Paragraphs [0057]; [0153]; [0220]; [0305] describes how a transmitting UE sends signaling (SCI or scheduling information) to a receiving UE that includes or indicates reference signal configurations, including CSI-RS configuration).
wherein the first specific location is only allowed to be configured with being later than the second starting symbol with an offset (Paragraphs [0093]; [0118]-[0119] describes resources (like CSI-RS) must be positioned with offset constraints relative to other transmission starting points );
and performing sidelink transmission with SL CSI-RS in the TTI to the second UE (Paragraphs [0153]; [0305]; [0306] describes performing sidelink transmission that includes CSI-RS transmission within the configured time resources (TTI), where the CSI-RS is used for channel measurement and reporting purposes).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches wherein the first specific location is not allowed to be configured with being earlier than the second starting symbol with an offset (Paragraphs [0062]; [0085]; [0105] describes minimum timing and gap constraints prevent configuration earlier than required offsets and resources must be configured “after” reference points, not before certain symbols/locations are prohibited from configuration).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches wherein the SL CSI-RS is transmitted on the first specific location in the TTI (Paragraphs [0153];[0305] describes CSI-RS is transmitted on specific configured locations (symbol index, starting and length of symbol) in the TTI, which represents the first specific location).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches wherein no matter whether the first UE occupies a channel or initiates a Channel Occupancy Time (COT) from the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol, the first UE performs the sidelink transmission with the SL CSI-RS on a first symbol associated with the first specific location of SL CSI-RS in the TTI, and wherein the first UE sets a triggered SL CSI request in SCI (Paragraphs [0153]; [0305] describes the configuration applies regardless of which starting symbol is used, as the CSI-RS location is configured independently of the starting symbol choice).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches a method of a first User Equipment (UE) performing sidelink transmission in a sidelink resource pool (Paragraphs [0050]; [0106]; [0308] describes that UEs perform sidelink transmission within configured resource pools (either dynamically assigned or statically configured),
comprising: receiving configuration for configuring two starting symbols in a Transmission Time Interval (TTI) in the sidelink resource pool, wherein a second starting symbol of the two starting symbols is later than a first starting symbol of the two starting symbols (Paragraphs [0060]-[0061]; [0085]; [0117] describes configurations that specify time domain resources using symbols within a TTI, where multiple starting symbols can be configured (first and subsequent symbols), with the second being later than the first within the time interval);
transmitting a signaling to a second UE, wherein the signaling comprises or indicates information of a first specific location of Sidelink (SL) Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (Paragraphs [0057]; [0153]; [0220]; [0305] describes how a transmitting UE sends signaling (SCI or scheduling information) to a receiving UE that includes or indicates reference signal configurations, including CSI-RS configuration);
and triggering a CSI request with a sidelink transmission in the TTI only when the first specific location of SL-CSI-RS is after a starting symbol of the sidelink transmission with an offset (Paragraphs [0092]-[0093]; [0305]-[0306] describes CSI is triggered only when the CSI-RS location (after offset) meets timing requirements relative to transmission start).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches wherein the first specific location of SL CSI-RS is not after the second starting symbol with the offset (Paragraphs [0092]; [0104] [0119] describes CSI-RS location can be configured such that it’s not after the second starting symbol with the required offset); and/or the first specific location of SL CSI-RS is earlier than the second starting symbol; and/or the first specific location of SL CSI-RS is within the offset after the second starting symbol.
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches wherein when the sidelink transmission starts from the second starting symbol in the TTI, the first UE is not allowed to transmit the SL CSI-RS on a symbol based on the first specific location of SL CSI-RS, and/or the first UE is not allowed to set a triggered SL CSI request in Sidelink Control Information (SCI) (Paragraphs [0104]; [0305] describes when transmission starts from second starting symbol and CSI-RS location doesn’t meet offset requirements, the UE is not allowed to transmit CSI-RS or set triggered request).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches wherein when the sidelink transmission starts from the second starting symbol in the TTI and when the first specific location of SL-CSI-RS is after the second starting symbol of the sidelink transmission with the offset, the first UE is allowed to transmit the SL CSI-RS on a first symbol associated with the first specific location of SL CSI-RS and/or the first UE is allowed to set a triggered SL CSI request in SCI; and/or when the sidelink transmission starts from the second starting symbol in the TTI and when the first specific location of SL-CSI-RS is before the second starting symbol of the sidelink transmission with the offset, the first UE is not allowed to transmit the SL CSI-RS on the first symbol associated with the first specific location of SL CSI-RS and/or the first UE is not allowed to set a triggered SL CSI request in SCI (Paragraphs [0092]-[0093]; [0119]; [0305] describes when starting from second starting symbol and CSI-RS location after that symbol with offset (in “rest of symbols”), UE allowed to transmit CSI-RS and set triggered request in SCI).
Claims 12, 19 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5 respectively.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Hwang et al. (CSI-RS transmission based on sidelink communication).
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464