DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action in response to the IDS filed 06/24/2025 and the amendment filed 06/26/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending;
Claims 1-11 are currently amended;
Claims 1-11 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections in the remarks filed 06/26/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below in the current Office action. Note that the new grounds of rejection are necessitated by Applicant's amendments to the claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
Foreign patent documents No. 2-No. 9 and non-patent literature document No. 1, cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 06/24/2025, have been considered by the Examiner.
Foreign patent document No. 1, cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 06/24/2025, fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 6, and 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2, "comprises" appears to be --comprising--.
Claim 1, line 17, "comprising" appears to be --comprises--.
Claim 1, lines 17-19, it is advised that either "position at which" or "position in which" be used consistently in the claim.
Claim 5, lines 2 and 3, "an second peripheral section" appears to be grammatically incorrect.
Claim 6, line 3, "one of" should be removed.
Claim 9, line 3, it is advised that "for a handle" be removed for clarity, since "a handle" is already recited in line 2.
Claim 10, line 1, "comprises" appears to be --comprising--.
Claim 11, line 3, "one of" should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretations
Regarding claim 1, it is recited in lines 4-8, "wherein the second peripheral section is provided with threads that are convex relative to a surface of the first peripheral section… the arcuate groove of the tube extending axially of the tube across all threads of the second peripheral section." The limitation "all threads" in line 7 is considered as comprising the "threads" in line 4.
Regarding claim 1, it is recited in lines 11-15, "wherein the second inner wall section is provided with threads that are convex relative to a surface of the first inner wall section… the arcuate groove of the nut extending axially of the nut across all threads of the second inner wall section." The limitation "all threads" in line 14 is considered as comprising the "threads" in line 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is no support in the original disclosure of the present application for the following limitations: "the arcuate groove of the tube extending axially of the tube across all threads of the second peripheral section" (lines 6-8). As depicted in Figures 1-3, the handle (2) blocks the view of the upper distal end of the tube (3), and as depicted in Figures 4, 7, and 9, the washer (6) blocks the view of the upper distal end of the tube (3). As such, it is not known as to whether or not the arcuate groove formed by the first peripheral section (31) extends all the way to the upper distal end of the tube (3), and it is not known as to whether or not the threads of the second peripheral section (32) extend all the way to the upper distal end of the tube (3). Thus, it is not known as to whether or not the arcuate groove formed by the first peripheral section (31) extends axially of the tube "across all threads" of the second peripheral section (32) as claimed. Nowhere in the specification indicates that the arcuate groove formed by the first peripheral section (31) extends axially of the tube "across all threads" of the second peripheral section (32) as claimed. Therefore, the limitations "the arcuate groove of the tube extending axially of the tube across all threads of the second peripheral section" (lines 6-8) are considered as new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-11 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected claim.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the outer circumference" (line 6) in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations "the arcuate groove of the tube extending axially of the tube across all threads of the second peripheral section" in lines 6-8 are indefinite. As shown in Figure 2, the arcuate groove formed by the first peripheral section (31) extends axially of the tube (3) and is adjacent to the threads of the second peripheral section (32). It is not clear as to how the arcuate groove formed by the first peripheral section (31) extends axially of the tube (3) "across all threads" of the second peripheral section (32) as claimed. As disclosed in the specification and as shown in the drawings, the tube (3) comprises two second peripheral sections (32) each extending 90° along the outer periphery of the tube (3) and each having threads. See specification, paragraph 0034. See Figure 2. One of the two second peripheral sections (32) is currently recited in claim 1. As such, there does not appear to be any "across" feature for the arcuate groove formed by the first peripheral section (31) with respect to any one of the two second peripheral sections (32). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the inner circumference" (line 13) in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations "the arcuate groove of the nut extending axially of the nut across all threads of the second inner wall section" in lines 14 and 15 are indefinite. As shown in Figure 5, the arcuate groove formed by the first inner wall section (41) extends axially of the nut (4) and is adjacent to the threads of the second inner wall section (42). It is not clear as to how the arcuate groove formed by the first inner wall section (41) extends axially of the nut (4) "across all threads" of the second inner wall section (42) as claimed. As disclosed in the specification and as shown in the drawings, the nut (4) comprises two second inner wall sections (42) each extending 90° along the inner periphery of the nut (4) and each having threads. See specification, paragraph 0037. See Figure 5. One of the two second inner wall sections (42) is currently recited in claim 1. As such, there does not appear to be any "across" feature for the arcuate groove formed by the first inner wall section (41) with respect to any one of the two second inner wall sections (42). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the side" (line 15) in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 5, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the intersection" (line 2) in the claim. This rejection was presented in the Office action mailed 03/27/2025 and has not been addressed. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation "an second peripheral section" in claim 5 (lines 2 and 3) is indefinite. It is not clear as to whether the limitation "an second peripheral section" in claim 5 (lines 2 and 3) and the limitation "a second peripheral section" in claim 1 (line 3) refer to the same second peripheral section or different second peripheral sections. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation "a mounting table" in claim 10 (line 3) is indefinite. It is not clear as to whether the limitation "a mounting table" in claim 10 (line 3) and the limitation "a mounting table" in claim 1 (lines 8 and 9) refer to the same mounting table or different mounting tables. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation "a side of the mounting table facing away from the handle" in claim 10 (lines 4 and 5) is indefinite. It is not clear as to whether the limitation "a side of the mounting table facing away from the handle" in claim 10 (lines 4 and 5) and the limitation "the side of the mounting table facing away from the handle" in claim 1 (lines 15 and 16) refer to the same side of the mounting table facing away from the handle or different sides of the mounting table facing away from the handle. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-4, 6-9, and 11 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lawson (US 222,713).
Regarding claim 1, Applicant is reminded that the "bathroom equipment" and the structural components thereof (i.e., the "handle" and the "mounting table") are functionally recited in claim 1 as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 1. As such, any recitation directed to the "bathroom equipment" and/or any of the structural components thereof (i.e., the "handle" and the "mounting table") is considered to be functional.
Lawson discloses a quick mountable assembly (A, B, fig 1) for a handle of a bathroom equipment, comprises:
a tube (B, fig 1) comprising a first peripheral section (d, fig 2) and a second peripheral section (b, fig 2) arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figure 2), wherein the second peripheral section is provided with threads (b, fig 2) that are convex relative to a surface of the first peripheral section (see Figure 2) and the first peripheral section forms an arcuate groove (d, fig 2) extending along the outer circumference of the tube (see Figure 2), the arcuate groove of the tube extending axially of the tube across all threads of the second peripheral section (see Figure 2), and wherein the tube is adapted to be connected with the handle and inserted into a mounting table of the bathroom equipment (see Figure 2, the male part B is capable of performing the above intended use, e.g., capable of being connected with a handle of a bathroom equipment and inserted into a mounting table of the bathroom equipment);
a nut (A, fig 2) comprising a first inner wall section (c, fig 2) and a second inner wall section (a, fig 2) being arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figure 2), wherein the second inner wall section is provided with threads (a, fig 2) that are convex relative to a surface of the first inner wall section (see Figure 2) and the first inner wall section of the nut forms an arcuate groove (c, fig 2) extending along the inner circumference of the nut (see Figure 2), the arcuate groove of the nut extending axially of the nut across all threads of the second inner wall section (see Figure 2), and wherein the nut is adapted to be connected on the tube from the side of the mounting table facing away from the handle (see Figure 2, the female part A is capable of performing the above intended use, e.g., capable of being connected on the male part B from the side of the mounting table facing away from the handle);
wherein the nut comprising a first engagement position at which the second inner wall section is aligned with the first peripheral section of the tube and a second engagement position in which the second inner wall section is screwed to the second peripheral section of the tube (see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph), and the nut is movable between the first engagement position and the second engagement position (see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the first peripheral section of the tube is constructed as a smooth section (d, fig 2) without surface textures and is adapted to accommodate the convex threads of the second inner wall section of the nut (see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the first inner wall section of the nut is constructed as a smooth section (c, fig 2) without surface textures and is adapted to accommodate the convex threads of the second peripheral section of the tube (see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Lawson discloses a handle assembly (A, B, H, fig 2, see annotation, the reference number H refers to the cylindrical handle connected to the flange B2 of the male part B), comprising:
a handle (H, fig 2, see annotation below, the cylindrical handle connected to the flange B2 of the male part B); and
a quick mountable assembly (A, B, fig 1) for a handle of claim 1;
wherein the handle is connected to the tube (see Figure 2).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (H – Handle)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 11, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawson (US 222,713) in view of Mosing et al. (US 7,513,537 B2), hereinafter Mosing.
Regarding claim 4, Lawson does not disclose the quick mountable assembly, wherein a radial projection is provided at an intersection of the first inner wall section and the second inner wall section of the nut.
Mosing teaches a quick mountable assembly (see Figure 26), comprises:
a tube (88, fig 26) comprising a first peripheral section (89, fig 26, see annotation below, the slot section of the female end section 88) and a second peripheral section (86, fig 26) arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figure 26), wherein the second peripheral section is provided with at least one thread (86, fig 26) and the first peripheral section forms an arcuate groove (89, fig 26, see annotation below, the groove defined by the slot section 89 of the female end section 88) extending along the outer circumference of the tube (see Figure 26);
a nut (85, fig 26) comprising a first inner wall section (81, fig 26) and a second inner wall section (87, fig 26) being arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figure 26), wherein the second inner wall section is provided with at least one thread (87, fig 26) and the first inner wall section of the nut forms an arcuate groove (81, fig 26) extending along the inner circumference of the nut (see Figure 26);
[AltContent: textbox (89 – First Peripheral Section / Arcuate Groove)]wherein a radial projection (85a, fig 26) is inserted through the nut (see Figure 26) and is provided at an intersection of the first inner wall section and the second inner wall section of the nut (see Figure 26).
[AltContent: arrow]
Lawson and Mosing are analogous art because they are at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., mounting assemblies. Since Mosing expressly teaches that security arrangements can be provided to interrupted thread segments (Morsing: col 6, lines 33-64), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to insert a radial projection (Mosing: 85a, fig 26) through the nut (Lawson: A, fig 2), with the radial projection provided at an intersection of the first inner wall section (Lawson: c, fig 2) and the second inner wall section (Lawson: a, fig 2) of the nut (Mosing: see Figure 26), as taught by Mosing, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to prevent unintentional rotation of the nut of Lawson with respect to the tube of Lawson in a direction for loosening the connection of Lawson. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lawson and Mosing to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Lawson, as modified by Mosing (see above discussions with respect to claim 4), teaches the quick mountable assembly, wherein a radial projection (Mosing: 85a, fig 26) is provided at the intersection of the first peripheral section and a second peripheral section of the tube (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, wherein a pin (Mosing: 85a, fig 26) is inserted through the nut (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2), wherein a portion of the pin protruding from one of an inner wall of the nut is constructed as the radial projection (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, wherein a pin (Mosing: 85a, fig 26) is inserted through the nut (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2), wherein a portion of the pin protruding from one of the inner wall of the nut is constructed as the radial projection (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2).
Claims 1-3 and 7-10, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosko (US 11,001,994 B2) in view of Lawson (US 222,713).
Regarding claim 1, Applicant is reminded that the "bathroom equipment" and the structural components thereof (i.e., the "handle" and the "mounting table") are functionally recited in claim 1 as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 1. As such, any recitation directed to the "bathroom equipment" and/or any of the structural components thereof (i.e., the "handle" and the "mounting table") is considered to be functional.
Rosko discloses a quick mountable assembly (78, 80, fig 2) for a handle (74, fig 2) of a bathroom equipment (10, 12, 18, fig 1), comprises:
a tube (80, fig 2) comprising a first peripheral section (801, fig 2, see annotation below, the slot section of the mounting shank 80) and a second peripheral section (94, fig 4, also see annotation below) arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figure 2), wherein the second peripheral section is provided with threads (94, fig 4, also see annotation below) that are convex relative to a surface of the first peripheral section (see Figure 2) and the first peripheral section forms a groove (801, fig 2, see annotation below, the groove defined by the slot section 801 of the mounting shank 80) extending along the outer circumference of the tube (see Figure 2), the groove of the tube extending axially of the tube across all threads of the second peripheral section (see Figure 2), and wherein the tube is adapted to be connected with the handle and inserted into a mounting table (12, fig 2) of the bathroom equipment (see Figure 3, the mounting shank 80 is capable of performing the above intended use, e.g., capable of being connected with the handle 74 of the faucet and sink assembly 10, 12, 18 and inserted into the sink deck 12 of the faucet and sink assembly 10, 12, 18); and
a nut (122, fig 2), wherein the nut is adapted to be connected on the tube from the side of the mounting table facing away from the handle (see Figure 3, the mounting nut 122 is capable of performing the above intended use, e.g., capable of being connected on the mounting shank 80 from the side of the sink deck 12 facing away from the handle 74).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (1220 – Lug)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (1220 – Lug)]
[AltContent: textbox (801 – First Peripheral Section / Groove)]
[AltContent: textbox (94 – Second Peripheral Section / Threads)]
Rosko does not disclose the quick mountable assembly, wherein the groove formed by the first peripheral section of the tube is arcuate; wherein the nut comprises a first inner wall section and a second inner wall section being arranged in a circumferential direction, wherein the second inner wall section is provided with threads that are convex relative to a surface of the first inner wall section and the first inner wall section of the nut forms an arcuate groove extending along the inner circumference of the nut, the arcuate groove of the nut extending axially of the nut across all threads of the second inner wall section; wherein the nut comprises a first engagement position at which the second inner wall section is aligned with the first peripheral section of the tube and a second engagement position in which the second inner wall section is screwed to the second peripheral section of the tube, and the nut is movable between the first engagement position and the second engagement position.
Lawson teaches a quick mountable assembly (A, B, fig 1) for a handle of a bathroom equipment, comprises:
a tube (B, fig 1) comprising a first peripheral section (d, fig 2) and a second peripheral section (b, fig 2) arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figure 2), wherein the second peripheral section is provided with threads (b, fig 2) that are convex relative to a surface of the first peripheral section (see Figure 2) and the first peripheral section forms an arcuate groove (d, fig 2) extending along the outer circumference of the tube (see Figure 2), the arcuate groove of the tube extending axially of the tube across all threads of the second peripheral section (see Figure 2), and wherein the tube is adapted to be connected with the handle and inserted into a mounting table of the bathroom equipment (see Figure 2, the male part B is capable of performing the above intended use, e.g., capable of being connected with a handle of a bathroom equipment and inserted into a mounting table of the bathroom equipment);
a nut (A, fig 2) comprising a first inner wall section (c, fig 2) and a second inner wall section (a, fig 2) being arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figure 2), wherein the second inner wall section is provided with threads (a, fig 2) that are convex relative to a surface of the first inner wall section (see Figure 2) and the first inner wall section of the nut forms an arcuate groove (c, fig 2) extending along the inner circumference of the nut (see Figure 2), the arcuate groove of the nut extending axially of the nut across all threads of the second inner wall section (see Figure 2), and wherein the nut is adapted to be connected on the tube from the side of the mounting table facing away from the handle (see Figure 2, the female part A is capable of performing the above intended use, e.g., capable of being connected on the male part B from the side of the mounting table facing away from the handle);
wherein the nut comprising a first engagement position at which the second inner wall section is aligned with the first peripheral section of the tube and a second engagement position in which the second inner wall section is screwed to the second peripheral section of the tube (see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph), and the nut is movable between the first engagement position and the second engagement position (see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph).
Rosko and Lawson are analogous art because they are at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., mounting assemblies. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the groove (Rosko: 801, fig 2, see annotation above) formed by the first peripheral section (Rosko: 801, fig 2, see annotation above) of the tube (Rosko: 80, fig 2) as an arcuate groove (Lawson: d, fig 2), and form the nut (Rosko: 122, fig 2) with a first inner wall section (Lawson: c, fig 2) and a second inner wall section (Lawson: a, fig 2) being arranged in a circumferential direction (Lawson: see Figure 2), wherein the second inner wall section is provided with threads (Lawson: a, fig 2) that are convex relative to a surface of the first inner wall section (Lawson: see Figure 2) and the first inner wall section of the nut forms an arcuate groove (Lawson: c, fig 2) extending along the inner circumference of the nut (Lawson: see Figure 2), the arcuate groove of the nut extending axially of the nut across all threads of the second inner wall section (Lawson: see Figure 2); wherein the nut comprises a first engagement position at which the second inner wall section is aligned with the first peripheral section of the tube and a second engagement position in which the second inner wall section is screwed to the second peripheral section of the tube (Lawson: see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph), and the nut is movable between the first engagement position and the second engagement position (Lawson: see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph), as taught by Lawson, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to facilitate quick attachment of nut of Rosko to the tube of Rosko for installation and/or quick removal of the nut of Rosko from the tube of Rosko for replacement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rosko and Lawson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the first peripheral section of the tube is constructed as a smooth section (Rosko: 801, fig 2, as modified by, Lawson: d, fig 2) without surface textures and is adapted to accommodate the convex threads of the second inner wall section of the nut (Rosko: see Figure 2; Lawson: see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the first inner wall section of the nut is constructed as a smooth section (Lawson: c, fig 2) without surface textures and is adapted to accommodate the convex threads of the second peripheral section of the tube (Rosko: see Figure 2; Lawson: see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the nut comprises a pair of radial lugs (Rosko: 1220, fig 2, see annotation above, the two radial lugs of the mounting nut 122) arranged symmetrically to a center (Rosko: see Figures 1-5), wherein fasteners (Rosko: 124, fig 2) are inserted through the lugs (Rosko: see Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the fasteners are fastening screws (Rosko: 124, fig 2).
Regarding claim 9, Rosko, as modified by Lawson (see above discussions with respect to claim 1), teaches a handle assembly (Rosko: 20b, fig 2), comprising:
a handle (Rosko: 74, fig 2); and
a quick mountable assembly (Rosko: 78, 80, fig 2, as modified by, Lawson: A, B, fig 1) for a handle of claim 1;
wherein the handle is connected to the tube (Rosko: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Rosko, as modified by Lawson (see above discussions with respect to claim 1), teaches a method of mounting a handle assembly (Rosko: 20b, fig 2), comprises:
providing the handle assembly (Rosko: 20b, fig 2) of claim 9;
inserting the tube into a mounting table (Rosko: 12, fig 2);
sleeving the nut to the tube in the first engagement position from a side of the mounting table facing away from the handle (Rosko: see Figures 1-5; Lawson: see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph);
moving the nut in the first engagement position close to the mounting table along the axial direction of the tube (Rosko: see Figures 1-5; Lawson: see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph);
rotating the nut to move the nut to the second engagement position (Rosko: see Figures 1-5; Lawson: see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph); and
fastening the nut to the mounting table (Rosko: see Figures 1-5; Lawson: see Figure 2, see page 1, left column, last paragraph, right column, first paragraph).
Claims 4-6 and 11, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosko (US 11,001,994 B2) in view of Lawson (US 222,713) and Mosing et al. (US 7,513,537 B2), hereinafter Mosing.
Regarding claim 4, Rosko, as modified by Lawson with respect to claim 1, does not teach the quick mountable assembly, wherein a radial projection is provided at an intersection of the first inner wall section and the second inner wall section of the nut.
Mosing teaches a quick mountable assembly (see Figure 26), comprises:
a tube (88, fig 26) comprising a first peripheral section (89, fig 26, see annotation below, the slot section of the female end section 88) and a second peripheral section (86, fig 26) arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figure 26), wherein the second peripheral section is provided with at least one thread (86, fig 26) and the first peripheral section forms an arcuate groove (89, fig 26, see annotation below, the groove defined by the slot section 89 of the female end section 88) extending along the outer circumference of the tube (see Figure 26);
a nut (85, fig 26) comprising a first inner wall section (81, fig 26) and a second inner wall section (87, fig 26) being arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figure 26), wherein the second inner wall section is provided with at least one thread (87, fig 26) and the first inner wall section of the nut forms an arcuate groove (81, fig 26) extending along the inner circumference of the nut (see Figure 26);
wherein a radial projection (85a, fig 26) is inserted through the nut (see Figure 26) and is provided at an intersection of the first inner wall section and the second inner wall section of the nut (see Figure 26).
[AltContent: textbox (89 – First Peripheral Section / Arcuate Groove)][AltContent: arrow]
Mosing is analogous art because they are at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., mounting assemblies. Since Mosing expressly teaches that security arrangements can be provided to interrupted thread segments (Morsing: col 6, lines 33-64), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to insert a radial projection (Mosing: 85a, fig 26) through the nut (Rosko: 122, fig 2, as modified by, Lawson: A, fig 2), with the radial projection provided at an intersection of the first inner wall section (Lawson: c, fig 2) and the second inner wall section (Lawson: a, fig 2) of the nut (Mosing: see Figure 26), as taught by Mosing, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to prevent unintentional rotation of the nut of Rosko, as modified by Lawson, with respect to the tube of Rosko, as modified by Lawson, in a direction for loosening the connection of Lawson as modified by Lawson. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rosko, Lawson, and Mosing to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Rosko, as modified by Lawson and Mosing (see above discussions with respect to claims 1 and 4), teaches the quick mountable assembly, wherein a radial projection (Mosing: 85a, fig 26) is provided at the intersection of the first peripheral section and a second peripheral section of the tube (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2; Rosko: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, wherein a pin (Mosing: 85a, fig 26) is inserted through the nut (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2; Rosko: see Figure 2), wherein a portion of the pin protruding from one of an inner wall of the nut is constructed as the radial projection (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2; Rosko: see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, wherein a pin (Mosing: 85a, fig 26) is inserted through the nut (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2; Rosko: see Figure 2), wherein a portion of the pin protruding from one of the inner wall of the nut is constructed as the radial projection (Mosing: see Figure 26; Lawson: see Figure 2; Rosko: see Figure 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G. H. G./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631