DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/7/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over You et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0061317; hereafter You) in view of Takei et al. (Pub. No. US 2004/0234258; hereafter Takei) and Hu et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0109305; hereafter Hu) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of You, Takei, Hu, and Jun (Pub. No. US 2020/0028998 A1; hereafter Jun).
Applicant persuasively argues that the prior art of You, Takei, and Hu, either singly or in combination, teach “a Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction; wherein the Hall sensor and the at least one coil assembly are located on a same plane that is perpendicular to the central axis” as called for in newly amended claim 1.
Prior art You discloses a Hall sensor wherein the Hall sensor and the at least one coil assembly are located on a same plane that is perpendicular to the central axis (see You Figs. 17 and 18, items 3241a and 328), but not that it is “located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction” as called for in claim 1.
Prior art Hu, on the other hand, discloses a Hall sensor that is located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction (see Hu paragraph [0095] “When viewed along the direction that is parallel to the optical axis O, the sensing element 910′ and the first drive coil 622a′, the second drive coil 622b′, the third drive coil 622c′, and the fourth driving coils 622d′ do not overlap.”), but not that “the Hall sensor and the at least one coil assembly are located on a same plane that is perpendicular to the central axis” as called for in claim 1.
However, prior art Jun discloses that it was well known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a Hall sensor that is both located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction; and wherein the Hall sensor and the at least one coil assembly are located on a same plane that is perpendicular to the central axis (see Jun Fig. 3B, items 521b and 521c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of You in view of Takei and Hu to arrange the Hall sensor located on the side of the coil and in the same plane perpendicular to the central axis, as taught by Jun, in order to optimize the position of the components in the device.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments rest on the arguments addressed above, and therefore are similarly addressed in light of Jun.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0061317 A1; hereafter You) in view of Takei et al. (Pub. No. US 2004/0234258 A1; hereafter Takei), Hu et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0109305 A1; hereafter Hu), and Jun (Pub. No. US 2020/0028998 A1; hereafter Jun).
Regarding claim 1, You discloses an adjustable aperture module comprising: a blade assembly comprising at least two light-blocking blades overlapping one another in a circumferential direction surrounding a central axis of the adjustable aperture module and together forming a light pass aperture (see You Fig. 8, item 323), and an aperture size of the light pass aperture being adjustable (see You Figs. 11-13, item d1); a fixed component connected to the blade assembly (see You Fig. 8, item 321b); a movable component connected to the blade assembly and disposed corresponding to the fixed component (see You Fig. 8, item 322); and a driving mechanism configured to rotate the movable component in the circumferential direction relative to the fixed component so as to move the blade assembly for adjusting the aperture size of the light pass aperture (see You Fig. 8, item 3241), and the driving mechanism comprising: at least one coil assembly comprising at least two coils (see You Fig. 16b, item 3241a, which shows an embodiment with two sets of 5 coils each); and at least one magnet disposed on the movable component, and the at least one magnet comprising (see You Fig. 16b, item 3241b, which shows two sets of one magnet each): at least one magnetic pole disposed corresponding to the at least one coil assembly and facing at least two coils of the at least one coil assembly (see You Fig. 16b, which shows each magnet pole facing 3 coils); wherein the at least one coil assembly is arranged along the circumferential direction (see You Figs. 16b and 16c, item 3241a, both configurations can be construed as arranged along the circumferential direction), and the at least one magnet is arranged along the circumferential direction (see You Figs. 16b and 16c, item 3241b, both configurations can be construed as arranged along the circumferential direction).
You does not specifically disclose that a length of each of the at least one magnet in the circumferential direction is Lm, a radial thickness of each of the at least one magnet is Tm, and the following condition is satisfied: 1.5 < Lm/Tm < 80, as You does not provide specific measurements of the magnets. You also does not disclose two adjacent magnetic poles of the at least one magnet face a same coil of the at least one coil assembly in a direction parallel to the central axis, and the adjustable aperture module further comprises a Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction.
Takei discloses that it was well known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a drive mechanism in a camera with magnets of aspect ratios between 1.5 and 80 (see Takei Fig. 13, which shows six example aspect ratios between 1.9 and 24.3). Takei shows the effect on drive thrust for magnets of different aspect ratios.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select a magnet with the desired aspect ratio in order to obtain the desired balance between thrust and available space for the magnets.
You in view of Takei does not specifically disclose two adjacent magnetic poles of the at least one magnet face a same coil of the at least one coil assembly in a direction parallel to the central axis, and the adjustable aperture module further comprises a Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction.
Hu discloses two adjacent magnetic poles of the at least one magnet face a same coil of the at least one coil assembly in a direction parallel to the central axis (see Hu Fig. 8, items 611’ and paragraph [0086] “magnetic element 610′ includes two magnetic units 611′, each magnetic unit 611′ has an N-pole and an S-pole, and the two magnetic units 611′… formed two magnetic pole surfaces S1′. Two magnetic pole surfaces S1′ are opposite each other, and one of the magnetic pole surfaces S1′ faces the driving coil set 620′.”), and the adjustable aperture module further comprises a Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction (see Hu Fig. 8, items 620’ and 910’ and paragraph [0095] “When viewed along the direction that is parallel to the optical axis O, the sensing element 910′ and the first drive coil 622a′, the second drive coil 622b′, the third drive coil 622c′, and the fourth driving coils 622d′ do not overlap”).
You discloses that it was well known to provide magnets and coils either facing perpendicular to the optical axis, as in Figs. 16a and 16b, or parallel to the optical axis, as in Fig. 16c. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the coil and magnet setup of You with a configuration like that in Hu in as a simple substitution of one known configuration for another in order to achieve predictable results. Furthermore, since You does not disclose where to place the Hall sensor in the configuration where the coil and magnet are arranged parallel to the optical axis, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place the Hall sensor on the side, where t does not overlap with the coils, as suggested by Hu, as a well-known configuration which yields predictable results.
You as modified does not disclose that the Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction is also located on a same plane that is perpendicular to the central axis.
Jun discloses that it was well known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction; wherein the Hall sensor and the at least one coil assembly are located on a same plane that is perpendicular to the central axis (see Jun Fig. 3B, items 521b and 521c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of You in view of Takei and Hu to arrange the Hall sensor located on the side of the coil and in the same plane perpendicular to the central axis, as taught by Jun, in order to optimize the position of the components in the device.
Regarding claim 13, You discloses an adjustable aperture module comprising: a blade assembly comprising at least two light-blocking blades overlapping one another in a circumferential direction surrounding a central axis of the adjustable aperture module and together forming a light pass aperture (see You Fig. 8, item 323), and an aperture size of the light pass aperture being adjustable (see You Figs. 11-13, item d1); a fixed component connected to the blade assembly (see You Fig. 8, item 321b); a movable component connected to the blade assembly and disposed corresponding to the fixed component (see You Fig. 8, item 322); a driving mechanism configured to rotate the movable component in the circumferential direction relative to the fixed component so as to move the blade assembly for adjusting the aperture size of the light pass aperture (see You Fig. 8, item 3241), and the driving mechanism comprising: at least one coil assembly comprising at least two coils (see You Fig. 16b, item 3241a, which shows an embodiment with two sets of 5 coils each); and at least one magnet disposed on the movable component, and the at least one magnet comprising (see You Fig. 16b, item 3241b, which shows two sets of one magnet each): at least two magnetic poles, comprises: a first magnetic pole disposed corresponding to the at least one coil assembly and facing two coils of the at least one coil assembly (see You Fig. 16b, which shows the magnet facing at least two coils); and a second magnetic pole disposed corresponding to the at least one coil assembly and facing one coil of the at least one coil assembly (see You Fig. 16b, which shows a second magnet, which has its own, distinct pole facing different coils of the coil assembly); and at least one Hall sensor facing the second magnetic pole and configured to detect changes in a magnetic field around the second magnetic pole (see You Figs. 17 and 18, items 327 and 328); wherein the at least one coil assembly is arranged along the circumferential direction, the at least one magnet is arranged along the circumferential direction, and the at least one Hall sensor is arranged along the circumferential direction (see You Figs. 16b, 16c, and 17, which show magnets, coils, and the Hall sensor arranged in the circumferential direction).
You does not specifically disclose that a length of each of the at least one magnet in the circumferential direction is Lm, a radial thickness of each of the at least one magnet is Tm, and the following condition is satisfied: 1.5 < Lm/Tm < 80, as You does not provide specific measurements of the magnets. You also does not disclose two adjacent magnetic poles of the at least one magnet face a same coil of the at least one coil assembly in a direction parallel to the central axis, and the adjustable aperture module further comprises a Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction.
Takei discloses that it was well known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a drive mechanism in a camera with magnets of aspect ratios between 1.5 and 80 (see Takei Fig. 13, which shows six example aspect ratios between 1.9 and 24.3). Takei shows the effect on drive thrust for magnets of different aspect ratios.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select a magnet with the desired aspect ratio in order to obtain the desired balance between thrust and available space for the magnets.
You in view of Takei does not specifically disclose two adjacent magnetic poles of the at least one magnet face a same coil of the at least one coil assembly in a direction parallel to the central axis, and the adjustable aperture module further comprises a Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction.
Hu discloses two adjacent magnetic poles of the at least one magnet face a same coil of the at least one coil assembly in a direction parallel to the central axis (see Hu Fig. 8, items 611’ and paragraph [0086] “magnetic element 610′ includes two magnetic units 611′, each magnetic unit 611′ has an N-pole and an S-pole, and the two magnetic units 611′… formed two magnetic pole surfaces S1′. Two magnetic pole surfaces S1′ are opposite each other, and one of the magnetic pole surfaces S1′ faces the driving coil set 620′.”), and the adjustable aperture module further comprises a Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction (see Hu Fig. 8, items 620’ and 910’ and paragraph [0095] “When viewed along the direction that is parallel to the optical axis O, the sensing element 910′ and the first drive coil 622a′, the second drive coil 622b′, the third drive coil 622c′, and the fourth driving coils 622d′ do not overlap”).
You discloses that it was well known to provide magnets and coils either facing perpendicular to the optical axis, as in Figs. 16a and 16b, or parallel to the optical axis, as in Fig. 16c. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the coil and magnet setup of You with a configuration like that in Hu in as a simple substitution of one known configuration for another in order to achieve predictable results. Furthermore, since You does not disclose where to place the Hall sensor in the configuration where the coil and magnet are arranged parallel to the optical axis, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place the Hall sensor on the side, where t does not overlap with the coils, as suggested by Hu, as a well-known configuration which yields predictable results.
You as modified does not disclose that the Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction is also located on a same plane that is perpendicular to the central axis.
Jun discloses that it was well known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a Hall sensor located on one side of the at least one coil assembly in the circumferential direction; wherein the Hall sensor and the at least one coil assembly are located on a same plane that is perpendicular to the central axis (see Jun Fig. 3B, items 521b and 521c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of You in view of Takei and Hu to arrange the Hall sensor located on the side of the coil and in the same plane perpendicular to the central axis, as taught by Jun, in order to optimize the position of the components in the device.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claims 1 and 13, respectively, wherein a length of each of the at least two coils in the circumferential direction is Lc, a radial thickness of each of the at least two coils is Tc, and the following condition is satisfied: 1 < Lc/Tc < 15 (see You Figs. 16b and 16c).
While drawings cannot be specifically relied upon for their dimensions unless noted as being to scale, they can be relied upon for what they would reasonably convey to the ordinary workman in the art. In this case, if the aspect ratios of the magnets, in combination with Takei, are within 1.9-24 (as taught by Takei), and the magnet must face at least two coils, then the length of the coil must strictly smaller than the magnet, while the thickness of the coil is not dramatically different than that of the magnet (as shown in Figs. 16b and 16c of You). One having ordinary skill in the art would therefore have reasonably construed that the aspect ratio of the coil could be around 1.9-24 if the thickness were the same, while the length was almost that of the magnet.
Additionally, the aspect ratio must be greater than 1, since the length of the coil is shown as greater than the thickness of the coil in the drawings, even if their exact proportions cannot be measured. Even allowing for the fact that the drawings are not to scale, in order for the aspect ratio of the coils to be greater than 15, and therefore outside the claimed range, the coils would have to be extremely thin (i.e. at least 1/15th of the length of the coil), which would not be reasonably suggested by the drawings. Therefore, the disclosure of You, in combination with the teaching of Takei would reasonably convey to the ordinary workman in the art providing coils which have an aspect ratio overlapping the range called for in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claim 1, wherein a number of coils facing the at least one magnet in the at least one coil assembly is Nc, a number of magnetic poles facing the at least one coil assembly among the at least one magnet is Nm, and the following condition is satisfied: Nc+Nm > 5 (see You Figs 16b and 16c, which show 5 coils and one pole, for Nc+Nm = 6).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claims 1 and 13, respectively, wherein the driving mechanism further comprises at least one driving unit, and each of the at least one driving unit comprises one of the at least one coil assembly and one of the at least one magnet (see You Fig. 8, item 3241, which can be construed as a driving unit).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claims 4 and 16, respectively, wherein a number of the at least one driving unit is Nd, and the following condition is satisfied: 0<Nd<20 (see You Fig. 8, which discloses 2 driving units).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claim 1 and 13, respectively, wherein the movable component further comprises a mounting structure, and the at least one magnet is disposed on the mounting structure (see You Fig. 15, items 322 and 3241b. See also paragraph [0140] “the first magnet 3241b is fastened to the second carrier 322”).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claim 1 and 13, respectively, further comprising: a flexible printed circuit (see You Fig. 20a, item 329), wherein the at least one coil assembly of the driving mechanism is disposed on the flexible printed circuit (see You Fig. 20a, item 3241a); wherein the Hall sensor is disposed on the flexible printed circuit (see Hu Fig. 8, items 910’ and 710’, both the sensor 910’ and the coils 621’ are disposed on circuit element 710’. In combination with You, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place the Hall sensor and coils disposed on the flexible circuit, as disclosed in both You and Hu.).
Regarding claim 8, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claim 7, wherein one of the at least two magnetic poles faces two coils of the at least one coil assembly (see You Fig. 16b, item 3241b, which shows the N pole facing the coils).
Regarding claim 9, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claim 8, wherein another of the at least two magnetic poles faces the Hall sensor and one coil of the at least one coil assembly located closest to the Hall sensor (see You Figs. 15, 16b, and 17, items 3241b and 327. One of the magnets of the assembly can be construed as containing the first pole facing at least two coils, and the other magnet can be construed as another of the at least two poles, which faces a different set of coils and the Hall sensor inset in the corresponding coil).
Regarding claim 10, You as modified discloses an imaging lens module comprising: the adjustable aperture module of claim 1 (see rejection made with respect to claim 1, above); and an imaging lens (see You Fig. 6, item 312), wherein the adjustable aperture module is disposed on an optical axis of the imaging lens, and the adjustable aperture module and the imaging lens are arranged along the optical axis (see You Fig. 5, items 31 and 32).
Regarding claim 11, You as modified discloses a camera module comprising: the imaging lens module of claim 10 (see rejection made with respect to claim 10, above); and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the imaging lens module (see You Fig. 5, item 341).
Regarding claim 12, You as modified discloses an electronic device comprising: the camera module of claim 11 (see You Fig. 1, item 30 and rejection made with respect to claim 11, above).
Regarding claim 15, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claim 13, wherein a number of coils facing the at least one magnet in the at least one coil assembly is Nc, a number of magnetic poles facing the at least one coil assembly among the at least one magnet is Nm, a number of the at least one Hall sensor is Nh, and the following condition is satisfied: Nc+ Nm +Nh > 6 (see You Figs. 16b and 16c, taken as a whole, the assembly shows 10 coils 2 magnets, and a Hall sensor).
Regarding claim 20, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claim 19, wherein the at least one Hall sensor is disposed on the flexible printed circuit (see Hu Fig. 8, items 910’ and 710’, both the sensor 910’ and the coils 621’ are disposed on circuit element 710’. In combination with You, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place the Hall sensor and coils disposed on the flexible circuit, as disclosed in both You and Hu.).
Regarding claim 21, You as modified discloses the adjustable aperture module of claim 13, wherein the second magnetic pole faces the at least one Hall sensor and one coil of the at least one coil assembly located closest to the at least one Hall sensor (see Hu Fig. 8, items 611’, 622’, and 910’.).
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/NOAM REISNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 9/24/2026