DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 2/12/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, Claims 1, 4, 9, 11-17, and 19-20 have been amended.
Claims 3, 6, and 18 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-23 have been added.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 19-23 are pending in this application.
Due to the amendments filed 2/12/2026, the objection to claim 16 has been cured. Therefore, the objection to claim 16 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 19-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 16, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2024/0172235 A1), hereinafter Pan, and in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0361108 A1), hereafter Zhou.
Re. Claim 1, Pan teaches:
A resource allocation method in sidelink communication by a user equipment (UE), (¶0007-¶0008 Described herein are methods, apparatus, and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations. According to some aspects, an apparatus may include one or more of a gNB or a UE.)
comprising: determining, by a physical layer of the UE, a resource selection window in a sidelink resource pool; (¶0047 NR V2X has physical layer support for broadcast, unicast, and groupcast sidelink operation. & ¶0070-¶0071 Mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Its basic structure is of a UE sensing within a (pre-)configured resource pool of resources [i.e. read as a sidelink resource pool in consideration of sidelink operation as noted above] The mode 2 sensing procedure may select and then reserve resources for a variety of purposes reflecting that NR V2X introduces sidelink HARQ in support of unicast and groupcast in the physical layer. [i.e. method supports use of physical layer] & ¶0073 The sensing UE may then select resources for its (re-)transmission(s) from within a resource selection window.)
determining, by the physical layer of the UE, a contiguous partial sensing window; (¶0047 NR V2X has physical layer support for broadcast, unicast, and groupcast sidelink operation. & ¶0126 Inter-UE coordination based contiguous partial sensing may be used. Parameters related to contiguous partial sensing may be communicated to the UE(s). Parameters related to contiguous partial sensing may include the periodicity of reservation, P_reserve, PSCCH monitoring occasion, k, timer, contiguous sensing window, starting point of contiguous sensing window, ending point of contiguous sensing window, contiguous sensing window size or the like.)
Yet, Pan does not explicitly teach: and when the sidelink resource pool allows only aperiodic transmission and when a time interval of the contiguous partial sensing window is less than X, switching a resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between a contiguous partial sensing and a random-based resource selection, where X is a configured minimum sensing time interval for contiguous partial sensing.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou teaches such limitations:
and when the sidelink resource pool allows only aperiodic transmission (¶0108 when the first UE needs to transmit sidelink signal/channel to the second UE, it determines the resource for transmitting the sidelink signal/channel by itself. When at least one of the following is satisfied, the first UE determines a sensing window corresponding to the resource reselection and performs sensing on the sensing window: & ¶0110 the resource pool for transmitting sidelink signal/channel is configured to enable re-evaluation and/or pre-emption; & ¶0138 the first UE selects the determined type of sensing window corresponding to resource reselection based on at least one of the following: ¶0143 whether (only) periodic traffic is transmitted in the resource pool, and/or whether (only) aperiodic traffic is transmitted in the resource pool;)
and when a time interval of the contiguous partial sensing window is less than X, (¶0145 In some implementations, when the first UE needs to transmit sidelink signal/channel to the second UE, it determines the sensing window of contiguous partial sensing corresponding to resource reselection, including: determining the resources that can be used for re-evaluation and/or pre-emption, and determining the sensing window of contiguous partial sensing corresponding to the resource or a subset of the resource. & ¶0207 if the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range (for example, when the UE needs to determine at least Y candidate resources in the resource selection process, the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is less than Y), the UE performs at least one of the following: [i.e. time interval for sufficient partial sensing results, time interval with at least Y candidate resources (less than Y candidate resources are insufficient sensing results) reads on the broad language of “partial sensing window is less than X”;])
switching a resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between a contiguous partial sensing and a random-based resource selection, (¶0209 determining the resources for sidelink transmission using other resource allocation schemes; for example, when the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range, contiguous partial sensing is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission, and/or the random selection is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission; & ¶0211 In an specific example, if the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range, reduce the value of M to M′=M−m_step, if the number of resources with sufficient corresponding sensing results is still not within the specific threshold range after adjustment, continue to reduce the value of M′ to M″=M′−m_step; repeat this operation until the number of resources with sufficient corresponding sensing results is within a certain threshold range, or after repeating this operation several times, if the number of resources with sufficient corresponding sensing results is still not within the specified threshold range, use the other methods mentioned above, for example, use random selection to determine the resource for sidelink transmission. [i.e. switches to random selection rather than contiguous partial sensing for determining resource allocation for sidelink transmission])
where X is a configured minimum sensing time interval for contiguous partial sensing. (¶0207 if the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range (for example, when the UE needs to determine at least Y candidate resources in the resource selection process, the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is less than Y), the UE performs at least one of the following: [i.e. time interval for sufficient partial sensing results, time interval with at least Y candidate resources (less than Y candidate resources are insufficient sensing results); therefore a partial sensing time interval with at least Y candidate resources represents a minimum sensing time interval] & ¶0209 determining the resources for sidelink transmission using other resource allocation schemes; for example, when the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range, contiguous partial sensing is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission, and/or the random selection is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission; & ¶0211 adjusting the method for deciding whether at least one source has sufficient corresponding sensing results; for example, according to the method in the above example, when the sensing window corresponding to the resource includes N time slots, if the UE performs sensing on no less than M of the N time slots, it is considered that the resource has sufficient corresponding sensing results, otherwise it does not have; [i.e. no less than M of the N time slots also represents a minimum sensing time interval for sufficient sensing results] )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Zhou’s teaching of switching a resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between a contiguous partial sensing and a random-based resource selection, because it would allow random selection to be used in a scenario where partial sensing results are not sufficient. (see Zhou ¶0209-¶0211)
Re. Claim 7, Pan combined with Zhou teaches the method of claim 1.
Pan further teaches:
wherein the sidelink resource pool is provided by a higher layer of the UE. (¶0091 SL BWP may be used for NR SL. An SL BWP may comprise a number of contiguous physical resource blocks (PRB) or resource pools with specific numerology. The SL BWP may be activated or de-activated by a timer, physical layer SCI signaling or higher layer RRC signaling,)
Re. Claim 8, Pan combined with Zhou teaches the method of claim 1.
Pan further teaches:
wherein the physical layer of the UE based on its implementation to either continue the contiguous partial sensing or perform the random-based resource selection. (¶0047 NR V2X has physical layer support for broadcast, unicast, and groupcast sidelink operation. & ¶0124 According to some aspects, inter-UE coordination based random resource selection and partial sensing may be used to further reduce power consumption and enable power saving… Assistance information may be provided to UE for performing random resource selection and/or partial sensing… Multiple resource pools may be configured or pre-configured to power saving UEs. Group leader or manager, another UE or RSU may indicate to the UE which resource pool may be used for random resource selection and which resource pool may be used for partial sensing. The indicated resource pool may be based on certain measurements and criteria, e.g., CBR measurement. For example, if measured CBR is below a CBR threshold, then random resource selection may be used. Otherwise, partial sensing may be used. Multi-thresholds for CBR may be used. [i.e. implementation for performing either contiguous partial sensing or random-based resource selection])
Re. Claim 16, Pan teaches:
A user equipment (UE), (¶0347 FIG. 9F is a block diagram of an example apparatus or device WTRU 102 that may be configured for wireless communications and operations in accordance with the systems, methods, and apparatuses described herein)
comprising: a memory for storing computer-executable instructions; (¶0347 the example WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad/indicators 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132,)
and a processor coupled to the memory; (Fig. 9F Processor 118 and memory 130 and 132 are connected)
wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory, to cause a physical layer of the UE to perform operations (¶0008 The memory may store instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to perform one or more operations.)
of: determining a resource selection window in a sidelink resource pool; (¶0047 NR V2X has physical layer support for broadcast, unicast, and groupcast sidelink operation. & ¶0070-¶0071 Mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Its basic structure is of a UE sensing within a (pre-)configured resource pool of resources [i.e. read as a sidelink resource pool in consideration of sidelink operation as noted above] …The mode 2 sensing procedure may select and then reserve resources for a variety of purposes reflecting that NR V2X introduces sidelink HARQ in support of unicast and groupcast in the physical layer. [i.e. method supports use of physical layer] & ¶0073 The sensing UE may then select resources for its (re-)transmission(s) from within a resource selection window.)
determining a contiguous partial sensing window; (¶0047 NR V2X has physical layer support for broadcast, unicast, and groupcast sidelink operation. & ¶0126 Inter-UE coordination based contiguous partial sensing may be used. Parameters related to contiguous partial sensing may be communicated to the UE(s). Parameters related to contiguous partial sensing may include the periodicity of reservation, P_reserve, PSCCH monitoring occasion, k, timer, contiguous sensing window, starting point of contiguous sensing window, ending point of contiguous sensing window, contiguous sensing window size or the like.)
Yet, Pan does not explicitly teach: and when the sidelink resource pool allows only aperiodic transmission and when a time interval of the contiguous partial sensing window is less than X, switching a resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between a contiguous partial sensing and a random-based resource selection, where X is a configured minimum sensing time interval for contiguous partial sensing.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou teaches such limitations:
and when the sidelink resource pool allows only aperiodic transmission (¶0108 when the first UE needs to transmit sidelink signal/channel to the second UE, it determines the resource for transmitting the sidelink signal/channel by itself. When at least one of the following is satisfied, the first UE determines a sensing window corresponding to the resource reselection and performs sensing on the sensing window: & ¶0110 the resource pool for transmitting sidelink signal/channel is configured to enable re-evaluation and/or pre-emption; & ¶0138 the first UE selects the determined type of sensing window corresponding to resource reselection based on at least one of the following: ¶0143 whether (only) periodic traffic is transmitted in the resource pool, and/or whether (only) aperiodic traffic is transmitted in the resource pool;)
and when a time interval of the contiguous partial sensing window is less than X, (¶0207 if the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range (for example, when the UE needs to determine at least Y candidate resources in the resource selection process, the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is less than Y), the UE performs at least one of the following: [i.e. time interval of sufficient sensing results for partial sensing less than X] )
switching a resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between a contiguous partial sensing and a random-based resource selection, (¶0209 determining the resources for sidelink transmission using other resource allocation schemes; for example, when the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range, contiguous partial sensing is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission, and/or the random selection is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission; & ¶0211 In an specific example, if the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range, reduce the value of M to M′=M−m_step, if the number of resources with sufficient corresponding sensing results is still not within the specific threshold range after adjustment, continue to reduce the value of M′ to M″=M′−m_step; repeat this operation until the number of resources with sufficient corresponding sensing results is within a certain threshold range, or after repeating this operation several times, if the number of resources with sufficient corresponding sensing results is still not within the specified threshold range, use the other methods mentioned above, for example, use random selection to determine the resource for sidelink transmission. [i.e. switches to random selection rather than contiguous partial sensing for determining resource allocation])
where X is a configured minimum sensing time interval for contiguous partial sensing. (¶0209 determining the resources for sidelink transmission using other resource allocation schemes; for example, when the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range, contiguous partial sensing is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission, and/or the random selection is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission; & ¶0211 adjusting the method for deciding whether at least one source has sufficient corresponding sensing results; for example, according to the method in the above example, when the sensing window corresponding to the resource includes N time slots, if the UE performs sensing on no less than M of the N time slots, it is considered that the resource has sufficient corresponding sensing results, otherwise it does not have; [i.e. no less than M of the N time slots represents a minimum sensing time interval])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Zhou’s teaching of switching a resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between a contiguous partial sensing and a random-based resource selection, because it would allow random selection to be used in a scenario where partial sensing results are not sufficient. (see Zhou ¶0209-¶0211)
Re. Claim 20, Pan teaches:
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a processor of a user equipment (UE), cause a physical layer of the UE to perform operations (¶0364 It is understood that any or all of the apparatuses, systems, methods and processes described herein may be embodied in the form of computer executable instructions (e.g., program code) stored on a computer-readable storage medium which instructions, when executed by a processor, such as processors 118 or 91, cause the processor to perform and/or implement the systems, methods and processes described herein.)
of: determining a resource selection window in a sidelink resource pool; (¶0047 NR V2X has physical layer support for broadcast, unicast, and groupcast sidelink operation. & ¶0070-¶0071 Mode 2 is for UE autonomous resource selection. Its basic structure is of a UE sensing within a (pre-)configured resource pool of resources [i.e. read as a sidelink resource pool in consideration of sidelink operation as noted above] …The mode 2 sensing procedure may select and then reserve resources for a variety of purposes reflecting that NR V2X introduces sidelink HARQ in support of unicast and groupcast in the physical layer. [i.e. method supports use of physical layer] & ¶0073 The sensing UE may then select resources for its (re-)transmission(s) from within a resource selection window.)
determining a contiguous partial sensing window; (¶0047 NR V2X has physical layer support for broadcast, unicast, and groupcast sidelink operation. & ¶0126 Inter-UE coordination based contiguous partial sensing may be used. Parameters related to contiguous partial sensing may be communicated to the UE(s). Parameters related to contiguous partial sensing may include the periodicity of reservation, P_reserve, PSCCH monitoring occasion, k, timer, contiguous sensing window, starting point of contiguous sensing window, ending point of contiguous sensing window, contiguous sensing window size or the like.)
Yet, Pan does not explicitly teach: and when the sidelink resource pool allows only aperiodic transmission and when a time interval of the contiguous partial sensing window is less than X, switching a resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between a contiguous partial sensing and a random-based resource selection, where X is a configured minimum sensing time interval for contiguous partial sensing.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou teaches such limitations:
and when the sidelink resource pool allows only aperiodic transmission (¶0108 when the first UE needs to transmit sidelink signal/channel to the second UE, it determines the resource for transmitting the sidelink signal/channel by itself. When at least one of the following is satisfied, the first UE determines a sensing window corresponding to the resource reselection and performs sensing on the sensing window: & ¶0110 the resource pool for transmitting sidelink signal/channel is configured to enable re-evaluation and/or pre-emption; & ¶0138 the first UE selects the determined type of sensing window corresponding to resource reselection based on at least one of the following: ¶0143 whether (only) periodic traffic is transmitted in the resource pool, and/or whether (only) aperiodic traffic is transmitted in the resource pool;)
and when a time interval of the contiguous partial sensing window is less than X, (¶0207 if the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range (for example, when the UE needs to determine at least Y candidate resources in the resource selection process, the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is less than Y), the UE performs at least one of the following: [i.e. time interval of sufficient sensing results for partial sensing less than X] )
switching a resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between a contiguous partial sensing and a random-based resource selection, (¶0209 determining the resources for sidelink transmission using other resource allocation schemes; for example, when the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range, contiguous partial sensing is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission, and/or the random selection is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission; & ¶0211 In an specific example, if the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range, reduce the value of M to M′=M−m_step, if the number of resources with sufficient corresponding sensing results is still not within the specific threshold range after adjustment, continue to reduce the value of M′ to M″=M′−m_step; repeat this operation until the number of resources with sufficient corresponding sensing results is within a certain threshold range, or after repeating this operation several times, if the number of resources with sufficient corresponding sensing results is still not within the specified threshold range, use the other methods mentioned above, for example, use random selection to determine the resource for sidelink transmission. [i.e. switches to random selection rather than contiguous partial sensing for determining resource allocation])
where X is a configured minimum sensing time interval for contiguous partial sensing. (¶0209 determining the resources for sidelink transmission using other resource allocation schemes; for example, when the number of resources which are in the time interval [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2] and have sufficient corresponding sensing results is not within the specific threshold range, contiguous partial sensing is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission, and/or the random selection is used to determine the resource for sidelink transmission; & ¶0211 adjusting the method for deciding whether at least one source has sufficient corresponding sensing results; for example, according to the method in the above example, when the sensing window corresponding to the resource includes N time slots, if the UE performs sensing on no less than M of the N time slots, it is considered that the resource has sufficient corresponding sensing results, otherwise it does not have; [i.e. no less than M of the N time slots represents a minimum sensing time interval])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Zhou’s teaching of switching a resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between a contiguous partial sensing and a random-based resource selection, because it would allow random selection to be used in a scenario where partial sensing results are not sufficient. (see Zhou ¶0209-¶0211)
Claims 21-22 are directed to device claims that recite similar limitations to method claims 7-8. Therefore, the rejections for claims 21-22 are similar to that put forth for claims 7-8.
Claims 2, 9-10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan combined with Zhou, and further in view of Yue et al. (US 2024/0031999 A1) hereinafter referred to as Yue.
Re. Claim 2, Pan combined with Zhou teaches the method of claim 1.
Yet, Pan does not explicitly teach: wherein switching, by the physical layer of the UE, the resource allocation between the contiguous partial sensing and the random-based resource selection comprises: dynamically switching, by the physical layer of the UE, the resource allocation from the contiguous partial sensing to the random-based resource selection.
However, in the analogous art, Yue teaches such a limitation:
wherein switching, by the physical layer of the UE, the resource allocation between the contiguous partial sensing and the random-based resource selection comprises: dynamically switching, by the physical layer of the UE, the resource allocation from the contiguous partial sensing to the random-based resource selection. (¶0125 A flowchart for switching between sensing based resource selection and random resource selection is shown in FIG. 9A. [i.e. the flowchart represents how the UE dynamically switches between sensing based and random based resource selection])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan and Zhou’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Yue’s teaching of dynamically switching of the resource allocation between the contiguous partial sensing and the random-based resource selection, because it would enable the device to switch between contiguous partial sensing and random resource selection in some situations in order to achieve large power savings. (see Yue ¶0122)
Re. Claim 9, Pan combined with Zhou teaches the method of claim 1.
Yet, the references do not teach: further comprising determining, by the physical layer of the UE, if the physical layer of the UE has sufficient sensing results for determining the resource selection window based on the contiguous partial sensing using at least one threshold criterion.
However, in the analogous art, Yue teaches such a limitation:
further comprising determining, by the physical layer of the UE, if the physical layer of the UE has sufficient sensing results for determining the resource selection window based on the contiguous partial sensing using at least one threshold criterion. (¶0129-¶0130 Based on sensing results, the transmitting UE forms a set of candidate resources on a set of Y slots in the resource selection window and selects one for sidelink transmission… The transmitting UE may choose Y from a preconfigured range, where the minimum and maximum values of the range need to be configured. If the default maximum value corresponds to full sensing, then the maximum value is not needed. To have reliable sensing results, different values or minimum values for Y can be configured for different priorities [i.e. UE determining reliable (sufficient) sensing results for determining the resource selection window]. & ¶0152 When UE performs contiguous partial sensing and resource (re-)selection is triggered in slot n, to achieve maximum power savings, the UE may perform partial sensing with a minimum window size to have reliable sensing results for resource selection [i.e. determining resource selection window based on a threshold criterion])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan and Zhou’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Yue’s teaching of determining if there are sufficient sensing results for determining the resource selection window based on a minimum window size, because it would enable the system to perform operations to achieve reliable sensing results for resource selection. (see Yue ¶0152)
Re. Claim 10, Pan combined with Zhou and Yue teaches the method of claim 9.
Yue further teaches:
wherein the at least one threshold criterion comprises at least one of: (¶0152 When UE performs contiguous partial sensing and resource (re-)selection is triggered in slot n, to achieve maximum power savings, the UE may perform partial sensing with a minimum window size to have reliable sensing results for resource selection [i.e. sensing window is a minimum size (at least X amount of slots)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan and Zhou’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Yue’s teaching of determining if there are sufficient sensing results for determining the resource selection window based on a minimum window size of at least X slots, because it would enable the system to perform operations to achieve reliable sensing results for resource selection. (see Yue ¶0152)
Claim 17 is directed to a device claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 2. Therefore, the rejection for claim 17 is similar to that put forth for claim 2.
Claims 4-5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan combined with Zhou, and further in view of Farag (US 2025/0220705 A1), hereinafter referred to as Farag.
Re. Claim 4, Pan combined with Zhou teaches the method of claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein when a parameter for the sidelink resource pool is configured as disabled, the physical layer of the UE switches the resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between the contiguous partial sensing and the random-based resource selection.
However, in the analogous art, Farag teaches such a limitation:
Wherein when a parameter for the sidelink resource pool is configured as disabled, the physical layer of the UE switches the resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between the contiguous partial sensing and the random-based resource selection. (¶0117-¶0118 a resource pool can be configured to either allow or not allow periodic reservations. for example a resource pool with periodic reservations can have higher layer parameter sl-MultiReserveResource enabled [i.e. the parameter is enabled for periodic reservations, disabled would be not allowing periodic reservations as noted above, and therefore only allowing the other modes i.e. contiguous partial sensing and random resource selection] ...In this discourse, for a UE operating in power saving mode, sensing can be performed (or not performed) at least based on one of the following: (1) periodic-based partial sensing (PBPS), wherein the sensing is performed repeatedly at periodic intervals; (2) contiguous partial sensing, wherein sensing is one shot aperiodic sensing performed over a contiguous, within the transmit resource pool) short window of slots; and (3) random resource selection, wherein the identification of the candidate resources is performed with no sensing. [i.e. no sensing is analogous to random resource selection] & ¶0120 a UE determines the type of sensing or sensing mode based on the embodiments of this disclosure. The determination can be based on the type of periodicity supported by the resource pool (periodic or aperiodic), and/or the type of SL traffic (periodic or aperiodic) and/or higher layer (pre-)configuration. & ¶0122 In step 604, a UE determines the candidate resources as a result of partial sensing (or no sensing) [i.e. UE determines whether contiguous partial sensing or random resource selection is used])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan and Zhou’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Farag’s teaching of when a parameter for sidelink resource pool is disabled resource allocation is switched between the contiguous partial sensing and random resource selection, because it would allow resource allocation enhancements that reduce power consumption. (see Farag ¶0096 & ¶0102)
Re. Claim 5, Pan combined with Zhou and Farag teaches the method of claim 4.
Farag further teaches:
wherein the parameter comprises sl-MultiReserveResource. (¶0117 a resource pool can be configured to either allow or not allow periodic reservations… for example a resource pool with periodic reservations can have higher layer parameter sl-MultiReserveResource [i.e. the parameter] enabled)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan and Zhou’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Farag’s teaching of a parameter for sidelink resource pool comprising sl-MultiReserveResource, because it would allow resource allocation enhancements that reduce power consumption. (see Farag ¶0096 & ¶0102)
Claim 19 is directed to a device claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 4. Therefore, the rejection for claim 19 is similar to that put forth for claim 4.
Claims 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan combined with Zhou, Yue, and further in view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2024/0172182 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yoshioka.
Re. Claim 11, Pan combined with Zhou and Yue teaches the method of claim 9.
Yet, the references do not teach: wherein when the at least one threshold criterion is not met, the physical layer of the UE switches the resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between the contiguous partial sensing and the random-based resource selection by reporting a full set or an empty set of candidate resources to a higher layer of the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Yoshioka teaches such a limitation:
wherein when the at least one threshold criterion is not met, the physical layer of the UE switches the resource allocation in the sidelink resource pool between the contiguous partial sensing and the random-based resource selection by reporting a full set or an empty set of candidate resources to a higher layer of the UE. (¶0097-¶0098 Assuming that the set of available resource candidates is SA, in a case where the SA is less than 20% of the resource selection window [i.e. threshold not met], the resource identification may be performed again by raising the threshold value Th.sub.pTX, pRX configured for each resource in the sensing window by 3 dB. That is, by raising the threshold value Th.sub.pTX, pRX and performing the resource identification again, resources that are not excluded because the RSRP is below the threshold value may be increased, and the set SA of resource candidates may become greater than 20% of the resource selection window. The operation of raising the threshold value Th.sub.pTX, pRX configured for each resource in the sensing window by 3 dB, and of performing the resource identification again in a case where the SA is less than 20% of the resource selection window, may be repeatedly performed [i.e. adding resources to the set of candidate resources SA until threshold is met, which would then constitute a full set of candidate of resources] The lower layer of the terminal 20 may report the SA to the higher layer. The higher layer of the terminal 20 may perform random selection for the SA to determine a resource to be used. [i.e. reporting the full set of candidate resources to the higher layer and subsequently performing random selection instead of the partial sensing] The terminal 20 may perform sidelink transmission using the determined resource. & ¶0114 the terminal 20 may perform partial sensing in which resource identification is performed by sensing only limited resources as compared to full sensing, and in which resource selection from the identified resource set is performed. Further, the terminal 20 may, without excluding resources from the resources in the resource selection window, cause the resources in the resource selection window to be an identified resource set and may perform random selection to select a resource from the identified resource set. [i.e. another instance of a full set of candidate resources (identified resource set)] & ¶0116 The following 1) and 2) may be applied as operations in sensing. 1) Periodic-Based Partial Sensing 2) Contiguous Partial Sensing [i.e. sensing can be periodic partial sensing or contiguous partial sensing])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan, Zhou and Yue’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Yoshioka’s teaching of switching between contiguous partial sensing and random resource selection by reporting a full set of candidate resources if the at least one threshold is not met, because it would enable only sensing in specific slots within the sensing window, which saves on power. (see Yoshioka ¶0112)
Re. Claim 12, Pan combined with Zhou, Yue and Yoshioka teaches the method of claim 11.
Yoshioka further teaches:
wherein the higher layer of the UE is configured to randomly select a time and frequency resource from reported subset of resources indicated by the physical layer for physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission or physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission. (¶0077-¶0078 In step S201, the terminal 20A autonomously selects a resource to be used for PSCCH and PSSCH from a resource selection window having a predetermined period… In step S202 and step S203, the terminal 20A transmits, using the resource autonomously selected in step S201, an SCI via PSCCH and/or PSSCH, and transmits SL data via PSSCH. For example, the terminal 20A may transmit the PSCCH using a frequency resource adjacent to the PSSCH frequency resource with the same time resource as at least a portion of the time resource of the PSSCH. [i.e. configured to autonomously select time and frequency resource for PSCCH transmission] & ¶0098 The lower layer of the terminal 20 may report the SA to the higher layer. The higher layer of the terminal 20 may perform random selection for the SA to determine a resource to be used. The terminal 20 may perform sidelink transmission using the determined resource. [i.e. random selection is performed to determine the resources (time and frequency)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan, Zhou, and Yue’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Yoshioka’s teaching of the UE being configured to randomly select time and frequency resources from the subset of resources indicated by the physical layer for PSSCH or PSCCH transmission, because it would allow the reduction of sensing slots, in order to save power. (see Yoshioka ¶0135)
Claim 13 is dependent on claim 12 and further on claim 11, which recites alternative limitations not relied upon for examination. Therefore, claim 13 is also not being examined in this application due to its dependence upon the unexamined alternative limitation of claim 11, “reporting … an empty set of candidate resources to the higher layer”.
Re. Claim 15, Pan combined with Zhou, Yue and Yoshioka teaches the method of claim 12.
Yoshioka further teaches:
wherein a parameter field for indicating random selection is turned on or set to true in sidelink control information (SCI) for the PSCCH transmission. (¶0104 As shown in FIG. 17, the terminal 20 performs partial sensing for a part of the sensing window in the resource pool, i.e., the sensing target. According to the partial sensing, the terminal 20 receives the resource reservation field contained in the SCI transmitted from the another terminal 20 and identifies the available resource candidates in the resource selection window in the resource pool, based on the field. Subsequently, the terminal 20 randomly selects a resource from the available resource candidates. [i.e. the resource reservation field (parameter field) indicates that random selection is used (turned on)] & ¶0077-¶0078 In step S201, the terminal 20A autonomously selects a resource to be used for PSCCH and PSSCH from a resource selection window having a predetermined period… In step S202 and step S203, the terminal 20A transmits, using the resource autonomously selected in step S201, an SCI via PSCCH and/or PSSCH, and transmits SL data via PSSCH. [i.e. SCI is used for PSCCH transmission])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan, Zhou, and Yue’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Yoshioka’s teaching of a parameter field in the SCI for PSCCH indicating that random selection is used, because it would enable the use of random resource selection along with partial sensing, which is for power saving purposes. (see Yoshioka ¶0112)
Claims 14 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan combined with Zhou, and further in view of Ko et al. (US 2024/0334453 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ko.
Re. Claim 14, Pan combined with Zhou teaches the method of claim 8.
Yet, Pan does not teach: wherein in either a random selection or determination of resources in a higher layer of the UE, the random selection ensures a minimum time gap between any two selected resources in case that a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is configured for the sidelink resource pool and that a resource can be indicated by a time resource assignment of a prior sidelink control information (SCI) for a retransmission.
However, in the analogous art, Ko teaches such limitations:
wherein in either a random selection or determination of resources in a higher layer of the UE, the random selection ensures a minimum time gap between any two selected resources in case that a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is configured for the sidelink resource pool (¶0083 FIG. 6, in the LTE transmission mode 2, the LTE transmission mode 4, or the NR resource allocation mode 2, a UE may determine SL transmission resource(s) within SL resource(s) configured by a base station/network or pre-configured SL resource(s). For example, the configured SL resource(s) or the pre-configured SL resource(s) may be a resource pool… In step S630, the first UE may receive a PSFCH related to the PSCCH/PSSCH from the second UE. [i.e. PSFCH is configured for the SL resource pool] & ¶0245 Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, a first device may determine a selection window. In step S1320, the first device may select a set of candidate resources within the selection window, [i.e. determining resources of the UE] based on sensing for at least one slot related to the selection window. In step S1330, the first device may randomly select a first sidelink (SL) resource among the set of candidate resources. In step S1340, the first device may select at least one SL resource within a first time threshold from the first SL resource, after selecting the first SL resource. [i.e. within a first time threshold (minimum time gap) between any two selected resources] & ¶0238 In step S1230, the UE may randomly select a first SL transmission resource from the set of candidate resources In step S1240, the UE may select a second SL transmission resource from the first SL transmission resource that is within a specific time threshold. [i.e. disclosure of the same threshold cited above])
and that a resource can be indicated by a time resource assignment of a prior sidelink control information (SCI) for a retransmission. (¶0245 In step S1350, the first device may transmit, to a second device, sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), based on the first SL resource [i.e. resource indicated by scheduling of physical channel from a prior sidelink control information of the first SL resource] and the at least one SL resource.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Pan and Zhou’s invention of methods and systems of NR sidelink resource allocation for power saving and BWP operations to include Ko’s teaching of the random selection ensuring that there is a minimum time gap between any two selected resources when a PSFCH is configured for the sidelink resource pool, because it would allow the device to utilize a clustered transmission method which saves on power consumption. (see Ko ¶0238-¶0240)
Claim 23 is directed to a device claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 14. Therefore, the rejection for claim 23 is similar to that put forth for claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mohammad Soleymani et al. (US 2024/0015845 A1); teaches a configured minimum sensing time interval for partial sensing (¶0072)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417