DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a member connecting structure for connecting a first end portion of a first longitudinal member and a second end portion of a second longitudinal member at an angle in claims 1-6.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation is interpreted to include any joint or juncture formed by the abutment of two longitudinal members as suggested by reference character 100 in Figs. 1, 3, and 4 and reference character 200 in Fig. 5 of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Handing et. al. (US11772192B2), hereinafter “Handing.”
Regarding claim 1, Handing teaches:
Two lightweight metal profiles adjacent to one another and coupled to one another in a respective end region ([0057], Fig. 8, annotated Fig. 12; corresponding to a member connecting structure for connecting a first end portion of a first longitudinal member and a second end portion of a second longitudinal member at an angle);
A lightweight metal profile with a closed cross section and an inner plate partitioning the interior of the profile in a width direction (Fig. 11; corresponding to the first longitudinal member has a closed cross section and includes a first partition plate partitioning an inner space in a width direction);
An end region of the front lightweight metal profile is notched with a rectangular cross section ([0069], Fig. 12; corresponding to the first end portion includes a notch portion in which a distal end portion is cut out in a width direction from a first outer side surface up to the first partition plate);
The lateral lightweight metal profile is inserted into the notched end region of the front lightweight metal profile ([0069], Fig. 12; corresponding to the second end portion is combined with the notch portion such that a distal end surface of the second end portion abuts against the first partition plate of the notch portion and a second outer side surface of the second end portion abuts against a longitudinal end surface of the first longitudinal member at the notch portion);
Two lightweight metal profiles which are adjacent to one another are coupled to one another in a respective end region…by means of thermal joining ([0057]), for example laser welding ([0016]; corresponding to the second end portion is welded to the first end portion).
Regarding claim 4, Handing teaches the member connecting structure according to claim 1 (as above) as well as a frame formed from four lightweight metal profiles ([0056]) with a rectangular shape (as shown in Fig. 1; corresponding to a battery case in which two first longitudinal members and two second longitudinal members are connected in a rectangular frame shape; each of the first longitudinal members and each of the second longitudinal members are connected by the member connecting structure according to claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handing as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nebeling et al. (DE102018132219B4), hereinafter “Nebeling,” wherein an English machine translation is used and cited herein.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Handing teaches the member connecting structure of claim 1 as well as the further limitations of a lightweight metal profile with a closed cross section and partitioning plate, and the joining of two metal profiles by welding, as in claim 1 (see above).
Handing does not teach, of claim 2:
the length of the notch portion in a longitudinal direction of the first longitudinal member is the same as the length in the width direction between the second outer side surface and the second partition plate of the second longitudinal member;
the second end portion is combined with the notch portion such that a part of the distal end surface abuts against the first partition plate of the notch portion.
Handing also does not teach, of claim 3:
a first plate end portion of the first partition plate is welded to a second plate end portion of the second partition plate.
However, Nebeling teaches longitudinal profiles that are partially notched so that the end faces of the cross sections, including the hollow chamber profile legs (corresponding to the first and second partition plates), lie against the inner walls of the opposing longitudinal profiles ([0021], annotated Fig. 1; corresponding to the length of the notch portion in a longitudinal direction of the first longitudinal member is the same as the length in the width direction between the second outer side surface and the second partition plate of the second longitudinal member, the second end portion is combined with the notch portion such that a part of the distal end surface abuts against the first partition plate of the notch portion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the longitudinal notch length equal to the length in the width direction between the outer side surface and the partition plate of the second longitudinal profile of Nebeling for the notch of Handing in order to allow the end-face welding of individual profiles to produce a frame structure that requires no additional components to hold the profiles together (Nebeling [0010]).
With regard to the further limitation of claim 3, as the first plate end portion of the first partition plate and second plate end portion of the second partition plate are among the limited contacting surfaces available to join the longitudinal members via welding, it would have similarly been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to weld the two adjacent members at this position in order to join the members in a media-tight manner (Nebeling [0009]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Handing in view of Nebeling teaches a rectangular frame formed from four lightweight metal profiles (see claim 4 above) and the member connecting structures according to claims 2 and 3 (see above).
Conclusion
/A.J.D./
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734