DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on February 12, 2026. Claims 1 and 3-11 are currently pending, with Claim 2 being canceled, and Claims 9-11 being newly added.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed February 12, 2026, the Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections, maintains the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections, and withdraw the previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed February 12, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-8 under Uchida, in view of Bradicich and Yasutomo, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection of Claims 1 and 3-11 is made in view of Uchida, in view of Iwuchukwu, in view of Bradicich and Yasutomo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea, for calculating a storing a parking frequency, which is a mathematical concept. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims only require performing calculations steps for determining a route to a facility.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1 is directed to an information processing system for determining parking frequency, and Claims 7 and 8 are directed to an apparatus/computer-readable medium for determining parking frequency information. Therefore, Claims 1 and 7-8 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of a) an abstract idea, b) a law of nature, or c) a natural phenomenon.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the noted abstract ideas are as follows (where the bolded portions represent an “abstract idea”; and where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations”):
Claim 1 recites the following:
An information processing system, comprising: execution circuitry; and a storage, wherein the storage stores map data, the map data includes: facility location information indicating a location of a specific facility; and parking lot location information indicating locations of multiple parking lots associated with the specific facility, and the execution circuitry is configured to
determine that a vehicle has been parked in any one of the parking lots, when the vehicle is determined to have been parked in the parking lot, determine an approach route taken by the vehicle to reach the parking lot and an approach direction toward the parking lot on the approach route,
calculate a parking frequency of the vehicle that is parked in the parking lot for each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot, and
store, in the storage, data related to the parking frequency in association with the map data for each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot,
the execution circuitry is configured to execute, when a destination of the vehicle is set to the specific facility is set: search for, from a current location of the vehicle, a guidance route to each parking lot associated with the specific facility and a guidance direction on the guidance route such that a condition that the travel distance is the shortest, is met,
extract, from the combinations stored in the storage, combinations that agree with the combination of the guidance route and the guidance direction,
select one of the extracted combinations based on the parking frequency, and
output navigation data for the specific facility based on the approach route and the approach direction included in the selected combination, the navigation data including, as a destination, the parking lot included in the selected combination.
Regarding the limitations of “determine …” “calculate …”, “search …”, “extract …”, and “select …”, the Examiner submits that these limitations consist of using mathematical concepts as included in an abstract idea. These limitations recite using a processing system to determine if a vehicle has parked in the parking lot, determine the vehicle’s approach information, calculate a parking frequency for parking, and select an appropriate route.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
For the following reason(s), the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “an information processing system …”, the Examiner submits that this limitation utilizes a generic computer (an information processing system) to perform the process. Similarly for the limitation of “a controller for a vehicle …” in Claim 8.
For the following reason(s), the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “store, in the storage …”, the Examiner submits that this limitation consists of insignificant extra-solution activity, which is performed by a generic computer (an information processing system) to perform the process.
For the following reason(s), the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “output navigation data …”, the Examiner submits that this limitation consists of insignificant post-solution activity, which is performed by a generic computer (an information processing system) to perform the process.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, implement/ use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitations does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Analysis – Step 2B
Analysis of Step 2B is performed to determine if the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, and further analysis is required for all functions that are identified as well-understood, routine, and conventional.
Obtaining and transmitting sensor data amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. The Interval Licensing LLC V AOL, and Inc., TLI Communications, court decisions cite din MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely outputting is not enough to implement the claimed function into a practical application Outputting information is a well-understood, routine, conventional function of when it is claimed in merely a generic manner (as it is here). The specification also demonstrates the well-understood, or routine, or conventional nature of additional elements as it describes the additional elements as well-understood or routing or conventional, as a commercially available product, or in a manner than indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of each additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. §112(a).
Even when viewed as a combination, nothing in the claims amounts to significantly more, and as such, Claims 1 and 7-8 are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. §101.
Dependent Claims 3-6 and 9-11 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, because the claims involve implementing mathematical concepts by calculating the frequency and time periods of each parking lot during the predetermined time, and displaying the results to the user. Therefore, dependent Claims 3-6 and 9-11 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of Claims 1 and 7 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication No. 2012184974 A, to Uchida (hereinafter referred to as Uchida; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0278081 A1, to Iwuchukwu (hereinafter referred to as Iwuchukwu; newly of record).
As per Claim 1, Uchida discloses the features of an information processing system, comprising: execution circuitry (e.g. Paragraphs [0012]-[0013]; where the position guidance system acquires vehicle data and processes it to prioritize parking positions for each vehicle); and
a storage (e.g. Paragraphs [0012]-[0013]; where a parking position guidance system stores parking information using a guidance processing unit (12)), wherein
the storage stores map data (e.g. Paragraph [0023]; where parking lot information is stored in parking information database (DB, 11)), the map data includes:
facility location information indicating a location of a specific facility (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0024], [0026]; where the system generates recommended parking lot information for a certain facility, including information relating to the location of the facility or nearby parking lots); and
parking lot location information indicating locations of multiple parking lots associated with the specific facility (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0014], [0026]; where the server (10) collects information relating to a plurality of parking lots corresponding to the delivery destination), and the execution circuitry is configured to
determine that a vehicle has been parked in any one of the parking lots (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0020]-[0022]; where the system determines the likelihood of a parking lot being full or having open spaces (i.e. cars are parked in the lot); and determines whether or not a vehicle is parked in the parking space),
when the vehicle is determined to have been parked in the parking lot, determine an approach route taken by the vehicle to reach the parking lot and an approach direction toward the parking lot on the approach route (e.g. Paragraph [0018]; where the car navigation system (16) performs a route search; and when the delivery vehicle (15) arrives at the recommended parking lot, the car navigation system (16) stores a travel log of the vehicle (15) and transmits the travel log and navigation information to the server (10)),
calculate a parking frequency of the vehicle that is parked in the parking lot for each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot (e.g. Paragraphs [0024]-[0025]; where the number of vehicles at the destination facility are calculated for each parking lot, and the system determines the count and frequency of use for each parking lot), and
store, in the storage, data related to the parking frequency in association with the map data for each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot (e.g. Paragraphs [0024]; where the parking information and frequency are stored in the parking information database (DB, 11)), the execution circuitry is configured to execute,
when a destination of the vehicle is set to the specific facility is set: search for ‘…’, a guidance route to each parking lot associated with the specific facility and a guidance direction on the guidance route (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0015]; where a delivery route is determined based on an input destination, and the system determines whether parking lot information corresponds to the facility) ‘…’
extract, from the combinations stored in the storage, combinations that agree with the combination of the guidance route and the guidance direction (e.g. Paragraph [0016]; where the availability of the recommended parking lot is determined using the statistical data of the parking information database (DB, 11) and the position of the recommended parking lot with the highest priority at the destination is received by the car navigation system (16) (i.e. extracts a combination that optimizes the route), the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot),
select one of the extracted combinations based on the parking frequency (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0018]; where the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot), and
output navigation data for the specific facility based on the approach route and the approach direction included in the selected combination, the navigation data including, as a destination, the parking lot included in the selected combination (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0018], [0022]; the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot and displays the information on the map).
Uchida fails to disclose every feature of when a destination of the vehicle is set to the specific facility is set: search for, from a current location of the vehicle, a guidance route to each parking lot associated with the specific facility and a guidance direction on the guidance route such that a condition that the travel distance is the shortest, is met.
However, Iwuchukwu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for determining parking information based on destination, where the mobile device detects a current position of the mobile device (122), generates instructions from the current position of the mobile device to a destination, where the destination may describe a point-of-interest, and routing to the destination or point-of-interest may be automatically selected to a parking location, and the closest parking location to the point-of-interest may be the selected parking location (i.e. shortest distance to travel) (e.g. Paragraphs [0003], [0039], [0047], [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, with the feature of selecting a parking lot based on current location of the user in the system of Iwuchukwu, in order to determine the optimal route for the user (see at least Paragraph [0002] of Iwuchukwu).
As per Claim 3, Uchida, in view of Iwuchukwu, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Uchida further discloses the features of wherein the execution circuitry is configured to select, from the extracted combinations, a combination in which the parking frequency is the highest (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0018]; where the availability of the recommended parking lot is determined using the statistical data of the parking information database (DB, 11) and the position of the recommended parking lot with the highest priority at the destination is received by the car navigation system (16) (i.e. extracts a combination that optimizes the route), the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot).
As per Claim 4, Uchida, in view of Iwuchukwu, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Uchida further discloses the features of wherein
the storage stores an evaluation score of each of the respective parking lots (e.g. Paragraphs [0007], [0013]; where the parking information database (DB, 11) accumulates recommended parking information and determines the priority order of the recommended parking lot),
the evaluation score is a value that indicates a higher evaluation as a distance between an entrance and the parking lot of the specific facility decreases, and the execution circuitry is configured to for each of the combinations (e.g. Paragraphs [0019], [0024], [0026]; where the highest priority parking lot is determined, and if the first parking lot becomes full, an instruction to move to the second parking lot with the next highest priority is sent; and where the parking lot closest to the parking information is the highest or recommended parking lot),
calculate a correction value that indicates a higher evaluation as the parking frequency increases (e.g. Paragraphs [0024]-[0026]; where the parking lot usage frequency is determined for each company, and the parking lot with the highest number of usages is prioritized as the recommended parking lot for each respective shipping company, and the recommended parking lot is sent to the vehicle (15); and where the driver is expected to park more frequently in the parking lot desirable for their business, so the priority of the parking lot in the recommended parking lot information will reflect the preferences of the driver of shipping company), and
select one of the combinations in which evaluation based on the evaluation score of the parking lot and the correction value for the combination is highest (e.g. Paragraphs [0024]-[0026]; where the parking lot usage frequency is determined for each company, and the parking lot with the highest number of usages is prioritized as the recommended parking lot for each respective shipping company, and the recommended parking lot is sent to the vehicle (15)).
As per Claim 6, Uchida, in view of Iwuchukwu, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Uchida further discloses the features of wherein the execution circuitry is configured to
determine whether the vehicle has reached the parking lot, which has been set as a destination, after outputting the navigation data for the specific facility (e.g. Paragraph [0018]; where the car navigation system (16) performs a route search; and when the delivery vehicle (15) arrives at the recommended parking lot, the car navigation system (16) stores a travel log of the vehicle (15) and transmits the travel log and navigation information to the server (10)),
determine whether the vehicle has traveled without being parked in the parking lot after the determination that the vehicle has reached the parking lot (e.g. Paragraphs [0019]; where the highest priority parking lot is determined, and if the first parking lot becomes full, an instruction to move to the second parking lot with the next highest priority is sent), and
when determining that the vehicle has traveled without being parked in the parking lot, output navigation data for a new destination (e.g. Paragraph [0019]; where the highest priority parking lot is determined, and if the first parking lot becomes full, an instruction to move to the second parking lot with the next highest priority is sent; and where a new recommended parking lot is displayed and new route instructions are provided to the vehicle),
the new destination being a parking lot associated with the specific facility and different from the parking lot in which the vehicle was not parked (e.g. Paragraphs [0019]; where the highest priority parking lot is determined, and if the first parking lot becomes full, an instruction to move to the second parking lot with the next highest priority is sent).
As per Claim 8, Uchida discloses the features of a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores an information processing program that includes a command to be executed by an information processing system that includes execution circuitry (e.g. Paragraphs [0012]-[0013]; where a parking position guidance system stores parking information using a guidance processing unit (12)), wherein
the storage stores map data (e.g. Paragraph [0023]; where parking lot information is stored in parking information database (DB, 11)), the map data includes:
facility location information indicating a location of a specific facility (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0024], [0026]; where the system generates recommended parking lot information for a certain facility, including information relating to the location of the facility or nearby parking lots); and
parking lot location information indicating locations of multiple parking lots associated with the specific facility (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0014], [0026]; where the server (10) collects information relating to a plurality of parking lots corresponding to the delivery destination), and the command causes the execution circuitry to
determine that a vehicle has been parked in any one of the parking lots (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0020]-[0022]; where the system determines the likelihood of a parking lot being full or having open spaces (i.e. cars are parked in the lot); and determines whether or not a vehicle is parked in the parking space),
when the vehicle is determined to have been parked in the parking lot, determine an approach route taken by the vehicle to reach the parking lot and an approach direction toward the parking lot on the approach route (e.g. Paragraph [0018]; where the car navigation system (16) performs a route search; and when the delivery vehicle (15) arrives at the recommended parking lot, the car navigation system (16) stores a travel log of the vehicle (15) and transmits the travel log and navigation information to the server (10)),
calculate a parking frequency of the vehicle that is parked in the parking lot for each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot (e.g. Paragraphs [0024]-[0025]; where the number of vehicles at the destination facility are calculated for each parking lot, and the system determines the count and frequency of use for each parking lot), and
store, in the storage medium, data related to the parking frequency in association with the map data for each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot (e.g. Paragraphs [0024]; where the parking information and frequency are stored in the parking information database (DB, 11)), the command further causes the execution circuitry to execute,
when a destination of the vehicle is set to the specific facility is set: search for ‘…’, a guidance route to each parking lot associated with the specific facility and a guidance direction on the guidance route (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0015]; where a delivery route is determined based on an input destination, and the system determines whether parking lot information corresponds to the facility) ‘…’
extract, from the combinations stored in the storage, combinations that agree with the combination of the guidance route and the guidance direction (e.g. Paragraph [0016]; where the availability of the recommended parking lot is determined using the statistical data of the parking information database (DB, 11) and the position of the recommended parking lot with the highest priority at the destination is received by the car navigation system (16) (i.e. extracts a combination that optimizes the route), the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot),
select one of the extracted combinations based on the parking frequency (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0018]; where the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot), and
output navigation data for the specific facility based on the approach route and the approach direction included in the selected combination, the navigation data including, as a destination, the parking lot included in the selected combination (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0018], [0022]; the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot and displays the information on the map).
Uchida fails to disclose every feature of when a destination of the vehicle is set to the specific facility is set: search for, from a current location of the vehicle, a guidance route to each parking lot associated with the specific facility and a guidance direction on the guidance route such that a condition that the travel distance is the shortest, is met.
However, Iwuchukwu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for determining parking information based on destination, where the mobile device detects a current position of the mobile device (122), generates instructions from the current position of the mobile device to a destination, where the destination may describe a point-of-interest, and routing to the destination or point-of-interest may be automatically selected to a parking location, and the closest parking location to the point-of-interest may be the selected parking location (i.e. shortest distance to travel) (e.g. Paragraphs [0003], [0039], [0047], [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, with the feature of selecting a parking lot based on current location of the user in the system of Iwuchukwu, in order to determine the optimal route for the user (see at least Paragraph [0002] of Iwuchukwu).
As per Claim 9, and similarly for Claim 11, Uchida, in view of Iwuchukwu, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 8, respectively, and Uchida further teaches the features of wherein the parking lot in which a distance between an entrance and of the specific facility and the parking lot is short is preferentially set as the destination.
Iwuchukwu teaches a method for determining parking information based on destination, where the parking location may be selected based on the smallest distance from the point-of-interest (e.g. Paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, with the feature of selecting a parking lot based on the smallest distance to the facility from the parking location in the system of Iwuchukwu, in order to determine the optimal route for the user (see at least Paragraph [0002] of Iwuchukwu).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida, in view of Iwuchukwu, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0125968 A1, to Bradicich, et al (hereinafter referred to as Bradicich; previously of record), and further in view of Japanese Patent Publication No. 2012068041 A, to Yasutomo (hereinafter referred to as Yasutomo; previously of record).
As per Claim 5, Uchida discloses the features of Claim 2, but Uchida fails to disclose every feature of wherein a period in which the parking frequency is stored in the storage in association with the map data is defined to as a first reference period, a period shorter than the first reference period is defined as a second reference period, a commencement of the second reference period is after a commencement of the first reference period, a termination of the second reference period is at or after a termination of the first reference period.
However, Bradicich, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of wherein a period in which the parking frequency is stored in the storage in association with the map data is defined to as a first reference period. Bradicich teaches a method for autonomously determining a set of destinations, where the classification module (230) may classify at least one location in which the vehicle is regularly parked during at least one specified time block; and where the module stores a plurality of landmarks passed by a vehicle within a specified time interval, where a specified time interval may be a distance or time interval prior to a stop interval (i.e. a first time period) (e.g. Paragraphs [0020], [0054], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, with the feature of determining a time period for defining a time period for storage in the system of Bradicich, in order to improve the determination of a user’s destination by calculating the frequency in which the user parks at certain locations in a time period (see at least Paragraph [0014] of Bradicich).
Bradicich further teaches the features of a period shorter than the first reference period is defined as a second reference period. Bradicich teaches a method for autonomously determining a set of destinations, where the time interval may be a stop interval (i.e. a second time period), and where the specified time block may be an evening time block (e.g., 8 p.m. to 10 a.m.) (i.e. a first period) and/or a daytime time block (e.g., 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.) (i.e. a second period), (i.e. the second period is shorter than the first period) (e.g. Paragraphs [0020], [0047], [0067], [0070]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, with the feature of determining a time period for defining a time period for storage in the system of Bradicich, in order to improve the determination of a user’s destination by calculating the frequency in which the user parks at certain locations in a time period (see at least Paragraph [0014] of Bradicich).
Bradicich further teaches the features of a commencement of the second reference period is after a commencement of the first reference period. Bradicich teaches a method for autonomously determining a set of destinations, where the classification module (230) may classify at least one location in which the vehicle is regularly parked during at least one specified time block; and where a specified time interval may be a distance or time interval prior to a stop interval; and where the specified interval may be a time interval before a stop interval; and where the driver may park the vehicle at 10 a.m., beginning the stop interval (i.e. the second time interval begins after the first time interval) (e.g. Paragraphs [0020], [0054], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, with the feature of determining a time period for defining a time period for storage in the system of Bradicich, in order to improve the determination of a user’s destination by calculating the frequency in which the user parks at certain locations in a time period (see at least Paragraph [0014] of Bradicich).
Bradicich further teaches the features of a termination of the second reference period is at or after a termination of the first reference period. Bradicich teaches a method for autonomously determining a set of destinations, where the specified interval may be a time interval before a stop interval; and where the driver may park the vehicle at 10 a.m., beginning the stop interval (i.e. the second time interval); and where the specified time block may be an evening time block (e.g., 8 p.m. to 10 a.m.) and/or a daytime time block (e.g., 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.) (i.e. a second time period ends before the first period starts) (e.g. Paragraphs [0047], [0067], [0070]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, with the feature of determining a time period for defining a time period for storage in the system of Bradicich, in order to improve the determination of a user’s destination by calculating the frequency in which the user parks at certain locations in a time period (see at least Paragraph [0014] of Bradicich).
Uchida further fails to disclose every feature of the execution circuitry is configured to calculate, for the second reference period, a parking frequency of the vehicle that is parked in the parking lot for each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot, determine whether each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot meets an exclusion condition, the exclusion condition including the parking frequency during the second reference period being lower than the parking frequency during the first reference period, and a difference between the parking frequency during the second reference period and the parking frequency during the first reference period being greater than or equal to a prescribed difference, and select one of the extracted combinations after excluding the combinations that meet the exclusion condition.
However, Yasutomo, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of the execution circuitry is configured to calculate, for the second reference period, a parking frequency of the vehicle that is parked in the parking lot for each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot. Yasutomo teaches a method for display facility information based on usage history, where the frequency of a vehicle traveling to is determined by detecting the number of times the vehicle (10) has entered each area in the past (e.g. Paragraphs [0036]-[0037], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, in view of Bradicich, with the feature of calculating a parking frequency during a period of time in the system of Yasutomo, in order to increase the accuracy of determining the facility type the user tends to use (see at least Paragraph [0058] of Yasutomo).
Yasutomo further teaches the features of determine whether each combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot meets an exclusion condition. Yasutomo teaches a method for display facility information based on usage history, where the system determines whether any preset conditions are satisfied for shifting to the facility display mode (e.g. Paragraphs [0036]-[0037], [0042], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, in view of Bradicich, with the feature of determining an exclusion condition in the system of Yasutomo, in order to provide the optimal route for the user (see at least Paragraph [0029] of Yasutomo).
Yasutomo further teaches the features of the exclusion condition including the parking frequency during the second reference period being lower than the parking frequency during the first reference period.
Yasutomo teaches a method for display facility information based on usage history, where the system determines the number of times the vehicle (10) has entered in the past for each area, and the control part (25) sets the area where the frequency count is less than a predetermined frequency (for example, 2 times) as an area with a low frequency; and where the system determines that the vehicle has parked four times in the parking lot AAA, three times in the parking lot BBB, and one time in the parking lot CCC within a predetermined period of time (i.e. frequency is lower during a reference period) (e.g. , Paragraphs [0037], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, in view of Bradicich, with the feature of determining a parking frequency during a period of time in the system of Yasutomo, in order to increase the accuracy of determining the facility type the user tends to use (see at least Paragraph [0058] of Yasutomo).
Yasutomo further teaches the features of a difference between the parking frequency during the second reference period and the parking frequency during the first reference period being greater than or equal to a prescribed difference.
Yasutomo teaches a method for display facility information based on usage history, where the frequency of entering a parking location is determined, and the system determines that the parking lot utilization for a first parking lot is higher than a predetermined threshold for a period of time; and where the frequency of the facility type of the facility related to the parked parking lot P is detected “within a predetermined period retroactively from the present time” (i.e. two reference periods); and where a usage rate for each time zone is determined for the facility type, and where the parking time of the parking lot related to the usage tendency is larger than a predetermined threshold, a weight is added according to the length of the each parking time (e.g. Paragraphs [0039], [0042]-[0043], [0048]-[0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, in view of Bradicich, with the feature of calculating a parking frequency during a period of time in the system of Yasutomo, in order to increase the accuracy of determining the facility type the user tends to use (see at least Paragraph [0058] of Yasutomo).
Yasutomo further teaches the features of select one of the extracted combinations after excluding the combinations that meet the exclusion condition. Yasutomo teaches a method for display facility information based on usage history, where among the facilities searched, some are not included when they have not been frequented by the user, the control unit (25) sets a route based pm the usage status (e.g. Paragraphs [0029], [0044], [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, in view of Bradicich, with the feature of selecting a parking lot in the system of Yasutomo, in order to provide the optimal route for the user (see at least Paragraph [0029] of Yasutomo).
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication No. 2012184974 A, to Uchida (hereinafter referred to as Uchida), in view of Japanese Patent Publication No. 2012068041 A, to Yasutomo (hereinafter referred to as Yasutomo; previously of record), and further in view of in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0278081 A1, to Iwuchukwu (hereinafter referred to as Iwuchukwu; newly of record).
As per Claim 7, Uchida discloses the features of ‘…’
execution circuitry (e.g. Paragraphs [0012]-[0013]; where a parking position guidance system stores parking information using a guidance processing unit (12)), and
a storage (e.g. Paragraphs [0012]-[0013]; where a parking position guidance system stores parking information using a guidance processing unit (12)), wherein
the storage stores map data (e.g. Paragraph [0023]; where parking lot information is stored in parking information database (DB, 11)), the map data includes:
facility location information indicating a location of a specific facility (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0024], [0026]; where the system generates recommended parking lot information for a certain facility, including information relating to the location of the facility or nearby parking lots); and
parking lot location information indicating locations of multiple parking lots associated with the specific facility (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0014], [0026]; where the server (10) collects information relating to a plurality of parking lots corresponding to the delivery destination), and the execution circuitry is configured to
determine that a vehicle has been parked in any one of the parking lots (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0020]-[0022]; where the system determines the likelihood of a parking lot being full or having open spaces (i.e. cars are parked in the lot); and determines whether or not a vehicle is parked in the parking space),
when the vehicle is determined to have been parked in the parking lot, determine an approach route taken by the vehicle to reach the parking lot and an approach direction toward the parking lot on the approach route (e.g. Paragraph [0018]; where the car navigation system (16) performs a route search; and when the delivery vehicle (15) arrives at the recommended parking lot, the car navigation system (16) stores a travel log of the vehicle (15) and transmits the travel log and navigation information to the server (10)),
each time the vehicle is parked in the parking lot, send a combination of the approach route, the approach direction, and the parking lot to a device external to the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0024]; where the parking information and frequency are stored in the parking information database (DB, 11)), the execution circuitry is configured to execute,
when a destination of the vehicle is set to the specific facility is set: search for ‘…’, a guidance route to each parking lot associated with the specific facility and a guidance direction on the guidance route (e.g. Paragraphs [0011], [0015]; where a delivery route is determined based on an input destination, and the system determines whether parking lot information corresponds to the facility) ‘…’
extract, from the combinations stored in the storage, combinations that agree with the combination of the guidance route and the guidance direction (e.g. Paragraph [0016]; where the availability of the recommended parking lot is determined using the statistical data of the parking information database (DB, 11) and the position of the recommended parking lot with the highest priority at the destination is received by the car navigation system (16) (i.e. extracts a combination that optimizes the route), the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot),
select one of the extracted combinations based on the parking frequency (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0018]; where the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot), and
output navigation data for the specific facility based on the approach route and the approach direction included in the selected combination, the navigation data including, as a destination, the parking lot included in the selected combination (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0018], [0022]; the system performs route search and starts route guidance to the recommended parking lot and displays the information on the map).
Uchida fails to disclose every feature of a vehicle controller; and when a destination of the vehicle is set to the specific facility is set: search for, from a current location of the vehicle, a guidance route to each parking lot associated with the specific facility and a guidance direction on the guidance route such that a condition that the travel distance is the shortest, is met.
However, Yasutomo, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of a vehicle controller. Yasutomo teaches a method for display facility information based on usage history, where a control unit (25) controls each unit of the in-vehicle device (11), and includes a CPU, a ROM, a RAM, and memory, and the control unit (25) outputs signals to the display unit (28) (e.g. Paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, with the feature of using a vehicle controller in the system of Yasutomo, in order to improve the user convenience and increase situational awareness (see at least Paragraph [0058] of Yasutomo).
Iwuchukwu further teaches the features of when a destination of the vehicle is set to the specific facility is set: search for, from a current location of the vehicle, a guidance route to each parking lot associated with the specific facility and a guidance direction on the guidance route such that a condition that the travel distance is the shortest, is met.
However, Iwuchukwu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for determining parking information based on destination, where the mobile device detects a current position of the mobile device (122), generates instructions from the current position of the mobile device to a destination, where the destination may describe a point-of-interest, and routing to the destination or point-of-interest may be automatically selected to a parking location, and the closest parking location to the point-of-interest may be the selected parking location (i.e. shortest distance to travel) (e.g. Paragraphs [0003], [0039], [0047], [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, in view of Yasutomo, with the feature of selecting a parking lot based on current location of the user in the system of Iwuchukwu, in order to determine the optimal route for the user (see at least Paragraph [0002] of Iwuchukwu).
As per Claim 10, Uchida, in view of Iwuchukwu, teaches the features of Claim 7, and Uchida further teaches the features of wherein the parking lot in which a distance between an entrance and of the specific facility and the parking lot is short is preferentially set as the destination.
Iwuchukwu teaches a method for determining parking information based on destination, where the parking location may be selected based on the smallest distance from the point-of-interest (e.g. Paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking position guide system of Uchida, with the feature of selecting a parking lot based on the smallest distance to the facility from the parking location in the system of Iwuchukwu, in order to determine the optimal route for the user (see at least Paragraph [0002] of Iwuchukwu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Friedman, et al (U.S. 2018/0121833 A1), which teaches a method for routing a vehicle to available parking spaces.
Geelen (U.S. 2016/0349073 A1), which teaches a method for navigating a vehicle based on collected parking location information.
Ishibashi, et al (U.S. 2010/0256904 A1), which teaches a method for search for a facility in the vicinity of an intersection, as selected by a user.
Kakihara, et al (U.S. 5,293,163 A), which teaches navigation apparatus for a vehicle based on determining parking information near a destination.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663