DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (WO2022109869A1; June 2, 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method comprising:
emitting particles of radiation from a first position on a radiation source toward a scene (Paragraph 37-42, Figure 1 + 3);
capturing a first partial image of the scene by an image sensor using the particles of radiation from only the first position (Paragraph 37-42, Figure 1 + 3);
emitting the particles of radiation from a second position on the radiation source toward the scene, the second position being different from the first position relative to the scene (Paragraph 37-42, Figure 1 + 3);
capturing a second partial image of the scene by the image sensor using the particles of radiation from only the second position (Paragraph 37-42, Figure 1 + 3);
forming an image of the scene by stitching the partial images (Paragraph 37-42, Figure 1 + 3);
wherein the image sensor comprises radiation detectors arranged in strips;
wherein the image sensor has dead zones among the strips (Paragraph 37-42, Figure 1 + 3);
wherein a portion of the scene in the first partial image is formed by the particles of radiation from only the first position falling on the dead zones of the image sensor (Paragraph 37-42, Figure 1 + 3);
wherein the portion of the scene in the second partial image is formed by the particles of radiation from only the second position falls on active areas of the image sensor (Paragraph 37-42, Figure 1 + 3).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu further teaches wherein the image sensor remains stationary relative to the scene (Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu further teaches wherein each point in the scene is captured in at least two partial images formed by particle of radiation from different positions on the radiation source (Paragraph 37-42, Figure 1 + 3).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu further teaches wherein the radiation source is stationary relative to the scene (Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu further teaches wherein the image sensor comprises a plurality of pixels; wherein the pixels are configured to count numbers of the particles of radiation incident on the pixels, within a period of time (Paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu further teaches wherein the particles of radiation are X-ray photons (Paragraph 43 – The particles of radiation may be X-ray photons.).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu further teaches wherein the image sensor further comprises a plurality of radiation detectors that comprise:
a radiation absorption layer comprising an electric contact (Paragraph 50-57);
a first voltage comparator configured to compare a voltage of the electric contact to a first threshold (Paragraph 50-57);
a second voltage comparator configured to compare the voltage to a second threshold (Paragraph 50-57);
a counter configured to register a number of particles of radiation incident on the radiation absorption layer (Paragraph 50-57);
a controller (Paragraph 50-57);
wherein the controller is configured to start a time delay from a time at which the first voltage comparator determines that an absolute value of the voltage equals or exceeds an absolute value of the first threshold (Paragraph 50-57);
wherein the controller is configured to activate the second voltage comparator during the time delay (Paragraph 50-57);
wherein the controller is configured to cause at least one of the numbers of particles to increase by one, when the second voltage comparator determines that an absolute value of the voltage equals or exceeds an absolute value of the second threshold (Paragraph 50-57).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the method of claim 13. Liu further teaches wherein the image sensor further comprises an integrator electrically connected to the electric contact, wherein the integrator is configured to collect charge carriers from the electric contact (Paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches the method of claim 13. Liu further teaches wherein the controller is configured to activate the second voltage comparator at a beginning or expiration of the time delay (Paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches the method of claim 13. Liu further teaches wherein the controller is configured to connect the electric contact to an electrical ground (Paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches the method of claim 13. Liu further teaches wherein a rate of change of the voltage is substantially zero at expiration of the time delay (Claim 15)
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches the method of claim 13. Liu further teaches wherein the radiation absorption layer comprises a diode (Claim 16).
Regarding claim 19, Liu teaches the method of claim 13. Liu further teaches wherein the radiation absorption layer comprises single- crystalline silicon (Claim 17).
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches the method of claim 13. Liu further teaches wherein the radiation detector does not comprise a scintillator (Claim 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO 2022109869A1; June 2, 2022) in view of Cao (US 2022/0334072; October 20, 2022).
Regrading claim 5, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu does not teach wherein the radiation source comprises an electron gun and electron bombardment targets.
Cao teaches wherein the radiation source comprises an electron gun and electron bombardment targets. (Paragraphs 3-9)
Therefore, from the teaching of Cao, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to specify the above-mentioned limitation since electron bombardment targets are known radiation sources in x-ray imaging systems.
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the method of claim 5. Liu does not teach wherein the radiation source is configured to cause electrons from the electron gun to bombard the electron bombardment target at the first position or the second position. Cao teaches wherein the radiation source is configured to cause electrons from the electron gun to bombard the electron bombardment target at the first position or the second position (Paragraph 3).
Therefore, from the teaching of Cao, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to specify the above-mentioned limitation since electron bombardment targets at various positions is known in order to ensure the entire target is imaged efficiently and accurately.
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the method of claim 5. Liu does not teach wherein the radiation source is configured to cause electrons from the electron gun to bombard the electron bombardment target at the first position or the second position by moving the electron bombardment target relative to the electron gun.
Cao teaches wherein the radiation source is configured to cause electrons from the electron gun to bombard the electron bombardment target at the first position or the second position by moving the electron bombardment target relative to the electron gun.
(Paragraph 3-9).
Therefore, from the teaching of Cao, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to specify the above-mentioned limitation since electron bombardment targets at various positions is known in order to ensure the entire target is imaged efficiently and accurately.
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches the method of claim 5. Liu does not teach wherein the electron bombardment target is configured to tilt, translate, or both tilt and translate.
Cao teaches wherein the electron bombardment target is configured to tilt, translate, or both tilt and translate. (Paragraph 6).
Therefore, from the teaching of Cao, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to specify the above-mentioned limitation since electron bombardment targets at various positions is known in order to ensure the entire target is imaged efficiently and accurately.
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the method of claim 5. Liu does not teach wherein the electron gun is configured to generate an electron beam and then deflect the electron beam.
Cao teaches wherein the electron gun is configured to generate an electron beam and then deflect the electron beam. (Paragraph 7).
Therefore, from the teaching of Cao, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to specify the above-mentioned limitation in order to allow for bombardment at various positions to ensure the entire target is imaged efficiently and accurately.
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the method of claim 5. Liu does not teach wherein the electron bombardment target comprises tungsten.
Cao teaches wherein the electron bombardment target comprises tungsten. (Paragraph 9).
Therefore, from the teaching of Cao, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to specify the above-mentioned limitation since it is a known material to have high atomic weight in order to ensure the target is imaged efficiently and accurately.
Conclusion
/GISSELLE GUTIERREZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884