DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US 20140217966 A1) in view of Desai (US 7191007 B2).
Re Claim 1: Schneider discloses
a wireless charging apparatus, comprising:
a housing (p42: The Trough 30 dug into the ground), wherein the housing is provided with a load-bearing cover plate (p42: The removable cover made of polymer concrete/aluminum that goes over the trough to carry the car), and the load-bearing cover plate is configured to carry a device to be charged;
a base (The U-shaped frame 150, which is dropped down inside the trough 30), wherein the base is disposed within the housing;
a first drive assembly (p36: The X-axis servo drive 170, pulleys, and belt, which are explicitly bolted/mounted directly onto that U-shaped frame 150), wherein the first drive assembly is disposed on the base,
a charging coil, wherein the charging coil is disposed in the moving member (p29: a first charging coil unit, 250... mounted on one surface).
However, Schneider does NOT disclose a second drive assembly, wherein the second drive assembly comprises a drive bracket and a moving member,
wherein the drive bracket is disposed at an output end of the first drive assembly,
the output end of the first drive assembly is capable of performing a rotary motion, and the moving member is capable of performing a linear motion along an extension direction of the drive bracket.
Desai however discloses a second drive assembly, wherein the second drive assembly comprises a drive bracket and a moving member (col 10 ll 20-24: “cylindrical member 246 having a rigid bottom surface 248” (bracket) and a "lead screw 244" (moving member)),
wherein the drive bracket is disposed at an output end of the first drive assembly (examiner: Discloses the drive components are mounted together to transfer motion.),
the output end of the first drive assembly is capable of performing a rotary motion (col 10 ll 36-43: piezoelectric motors 260... rotated with disk 264), and
the moving member is capable of performing a linear motion along an extension direction of the drive bracket (col 10 ll 43-44: drive lead screw 244 and bellows 238 axially to expand or collapse).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Desai’s teaching in the apparatus of Schneider for the purpose of efficiently positioning a charging coil.
Re Claim 2: Schneider modified by Desai discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second drive assembly comprises the drive bracket, a screw rod, the moving member and a first power member, wherein the drive bracket is rotatably disposed at the output end of the first drive assembly, the screw rod is rotatably disposed on the drive bracket, the first power member is disposed on the drive bracket and is in transmission connection with the screw rod, the moving member is provided with a screw hole, and the moving member is slidably disposed on the drive bracket and is in threaded engagement with the screw rod (Desai: col 10 ll 36-44: "lead screw 244" (screw rod) and "piezoelectric motors 260" (first power member) which "drive lead screw 244... axially").
Re Claim 3: Schneider modified by Desai discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a wire assembly, an input end of the wire assembly is located on the base, and an output end of the wire assembly is connected to the charging coil (p31: electrically connected to the apparatus of the invention by means of an electric cable, 379).
Claim(s) 4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US 20140217966 A1) modified by Desai (US 7191007 B2) in view of Yang (CN 223552722 U).
Re Claim 4: Schneider modified by Desai discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 3.
However, Schneider modified by Desai does NOT disclose the wire assembly comprises a first transfer member, a second transfer member, a first arc-shaped member and a second arc-shaped member, wherein the first arc-shaped member and the second arc-shaped member are disposed on the base, and a radian value of the first arc-shaped member and a radian value of the second arc-shaped member are 180 degrees, the first arc-shaped member is electrically connected to a positive pole of an external power supply, and the second arc is electrically connected to a negative pole of the external power supply, the first transfer member and the second transfer member are disposed on the drive bracket, during a rotation of the drive bracket, an end of the first transfer member remains in contact with the first arc-shaped member, and an end of the second transfer member remains in contact with the second arc-shaped member.
Yang however discloses the wire assembly comprises a first transfer member, a second transfer member, a first arc-shaped member and a second arc-shaped member, wherein the first arc-shaped member and the second arc-shaped member are disposed on the base, the first arc-shaped member is electrically connected to a positive pole of an external power supply, and the second arc is electrically connected to a negative pole of the external power supply, the first transfer member and the second transfer member are disposed on the drive bracket, during a rotation of the drive bracket, an end of the first transfer member remains in contact with the first arc-shaped member, and an end of the second transfer member remains in contact with the second arc-shaped member (p29: The conductive slip ring 500 includes two concentric rings of different diameters).
In addition, the applicant explicitly states that the drive bracket rotates between +90 degrees and -90 degrees (a total range of 180 degrees) (in p49). It is a trivial design choice for a PHOSITA (Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art) to truncate a 360-degree ring into a 180-degree arc if the device only ever rotates 180 degrees.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Yang’s teaching in the apparatus of Schneider modified by Desai for the purpose of saving material, reducing cost, and reducing the footprint of the device without changing its function.
Re Claim 6: Schneider modified by Desai and Yang discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first transfer member is provided with a first elastic transfer portion, and the second transfer member is provided with a second elastic transfer portion, during the rotation of the drive bracket, the first elastic transfer portion remains in contact with the first arc-shaped member, and the second elastic transfer portion remains in contact with the second arc-shaped member (Yang: elastic force, elastic member 12).
Re Claim 7: Schneider modified by Desai and Yang discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 6, wherein the wire assembly further comprises a first connection piece and a second connection piece, wherein the first connection piece is connected to a positive pole of the charging coil, the second connection piece is connected to a negative pole of the charging coil, the first connection piece is provided with a first elastic connection portion, the second connection piece is provided with a second elastic connection portion, the first transfer member comprises a first strip member, the first elastic transfer portion is disposed on the first strip member, the second transfer member comprises a second strip member, the second elastic transfer portion is disposed on the second strip member, during a sliding of the moving member, the first elastic connection portion remains in contact with the first strip member, and the second elastic connection remains in contact with the second strip member (Yang: conductive strip 200).
Claim(s) 5 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US 20140217966 A1) modified by Desai (US 7191007 B2) Yang (CN 223552722 U) in view of Wang (CN 117773246 A).
Re Claim 5: Schneider modified by Desai and Yang discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 4.
However, Schneider modified by Desai and Yang does not disclose that the first arc-shaped member is disposed concentrically with the second arc-shaped member, and a radius dimension of the first arc-shaped member is different from a radius dimension of the second arc-shaped member.
Wang however discloses that the first arc-shaped member is disposed concentrically with the second arc-shaped member, and a radius dimension of the first arc-shaped member is different from a radius dimension of the second arc-shaped member (p29: The conductive slip ring 500 includes two concentric rings of different diameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Wang’s teaching in the apparatus of Schneider modified by Desai and Yang for the purpose of providing isolated electrical channels to a rotating assembly and thus, preventing short circuit.
Re Claim 10: Schneider modified by Desai discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 3.
However, Schneider modified by Desai does not disclose that the wire assembly further comprises a ring-shaped conductive member, the ring-shaped conductive member is provided with a first conductive ring and a second conductive ring which are insulated from each other, an end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed on the second drive assembly, both the first conductive ring and the second conductive ring supply power to the second drive assembly via connection lines, another end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed at the output end of the first drive assembly.
Yang however discloses that the wire assembly further comprises a ring-shaped conductive member, the ring-shaped conductive member is provided with a first conductive ring and a second conductive ring which are insulated from each other, an end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed on the second drive assembly, both the first conductive ring and the second conductive ring supply power to the second drive assembly via connection lines, another end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed at the output end of the first drive assembly (p29: conductive slip ring 500).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Yang’s teaching in the apparatus of Schneider modified by Desai for the purpose of combining known elements to provide a stable electrical connection to a rotating assembly.
However, Schneider modified by Desai and Yang does not disclose a first spring contact and a second spring contact, wherein a positive pole of the external power supply is communicated with the first spring contact, a negative pole of the external power supply is communicated with the second spring contact, the first spring contact and the second spring contact are both located at the output end of the first drive assembly, the first spring contact is in contact with the first conductive ring, and the second spring contact is in contact with the second conductive ring.
Wang however discloses a first spring contact and a second spring contact, wherein a positive pole of the external power supply is communicated with the first spring contact, a negative pole of the external power supply is communicated with the second spring contact, the first spring contact and the second spring contact are both located at the output end of the first drive assembly, the first spring contact is in contact with the first conductive ring, and the second spring contact is in contact with the second conductive ring (“elastic member 12", "contact 11”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Wang’s teaching in the apparatus of Schneider modified by Desai and Yang for the purpose of combining known elements to provide a stable electrical connection to a rotating assembly.
Re Claim 11: Schneider modified by Desai and Yang discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 4, wherein the wire assembly further comprises a ring-shaped conductive member, the ring-shaped conductive member is provided with a first conductive ring and a second conductive ring which are insulated from each other, an end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed on the second drive assembly, both the first conductive ring and the second conductive ring supply power to the second drive assembly via connection lines, another end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed at the output end of the first drive assembly (Yang: p29: conductive slip ring 500).
However, Schneider modified by Desai and Yang does not disclose a first spring contact and a second spring contact, wherein a positive pole of the external power supply is communicated with the first spring contact, a negative pole of the external power supply is communicated with the second spring contact, the first spring contact and the second spring contact are both located at the output end of the first drive assembly, the first spring contact is in contact with the first conductive ring, and the second spring contact is in contact with the second conductive ring.
Wang however discloses a first spring contact and a second spring contact, wherein a positive pole of the external power supply is communicated with the first spring contact, a negative pole of the external power supply is communicated with the second spring contact, the first spring contact and the second spring contact are both located at the output end of the first drive assembly, the first spring contact is in contact with the first conductive ring, and the second spring contact is in contact with the second conductive ring (“elastic member 12", "contact 11”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Wang’s teaching in the apparatus of Schneider modified by Desai and Yang for the purpose of combining known elements to provide a stable electrical connection to a rotating assembly.
Re Claim 12: Schneider modified by Desai Yang and Wang discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 5, wherein the wire assembly further comprises a ring-shaped conductive member, a first spring contact and a second spring contact, wherein a positive pole of the external power supply is communicated with the first spring contact, a negative pole of the external power supply is communicated with the second spring contact, the first spring contact and the second spring contact are both located at the output end of the first drive assembly, the ring-shaped conductive member is provided with a first conductive ring and a second conductive ring which are insulated from each other, an end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed on the second drive assembly, both the first conductive ring and the second conductive ring supply power to the second drive assembly via connection lines, another end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed at the output end of the first drive assembly, the first spring contact is in contact with the first conductive ring, and the second spring contact is in contact with the second conductive ring (Yang: p29: conductive slip ring 500) (Wang: “elastic member 12", "contact 11”).
Re Claim 13: Schneider modified by Desai Yang and Wang discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 6, wherein the wire assembly further comprises a ring-shaped conductive member, a first spring contact and a second spring contact, wherein a positive pole of the external power supply is communicated with the first spring contact, a negative pole of the external power supply is communicated with the second spring contact, the first spring contact and the second spring contact are both located at the output end of the first drive assembly, the ring-shaped conductive member is provided with a first conductive ring and a second conductive ring which are insulated from each other, an end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed on the second drive assembly, both the first conductive ring and the second conductive ring supply power to the second drive assembly via connection lines, another end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed at the output end of the first drive assembly, the first spring contact is in contact with the first conductive ring, and the second spring contact is in contact with the second conductive ring (Yang: p29: conductive slip ring 500) (Wang: “elastic member 12", "contact 11”).
Re Claim 14: Schneider modified by Desai Yang and Wang discloses the wireless charging apparatus of claim 7, wherein the wire assembly further comprises a ring-shaped conductive member, a first spring contact and a second spring contact, wherein a positive pole of the external power supply is communicated with the first spring contact, a negative pole of the external power supply is communicated with the second spring contact, the first spring contact and the second spring contact are both located at the output end of the first drive assembly, the ring-shaped conductive member is provided with a first conductive ring and a second conductive ring which are insulated from each other, an end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed on the second drive assembly, both the first conductive ring and the second conductive ring supply power to the second drive assembly via connection lines, another end of the ring-shaped conductive member is disposed at the output end of the first drive assembly, the first spring contact is in contact with the first conductive ring, and the second spring contact is in contact with the second conductive ring (Yang: p29: conductive slip ring 500) (Wang: “elastic member 12", "contact 11”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 15, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 8 and 15, the prior art or record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest at least the wireless charging apparatus of claim 7, wherein an end of the first elastic connection portion abutting against the first strip member is provided with a first front connection arc surface structure and a first rear connection arc surface structure; and/or wherein an end of the second elastic connection portion abutting against the second strip member is provided with a second front connection arc surface structure and a second rear connection arc surface structure.
With respect to claims 9 and 16, the prior art or record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest at least the wireless charging apparatus of claim 4, wherein the base is provided with a via, the base is provided with a first arc-shaped groove and a second arc-shaped groove which communicate with the via, a radian value of the first arc-shaped groove and a radian value of the second arc-shaped groove are 180 degrees, the first arc-shaped member is disposed in the first arc-shaped groove, and the second arc-shaped member is disposed in the second arc-shaped groove.
Conclusion
/TAE W KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876