DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-4 and 12-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 10, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al (WO 2018097147).
With regards to claim 1, Hara teaches a curable composition (title) that includes a water soluble polyfunctional (meth)acrylamide (0008), a polymer having a photosensitive group (0008), and a colorant (0081). Hara teaches the polymer to be formed from repeating units from monomers having two ethylenically unsaturated bonds (0052-0053).
With regards to claim 5, Hara teaches the number of functional groups in the multifunctional (meth)acrylamide to be from 2 to 12 groups (0039) with preference to compounds having 2-4 functional groups (0044).
With regards to claim 6, Hara teaches the polyfunctional (meth)acrylamide (monomer A-5) to be 10 or 15% (0103).
With regards to claim 7, Hara teaches the composition to include a photopolymerization initiator (0088), a sensitizer (0076), and/or a surfactant (0080).
With regards to claims 8-10, Hara teaches the polymer to be in a solid state (0102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al (WO 2018097147).
The disclosure of Hara is adequately set forth in paragraph 4 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 11, Hara does not teach the particle size of the solids in the composition. However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to alter the particle size in order to achieve the desired properties including reaction rate, mixing and uniformity, surface areas, optical properties, mechanical properties and catalytic activity.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763