DETAILED ACTION
The Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed 09/08/26 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are still pending. In light of the substantive claim amendments, the previous rejections are withdrawn. However, revised 102 and 103 rejections of all pending claims are detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Uezono
Claim(s) 1-12 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uezono (JP H05164172). Uezono is directed to a drive rotary damper. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Uezono discloses a damper apparatus [Figs. 1, 4] for reducing a movement of a second part (3, 31) movable relative to a first part (1, 11), wherein the damper apparatus comprises the following: a first damper component (16) fixedly connected or connectable to the first part; a second damper component (5) fixedly connected or connectable to the second part and is movable, at least partially or regionally, relative to the first damper component; and a dampening mechanism (16a, 51) arranged between the first and second damper components and configured such that a movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component is or can be reduced, wherein the dampening mechanism comprises a blade or rib structure (16a) connected to the first or second damper component the blade or rib structure comprising a plurality of discrete, separately-formed protruding regions extending outwardly from a support surface, which are elastically deflectable at least partially or regionally in a direction of movement of the first damper component relative to the second damper component [see Translation (“elastic ring body 16 is made of a material such as rubber, silicon, urethane foam, or thermoplastic elastomer that is elastically deformable, and a plurality of rows of recesses (grooves) 16a”)]; wherein the dampening mechanism comprises a ridge structure (51) [see Translation (“rotating body 5 has a row of projections 51”)] connected to the second or first damper component, the ridge structure comprising at least one tooth or protrusion, wherein, at least in a state in which the second damper component is not moved relative to the first damper component, the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is arranged at least partially or regionally in an intermeshing manner between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure such that the at least one tooth or protrusion extends into a gap defined between two adjacent ones of the discrete protruding regions, and wherein dampening is achieved through elastic deflection of the discrete protruding regions by the at least one tooth or protrusion during relative movement between the first and second damper components [see Translation (“The value of the torque mainly depends on the material of the elastic ring body 16 and the shape of the protrusion 51. It is determined by the amount of deformation of the elastic ring body 16 caused by 51. For example, if the height of the protrusion 51 and the depth of the groove portion 16a are appropriately selected, a desired torque change can be obtained”)]. See Figs. 1, 4.
Claim 2: Uezono discloses that the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is positioned between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure such that, upon a movement of the first or second damper component relative to the second or first damper component, at least a portion of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure is elastically deformed using the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure while simultaneously converting movement energy into elastic deformation work. See Fig. 4.
Claim 3: Uezono discloses that the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is formed from a material that is harder compared to the material of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure. See para. 0006 (“elastic” and “rigid” material).
Claim 4: Uezono discloses that the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure, when viewed in a cross-section of the protruding regions, have a geometry that at least partially or regionally tapers in the direction of the ridge structure; and/or wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure, when viewed in the cross-section of the at least one tooth or protrusion, has a geometry that at least partially or regionally tapers in the direction of the blade or rib structure; and/or wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure has a shape which, at least regionally, is at least substantially complementary to the shape of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure. See Fig. 4.
Claim 5: Uezono discloses that the blade or rib structure comprises a blade or rib support which is fixedly connected or connectable to the first or second damper component and the plurality of protruding regions connected to the blade or rib support, wherein the blade or rib support is formed from a material that is harder compared to the material of the protruding regions. See Fig. 4; para. 0006. Note: the limitation concerning injection molding is a method of making, not a structural limitation of the apparatus.
Claim 6: Uezono discloses that in an unloaded state, at least a portion of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure extends at least substantially in a direction that is at least substantially perpendicular to a direction of movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component; and/or wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure extends at least substantially in a direction which is at least substantially perpendicular to the direction of movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component. See Fig. 4.
Claim 7: Uezono discloses that in an unloaded state, at least a portion of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure extends at least substantially obliquely in view of a direction that extends perpendicular to a direction of movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component. See Fig. 4.
Claim 8: Uezono discloses that the ridge structure is configured such that, between two adjacent teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure, a plurality of protruding regions of the blade or rib structure are arranged; and/or wherein a number of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure between two adjacent teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure varies, or a number of the teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure varies. See Fig. 4; para. 0008-10.
Claim 9: Uezono discloses that the first and second damper components are each modular in structure, so that the rib structure and/or the ridge structure are exchangeable as needed and for varying a response behavior and/or a dampening factor of the damper apparatus. See para. 0024-25.
Claim 10: Uezono discloses that the damper apparatus is configured as a rotary damper [Fig. 1], in which the first damper component is configured as a housing part having an inner well region that is at least substantially circular-cylindrical in cross-section, wherein the housing part with the inner well region serves as a blade or rib support, to which or at which the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure are connected or formed, wherein the second damper component comprises a carrier part that is at least substantially circular-cylindrical in cross-section, which forms the ridge structure with the at least one tooth or protrusion and is at least partially or regionally accommodated in the inner well region of the first damper component, in an exchangeable manner such that the carrier part with the ridge structure is rotatable relative to the first damper component, while the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is arranged at least partially and/or regionally in an intermeshing manner between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure. See Fig. 1.
Claim 11: Uezono discloses that the damper apparatus is configured as a rotary damper, in which the first damper component is configured as a housing part having an inner well region that is at least substantially circular-cylindrical in cross-section, wherein the housing part with the inner well region (8) serves as a carrier part which forms the ridge structure with the at least one tooth or protrusion, wherein the second damper component comprises a blade or rib support that is at least substantially circular-cylindrical in cross-section, to which or at which the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure are connected or formed, wherein the circular-cylindrical blade or rib support with the blade or rib structure is at least partially or regionally accommodated in the inner well region of the first damper component, in an exchangeable manner such that the carrier part with the ridge structure is rotatable relative to the first damper component, while the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is arranged at least partially and/or regionally in an intermeshing manner between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure. See Figs. 1, 4.
Claim 12: Uezono discloses that the first damper component comprises an annular region, which is formed in the circular-cylindrical inner well region such that the inner well region is divided into an outer annular channel and a region that is circular in cross-section and is separated therefrom by the annular region, wherein the teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure are formed on a wall bordering the outer annular channel and on a wall of the annular region facing inward, and wherein the second damper component further comprises an annular blade or rib support, which is arranged so as to complement the outer annular channel of the first damper component in such a way that the annular blade or rib support can be at least partially or regionally accommodated in the outer annular channel of the first damper component, wherein protruding regions of the blade or rib structure are connected or formed to or at the annular blade or rib support on both sides. See Figs. 1, 4.
Claim 16: Uezono discloses that the plurality of protruding regions are in a form of blades, ribs, or knobs. See Fig. 4.
Claim 17: see claim 1 above.
Claim 18: see claim 1 above. Uezono discloses that the at least one tooth or protrusion is positioned in a gap defined between said two adjacent protruding regions, and wherein the plurality of discrete protruding regions are separately formed structures extending from the support surface, each discrete protruding region having a defined base where it connects to the support surface and a free end spaced apart from the support surface, and wherein the plurality of discrete protruding regions are pre-formed structural elements of the blade or rib structure prior to any contact with the ridge structure. See Figs. 1, 4.
Claim 19: Uezono discloses that each of the plurality of discrete protruding regions has a defined base region where it connects to the support surface and a free end region that is spaced apart from the support surface, and wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure extends into a space between the free end regions of two adjacent protruding regions when the second damper component is not moved relative to the first damper component. See Figs. 1, 4.
Claim 20: Uezono discloses that the blade or rib structure is formed by a molding process [note: method of making] such that the plurality of discrete protruding regions are integrally formed with the support surface as distinct structural elements, and wherein the ridge structure comprises a plurality of teeth or protrusions that are integrally formed with a carrier part of the ridge structure, such that the dampening mechanism provides dampening through elastic deflection of the discrete protruding regions by the teeth or protrusions during relative movement between the first and second damper components rather than through compression of a continuous elastomeric surface. See Figs. 1, 4; see Translation (“The value of the torque mainly depends on the material of the elastic ring body 16 and the shape of the protrusion 51. It is determined by the amount of deformation of the elastic ring body 16 caused by 51”).
Takatsu
Claim(s) 1-9, 14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takatsu (U.S. Patent No. 4,096,927). Takatsu is directed to a shock absorber. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Takatsu discloses a damper apparatus [Figs. 1-6] for reducing a movement of a second part (3) movable relative to a first part (1), wherein the damper apparatus comprises the following: a first damper component (2) fixedly connected or connectable to the first part; a second damper component (4) fixedly connected or connectable to the second part and is movable, at least partially or regionally, relative to the first damper component; and a dampening mechanism (8, 9) arranged between the first and second damper components and configured such that a movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component is or can be reduced, wherein the dampening mechanism comprises a blade or rib structure (9) connected to the first or second damper component the blade or rib structure comprising a plurality of discrete, separately-formed protruding regions extending outwardly from a support surface [see col. 4, lines 20-44 (“at least one elastic ring on the plunger that meshes with the saw-teeth…”)], which are elastically deflectable at least partially or regionally in a direction of movement of the first damper component relative to the second damper component [see col. 2, lines 25-33 (“the ring has some degree of elasticity…the ring 9 is elastically deformed at the position of the saw-teeth”)]; wherein the dampening mechanism comprises a ridge structure (8) connected to the second or first damper component, the ridge structure comprising at least one tooth or protrusion, wherein, at least in a state in which the second damper component is not moved relative to the first damper component, the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is arranged at least partially or regionally in an intermeshing manner between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure [see col. 2, line 27 (“the ring meshes with each tooth 8”)] such that the at least one tooth or protrusion extends into a gap defined between two adjacent ones of the discrete protruding regions, and wherein dampening is achieved through elastic deflection of the discrete protruding regions by the at least one tooth or protrusion during relative movement between the first and second damper components [see col. 2, lines 25-65 (ring 9 is elastically deformed and slides over each tooth 8 with at least some resistance)]. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 2: Takatsu discloses that the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is positioned between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure such that, upon a movement of the first or second damper component relative to the second or first damper component, at least a portion of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure is elastically deformed using the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure while simultaneously converting movement energy into elastic deformation work. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 3: Takatsu discloses that the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is formed from a material that is harder compared to the material of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure. See col. 2, lines 25-65.
Claim 4: Takatsu discloses that the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure, when viewed in a cross-section of the protruding regions, have a geometry that at least partially or regionally tapers in the direction of the ridge structure; and/or wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure, when viewed in the cross-section of the at least one tooth or protrusion, has a geometry that at least partially or regionally tapers in the direction of the blade or rib structure; and/or wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure has a shape which, at least regionally, is at least substantially complementary to the shape of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure. See col. 2, lines 25-65 (“slope”).
Claim 5: Takatsu discloses that the blade or rib structure comprises a blade or rib support which is fixedly connected or connectable to the first or second damper component and the plurality of protruding regions connected to the blade or rib support, wherein the blade or rib support is formed from a material that is harder compared to the material of the protruding regions. See Figs. 1-6. Note: the limitation concerning injection molding is a method of making, not a structural limitation of the apparatus.
Claim 6: Takatsu discloses that in an unloaded state, at least a portion of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure extends at least substantially in a direction that is at least substantially perpendicular to a direction of movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component; and/or wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure extends at least substantially in a direction which is at least substantially perpendicular to the direction of movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 7: Takatsu discloses that in an unloaded state, at least a portion of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure extends at least substantially obliquely in view of a direction that extends perpendicular to a direction of movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 8: Takatsu discloses that the ridge structure is configured such that, between two adjacent teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure, a plurality of protruding regions of the blade or rib structure are arranged; and/or wherein a number of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure between two adjacent teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure varies, or a number of the teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure varies. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 9: Takatsu discloses that the first and second damper components are each modular in structure, so that the rib structure and/or the ridge structure are exchangeable as needed and for varying a response behavior and/or a dampening factor of the damper apparatus. See Figs. 1-6 (rings replaceable).
Claim 14: Takatsu discloses that the damper apparatus is configured as a linear damper, in which the first damper component comprises two opposing blade or rib supports, which are configured so as to form a form-fit sliding guide enabling translation for a rod-shaped carrier part of the second damper component, wherein each blade or rib support of the first damper component comprises a blade or rib structure having a plurality of protruding regions, and wherein the rod-shaped carrier part of the second damper component comprises a ridge structure having a plurality of teeth or protrusions arranged on opposite lateral surfaces of the rod-shaped carrier part in such a way that, when the rod-shaped carrier part is moved by the sliding guide, the teeth or protrusions and the protruding regions pass by one another in an intermeshing manner with simultaneous elastic deflection of the protruding regions. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 16: Takatsu discloses that the plurality of protruding regions are in a form of blades, ribs, or knobs. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 17: see claim 1 above.
Claim 18: see claim 1 above. Takatsu discloses that the at least one tooth or protrusion is positioned in a gap defined between said two adjacent protruding regions, and wherein the plurality of discrete protruding regions are separately formed structures extending from the support surface, each discrete protruding region having a defined base where it connects to the support surface and a free end spaced apart from the support surface, and wherein the plurality of discrete protruding regions are pre-formed structural elements of the blade or rib structure prior to any contact with the ridge structure. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 19: Takatsu discloses that each of the plurality of discrete protruding regions has a defined base region where it connects to the support surface and a free end region that is spaced apart from the support surface, and wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure extends into a space between the free end regions of two adjacent protruding regions when the second damper component is not moved relative to the first damper component. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 20: Takatsu discloses that the blade or rib structure is formed by a molding process [note: method of making] such that the plurality of discrete protruding regions are integrally formed with the support surface as distinct structural elements, and wherein the ridge structure comprises a plurality of teeth or protrusions that are integrally formed with a carrier part of the ridge structure, such that the dampening mechanism provides dampening through elastic deflection of the discrete protruding regions by the teeth or protrusions during relative movement between the first and second damper components rather than through compression of a continuous elastomeric surface. See Figs. 1-6; col. 2, lines 25-65.
Moretti
Claim(s) 1-9 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moretti (U.S. Patent No. 9,021,729). Moretti is directed to a damping device. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Moretti discloses a damper apparatus [Figs. 5-9] for reducing a movement of a second part (5) movable relative to a first part (6), wherein the damper apparatus comprises the following: a first damper component (60) fixedly connected or connectable to the first part; a second damper component (50) fixedly connected or connectable to the second part and is movable, at least partially or regionally, relative to the first damper component; and a dampening mechanism (62-64, 72-74) arranged between the first and second damper components and configured such that a movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component is or can be reduced, wherein the dampening mechanism comprises a blade or rib structure (62-72) connected to the first or second damper component the blade or rib structure comprising a plurality of discrete, separately-formed protruding regions extending outwardly from a support surface, which are elastically deflectable at least partially or regionally in a direction of movement of the first damper component relative to the second damper component; wherein the dampening mechanism comprises a ridge structure (72-74) connected to the second or first damper component, the ridge structure comprising at least one tooth or protrusion, wherein, at least in a state in which the second damper component is not moved relative to the first damper component, the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is arranged at least partially or regionally in an intermeshing manner between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure such that the at least one tooth or protrusion extends into a gap defined between two adjacent ones of the discrete protruding regions, and wherein dampening is achieved through elastic deflection of the discrete protruding regions by the at least one tooth or protrusion during relative movement between the first and second damper components. See Figs. 5-9.
Claim 2: Moretti discloses that the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is positioned between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure such that, upon a movement of the first or second damper component relative to the second or first damper component, at least a portion of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure is elastically deformed using the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure while simultaneously converting movement energy into elastic deformation work. See Figs. 5-9.
Claim 3: Moretti discloses that the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is formed from a material that is harder compared to the material of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure. See col. 2, lines 52-63 (“different stiffnesses”).
Claim 4: Moretti discloses that the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure, when viewed in a cross-section of the protruding regions, have a geometry that at least partially or regionally tapers in the direction of the ridge structure; and/or wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure, when viewed in the cross-section of the at least one tooth or protrusion, has a geometry that at least partially or regionally tapers in the direction of the blade or rib structure; and/or wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure has a shape which, at least regionally, is at least substantially complementary to the shape of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure. See Figs. 5-9.
Claim 5: Moretti discloses that the blade or rib structure comprises a blade or rib support which is fixedly connected or connectable to the first or second damper component and the plurality of protruding regions connected to the blade or rib support, wherein the blade or rib support is formed from a material that is harder compared to the material of the protruding regions. See col. 2, lines 52-63 (“different stiffnesses”). Note: the limitation concerning injection molding is a method of making, not a structural limitation of the apparatus.
Claim 6: Moretti discloses that in an unloaded state, at least a portion of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure extends at least substantially in a direction that is at least substantially perpendicular to a direction of movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component; and/or wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure extends at least substantially in a direction which is at least substantially perpendicular to the direction of movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component. See Figs. 5-9
Claim 7: Moretti discloses that in an unloaded state, at least a portion of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure extends at least substantially obliquely in view of a direction that extends perpendicular to a direction of movement of the second damper component relative to the first damper component. See Figs. 5-9.
Claim 8: Moretti discloses that the ridge structure is configured such that, between two adjacent teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure, a plurality of protruding regions of the blade or rib structure are arranged; and/or wherein a number of the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure between two adjacent teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure varies, or a number of the teeth or protrusions of the ridge structure between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure varies. See Figs. 5-9.
Claim 9: Moretti discloses that the first and second damper components are each modular in structure, so that the rib structure and/or the ridge structure are exchangeable as needed and for varying a response behavior and/or a dampening factor of the damper apparatus. See col. 5, lines 5-15.
Claim 14: Moretti discloses that the damper apparatus is configured as a linear damper, in which the first damper component comprises two opposing blade or rib supports, which are configured so as to form a form-fit sliding guide enabling translation for a rod-shaped carrier part of the second damper component, wherein each blade or rib support of the first damper component comprises a blade or rib structure having a plurality of protruding regions, and wherein the rod-shaped carrier part of the second damper component comprises a ridge structure having a plurality of teeth or protrusions arranged on opposite lateral surfaces of the rod-shaped carrier part in such a way that, when the rod-shaped carrier part is moved by the sliding guide, the teeth or protrusions and the protruding regions pass by one another in an intermeshing manner with simultaneous elastic deflection of the protruding regions. See Figs. 5-9.
Claim 15: Moretti discloses that a distance between the two opposing blade or rib supports is variable in order to define a dampening factor of the damper apparatus; and/or wherein at least one of the two blade or rib supports lying opposite one another is slidably mounted relative to the rod-shaped carrier portion by way of a guide running obliquely to the direction of movement of the rod-shaped carrier part, and such that, upon a movement of the rod-shaped carrier part in a first direction by the sliding guide, the at least one blade or rib support is present in a first position, and, upon a movement of the rod-shaped carrier part in a second direction opposite the first direction by the sliding guide, the at least one blade or rib support is displaced into a second position and/or is present in a second position, wherein, in the second position of the at least one blade or rib support, a distance between the two opposing blade or rib supports is greater than in the first position of the at least one blade or rib support. See Figs. 5-9 (compare 62 to 62, 62 to 63, and 63 to 64).
Claim 16: Moretti discloses that the plurality of protruding regions are in a form of blades, ribs, or knobs. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim 17: see claim 1 above.
Claim 18: see claim 1 above. Moretti discloses that the at least one tooth or protrusion is positioned in a gap defined between said two adjacent protruding regions, and wherein the plurality of discrete protruding regions are separately formed structures extending from the support surface, each discrete protruding region having a defined base where it connects to the support surface and a free end spaced apart from the support surface, and wherein the plurality of discrete protruding regions are pre-formed structural elements of the blade or rib structure prior to any contact with the ridge structure. See Figs. 5-9.
Claim 19: Moretti discloses that each of the plurality of discrete protruding regions has a defined base region where it connects to the support surface and a free end region that is spaced apart from the support surface, and wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure extends into a space between the free end regions of two adjacent protruding regions when the second damper component is not moved relative to the first damper component. See Figs. 5-9.
Claim 20: Moretti discloses that the blade or rib structure is formed by a molding process [note: method of making] such that the plurality of discrete protruding regions are integrally formed with the support surface as distinct structural elements, and wherein the ridge structure comprises a plurality of teeth or protrusions that are integrally formed with a carrier part of the ridge structure, such that the dampening mechanism provides dampening through elastic deflection of the discrete protruding regions by the teeth or protrusions during relative movement between the first and second damper components rather than through compression of a continuous elastomeric surface. See Figs. 5-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Takatsu in view of Gaydecki
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatsu in view of Gaydecki (U.S. Patent No. 3,232,597). Gaydecki is directed to dampers. See Abstract.
Claim 13: Takatsu discloses that the damper apparatus is configured as a linear damper, wherein the first damper component is configured as a cylindrical housing part having a cavity that is at least substantially circular-cylindrical in cross-section, wherein the housing part with the cavity serves as a blade or rib support, to which or at which the protruding regions of the blade or rib structure are connected or formed, wherein the second damper component comprises a piston that dips at least partially or regionally into the cavity of the cylindrical housing part and comprises a piston rod having an end region at which a carrier part with the ridge structure that is substantially circular-cylindrical in cross-section is arranged or formed, wherein the piston with the carrier part and the ridge structure can be displaced in the longitudinal direction of the cylindrical housing part relative to the cylindrical housing part, while the at least one tooth or protrusion of the ridge structure is arranged at least partially and/or regionally in an intermeshing manner between two adjacent protruding regions of the blade or rib structure, wherein the at least one tooth or protrusion is formed at least partially or regionally on the lateral surface of the circular-cylindrical carrier part. See Figs. 1-6.
Takatsu discloses all the limitations of this claim except that the ridge structure is not configured as “a helix structure.” Gaydecki discloses a damper with a ridge structure on the radially-inner lateral wall of the circular-cylindrical carrier part, wherein the ridge structure is configured as a helix structure. See Figs. 1, 6, 14. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a helix structure in Takatsu because it is ultimately a design choice, ultimately achieving the same function, but may be easier to manufacture than individually spaced ridges.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 September 16, 2026