DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spectro photometer must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The examiner notes that specification recites “spectro-pyrometer.” No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: applicant should update the status of application number 17/365,943.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not recite “spectro photometer” as recited in Claim 15. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as “spectro pyrometer” as described in [0038].
Claims 6, 14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the wave guide" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the microwave generator" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term "refractory package" in Claim 17 is used by the claim to mean "a component of the furnace chamber" based on [0039] in the instant specification, while the accepted meaning is a non-specific reference to refractory materials that may or may not be a component of the furnace. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. For purposes of examination, the “refractory package” is interpreted as an outer lining disposed around the crucible based on the drawings.
The term “high temperature resistant fibrous material” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not provide any examples of what temperature range the fibrous material should have to meet this claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 204589273 U, based on the machine translation and original document.
CN 204589273 U (CN ‘273) teaches a system for melting metals (abstract) as represented below in the annotated drawing:
The tiltable furnace assembly is represented by 7, with the housing represented by 6 and ceramic crucible represented by 4. The microwave energy source and guide assembly are taught by the control system 14 that is attached to the microwave generator 12. CN ‘273 anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 4, the removable plug is taught by 2.
Regarding Claim 5, the inner layer of refractory material is taught by 5, which is made of ceramic. The outer layer of microwave absorbent material is taught by 11 which prevents microwave leakage (page 2).
Regarding Claim 7, 1 reads on the removable lid.
Regarding Claim 8, CN ‘273 teaches more than one microwave guides as taught by 12.
Regarding Claim 9, the locations of 12 are in different locations, which reds on directing microwave energy from different directions.
Regarding Claim 10, the locations of 12 are substantially opposing as represented in the drawing above.
Regarding Claim 11, the locations of 12 surround the furnace shell 6, which reads on a tunnel.
Regarding Claim 12, the smelting furnace taught by CN ‘273 is “tuned” or provides specified levels of energy depending on the type of metal to be melted, based on the instant specification at [0010]. The furnace in CN ‘273 smelts manganese iron powder (abstract).
Regarding Claim 16, the shielding is taught by 1.
Regarding Claim 17, the refractory package is taught by 4 and 5.
Regarding Claim 18, the blanket is taught by 5.
Regarding Claim 19, the layer 5 is made of ceramic fiber cotton or ceramic fiber plate (page 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘273 as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Muginstein et al (US 2012/0164022 A1).
CN ‘273 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, CN ‘273 does not teach the microwave generator is capable of use at about 2.15 GHz as in Claim 13 or up to 0.915 GHz as in Claim 14.
Muginstein et al teaches an apparatus for applying radio frequency energy to an object in an energy application zone including melting furnaces (abstract) and smelting and melting of metallic powders [0165]. Typical microwave ovens supply a frequency of 2.45 GHz [0003]. Applied electromagnetic radiation energy may include a frequency of 3 kHz to 300 GHz [0036], which encompasses the range of 2.15 GHz in Claim 13 and up to 0.915 GHz (915 kHz) in Claim 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the apparatus of Muginstein et al with the system of CN ‘273 for supplying the microwave energy, since Muginstein et al teaches determining a desired energy absorption level in the object to be processed or heated to target the desired energy absorption level [0009].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘273 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith (US 3,222,930).
CN ‘273 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, CN ‘273 does not teach a spectro photometer or spectro pyrometer (see instant specification at [0038]) for monitoring the melting of the metal within the crucible as claimed.
Smith teaches a spectropyrometer apparatus to measure temperature. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the apparatus of Smith in the system of CN ‘273, since Smith teaches pyrometric measurement unaffected by the emittance of the heat source undergoing measurement and a speedy, reliable and accurate, true temperature measurements (column 3, lines 35-44).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,800,609 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims do not recite the ceramic crucible is microwave energy absorbing. However, one carrying out a system in accord with the claims of U.S. Patent ‘609 would in fact carry out a system fully within the scope of the instant claims. Thus, no patentable distinction is seen between a system as presently claimed and a system as defined in the claims of U.S. Patent ‘609.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, CN ‘273 teaches pouring the contents of the melting furnace from the furnace cover and does not suggest an assembly extending from the bottom of the furnace shell or the crucible, recited as the bottom of the housing as claimed.
Regarding Claim 6, CN ‘273 teaches a trunnion to tilt the furnace but does not suggest a bearing assembly between the furnace shell or crucible and the microwave generators, recited as the furnace housing and microwave guide assembly as claimed.
Conclusion
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/TIMA M. MCGUTHRY-BANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733