DETAILED ACTION
I. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
This final Office action addresses U.S. reissue application No. 18/382,739 (“739 Reissue Application” or “instant application”). Based upon a review of the instant application, the actual filing date is Oct. 23, 2023 (“739 Actual Filing Date”). Because the instant reissue application was filed on or after September 16, 2012, the statutory provisions of the America Invents Act (“AIA ”) will govern this proceeding.
The 739 Reissue Application is a reissue application of U.S. Patent No. 9,817,299 (“299 Patent”) titled “HIGH-DEFINITION PYLON-MOUNTED CAMERA ASSEMBLY WITH MOUNTING STRUCTURE.” The application for the 299 Patent was filed on Jul. 22, 2016 and assigned by the Office US patent application number 15/216,989 (“989 Application”) and issued on Nov. 14, 2017 with claims 1-20 (“Originally Patented Claims”).
On Jan. 16, 2026, the Office mailed a non-final office action (“Jan 2026 Non-final Office action”).
On May 18, 2026, Applicant filed a response (“May 2026 Response”) to the Jan 2026 Non-final Office Action. The May 2026 Response contains, among other things, “REMARKS” (“May 2026 Remarks”), “Amendment to the Specification” (“May 2026 Specification Amendment”), a “Reissue Application Declaration by the Inventor” (“May 2026 Reissue Dec”) and “AMENDMENTS TO THE CLAIMS” (“May 2026 Claim Amendment”), which amended claim 30.
II. OTHER PROCEEDINGS
This section is the same as that in Jan 2026 Non-final Office action.
Based upon Applicant’s statements as set forth in the instant application and after the Examiner's independent review of the 299 Patent itself and its prosecution history, the Examiner finds that she cannot locate any ongoing proceeding before the Office or current ongoing litigation.
Also based upon the Examiner's independent review of the 299 Patent itself and the prosecution history, the Examiner finds that she cannot locate any previous reexaminations (ex parte or inter parts), supplemental examinations, or certificates of correction.
III. PRIORITY CLAIMS
This section is the same as that in Jan 2026 Non-final Office action.
Based upon a review of the instant reissue application and 299 Patent, the Examiner finds that the instant reissue application claims domestic priority to provisional 62/195,894 filed on Jul. 23, 2015 and provisional 62/306,358 filed on Mar. 10, 2016. The instant reissue application is a continuation reissue application of 16/683,110, now RE49,738E.
The instant reissue application does not claim any foreign priority.
Because the effective filing date of the instant application is on or after March 16, 2013, the present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions.
IV. STATUS OF CLAIMS
In light of the above:
Claims 1-30 are currently pending (“Pending Claims”).
Claims 1-30 are currently examined (“Examined Claims”).
Regarding the Examined Claims and as a result of this Office action:
Claims 1-20 are allowed.
Claims 21-30 are rejected.
V. CLAIM INTERPRETATION
A. Lexicographic Definitions
After careful review of the original specification and unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiner, the Examiner locates a lexicographic definition in the original specification with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision for “Pylon” enclosed below. See MPEP § 2111.01 IV.
Pylon: “an orange marker placed at each of the corners of the end-zone of a football field that are usually made of a padded material. They are used as a visual aid to mark the inside corners of the end-zone. The pylons are not permanent and they move easily when hit.” (col. 8, lines 45-49 of the 299 Patent). “The pylon is considered part of the field; it cannot interfere with a play. The pylons were introduced because game officials needed an easy way to see the edges of the end-zone from a distance” (col. 8, lines 51-55 of the 299 Patent). “Pylon is molded from high-density, impact resistant foam, integrated with a break-away connect providing for non-destructively breaking and remaking electrical connections” (Abstract, the 299 Patent).
B. 'Sources' for the 'Broadest Reasonable Interpretation'
For terms not lexicographically defined by Patent Owner, the Examiner hereby adopts the following interpretations under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard. In other words, the Examiner has provided the following interpretations simply as express notice of how she is interpreting particular terms under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard. Additionally, these interpretations are only a guide to claim terminology since claim terms must be interpreted in context of the surrounding claim language.1 In accordance with In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1056, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1029 (Fed. Cir. 1997), the Examiner points to these other “sources” to support his interpretation of the claims. Finally, the following list is not intended to be exhaustive in any way:
High-definition: “video image with considerably more than 480 horizontal lines or 576 horizontal lines (Europe) is considered high-definition. … Images of standard resolution captured by a high-speed camera at rates faster than normal (60 frames/second North America, 50 fps Europe) may be considered high-definition in some contexts” (the 299 Patent, col. 2, line 64-col. 3, line 7).
Non-Locking connector: “In this case, in place of the pylon connector 30 and base connector 20, the electrical connection between the camera and the transmitter is made through another type of non-locking connector such as a USB3 connector, which still allows for the pylon to non-destructively break away from the wires in the ground.” (col. 16, lines 46-51 of the 299 Patent). Therefore, a non-locking connector can be a connector that can break away such as a USB3 connector.
C. 35 U.S.C. § 112 (f)
A second exception is when a claimed phrase is interpreted in accordance with 35 U.S.C. § 112 (f)(“§ 112 (f)”). See MPEP § 2181 et seq. To invoke § 112 (f), a claimed phrase must meet the three-prong analysis (“3 Prong Analysis”) as set forth in MPEP § 2181 I. The functional phrases will be first identified and then analyzed using the MPEP’s 3 Prong Analysis to determine if the claimed phrases invoke § 112 (f). If a phrase invokes § 112 (f), the corresponding structure will also be determined. The Examiner has reviewed the Pending claims and has concluded that the Pending claims do not invoke § 112 (f).
VI. CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 21-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wickramaratna (US Patent Pub. 2004/0239759) in view of Huang et al (US Patent Pub 2015/0116590) further in view of Chien (US Patent Pub 2015/0271375).
Regarding claim 21, Wickramaratna teaches a wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly, comprising:
a pylon having one or more cavities therein, each of said one or more cavities having an opening in a surface of said pylon (Figs. 1-3, a hole inside the pylon where a camera is mounted.);
a housing having one or more high-definition cameras and disposed in one of said one or more cavities through one of said openings (Figs. 1-3, camera mounted in the hole inside the pylon, where the camera is mounted is the housing);
-Figs. 1 and 2 of Wickramaratna.
However Wickramaratna does not expressly disclose:
a cooling fan disposed in said one of said one or more cavities, and,
a flexible cable terminated at a first end by a non-locking connector, said flexible cable in communication with said one or more high-definition cameras at a second end thereof.
In the field of providing protective apparatus for video cameras (Abstract, Huang), Huang discloses:
[0035] FIG. 4 shows a perspective view of a camera configured into a protective housing with temperature-regulating function according to the fourth embodiment of the invention. In this embodiment, a fan 500 is disposed inside the protective housing 100, for example within the base 120, with the fan 500 blowing to improve flowing of air inside the protective housing 100, to enhance the heat transfer coefficient of convection air inside the protective housing 100. The field of view of the camera 200 does not be affected by configuration of the fan 500.
-[0035] of Huang, emphasis added.
-Fig. 4 of Huang showing the camera 200 and fan 500.
TSM motivation
It is desirable to improve flowing of air inside the protective housing 100, to enhance the heat transfer coefficient of convection air in the housing for the video camera ([0035] of Huang). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, at the time the 299 Patent was effectively filed, to use a fan sub-assembly as that by Huang in the camera housing assembly of Wickramaratna.
KSR motivation
The combination of Wickramaratna with Huang is also supported by (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way because (1) the base device or camera assembly of Wickramaratna can be improved by adding a fan; (2) the device of Huang is improved by a fan to provide cooling effect for the camera; (3) an ordinary skill in the art would have added a fan to the camera assembly of Wickramaratna so that camera or electronic components of Wickramaratna can operate in better temperature environment. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, at the time the 299 Patent was effectively filed, to use a fan sub-assembly as that by Huang in the pylon of Wickramaratna.
Wickramaratna also does not expressly disclose:
a flexible cable terminated at a first end by a non-locking connector, said flexible cable in communication with said one or more high-definition cameras at a second end thereof.
In the field of built-in digital data system for recording image and sound (Title and abstract), Chien discloses
[0076] The invention for Light device also provides a webcam having an auto tracking means and power supply connected to an unlimited power source to a USB interface, the webcam including at least one camera head having means for capturing images, data, or sound at a desired shooting angle, resolution, color, brightness, and sharpness, a motor, and sensor means for causing the move the camera head to follow a moving object or person, and means for storing or transmitting data captured by the camera head to one of a display, computer, communication device, phone, Internet, website, e-mail, or auto dialing system. The webcam may include a USB adaptor for connection to a computer or communication equipment with a USB port, with the webcam being activated when connected with the power source to carry out predetermined image capture functions and to capture digital data under predetermined environmental conditions.
…
[0019] Furthermore, the unlimited power source (outdoor application) or big electricity capacity storage unit (indoor battery operated application) may use prong means, a socket base lamp holder, and conductive means, or a USB-cable that directly comes out of the device housing, or a regular 120 Volt 60 Hz plug wire that directly comes out of the device housing and connects with the public electricity system for home, house, and public areas. The electric delivery from device to AC or DC power source may select from convention market for all kind of skill and method and kits. One of the best applications for the current invention is as a webcam that already used for all kinds of computer, laptop, phone, or communication equipment. Or driving-Cam already use for all moving traffic device. Both are not expensive like the street police department use Traffic-Cam. Conventional webcams are limited in that they cannot follow moving people or objects so people have to sit in front of the webcam to talk with people. Furthermore, (solve 1) The webcam lack of the brightness during the night time so can not have good photos, image to be seen at dark or night time environment.
-¶¶ [0076] and [0019] of Chien, emphasis added.
See also [0020] and [0024] of Chien. As can be seen above, Chien discloses a webcam having a power supply connected to an unlimited power source via a USB interface, a non-locking connector, and an unlimited power source includes electricity delivered with public electricity system for home, house and public areas including wires buried inground. Chien also discloses the web cam can be connected via a USB connector to a computer, which is a video receiver, i.e., Chien discloses or makes obvious “a flexible cable terminated at a first end by a non-locking connector, said flexible cable in communication with said one or more high-definition cameras at a second end thereof.”
Both of Wickramaratna and Chien are directed towards capturing video images, although the fields of application may be different but they are reasonable pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned, i.e., capturing videos and transferring videos to a computer or a device for storage or display.
TSM motivation
Chien discusses the needs for incorporating low-cost super compact Digital Video (DV) device in a monitoring light fixture and discloses “[0016] The preferred DV device may have the most advanced technical features and functions available from the marketplace, which may include any combination of a ...; (F9) USB means for data delivery.” Using a non-locking connector will make integration with a preferred DV device on the market a lot more convenient and efficient.
KSR Motivation
Further, the combination of Chien with Wickramaratna is supported by (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results because substituting the connector used in Wickramaratna which presents a based method or device by the known non-locking connector or USB connector used by Chien that is an improvement to the base method and device of Wickramaratna will obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 22, Wickramaratna, Huang and Chien teach the wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly recited in Claim 21, wherein said housing includes at least a first flange and a second flange, said flanges connected and spaced a part (Huang, Fig. 4, shows a first flange 121 and a second flange 122).
Regarding claim 23, Wickramaratna, Huang and Chien the wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly recited in Claim 22, wherein said one or more high-definition cameras are secured substantially between said flanges (Huang, Fig. 4, [0026], camera 200 is fixed to the base 120 by a locking screw member ).
Regarding claim 24, Wickramaratna, Huang and Chien teach the wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly recited in Claim 22, wherein said one or more cooling fans are secured substantially between said flanges (Huang, Fig. 4, 500 in Fig. 4 is the fan. [0035]).
Regarding claim 25, Wickramaratna, Huang and Chien teach the wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly recited in Claim 22, wherein both of said one or more high-definition cameras and said one or more cooling fan assemblies are secured substantially between said flanges (Huang, Fig. 4, [0035]).
Regarding claim 26, Wickramaratna, Huang and Chien teach the wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly recited in Claim 22, wherein each of said one or more high-definition cameras include a lens, said lens operatively arranged at least partially within one of: said first flange: and, said second flange (Jayaram, Figs. 6-7 and Figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 27, Wickramaratna, Huang and Chien teach the wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly recited in Claim 22, wherein said first flange and said second flange are connected by at least one spacer (Huang, the flange 121 and flange 122 are connected by a spacer).
Regarding claim 28, Wickramaratna, Huang and Chien teach the wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly recited in Claim 27, wherein said at least one spacer comprises at least: a bolt; and, a sleeve (Huang, Fig. 4, the spacer has a sleeve).
Regarding claim 30, Wickramaratna, Huang and Chien teach the wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly recited in Claim 21, wherein said non-locking connector is configured for engagement with another non-locking connector of an external cable (Chien, [0076] and [0019]-[0021] and [0024], also see the rejection of claim 21 above).
B. Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wickramaratna (US Patent Pub. 2004/0239759) in view of Huang et al (US Patent Pub 2015/0116590) further in view of Chien (US Patent Pub 2015/0271375) further in view of Jayaram et al (US 2011/0249100).
-Fig. 19 of Jayaram.
Regarding claim 29, Wickramaratna, Jayaram and Chien teach the wired high-definition pylon-mounted camera assembly recited in Claim 28, wherein said at least one spacer further comprises a nut operatively arranged to threadably engage said bolt.
In the same field of capturing images with cameras, Jayaram discloses a spacer between two flanges comprising at least: a bot; and a sleeve (Jayaram, Figs. 6-7, Figs. 8-9 and Figs. 18-20) and Jayaram discloses using a nut operatively arranged to threadably engage said bolt (Jayaram, Figs. 6-7, Figs. 8-9 and Figs. 18-20).
To the extent that the spacer of Huang does not uses a nut operatively arrange to threadably engage a bolt, Jayaram discloses it.
The combination of Wickramaratna with Huang, Chien and further with Jayaram is supported by KSR Rationale (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results because (1) Huang discloses connecting two flanges connected together; (2) connecting two flanges by a spacer with a nut and bolt are well known in the art; (3) an ordinary skill in the art could have substitute the connection method of Huang of the spacer to the flanges by using nut and bolt as disclosed by Jayaram. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to use the method of Jayaram to connect two flanges.
VII. ALLOWABLE SUBJECT MATTER
Claims 1-20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the term “pylon” is defined lexicographically in the 299 Patent and summarized in Section V.A above.
For claims 1-20, the prior art on the record including Wickramaratna fails to teach a pylon-mounted camera assembly as defined in Section V.A having one or more cavities and “each of said one or more cavities having a first cavity end and a second cavity end, at least one of said one or more cavities having one of said camera sub-assemblies contained in said first end and one of said fan assemblies contained in said second end.” Huang discloses the fan in the same cavity as the camera but does not disclose the fan is located at the end.
VIII. RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
A. Rejection under 35 USC § 112 ¶ 2
The rejection is overcome in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 30 and is hereby withdrawn.
B. Rejection under 35 USC § 251
The rejection of defective oath and declaration is overcome in view of the new Reissue Application Declaration by the Inventor filed on May 18, 2026 and is hereby withdrawn.
C. Double Patenting Rejection
The double patenting rejection has been overcome in view of the terminal disclaimer filed by the Applicant and is hereby withdrawn.
D. Objection to the Specification
The objection to the specification has been overcome in view of the May 2026 Specification Amendment filed by the Applicant and is hereby withdrawn.
E. Rejection under 35 USC § 103
1. Rational to combine references
Applicant argues:
The Office has failed to provide this necessary "rational underpinning." The primary reference, Wickramaratna, is directed to a self-contained, wireless, battery-powered pylon camera. Its entire purpose is to remove the hazards and complexity of on-field wiring in a pylon suitable for use on the ground of an athletic field. The secondary reference, Chien, teaches a generic, indoor wired webcam that relies on a USB cable. There is no obvious reason to add wiring to Wickramaratna's pylon which would go against its teaching of a self-contained, wireless device. There is no logical motivation to combine these two technologies because their fundamental design philosophies are in direct conflict.
-May 2026 Remarks, pp. 15-16.
Applicant is arguing the Jan 2026 Non-final Office action has not provided proper rational for combining Wickramaratna and Chien.
The Examiner disagrees.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Keller, 642 F. 2d 413 (CCPA 1981).
The combination of Wickramaratna with Chien does not require combining the whole structure of Chien with that of Wickramaratna but only the use of non-locking connector of Chien in Wickramaratna. Both of Wickramaratna and Chien are directed towards capturing video images, although the field of application may be different but they are reasonable pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Therefore there is motivation for combining Wickramaratna with Chien as set forth in the rejection under 35 USC § 103 above in Section VI.
2. Prior art teaching away
Applicant argues:
It appears that the Office has ignored parts of Wickramaratna that teach away from the claimed invention. Wickramaratna's focus on a fully self-contained, wireless system is a strong teaching against using a wired connection for a pylon camera on a sports field. The reference was designed specifically to solve the problems associated with on-field wiring.
-May 2026 Remarks, pp. 16-17.
The Examiner disagrees.
The relevant limitation of claim 21 is: “a flexible cable terminated at a first end by a non-locking connector, said flexible cable in communication with said one or more high-definition cameras at a second end thereof.”
First, nowhere does Wickramaratna disclose the system of Wickramaratna is a fully self-contained, wireless system.
Second, even if Wickramaratna’s system is self-contained, as can be seen in Fig. 1-3 of Wickramaratna, there are wires running in the system of Wickramaratna and using a flexible cable to connect wire to the camera in Wickramaratna’s system is not teaching away. Figs. 1-3 of Wickramaratna show wires connected to the cameras.
3. Improper hindsight
Applicant argues:
The Office's combination of a pylon, a fan, and a USB cable does not result in the claimed invention "as a whole." The inventions recited in claims 21-30 cannot be simply boiled down to "just a pylon with a fan and a USB port"; it is an integrated system that includes specialized features providing significant advantages.
-May 2026 Remarks, pp. 17-18.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Further, every limitation of e.g., claim 21, is addressed and met by the combination and the claimed invention as a whole is made obvious by the combination as explained above in the rejection. Using a non-locking connector or a fan to cool down a camera is within the level of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made as explained in the rejection above. The rejection does not use knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure but teachings from the prior art references as explained in the rejection above. Applicant is making conclusive allegation without providing evidence of why the rejection is based on improper hindsight.
3. Non-Analogous art
Applicant is arguing Chien is non-analogous art (May 2026 Remarks, pp. 18-19).
The Examiner disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that Chien is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
In this case, Chien is also in the field of recording image and sound using a webcam. See the Abstract of Chien below:
A Light device having built-in digital data means is powered by an unlimited power source for a lamp-holder, LED bulb, or light device connected to unlimited power source by prongs or a base that or conductive wires can be inserted into a socket that would otherwise receiving a bulb. The device may take the form of a webcam having auto tracking added one of plurality functions to make different products and functions and retractable prongs that plug directly into a wall outlet or insert into existing lamp base or incorporate conductive wire to make electric connection at least one of built-in camera, storage unit, wireless kits, Bluetooth kits, motion sensor, light device.
-Abstract of Chien, emphasis added.
In other words, Chien is reasonable pertinent to the particular problem, i.e., recording images using wired power source, with which the inventor was concerned with.
4. Unexpected result
Applicant argues:
The cited references present a choice: a safe but low-quality wireless pylon (Wickramaratna) or a high-quality but unsafe wired camera. It was believed that you couldn't have both high performance and on-field safety. The claimed invention solves this dilemma in an unexpected way.
…
-May 2026 Remarks, pp. 18-19.
The Examiner disagrees.
The combination set forth in the rejection above presents the whole claimed invention obvious as explained and the result is not unexpected. In other words, the result is expected from the combination. Applicant fails to provide evidence that why the result of combining the references is unexpected. From Chien, a non-locking connector is introduced and the result is the known to an ordinary skill in the art to connect wire and can be disconnected easily. From Huang, a cooling fan is used which is also known in the art to an ordinary skill to cool down electronic device and the result is expected.
Therefore Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections under 35 USC § 103 are maintained.
IX. CONCLUSION
A. Action is made final
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
B. Reissue Application Reminders
Disclosure of other proceedings. Applicants are reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which the Patent Under Reissue is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Disclosure of material information. Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 C.F.R. § 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Manner of making amendments. Applicant is reminded that changes to the Instant Application must comply with 37 C.F.R. § 1.173, such that all amendments are made in respect to the Patent Under Reissue as opposed to any prior changes entered in the Instant Application. All added material must be underlined, and all omitted material must be enclosed in brackets, in accordance with Rule 173. Applicant may submit an appendix to any response in which claims are marked up to show changes with respect to a previous set of claims, however, such claims should be clearly denoted as “not for entry.”
C. Suggested Examples: Preventing Both New Matter Rejections & Objections to the Specification in the Future
Applicants are respectfully reminded that any suggestions or examples of claim language provided by the Examiner are just that—suggestions or examples—and do not constitute a formal requirement mandated by the Examiner. To be especially clear, any suggestion or example provided in this Office Action (or in any future office action) does not constitute a formal requirement mandated by the Examiner.
Should Applicants decide to amend the claims, Applicant is also reminded that—like always—no new matter is allowed. The Examiner therefore leaves it up to Applicants to choose the precise claim language of the amendment in order to ensure that the amended language complies with 35 U.S.C. § 112 1st paragraph.
Independent of the requirements under 35 U.S.C. § 112 1st paragraph, Applicants are also respectfully reminded that when amending a particular claim, all claim terms must have clear support or antecedent basis in the specification. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Should Applicants amend the claims such that the claim language no longer has clear support or antecedent basis in the specification, an objection to the specification may result. Therefore, in these situations where the amended claim language does not have clear support or antecedent basis in the specification and to prevent a subsequent ‘Objection to the Specification’ in the next office action, Applicants are encouraged to either (1) re-evaluate the amendment and change the claim language so the claims do have clear support or antecedent basis or, (2) amend the specification to ensure that the claim language does have clear support or antecedent basis. See again MPEP § 608.01(o) (¶3). Should Applicants choose to amend the specification, Applicants are reminded that—like always—no new matter in the specification is allowed. See 35 U.S.C. § 132(a). If Applicants have any questions on this matter, Applicants are encouraged to contact the Examiner via the telephone number listed below.
D. Contact Information
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor Andrew J. Fischer can be reached on 571-272-6779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call (800) 786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272-1000.
/Yuzhen Ge/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferee:
/ANDREW J. FISCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992
1 While most interpretations are cited because these terms are found in the claims, the Examiner may have provided additional interpretations to help interpret words, phrases, or concepts found in the interpretations themselves, the 299 Patent, or in the prior art