CTNF 18/382,786 CTNF 102212 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 9-10, 12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Dyer et al., US 20130120761 A1 (“Dyer”) Regarding claim 9 , Dyer teaches an optical sensor (Fig. 2A, optical sensor 202a), comprising: an optical emitter configured to emit electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 2A and [0026], light source 104); a photodiode configured to provide a photocurrent to an output node, the photocurrent responsive to a receipt of (Fig 2A and [0026], light detector 114), first portions of the electromagnetic radiation redirected by an intended target (Fig. 2A and [0022], line 132: light transmitted by the light source 104, reflected by the object 122, and incident on the photodetector 114); and second portions of the electromagnetic radiation redirected by an unintended target or received directly from the optical emitter (Fig. 2A and [0022], dashed lines 134: light that is generally not of interest [...] can be caused by specular reflections and/or other internal reflections and/or light leaking under, over and/or through the barrier 110); a sensor circuit connected to the output node and configured to generate a sensor output (Fig. 2A and [0026], an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 216. The ADC converts the analog signal (e.g., a current) generated by the light detector 114 into a digital signal (e.g., an N-bit signal) that can be used to detect the presence, proximity and/or motion of an object 122); and an optical crosstalk compensation circuit connected to at least one of the output node or the sensor circuit and configured to provide a bias to the at least one of the output node or the sensor circuit (Fig. 2A and [0028], a current source I2 (an offset signal generator) to selectively provide an offset current Koff. The offset current is combined with the detection signal within the signal path between the light detector 114 and the input to the ADC 216). Regarding claim 10 , Dyer teaches the optical sensor of claim 9, further comprising: a controller (Fig. 2A and [0027], timing controller 208); and a drive circuit operable by the controller and coupled to the optical emitter (Fig. 2A and [0027], driver 206); wherein, the controller is coupled to the drive circuit and the optical crosstalk compensation circuit, the controller operable to synchronize operation of the drive circuit and the optical crosstalk compensation circuit (Fig. 2A and [0031], to achieve such synchronization, the TX signal is used to control the driver 206 to selectively drive the light source 104, as well as to control the producing of the analog offset signal (Koff*TX)). Regarding claim 12 , Dyer teaches the optical sensor of claim 9, wherein the optical crosstalk compensation circuit generates the bias (Fig. 2A and [0028], a current source I2 to selectively provide an offset current Koff). Regarding claim 14 , Dyer teaches the optical sensor of claim 9, wherein the optical crosstalk compensation circuit receives the bias as an input and propagates the bias (Fig. 2B and [0029], A DAC that can be used to convert a stored digital value to the offset signal (e.g., Koff*TX). Such a digital value can be stored in a register, random access memory (RAM), or some other storage device, which are collectively represented by block 244. The stored value can be programmed and reprogrammed as desired, e.g., using a bus, such as, but not limited to, an I2C bus, or using some other digital interface). Regarding claim 15 , Dyer teaches the optical sensor of claim 9, wherein the optical crosstalk compensation circuit comprises a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) having a digital input and an analog output, the analog output configured to inject the bias into the output node as a bias current (Fig. 2B and [0029], a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 242, that can be used to convert a stored digital value to the offset signal (e.g., Koff*TX)). Regarding claim 16 , Dyer teaches a method of compensating for optical crosstalk between an optical emitter and a photodiode (Fig. 9, flow diagram), comprising: driving the optical emitter to cause the optical emitter to emit electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 9 and [0069], at step 902, a light source is selectively driven to thereby cause the light source to selectively transmit light); receiving portions of the electromagnetic radiation at the photodiode; generating a photocurrent responsive to the received portions of the electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 9 and [0069], at step 904, an analog detection signal is produced, which is indicative of an intensity of light detected by the light detector. As explained above, the light detected by the light detector can include light transmitted by the light source that was reflected off an object within the sense region of the optical sensor. Additionally, the light detected by the light detector can include interference light); generating a bias (Fig. 9 and [0069], at step 906, an analog offset signal (e.g., an analog offset current) is produced); compensating for the optical crosstalk between the optical emitter and the photodiode by adjusting the photocurrent using the bias (Fig. 9 and [0069], at step 908, the analog offset signal is combined with the analog detection signal to produce an analog compensated detection signal (also referred to as the analog offset compensated detection signal); and converting the adjusted photocurrent to a voltage (Fig. 9 and [0069], at Step 910, the analog compensated detection signal is converted to a digital signal by an ADC. [0035] and Fig. 2D, in alternative embodiments, the interference light offset compensation can be performed by combining analog voltage signals (compensated voltage signal Vcomp = Vdiode - Voff*TX)). Regarding claim 17 , Dyer teaches the method of claim 16, wherein generating the bias comprises generating a bias current (Fig. 9 and [0069], at step 906, an analog offset signal (e.g., an analog offset current) is produced). Regarding claim 18 , Dyer teaches the method of claim 17, wherein adjusting the photocurrent using the bias comprises subtracting the bias current from the photocurrent (Fig. 2A and [0025], the compensated current I_comp = I_diode - K_off * TX, where, I_diode = K1*TX+K2*TX) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer et al., US 20130120761 A1 (“Dyer”) in view of Hart et al., US 20210011170 A1 (“Hart”) Regarding claim 1 , Dyer teaches an optical sensor module (Fig. 8 and [0067], optical proximity system 800), comprising: an optical emitter configured to emit electromagnetic radiation toward and through the housing (Fig. 2A and [0019], the light source 104 can be, e.g., one or more light emitting diode (LED) or laser diode, but is not limited thereto); a photodetector configured to provide a photocurrent to an output node, the photocurrent responsive to a receipt of (Fig. 2A and [0019], light detector 114 (also known as a photodetector). The light detector 114 generates an analog signal (e.g., a current) that is indicative of the intensity of the light incident on the light detector 114), first portions of the electromagnetic radiation redirected by an intended target and received through the housing (Fig. 2A and [0022], light transmitted by the light source 104, reflected by the object 122, and incident on the photodetector 114, is represented by line 132); and second portions of the electromagnetic radiation redirected by an unintended target or received directly from the optical emitter (Fig. 2A and [0023], light that is generally not of interest (at least with regard to detecting the proximity, presence and/or motion of the object 122) is represented by dashed line 134 and can be caused by specular reflections and/or other internal reflections and/or light leaking under, over and/or through the barrier 110. Such light shall be generally referred to as interference light); a sensor circuit connected to the output node and configured to generate a sensor output (Fig. 2A and [0026], an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 216. The ADC converts the analog signal (e.g., a current) generated by the light detector 114 into a digital signal (e.g., an N-bit signal) that can be used to detect the presence, proximity and/or motion of an object 122); and an optical crosstalk compensation circuit configured to inject a bias current into the output node or the sensor circuit (Fig. 2A and [0028], current source I2 (an offset signal generator) to selectively provide an offset current Koff. The offset current is combined with the detection signal within the signal path between the light detector 114 and the input to the ADC 216). However, Dyer does not expressly disclose: a housing. Hart teaches a housing (Fig. 4A and [0048], a solid state ToF sensor within a housing frame 404); It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical sensor disclosed by Dyer, and add a housing, as taught by Hart. Making this modification will only be a matter of routine optimization and experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.II. Regarding claim 2 , Dyer in view of Hart, teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1. Hart further teaches: further comprising: a substrate (Fig. 4A and [0048], substrate 202); wherein, the optical emitter and the photodetector are mounted on the substrate; and the substrate is attached to the housing (Fig. 4A and [0048], The solid state ToF sensor is positioned on a substrate 202 with Tx block 206 and Rx block 204. [0044] Housing frame 404 can have an inner surface in contact with an outer perimeter of substrate 202 of ToF sensor 200 to secure ToF sensor 200 in place as illustrated). Regarding claim 3 , Dyer in view of Hart, teaches the optical sensor module of claim 2. Hart further teaches: wherein the photodetector is laterally offset from the optical emitter (Fig. 4A, Tx block 206 laterally offset from Rx block 204, as illustrated). Regarding claim 4 , Dyer in view of Hart, teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1. Hart further teaches: wherein: the housing comprises a frame and a window, the frame supporting the window (Fig. 4A and [0047 - 0048], windows (410A and 412A) secured to housing frame 404 by way of securing means 430); the window is transparent to the electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 4A and [0045], window openings 412, 414. Translucent windows can be selected from a window material that has relatively high transmission to a frequency employed by Tx block 206); Dyer further teaches the optical emitter emits the electromagnetic radiation toward and through the window (Fig.1 and [0022], light transmitted by the light source 104, reflected by the object 122, and incident on the photodetector 114, is represented by line 132); and the photodetector receives the first portions of the electromagnetic radiation through the window (Fig.1 and [0022], light transmitted by the light source 104, reflected by the object 122, and incident on the photodetector 114, is represented by line 132). Regarding claim 5 , Dyer in view of Hart, teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1. Dyer further teaches: wherein the optical crosstalk compensation circuit generates the bias current (Fig. 2A and [0031], offset current signal (I2 = Koff)). Regarding claim 6 , Dyer in view of Hart, teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1. Dyer further teaches: wherein the optical crosstalk compensation circuit receives the bias current at an input to the optical sensor module and propagates the bias current (Fig. 2B and [0029], A DAC that can be used to convert a stored digital value to the offset signal (e.g., Koff*TX). Such a digital value can be stored in a register, random access memory (RAM), or some other storage device, which are collectively represented by block 244. The stored value can be programmed and reprogrammed as desired, e.g., using a bus, such as, but not limited to, an I2C bus, or using some other digital interface). Regarding claim 7 , Dyer in view of Hart, teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1. Dyer further teaches wherein: the sensor circuit comprises a transimpedance amplifier (Fig 2D, transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 264); the output node is electrically connected to an input of the transimpedance amplifier (Fig. 2D, which shows the output of light detector 114 (output node) being connected to the TIA input); and the optical crosstalk compensation circuit injects the bias current into the output node (Fig. 2A and [0028], a current source I2 to selectively provide an offset current Koff. The offset current is combined with the detection signal within the signal path between the light detector 114 and the input to the ADC 216). Regarding claim 8 , Dyer in view of Hart, teaches optical sensor module of claim 1. Hart further teaches: wherein the optical emitter and the photodetector are positioned within a same cavity within the housing (Fig. 4A, Tx block 206, and Rx block 204 are positioned within same cavity inside housing frame 404) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer et al., US 20130120761 A1 (“Dyer”) in view of Baumgartner et al., WO2022048862A1 (“Baumgartner”) Regarding claim 11 , Dyer teaches the optical sensor of claim 9. Dyer further teaches: wherein: the optical crosstalk compensation circuit provides the bias as a bias current injected into the output node (Fig. 2A and [0028], a current source I2 (an offset signal generator) to selectively provide an offset current Koff. The offset current is combined with the detection signal within the signal path between the light detector 114 and the input to the ADC 216). However, Dyer does not expressly disclose in the same embodiment: the sensor circuit comprises a transimpedance amplifier; the output node is electrically connected to an input of the transimpedance amplifier; Baumgartner teaches: the sensor circuit comprises a transimpedance amplifier (Fig. 3, transimpedance amplifier 11a); the output node is electrically connected to an input of the transimpedance amplifier (Fig. 3, division point 7 connected to the TIA input); It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical proximity sensor disclosed by Dyer, to incorporate a transimpedance amplifier (TIA), and connect it at the output node (division point), as taught by Baumgartner. This is simply an obvious variation in the system design that is known and predictable in the art. “Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art” (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F) Regarding claim 13 , Dyer teaches the optical sensor of claim 9. However, Dyer does not expressly disclose: wherein the optical crosstalk compensation circuit comprises a voltage-to-current converter. Baumgartner teaches: wherein the optical crosstalk compensation circuit comprises a voltage-to-current converter (Fig. 3, background light compensation device 6). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical proximity sensor disclosed by Dyer, to incorporate the voltage-to-current converter to generate an offset signal and compensate for the interference signal contribution, as taught by Baumgartner. This is simply an obvious variation in the system design that is known and predictable in the art. “Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art” (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer et al., US 20130120761 A1 (“Dyer”) in view of Hamaguchi, US 10514448 B2 Regarding claim 19 , Dyer teaches the method of claim 16. However, Dyer does not expressly disclose: further comprising: under a no target condition, emitting the electromagnetic radiation and receiving the portions of the electromagnetic radiation; determining the voltage produced by converting the adjusted photocurrent differs from a calibrated value; and calibrating the bias in response to determining the voltage produced by converting the adjusted photocurrent differs from the calibrated value. Hamaguchi teaches: further comprising, under a no target condition ([20] in a state where there is no object OB), emitting the electromagnetic radiation and receiving the portions of the electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 2 and [17-18], Outgoing light L1 emitted from the light emitting unit 101, and reflected light L3 (non-detection-target-object, for example, reflected by housing 11) detected by the light receiving unit 102); determining the voltage produced by converting the adjusted photocurrent differs from a calibrated value (Fig. 1 and [20] An offset value is stored in the storage unit 104. The offset value is a value according to a current value of the non-detection-target-object reflected light current. In other words, the offset value is a value usable for making an output value from the proximity sensor 100 constant in a state where there is no object OB); and calibrating the bias in response to determining the voltage produced by converting the adjusted photocurrent differs from the calibrated value (Fig. 1 and [24, 26], The proximity sensor control unit 110 determines whether the calibration is executed (the offset value is updated). When determining that the calibration is necessary, the proximity sensor control unit 110 executes one or both of initial calibration (Fig.3) and constant calibration (Fig. 4) and updates the offset value. Then, the proximity sensor control unit 110 subtracts the offset value stored in the storage unit 104 from the digital value input from the proximity sensor analog-to-digital conversion unit 103, and outputs the calculated value). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Dyer to incorporate the method for sensor calibration under no target condition, as taught by Hamaguchi. By employing such calibration method, the accuracy of calibration is able to be improved compared to a sensor of the related art, and as a result, an erroneous operation of electronic devices (e.g.; mobile phone, digital camera) is able to be reduced (Hamaguchi, [127], [130]). Regarding claim 20 , Dyer teaches the method of claim 16. However, Dyer does not expressly disclose: further comprising: under a no target condition, emitting the electromagnetic radiation and receiving the portions of the electromagnetic radiation; determining the voltage produced by converting the photocurrent differs from a calibrated value by more than a threshold amount; and calibrating the bias in response to determining the voltage produced by converting the photocurrent differs from the calibrated value by more than the threshold amount. Hamaguchi teaches: further comprising: under a no target condition ([20] in a state where there is no object OB), emitting the electromagnetic radiation and receiving the portions of the electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 2 and [17-18], Outgoing light L1 emitted from the light emitting unit 101, and reflected light L3 (non-detection-target-object, for example, reflected by housing 11) detected by the light receiving unit 102); determining the voltage produced by converting the photocurrent differs from a calibrated value by more than a threshold amount (Fig. 2 and [33], The initial calibration execution unit 120 (first execution unit) executes initial calibration (first calibration) in which the offset value according to the current value of the non-detection-target-object reflected light current is updated on the basis of the current value of the measurement current in a case where the current value of the measurement current is equal to or less than an initial threshold, and the offset value is not updated in a case where the current value of the measurement current is higher than the initial threshold. [52] When determining that the initial measurement current value is higher than the initial threshold, the offset value calculation unit 122 ends the initial calibration processing without updating the offset value, and transmits a signal instructing start of the constant calibration to the correction measurement value calculation unit 131 of the constant calibration execution unit 130); and calibrating the bias in response to determining the voltage produced by converting the photocurrent differs from the calibrated value by more than the threshold amount ([55] The constant calibration execution unit 130 (second execution unit) executes constant calibration (second calibration) in which a first offset value that is an offset value after the initial calibration is executed is updated to a value obtained by averaging the first offset value and the current value of the measurement current generated from the light receiving unit 102 after the initial calibration is executed). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Dyer to incorporate the method for sensor calibration under no target condition, as taught by Hamaguchi. By employing such calibration method, the accuracy of calibration is able to be improved compared to a sensor of the related art, and as a result, an erroneous operation of electronic devices (e.g.; mobile phone, digital camera) is able to be reduced (Hamaguchi, [127], [130]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KHALIL ALI AHMAD whose telephone number is (571)270-0954. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. 5 p.m. ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuqing Xiao can be reached at (571) 270-3603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KHALIL ALI AHMAD/Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 2 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 3 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 4 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 5 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 6 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 7 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 8 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 9 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 10 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 11 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 12 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 13 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 14 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 15 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/382,786 Page 16 Art Unit: 3645